$60 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2014 Check-out: Aug 29, 2014

Krystal Ixtapa

3 stars
Krystal Ixtapa, Ixtapa, 40880
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
66 reviews
relaxing recharge

The hotel is quite nice, but much better suited for the European plan. If you are looking for an... See full review

  • sun addicted
  • Jan 12, 2014
We really liked the Krystal

We really liked the Krystal mostly for it's location and service! We had met many families that had... See full review

  • Travis Anderson
  • Mar 29, 2013
Beachfront resort with swim-up bar, beach activities and kids’ club
The Krystal Ixtapa hotel features amenities ideal for families, couples' vacations and honeymooners. The all-inclusive plan includes meals, domestic and selected international drinks and entrance fees to Christine disco. Guest rooms feature cable TV and balconies with spectacular ocean views. The Krystal Ixtapa resort is situated between two championship golf courses and also features a freeform pool with swim-up bar and water slide -- the perfect spot to spend a lazy afternoon sipping a cocktail under the palapa.

 

Highlights
  • Air-conditioned fitness center
  • All-night Christine disco
  • Kids' club for ages five to 12
  • Club rooms include daily continental breakfast and afternoon hors d'oeuvres

 

Rooms
Bright orange and yellow colors evoke the surrounding tropics, while contemporary details such as dark woods lend a contemporary feel to rooms and suites at Krystal Ixtapa. Private balconies showcase the Pacific or Sierra Madre del Sur mountains.
 
Krystal Ixtapa room options range from comfortable deluxe rooms to the lavish presidential suite. The all-inclusive deluxe ocean view room includes buffet meals, as well as a three-course a la carte dinner at Bogart's restaurant, seafood specialties at Las Velas and room service. In-room amenities include marble floors, air conditioning, coffee makers and mini-bars.

 

Features
A water slide, waterfall and children's and toddlers' sections make the Krystal Ixtapa pool a good place for the whole family to spend a sunny afternoon. Golfers take advantage of preferred greens fees at the Marina Ixtapa Golf Club across the street. Or wander over to the Plaza las Fuentes for shopping and dining.

 

Transportation
  • Ixtapa-Zihuatanejo International Airport (10.8 mi/17.4 km)
  • Mexican Federal Highway 200 (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Mexican Federal Highway 134 (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Zihuatanejo bus station (Central de Autobuses Estrella Blanca) (4.8 mi/7.8 km)

 

Attractions
  • Marina Ixtapa Golf Club (0.3 mi/0.5 km) 
  • Delfiniti Ixtapa dolphinarium (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Magic World water park (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Plaza las Fuentes (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Campo de Golf Ixtapa (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Isla Ixtapa (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • La Costa Grande Archaeological Museum (4.2 mi/6.7 km)

 

Business
  • Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Meeting and event space available
Policies and fees
Not included in all-inclusive plans: Lobster, shrimp and cuts of meat at restaurants; wine by the bottle; convenience-store snack foods and beverages; in-room mini-bar items; drinks at Christine disco; cover charges at Christine disco during open-bar special events; beauty services; ceramics painting; child care outside children's club hours; laundry and dry cleaning; telephone calls and faxes; Internet access; incidental purchases; outside tours; airport transfers; airport departure tax (approximately $20 USD per person -- amount subject to change).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

17.662 -101.6053
Area served
Ixtapa, Guerrero
Nearby airports
Ixtapa Airport (ZIH) 9 Milles
Area description
Located right in the middle of Ixtapa Bay, in the resort's area, four miles from Zihuatanejo Down Town and 9 miles from the airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Krystal Ixtapa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Krystal Ixtapa Rooms

