$56 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 25, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

Krystal Ixtapa

3 stars
Krystal Ixtapa, Ixtapa, 40880
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
64 reviews
relaxing recharge

The hotel is quite nice, but much better suited for the European plan. If you are looking for an... See full review

  • sun addicted
  • Jan 12, 2014
A near perfect package

We have stayed at various places over the last 15 years in Ixtapa. Hotels, but mostly condos. I now... See full review

  • jakenju
  • Mar 4, 2011
Beachfront resort with swim-up bar, beach activities and kids’ club
The Krystal Ixtapa hotel features amenities ideal for families, couples' vacations and honeymooners. The all-inclusive plan includes meals, domestic and selected international drinks and entrance fees to Christine disco. Guest rooms feature cable TV and balconies with spectacular ocean views. The Krystal Ixtapa resort is situated between two championship golf courses and also features a freeform pool with swim-up bar and water slide -- the perfect spot to spend a lazy afternoon sipping a cocktail under the palapa.

 

Highlights
  • Air-conditioned fitness center
  • All-night Christine disco
  • Kids' club for ages five to 12
  • Club rooms include daily continental breakfast and afternoon hors d'oeuvres

 

Rooms
Bright orange and yellow colors evoke the surrounding tropics, while contemporary details such as dark woods lend a contemporary feel to rooms and suites at Krystal Ixtapa. Private balconies showcase the Pacific or Sierra Madre del Sur mountains.
 
Krystal Ixtapa room options range from comfortable deluxe rooms to the lavish presidential suite. The all-inclusive deluxe ocean view room includes buffet meals, as well as a three-course a la carte dinner at Bogart's restaurant, seafood specialties at Las Velas and room service. In-room amenities include marble floors, air conditioning, coffee makers and mini-bars.

 

Features
A water slide, waterfall and children's and toddlers' sections make the Krystal Ixtapa pool a good place for the whole family to spend a sunny afternoon. Golfers take advantage of preferred greens fees at the Marina Ixtapa Golf Club across the street. Or wander over to the Plaza las Fuentes for shopping and dining.

 

Transportation
  • Ixtapa-Zihuatanejo International Airport (10.8 mi/17.4 km)
  • Mexican Federal Highway 200 (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Mexican Federal Highway 134 (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Zihuatanejo bus station (Central de Autobuses Estrella Blanca) (4.8 mi/7.8 km)

 

Attractions
  • Marina Ixtapa Golf Club (0.3 mi/0.5 km) 
  • Delfiniti Ixtapa dolphinarium (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Magic World water park (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Plaza las Fuentes (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Campo de Golf Ixtapa (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Isla Ixtapa (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • La Costa Grande Archaeological Museum (4.2 mi/6.7 km)

 

Business
  • Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Meeting and event space available
Policies and fees
Not included in all-inclusive plans: Lobster, shrimp and cuts of meat at restaurants; wine by the bottle; convenience-store snack foods and beverages; in-room mini-bar items; drinks at Christine disco; cover charges at Christine disco during open-bar special events; beauty services; ceramics painting; child care outside children's club hours; laundry and dry cleaning; telephone calls and faxes; Internet access; incidental purchases; outside tours; airport transfers; airport departure tax (approximately $20 USD per person -- amount subject to change).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

17.662 -101.6053
Area served
Ixtapa, Guerrero
Nearby airports
Ixtapa Airport (ZIH) 9 Milles
Area description
Located right in the middle of Ixtapa Bay, in the resort's area, four miles from Zihuatanejo Down Town and 9 miles from the airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Krystal Ixtapa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Krystal Ixtapa Rooms

