$66 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 28, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

Krystal Ixtapa

3 stars
View map of Krystal Ixtapa, Ixtapa, 40880

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Krystal Ixtapa

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
w,ville tom
Business
Elysian, mn
Feb 18, 2010

Ixtapa Krystal resort

would recommend to anyone who wishes a quiet peaceful get away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

excellent dining within 5 minute walk. try chili beans and blue shrimp for seafood.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago,IL
Feb 4, 2010

Not worth the money!

Have been going to Ixtapa,MX for over 10 years. Stayed in Krystal one time before and was in nice room with a nice shower and great view. This time we were put in old room with a tub and shower. The shower had a half door and every time we took a shower the floor was full of water. VERY DANGEROUS! We never had towels, wash cloths, or hand towels in our room by 2 PM. The room was cleaned but no towels until 5 PM. They charge for the internet and Very Expensive! I was told that it was free and they changed it this year, I guess. Hotel staff is very unfriendly and uncooperative. Pool staff is very nice. Would not recommend or go back. Lots of other nice choices in Ixtapa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very nice shops and dining across the street and a short walk from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Eddie Oso
Business
Watsonville, ca
Jan 26, 2010

vacation

Rented bikes Went to Ixtapa Island and snorkeled Didn't like the sign in front saying you could not bring in food items to your room The cont'l. breakfast deal we got was great Only got the wine and O'd once, had to go to Bogarts to get; got bitten by bugs there!! People that had all inclusive said food was boring and where very upset

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of good resturants in walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monterrey, Mexico
Jan 2, 2010

Never Again

My Check In was a nightmare. I spent 40 minutes in line while many people who came after me got serviced first. It was disorganized the staff did not seem to care about me. I had to keep asking for hand towels and face cloths in the room. There were no ice machines and every day I had to make several calls just to get ice to my room. Internet was expensive and stopped working. The bath tub was disgusting. There were many angry customers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Many nice restaurants in Zihuatanejo.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Spokane, WA
Dec 2, 2009

A Very Nice Place

An excellent hotel for families seeking a quiet and beautiful spot on the beach with plenty of good local restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle Wa
Nov 29, 2009

Horrible!

I felt like everyone that worked at the hotel was very military and unfriendly. I appriciate the security and a whole bunch of workers at the front desk but I felt I was being watched the whole time. The rooms & bathrooms were very old and run down. My tub had porcelin peeling on the bottom of the tub. Didn't want to take a bath! The handles for both tub and faucet were hard to turn on and off. No refrigerator in the room, not coffee maker, no cups... ps Don't ask for a refund because they won't do it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Spring, Texas
Jul 7, 2009

GREAT HOTEL!!!!

This is a very nice and clean hotel. The only thing is that starting thursday through sunday all the local people stay here and they get up at the crack of dawn and go and put their stuff in the pool charis so when you get dowm there at 10 their is not one seat left, but nobody is down there. It is pretty unfair. Also the breakfast buffet is a rip off 30 dollars for 2 people. You can down to Chili beans and you can both eat for 10 dollars. They have the best food. Franks is another resturant that had the best bacon wrapped shrimp I have ever had. This place was a little pricy, but WELL worth it 50 dollar for 2. This hotel is near everything so you do not need to rent a car. There is a travel agent on sit so everything y ou book there they can and pick you up from your hotel. We did Ixtapa island and it was beautiful. I have snorkled in Maui and cozumel and this was by far the best I have seen. The sunset cruise was wonderful also. All in all this was a great trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is 2 flea markets in Ixtapa that were great. They had tones of stuff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rusty Trombone
Business
Bay Area, CA
May 4, 2009

One of the best trips of my life

My first time to Ixtapa. The second best trip I've had in Mexico. I wish they would let adults jump from the top of the waterfall at the kids pool--only kids can do this according to the sign.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Senor Frogs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rusty Trombone
Business
Bay Area, CA
May 4, 2009

One of the best trips of my life

My first time to Ixtapa. The second best trip I've had in Mexico. I wish they would let adults jump from the top of the waterfall at the kids pool--only kids can do this according to the sign.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Senor Frogs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Krystal No Mas
Business
Golden, Colorado
Apr 24, 2009

*Stay away from the All Inclusive*

All Inclusive here is the worst money you will ever spend in Mexico. The mixed drinks are absolutely watered down beyond belief. I swear the wait/drink staff ignore the people wearing the all inclusive red wrist bands. I guess they go after full paying customers to get a better tip? The food is atrocious with buffet service included on AI and only a day or 2 where you can order off the menu. The breakfast buffet is actually decent where as the lunch and dinner buffet is horrible. You can order off the menu at any meal but they will tack on an additional $13 per person per meal. Please! Please! people save all the money you would spend on the additional All Inclusive feature and just go into town (a very short walk) and eat from several very inexpensive local restaurants. Most of the time the 2 of us could eat breakfast or lunch for $10 total or less and dinner for 2 was usually under $20 total. They have happy hours all the time in town with beers running just about $1 and margaritas running 2 for 4$ or so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top