$66 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

Krystal Ixtapa

3 stars
View map of Krystal Ixtapa, Ixtapa, 40880

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
65 reviews
relaxing recharge

The hotel is quite nice, but much better suited for the European plan. If you are looking for an... See full review

  • sun addicted
  • Jan 12, 2014
A near perfect package

We have stayed at various places over the last 15 years in Ixtapa. Hotels, but mostly condos. I now... See full review

  • jakenju
  • Mar 4, 2011
Beachfront resort with swim-up bar, beach activities and kids’ club
The Krystal Ixtapa hotel features amenities ideal for families, couples' vacations and honeymooners. The all-inclusive plan includes meals, domestic and selected international drinks and entrance fees to Christine disco. Guest rooms feature cable TV and balconies with spectacular ocean views. The Krystal Ixtapa resort is situated between two championship golf courses and also features a freeform pool with swim-up bar and water slide -- the perfect spot to spend a lazy afternoon sipping a cocktail under the palapa.

 

Highlights
  • Air-conditioned fitness center
  • All-night Christine disco
  • Kids' club for ages five to 12
  • Club rooms include daily continental breakfast and afternoon hors d'oeuvres

 

Rooms
Bright orange and yellow colors evoke the surrounding tropics, while contemporary details such as dark woods lend a contemporary feel to rooms and suites at Krystal Ixtapa. Private balconies showcase the Pacific or Sierra Madre del Sur mountains.
 
Krystal Ixtapa room options range from comfortable deluxe rooms to the lavish presidential suite. The all-inclusive deluxe ocean view room includes buffet meals, as well as a three-course a la carte dinner at Bogart's restaurant, seafood specialties at Las Velas and room service. In-room amenities include marble floors, air conditioning, coffee makers and mini-bars.

 

Features
A water slide, waterfall and children's and toddlers' sections make the Krystal Ixtapa pool a good place for the whole family to spend a sunny afternoon. Golfers take advantage of preferred greens fees at the Marina Ixtapa Golf Club across the street. Or wander over to the Plaza las Fuentes for shopping and dining.

 

Transportation
  • Ixtapa-Zihuatanejo International Airport (10.8 mi/17.4 km)
  • Mexican Federal Highway 200 (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Mexican Federal Highway 134 (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Zihuatanejo bus station (Central de Autobuses Estrella Blanca) (4.8 mi/7.8 km)

 

Attractions
  • Marina Ixtapa Golf Club (0.3 mi/0.5 km) 
  • Delfiniti Ixtapa dolphinarium (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Magic World water park (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Plaza las Fuentes (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Campo de Golf Ixtapa (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Isla Ixtapa (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • La Costa Grande Archaeological Museum (4.2 mi/6.7 km)

 

Business
  • Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Meeting and event space available
Policies and fees
Not included in all-inclusive plans: Lobster, shrimp and cuts of meat at restaurants; wine by the bottle; convenience-store snack foods and beverages; in-room mini-bar items; drinks at Christine disco; cover charges at Christine disco during open-bar special events; beauty services; ceramics painting; child care outside children's club hours; laundry and dry cleaning; telephone calls and faxes; Internet access; incidental purchases; outside tours; airport transfers; airport departure tax (approximately $20 USD per person -- amount subject to change).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Krystal Ixtapa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Krystal Ixtapa Rooms