Krystal Club Ocean View
Splendid rooms, casual decor and colorful bedspreads. King size or two double beds available, connecting rooms, mini bar, in room security box, cable TV with premium channels and on Command movies. Additional services: Private check in and check out continental breakfast, hors d'oeuvres and wine in the evenings at the club lounge. Access to the Gym. Wireless Internet.
Deluxe Ocean View Room
The room provides a furnished balcony with a spectacular panoramic view over the Pacific Ocean. These recently remodeled rooms are decorated with trendy style NH furniture, beds with spring-box mattresses, 27 inch television and a two-chair dining set. The barefoot-friendly guestrooms have marble floors, marble bathrooms with shower/tub combinations. Additional amenities include wireless internet free of charge, minibar, safety box, hairdryer, coffee & tea facilities, direct outside telephone line.
All Inclusive Deluxe Ocean View
Includes meals (including the famous Bogart's restaurant and seafood specialties at Las Velas restaurant), domestic and selected international drinks. Dine out program. No cover at Christine disco. All-Inclusive food and beverages: Buffet breakfasts, lunches, and dinners -Dinners at Aquamarina restaurant and/or La Velas restaurant -Three-course a la carte dinner at Bogart's restaurant (previous reservations at concierge desk. A la Carte menu for All Inclusive. Kids are allowed at 6pm seating time). House wine by the glass. -Snacks from noon to 5 pm -Domestic and selected international drinks, except at Christine and servibar. -Room service (limited snacks from 11 pm to 6 am). -Board games at the Sport bar. -Dine-around program. -Supervised outdoor activities for ages 4-12 from 10 AM to 5 PM (hours subject to change). -All tips and taxes included.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hotel Krystal Ixtapa is the best option for holding congresses and conventions. It has 8 fully equipped meeting rooms and its swimming pool for the organization of events of up to 3,000 people. At the same time, it offers 3 restaurants, sport bar, lobby bar and the Beach Club.

Dining

Bogart's
Fine food for fine people An ambience where that atmosphere of romance and adventure is recreated. It is the perfect place to give free rein to your own fantasy while enjoying the delights and specialties of the international exquisite cuisine. For regular guests to Ixtapa we do not have to explain anything about this famous and well known restaurant. Set in a decor of Casablanca in Moroccan style with live piano music every night, it will make you feel you are in a real movie. This air-conditioned fine dining restaurant offers an international changing menu and a wide variety of quality wines; it is also known for its table preparations. Reservations and dress code required. Some items with surcharge for all inclusive plans.
Sport Bar
Located in the heart of the hotel featuring big plasma television screens, pool table and various game tables: open from 6 pm to midnight.
Room Service
Available 24 hs.
Cascada Snack Bar
Casual, open-air restaurant/bar serving burgers, hot dogs, nachos, quesadillas, tacos. Open late morning to early evening. Food served daily in high seasons (late-December through Easter, mid-June through August) and weekends during low seasons.
Las Velas
Open-air, ocean-view restaurant with thatched roof. A la carte and/or buffet lunches. A la carte dinners featuring grilled foods.
Aquamarina
Breakfast and dinner are served in this lively open air restaurant with pool/ocean view. The breakfast buffet consists of a wide variety of international as well as typical Mexican dishes. At night an a la carte menu is served.
Special Notice
Christmas and New Years dinner are not included in the all-inclusive plan. There will be a surcharge of $75 for adults and $40 for children under 12 on December 24 and December 25, and a surcharge of $100 for adults and $60 for children under 12 on December 31. Guests can reserve a table at check-in and will receive a confirmation coupon.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (66)

Ratings and reviews for Krystal Ixtapa

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Monterrey, Mexico
Jan 2, 2010

Never Again

My Check In was a nightmare. I spent 40 minutes in line while many people who came after me got serviced first. It was disorganized the staff did not seem to care about me. I had to keep asking for hand towels and face cloths in the room. There were no ice machines and every day I had to make several calls just to get ice to my room. Internet was expensive and stopped working. The bath tub was disgusting. There were many angry customers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Many nice restaurants in Zihuatanejo.

Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Spokane, WA
Dec 2, 2009

A Very Nice Place

An excellent hotel for families seeking a quiet and beautiful spot on the beach with plenty of good local restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle Wa
Nov 29, 2009

Horrible!

I felt like everyone that worked at the hotel was very military and unfriendly. I appriciate the security and a whole bunch of workers at the front desk but I felt I was being watched the whole time. The rooms & bathrooms were very old and run down. My tub had porcelin peeling on the bottom of the tub. Didn't want to take a bath! The handles for both tub and faucet were hard to turn on and off. No refrigerator in the room, not coffee maker, no cups... ps Don't ask for a refund because they won't do it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Spring, Texas
Jul 7, 2009

GREAT HOTEL!!!!

