$83 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 5, 2015 Check-out: May 8, 2015

Las Brisas Ixtapa

4 stars
View map of Playa Vista Hermosa, Ixtapa, 40880

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Las Brisas Ixtapa

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
141 out of 141
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Las Brisas Ixtapa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Carefree, AZ
Jan 16, 2011

perfect for recreation and relaxation

We celebrated my wifes 70th birthday - and never had the urge to leave the hotel. Friendly staff, great beach (and probably pool), excellent food, excellent drinks. We also liked that most of the guests turned out to be Mexicans, together with a handful of Americans and Canadians. It was just loveable ....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

We booked "all inclusive", meaning all food and all (domestic) drinks were paid for - it makes your life just so easy. You never think about "should I pay that much for a bottle of wine?" It is paid for, and the Mexican wine was perfect!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Las Brisas Ixtapa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, Colorado
Jan 12, 2011

Perfect Getaway

The hotel was beautiful, peaceful, clean and very comfortable. It is built into the mountainside so it doesn't feel so overwhelmingly large. The private beach is SPECTACULAR! The only (small) downside to our entire trip is that we felt the food at the hotel itself was very disappointing. {Especially for the VERY HIGH price}

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy your own drinks at the grocery store and take the local bus instead of taxis. The bus runs really frequently and we felt very safe on it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Las Brisas Ixtapa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Barrington, Il
Dec 22, 2010

Great Trip!

Great hotel. Excellent service and staff. Great beach and facilities. Rooms were fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Las Brisas Ixtapa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kaseycat
Business
new haven, ct
Dec 19, 2010

Idyllic Vacation

This was our 10th visit to Las Brisas, and that alone speaks for itself. Hotel is immaculate and grounds are reminiscent of a botanical garden. Beach is private and clean. Because of the hotel's location on a hillside, there are many steps -- not for the handicapped. Service is impeccable. I highly recommended staying here for a relaxing, low-key vacation in a little paradise. We also participated in a turtle release and saw dolphins swimming near shore one day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are many excellent restaurants in Zihua that serve tasty, fresh food at reasonable prices. Taxis are plentiful. In Ixtapa we especially liked Soleado.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Las Brisas Ixtapa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oxnard, CA
Dec 4, 2010

Las Brisas Ixtapa

Walk, swam, ate, relaxed, interacted with the local residents...enjoyed every moment. Las Brisas was more than we expected but what we certainly hoped fo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Las Brisas is very beautiful and peaceful. We would not recommend this spot for individuals looking for partying and dancing into the wee hours.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Las Brisas Ixtapa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mexican at Heart
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 27, 2010

Perfect resort for relaxing get-away

This was my 11th trip to Mexico, 5th trip to Ixtapa, and 4th stay at Las Brisas. It is by far my favorite place to relax. The staff is very accommodating and unobtrusive. Service when you need it, no cajoling to get you to join in stupid activities. I don't think this would be the best place to travel with small children who need constant entertainment, which is perhaps why my family enjoyed the stay so much with my 50-something parents, 28-year old sister and her friend, and my 30-year old self and husband. Absolutely perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go into Zihautanejo for dinner; much cheaper than Ixtapa with much better food and prices. Porto di Mare along the marina was fabulous.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Las Brisas Ixtapa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Sep 7, 2010

Great Place to Stay in Ixtapa

Was absolutely dead since it is the low season at the end of August. Was still treated first class and the setting is beautiful. Staff is friendly and prides themselves on good service Small complaints are the cost of the food and drinks at the hotel and also the music at happy hour was a little dated. Otherwise, no complaints and a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Las Brisas Ixtapa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Sep 1, 2010

Quiet little getaway

They have a great little private beach, which was very nice. They also have an "adults only" pool, and we appreciated the option. The rooms are clean and nice. The views from the room are spectacular. Service was impeccable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Las Brisas Ixtapa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Aug 23, 2010

Solid Hotel, an alternative to the strip

no problems

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Las Brisas Ixtapa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio
Aug 12, 2010

Off-Season Adventure

We chose to go to Zihuatanejo / Ixtapa in the off season (August) to avoid the winter crowds. Although the area is hot and humid then, we're from S. Texas so it wasn't much of a change. First things first. At the airport, avoid the time-share folks and insist that you want only a taxi to your hotel. Oddly it's significantly more expensive to get to your hotel from the airport than back to the airport from the hotel. The Las Brisas is acknowledged by the locals as the nicest ocean-front property in Ixtapa, and the only one w / a private beach. The hotel is built into a mountainside facing the ocean. The entrance and lobby are actually on the 18th floor. Our room was on the 20th floor, the "Beach Club". This is an upgrage that includes breakast (a real spread, not just coffee & donuts) as well as happy hour w / beer, wine cocktails and snacks. Definitely worth the money, especially when you factor in the menu prices of the other on site eateries. The room was very nice wih a great ocean view, private balcony with a hammock and patio furniture. The bed was large and comfortable and there was a sitting area. The bathroom was large and a little bit dark. Our room had a safe and the obligatory mini-bar for guests that think paying $4 for a Snickers enhances the taste. Ixtapa and Zihua are two separate towns. Ixtapa was built by the government specifically as a tourist destination, so there is a high concentration of hotels and restaurant / bars there. Las Brisas is at the far end of Ixtapa on the way to Zihuatanejo, and is away from the crowds and noise. This is nice, but it means a cab ride, or if you don't mind a little local culture, a bus to get around. We rented a car and looked around a bit. Zihua is an older fishing village that has grown outward from the bay. It has it's own feel. There are street markets that are good for negotiating prices. We did well on some local silver jewelry. The marina area is fun. Troncones is a must-see, and there's a wildlife refuge / rehab facility called El Refugio de Potosi near Barra de Potosi that was a nice stop. Playa Blanca and Playa Largo are pretty as well. If you have kids that go in the water, keep an eye on them until you get a feel about how rough the waves are. Some areas are not great for swimming very far out. The water is not as user-frindly as say, the Bahamas. (More Like Kauai). Since we spent time in the outlying areas, we didn't take in what looked to be the tourist traps, Ixtapa Island and Las Gatas Beach. We heard they were OK, but crowded with lots of competition for your pesos. The main drag of Ixtapa is crawling with hawkers trying to get you to look at time-share properties. I would stay at Las Brisas again. That being said, you should know going in that it sits off to itself, leaving those choosing to stay in-house for meals confronted with expensive dining options. We had better luck eating elsewhere. Also the beach there is one that is not ideal for young swimmers, but there are several nice pools. I give the trip a B+.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top