Krystal Club Ocean View
Splendid rooms, casual decor and colorful bedspreads. King size or two double beds available, connecting rooms, mini bar, in room security box, cable TV with premium channels and on Command movies. Additional services: Private check in and check out continental breakfast, hors d'oeuvres and wine in the evenings at the club lounge. Access to the Gym. Wireless Internet.
Deluxe Ocean View Room
The room provides a furnished balcony with a spectacular panoramic view over the Pacific Ocean. These recently remodeled rooms are decorated with trendy style NH furniture, beds with spring-box mattresses, 27 inch television and a two-chair dining set. The barefoot-friendly guestrooms have marble floors, marble bathrooms with shower/tub combinations. Additional amenities include wireless internet free of charge, minibar, safety box, hairdryer, coffee & tea facilities, direct outside telephone line.
All Inclusive Deluxe Ocean View
Includes meals (including the famous Bogart's restaurant and seafood specialties at Las Velas restaurant), domestic and selected international drinks. Dine out program. No cover at Christine disco. All-Inclusive food and beverages: Buffet breakfasts, lunches, and dinners -Dinners at Aquamarina restaurant and/or La Velas restaurant -Three-course a la carte dinner at Bogart's restaurant (previous reservations at concierge desk. A la Carte menu for All Inclusive. Kids are allowed at 6pm seating time). House wine by the glass. -Snacks from noon to 5 pm -Domestic and selected international drinks, except at Christine and servibar. -Room service (limited snacks from 11 pm to 6 am). -Board games at the Sport bar. -Dine-around program. -Supervised outdoor activities for ages 4-12 from 10 AM to 5 PM (hours subject to change). -All tips and taxes included.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Bogart's
Fine food for fine people An ambience where that atmosphere of romance and adventure is recreated. It is the perfect place to give free rein to your own fantasy while enjoying the delights and specialties of the international exquisite cuisine. For regular guests to Ixtapa we do not have to explain anything about this famous and well known restaurant. Set in a decor of Casablanca in Moroccan style with live piano music every night, it will make you feel you are in a real movie. This air-conditioned fine dining restaurant offers an international changing menu and a wide variety of quality wines; it is also known for its table preparations. Reservations and dress code required. Some items with surcharge for all inclusive plans.
Sport Bar
Located in the heart of the hotel featuring big plasma television screens, pool table and various game tables: open from 6 pm to midnight.
Room Service
Available 24 hs.
Cascada Snack Bar
Casual, open-air restaurant/bar serving burgers, hot dogs, nachos, quesadillas, tacos. Open late morning to early evening. Food served daily in high seasons (late-December through Easter, mid-June through August) and weekends during low seasons.
Las Velas
Open-air, ocean-view restaurant with thatched roof. A la carte and/or buffet lunches. A la carte dinners featuring grilled foods.
Aquamarina
Breakfast and dinner are served in this lively open air restaurant with pool/ocean view. The breakfast buffet consists of a wide variety of international as well as typical Mexican dishes. At night an a la carte menu is served.
Special Notice
Christmas and New Years dinner are not included in the all-inclusive plan. There will be a surcharge of $75 for adults and $40 for children under 12 on December 24 and December 25, and a surcharge of $100 for adults and $60 for children under 12 on December 31. Guests can reserve a table at check-in and will receive a confirmation coupon.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hotel Krystal Ixtapa is the best option for holding congresses and conventions. It has 8 fully equipped meeting rooms and its swimming pool for the organization of events of up to 3,000 people. At the same time, it offers 3 restaurants, sport bar, lobby bar and the Beach Club.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Krystal Ixtapa

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Canoga Park, CA
Jun 29, 2010

It was a nightmare

1. We arrive to find out the our vacation was not all included meals/drinks The gentleman in the front desk wanted to bargain with us. He wanted us pay 80.USD per person a day for meals/ drinks he seen we would take the deal he was offering us he lower the price to 60.USD per person. When we ask to speak to a manager his answer was "I am the manager that's why I can give you that price" 2. on Wednesday the 23rd we had step out of our room in the evening and I had left one of the lights on; when we return to our room the lights where off and some of our personal belonging where reorganize "moved" I had complained to the front desk and the only thing they can tell me is that it wounded happen again! 3. They had our rooms confuse with someone ales; on Friday the 25th the bellboy opened our door while my wife was getting dress. The Hotel had gave our room to someone ales while we where still occupying it. 4. We had left a written complain to the hotel and left it for management to read over whit our email's and signatures.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Braunfels TX
Jul 11, 2010

The worst

When we arrived we had booked a family suite. That is 2 rooms that are connecting. we were given two rooms with no connection i have a 6 and 7 yr old children they were not to sleep in a separate rooms with no adult supervision. I was upset that nothing could be done not even a refund for one of the rooms so my husband stayed with one of the children and i stayed with an other. Then to top it off my children could not get the continental breakfast because only adult get it. So i paid for continental BF and had to pay more for my children. They also told me that i should of booked thru them and this would of never happened. Over all ixtapa was beautiful. would go again but a different hotel..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 28, 2011

would not recommend this hotel

The hotel restaurants were fine. Our room was not so good. The bathroom was gross. Some of the workers at the front desk were disrespectful and had very bad manners. If anyone in USA acted that way with customers, they would be fired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle Wa
Nov 29, 2009

Horrible!