This is a very nice and clean hotel. The only thing is that starting thursday through sunday all the local people stay here and they get up at the crack of dawn and go and put their stuff in the pool charis so when you get dowm there at 10 their is not one seat left, but nobody is down there. It is pretty unfair. Also the breakfast buffet is a rip off 30 dollars for 2 people. You can down to Chili beans and you can both eat for 10 dollars. They have the best food. Franks is another resturant that had the best bacon wrapped shrimp I have ever had. This place was a little pricy, but WELL worth it 50 dollar for 2. This hotel is near everything so you do not need to rent a car. There is a travel agent on sit so everything y ou book there they can and pick you up from your hotel. We did Ixtapa island and it was beautiful. I have snorkled in Maui and cozumel and this was by far the best I have seen. The sunset cruise was wonderful also. All in all this was a great trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is 2 flea markets in Ixtapa that were great. They had tones of stuff.

Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rusty Trombone
Bay Area, CA
May 4, 2009

One of the best trips of my life

My first time to Ixtapa. The second best trip I've had in Mexico. I wish they would let adults jump from the top of the waterfall at the kids pool--only kids can do this according to the sign.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Senor Frogs

Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Krystal No Mas
Golden, Colorado
Apr 24, 2009

*Stay away from the All Inclusive*

All Inclusive here is the worst money you will ever spend in Mexico. The mixed drinks are absolutely watered down beyond belief. I swear the wait/drink staff ignore the people wearing the all inclusive red wrist bands. I guess they go after full paying customers to get a better tip? The food is atrocious with buffet service included on AI and only a day or 2 where you can order off the menu. The breakfast buffet is actually decent where as the lunch and dinner buffet is horrible. You can order off the menu at any meal but they will tack on an additional $13 per person per meal. Please! Please! people save all the money you would spend on the additional All Inclusive feature and just go into town (a very short walk) and eat from several very inexpensive local restaurants. Most of the time the 2 of us could eat breakfast or lunch for $10 total or less and dinner for 2 was usually under $20 total. They have happy hours all the time in town with beers running just about $1 and margaritas running 2 for 4$ or so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kathy Realtor
Business
Madison, WI
Apr 23, 2009

Mexico Getaway.

We were there as part of a group of realtors taking some continuing education classes. We have stayed at the Krystal several other times in the past. There were some deferred maintenance issues this time. We had a couple of problems with the water and shower in our room. The hotel staff was very helpful and upgraded our room at no additional cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of good shopping and dining within walking distance. Ixtapa Island was a very nice experience. I would recommend it to anyone. Especially for snorkeling.

Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
flatlander.yooper
michigan
Apr 22, 2009

Nice home away from home

Krystal Hotel is very friendly helpful staff nice amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Arvada
Jun 15, 2008

not good or bad

We paid for the NH Club room and arrived there for our honeymoon. The room was not ready so they put us in the 3rd floor, not the 11th, for the whole trip. The bottle of wine and snacks are a joke. The bottle is 135ml red wine and the snacks are 3 crackers with cheese. We did not get any of the things we paid for with the club room. We talked to the manager upon check in, he said he would fix it and come find us right away. One day turned into 8 days and 5 trips back to the front desk. In short, they did not honor the room or anything we paid for. The pool has a great waterfall you can jump off, only if you are a kid. Makes no sense watching kids with water-wings jumping off a 8 foot waterfall into 10 feet of water and no adults can use it. The adults are stuck in the 4.5 ft deep area. I was a little upset with that and it took some fun out of the pool. The pool staff is great. It is like they are a different group of the hotel and they go above and beyond to help you in the right way. Food was OK at the resturant but the pool side was better. The pool bar is only open from 12-6 and they only stay open if people are there. Overall, I would rate this hotel about a 2.5 out of 5. For a honeymoon, they did not make us feel like we were special at all and it took away from it. They would also not honor the NH credits upon check out even when I showed them the website for NH hotels. Again, the front desk is not the best. Express check out with the Club rooms does not exist. You stand in the same line as everyone else. I would stay there again for the pool and our kids however, I would check other hotels in the area before booking this one again. This would be my last choice of hotels for a while.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You have to have Emilios pizza across the street. It is the best pizza I think I have ever had.

Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palos Heights
May 8, 2008

Good Location

This hotel was very conviently located in the middle of the hotel stip. You are in within 10 minutes to a lot of shopping and restaurants. The rooms were very clean. The hotel says wireless internet, but i found that it only works in the lobby, bar or on a certain floor. It was vey inconvenient. Overall, i would recommend this hotel to others, but everything in the hotel closes rather early

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search