Krystal Club Ocean View
Splendid rooms, casual decor and colorful bedspreads. King size or two double beds available, connecting rooms, mini bar, in room security box, cable TV with premium channels and on Command movies. Additional services: Private check in and check out continental breakfast, hors d'oeuvres and wine in the evenings at the club lounge. Access to the Gym. Wireless Internet.
Deluxe Ocean View Room
The room provides a furnished balcony with a spectacular panoramic view over the Pacific Ocean. These recently remodeled rooms are decorated with trendy style NH furniture, beds with spring-box mattresses, 27 inch television and a two-chair dining set. The barefoot-friendly guestrooms have marble floors, marble bathrooms with shower/tub combinations. Additional amenities include wireless internet free of charge, minibar, safety box, hairdryer, coffee & tea facilities, direct outside telephone line.
All Inclusive Deluxe Ocean View
Includes meals (including the famous Bogart's restaurant and seafood specialties at Las Velas restaurant), domestic and selected international drinks. Dine out program. No cover at Christine disco. All-Inclusive food and beverages: Buffet breakfasts, lunches, and dinners -Dinners at Aquamarina restaurant and/or La Velas restaurant -Three-course a la carte dinner at Bogart's restaurant (previous reservations at concierge desk. A la Carte menu for All Inclusive. Kids are allowed at 6pm seating time). House wine by the glass. -Snacks from noon to 5 pm -Domestic and selected international drinks, except at Christine and servibar. -Room service (limited snacks from 11 pm to 6 am). -Board games at the Sport bar. -Dine-around program. -Supervised outdoor activities for ages 4-12 from 10 AM to 5 PM (hours subject to change). -All tips and taxes included.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Bogart's
Fine food for fine people An ambience where that atmosphere of romance and adventure is recreated. It is the perfect place to give free rein to your own fantasy while enjoying the delights and specialties of the international exquisite cuisine. For regular guests to Ixtapa we do not have to explain anything about this famous and well known restaurant. Set in a decor of Casablanca in Moroccan style with live piano music every night, it will make you feel you are in a real movie. This air-conditioned fine dining restaurant offers an international changing menu and a wide variety of quality wines; it is also known for its table preparations. Reservations and dress code required. Some items with surcharge for all inclusive plans.
Sport Bar
Located in the heart of the hotel featuring big plasma television screens, pool table and various game tables: open from 6 pm to midnight.
Room Service
Available 24 hs.
Cascada Snack Bar
Casual, open-air restaurant/bar serving burgers, hot dogs, nachos, quesadillas, tacos. Open late morning to early evening. Food served daily in high seasons (late-December through Easter, mid-June through August) and weekends during low seasons.
Las Velas
Open-air, ocean-view restaurant with thatched roof. A la carte and/or buffet lunches. A la carte dinners featuring grilled foods.
Aquamarina
Breakfast and dinner are served in this lively open air restaurant with pool/ocean view. The breakfast buffet consists of a wide variety of international as well as typical Mexican dishes. At night an a la carte menu is served.
Special Notice
Christmas and New Years dinner are not included in the all-inclusive plan. There will be a surcharge of $75 for adults and $40 for children under 12 on December 24 and December 25, and a surcharge of $100 for adults and $60 for children under 12 on December 31. Guests can reserve a table at check-in and will receive a confirmation coupon.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hotel Krystal Ixtapa is the best option for holding congresses and conventions. It has 8 fully equipped meeting rooms and its swimming pool for the organization of events of up to 3,000 people. At the same time, it offers 3 restaurants, sport bar, lobby bar and the Beach Club.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (64)

Ratings and reviews for Krystal Ixtapa

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 64
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.4

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
scrapzombie
Business
Minneapolis
Nov 14, 2014

Below Average, Needs Updating

The Krystal property is in dire need of an update! The rooms have outdated furniture, stained fixtures, and below average beds. The rooms also need a significant deep cleaning! The location and pool area nice, as is the hotel lobby. WiFi services are spotty at best. There are much better properties in Ixtapa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bummed and dissatisfied
Business
Fort Worth, Texas
Jul 1, 2014

HOTEL VERY OUTDATED

I travel to my country, Mexico quite a bit and keep in mind that the accommodations one has in the states cannot compare with those in other countries usually. However, this hotel truly needs a lot of renovation and updating and simply cannot justify the prices they require for the accommodations they provide. We booked a "family suite" which really turned out to be two rooms side by side. Pictures of "suite" on the website are very deceiving. First of all, the rooms were hot from the moment we walked in and never really got cool enough, AC not very efficient. On the third day we had rain and we returned to our room after breakfast only to walk right into a huge puddle of water on the floor from where there was a major leak in the balcony sliding door. This explained the room being hot, but again, both rooms were never cool. For our last evening We were moved two floors down and although this room was much cooler yet smaller than what we paid for. The staff argued with me in disagreement, but clearly the balcony and room were much smaller. We were never offered a partial reimbursement or even a complimentary dinner in the restaurant there (as we did not book all-inclusive) have for the inconvenience or the down sizing of room. The hotel is very old and the rooms really need some serious renovation and updating. The location of the hotel is really great, but the hotel is not great whatsoever. We didn't get the all inclusive package and now I'm glad we didn't as we don't feel we got our money's worth with just the room cost. Had to call for coffee packs each day because the staff wouldn't leave any after cleaning the room. Never got an ice bucket in room for ice, had to go down to bar with a bag to be filled. The pool service was poor. Never could get a wait staff person to order a beverage. The pool water was also too warm. Very disappointing and frustrating over all. Ixtapa is a beautiful place but our stay in this hotel really put a damper on our three day stay. Stinks to come in from the beach on a hot day to an equally hot room.. I do not recommend this hotel whatsoever. Not worth the money, aggravation and most of all, the great disappointment for a trip one saves for and looks forward to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

the shopping and dining out of the hotel was very convenient right across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jorge Futbolista
Business
Los Angeles
Apr 29, 2014