I felt like everyone that worked at the hotel was very military and unfriendly. I appriciate the security and a whole bunch of workers at the front desk but I felt I was being watched the whole time. The rooms & bathrooms were very old and run down. My tub had porcelin peeling on the bottom of the tub. Didn't want to take a bath! The handles for both tub and faucet were hard to turn on and off. No refrigerator in the room, not coffee maker, no cups... ps Don't ask for a refund because they won't do it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Krystal No Mas
Business
Golden, Colorado
Apr 24, 2009

*Stay away from the All Inclusive*

All Inclusive here is the worst money you will ever spend in Mexico. The mixed drinks are absolutely watered down beyond belief. I swear the wait/drink staff ignore the people wearing the all inclusive red wrist bands. I guess they go after full paying customers to get a better tip? The food is atrocious with buffet service included on AI and only a day or 2 where you can order off the menu. The breakfast buffet is actually decent where as the lunch and dinner buffet is horrible. You can order off the menu at any meal but they will tack on an additional $13 per person per meal. Please! Please! people save all the money you would spend on the additional All Inclusive feature and just go into town (a very short walk) and eat from several very inexpensive local restaurants. Most of the time the 2 of us could eat breakfast or lunch for $10 total or less and dinner for 2 was usually under $20 total. They have happy hours all the time in town with beers running just about $1 and margaritas running 2 for 4$ or so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monterrey, Mexico
Jan 2, 2010

Never Again

My Check In was a nightmare. I spent 40 minutes in line while many people who came after me got serviced first. It was disorganized the staff did not seem to care about me. I had to keep asking for hand towels and face cloths in the room. There were no ice machines and every day I had to make several calls just to get ice to my room. Internet was expensive and stopped working. The bath tub was disgusting. There were many angry customers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Many nice restaurants in Zihuatanejo.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bummed and dissatisfied
Business
Fort Worth, Texas
Jul 1, 2014

HOTEL VERY OUTDATED

I travel to my country, Mexico quite a bit and keep in mind that the accommodations one has in the states cannot compare with those in other countries usually. However, this hotel truly needs a lot of renovation and updating and simply cannot justify the prices they require for the accommodations they provide. We booked a "family suite" which really turned out to be two rooms side by side. Pictures of "suite" on the website are very deceiving. First of all, the rooms were hot from the moment we walked in and never really got cool enough, AC not very efficient. On the third day we had rain and we returned to our room after breakfast only to walk right into a huge puddle of water on the floor from where there was a major leak in the balcony sliding door. This explained the room being hot, but again, both rooms were never cool. For our last evening We were moved two floors down and although this room was much cooler yet smaller than what we paid for. The staff argued with me in disagreement, but clearly the balcony and room were much smaller. We were never offered a partial reimbursement or even a complimentary dinner in the restaurant there (as we did not book all-inclusive) have for the inconvenience or the down sizing of room. The hotel is very old and the rooms really need some serious renovation and updating. The location of the hotel is really great, but the hotel is not great whatsoever. We didn't get the all inclusive package and now I'm glad we didn't as we don't feel we got our money's worth with just the room cost. Had to call for coffee packs each day because the staff wouldn't leave any after cleaning the room. Never got an ice bucket in room for ice, had to go down to bar with a bag to be filled. The pool service was poor. Never could get a wait staff person to order a beverage. The pool water was also too warm. Very disappointing and frustrating over all. Ixtapa is a beautiful place but our stay in this hotel really put a damper on our three day stay. Stinks to come in from the beach on a hot day to an equally hot room.. I do not recommend this hotel whatsoever. Not worth the money, aggravation and most of all, the great disappointment for a trip one saves for and looks forward to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

the shopping and dining out of the hotel was very convenient right across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jorge Futbolista
Business
Los Angeles
Apr 29, 2014

Good location

Rooms were cleaned but the hotel was damaged during recent earthquake.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Beautiful Church within 2 miles.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ixtapa Fan
Business
Detroit, MI
Apr 27, 2010

Losing its luster

We have been coming here for 15 years. We love the location and the hotel layout. The staff has always been friendly and efficient. However, since going to the ALL Inclusive option it seems the service and quality of food has begun to suffer. We tried the All Inclusive option for the first time this year. I'm sorry to say it will be our last time doing so. It is the most uninclusive all inclusive hotel I have ever been to. Also the building itself is beginning to show its wear. The rooms really need to be updated. Its still a good value but hopefully will get back to what it was when we first started coming down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Eddie Oso
Business
Santa cruz, CA
Jan 26, 2011

Not next year

When checking into the hotel we were given a room with a bad view, had to bribe the front desk and bellman 10.00 to get a better room - even thou we confirmed with hotel the day before a king bed. Once taken to the 2nd room someone had been in it so maid had to come clean - about 5:30 pm. We have stayed at the Krystal the last 4 - 6 years - will not return unless the rooms are updated. The bathroom had rust around the door, mold and stains on the ceiling, the bathtub was discolored and in very bad condition. The roome had a mold smell in it. The pool area was not cleaned every night. Noticed that towards the weekend when the locals come in they cleaned !! Also - the slide and waterfall only had water doing 25% of the time we were there. Very disappointed in the condition of the hotel. It is a good location - but there are other hotels with just as good locations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't eat at the hotel - there are many good resturants in walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top