Good location

Rooms were cleaned but the hotel was damaged during recent earthquake.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Beautiful Church within 2 miles.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sun addicted
Business
Ixtapa, Mexico
Jan 12, 2014

relaxing recharge

The hotel is quite nice, but much better suited for the European plan. If you are looking for an all inclusive, this is not your hotel. We go every year for the weather and the staff. No one in my group drinks a lot, so the european plan works just great for us. Our evening entertainment is a long leisurely dinner with friends at one of the nearby restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mom and sisters
Business
Minnestoa
Apr 8, 2013

15 year Customer Comments

although we like this hotel and the staff we were frustrated by the following items: 1. no hot water a couple of days 2. room not cleaned one afternoon after a day at the beach and we had to wait which delayed our evening plans. 3. no pesos many days when we wanted to exchange. 4. we love our wait staff Jesus and Anabel 5. we also enjoy our time with Andres, security guard

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jameswm
Business
Bloomfield Hills, MI, USA
Mar 11, 2012

Spring Break

Our family LOVE Ixtapa/Zihua and have been there many times. This is second time we have stayed at Krystal. Location cannot be beat ~ within walking distance of everything and bus to Zihua right in front of hotel. We do not do all-inclusive as we love exploring Ixtapa restaurants (Soleido, Deborah's are great!) as well as Zihua (Daniel's). Regarding Krystal...room nice with great view.Housekeeping did good job ~ getting towels as well as TP for three was daily challenge and apparently Krystal doesn't supply washcloths. Staff cater to the Mexican guests especially Fridays thru Sunday which frankly became quite obvious not to mention annoying. Staff at Reception Desk as well as Concierge not terribly friendly and again catered to Mexican clients. Also....regarding room comfort ~ pillows hard and lumpy (WORST pillows we have ever slept on). Bedspreads were kind of similar to a plastic tablecloth.....definitely could use some improvement. Overall had a FABULOUS time. Plan to stay in Zihua next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ME93
Business
California
Dec 30, 2011

We did not buy all inclusive package

After reading some reviews we did not buy all inclusive package and we were happy with this choise. There are many place in close vicinity to have a breakfast or lunch, and few nights we went to Zihuatanejo for dinner. This hotel has a good location, magnificent ocean view, nice pool area. During our visit the waves were big at the break for just normal swimming, but you can do body/boogy boarding. The beach is big and not crowded, but it is not easy to find a space under umbrella, because people try to reserve the shade from early in the morning and keep it through the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Soleiado - breakfast, lunch, dinner Nueva Zelanda - breakfast, lunch By taxy or bus to Zihuatanejo for dinner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 28, 2011

would not recommend this hotel

The hotel restaurants were fine. Our room was not so good. The bathroom was gross. Some of the workers at the front desk were disrespectful and had very bad manners. If anyone in USA acted that way with customers, they would be fired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 23, 2011

pretty good

Hotel Krystal was overall very nice. We did not do the all inclusive because we were told that the restaurants across the street were amazing and they were. The all inclusive food did not look that great and it sat out most of the day. The hotel was clean and we had everything we needed. A few concerns - we were supposed to have a suite with 1 king and 2 double beds - our room only had the 2 double beds. They stated that they don't offer the 3 bed option so be aware. I got a cot but I had to talk to 3 different people at the front desk to get it. Also they do not give you a key to the room fridge so we couldn't keep things cold. Check in and check out was fast and smooth. Pool area was amazing. I will definitely go to this hotel again because many of the hotels on the beach only offer all inclusive and we really enjoyed the experience and people in the town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take taxi's everywhere. They are super cheap and you usually can get to Ixtapa Island and Zihu for 6 dollars. Snorkeling on Ixtapa island was fun, but much of the coral is dead there, probably due to tourist standing on it. I recommend going out fishing or out on a boat in the morning. We saw manta rays and dolphins jumping out of the water everywhere! It was so amazing. Also saw a whale.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Clintocks
Business
Flushing, MI
Feb 20, 2011

4th stay at the Krystal

This is the 4th trip for our family (always a group of 10-14) to Ixtapa. We have stayed at the Krystal everytime and the hotel itself is always clean and the grounds are kept up well, but the hotel is in need of renovation. The pool area is awesome and very clean and the staff are always exceptionally nice and friendly. The location is also great as it is within walking distance of lots of shopping and dining. I would not recommend people go there if they expect a 4 or 5 star hotel, but if you don't mind the rooms having a few maintenance problems then it is an okay place to stay. To the owner of the hotel: PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE do some renovations so we don't have to go to a nicer hotel. We love staying there but it needs a big facelift.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Although it is more expensive go to Zihuatanejo for dinner, the food and service are generally better than in Ixtapa.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top