$104 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Krystal Ixtapa

3 stars
Krystal Ixtapa, Ixtapa, 40880
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
64 reviews
relaxing recharge

The hotel is quite nice, but much better suited for the European plan. If you are looking for an... See full review

  • sun addicted
  • Jan 12, 2014
A near perfect package

We have stayed at various places over the last 15 years in Ixtapa. Hotels, but mostly condos. I now... See full review

  • jakenju
  • Mar 4, 2011
Beachfront resort with swim-up bar, beach activities and kids’ club
The Krystal Ixtapa hotel features amenities ideal for families, couples' vacations and honeymooners. The all-inclusive plan includes meals, domestic and selected international drinks and entrance fees to Christine disco. Guest rooms feature cable TV and balconies with spectacular ocean views. The Krystal Ixtapa resort is situated between two championship golf courses and also features a freeform pool with swim-up bar and water slide -- the perfect spot to spend a lazy afternoon sipping a cocktail under the palapa.

 

Highlights
  • Air-conditioned fitness center
  • All-night Christine disco
  • Kids' club for ages five to 12
  • Club rooms include daily continental breakfast and afternoon hors d'oeuvres

 

Rooms
Bright orange and yellow colors evoke the surrounding tropics, while contemporary details such as dark woods lend a contemporary feel to rooms and suites at Krystal Ixtapa. Private balconies showcase the Pacific or Sierra Madre del Sur mountains.
 
Krystal Ixtapa room options range from comfortable deluxe rooms to the lavish presidential suite. The all-inclusive deluxe ocean view room includes buffet meals, as well as a three-course a la carte dinner at Bogart's restaurant, seafood specialties at Las Velas and room service. In-room amenities include marble floors, air conditioning, coffee makers and mini-bars.

 

Features
A water slide, waterfall and children's and toddlers' sections make the Krystal Ixtapa pool a good place for the whole family to spend a sunny afternoon. Golfers take advantage of preferred greens fees at the Marina Ixtapa Golf Club across the street. Or wander over to the Plaza las Fuentes for shopping and dining.

 

Transportation
  • Ixtapa-Zihuatanejo International Airport (10.8 mi/17.4 km)
  • Mexican Federal Highway 200 (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Mexican Federal Highway 134 (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Zihuatanejo bus station (Central de Autobuses Estrella Blanca) (4.8 mi/7.8 km)

 

Attractions
  • Marina Ixtapa Golf Club (0.3 mi/0.5 km) 
  • Delfiniti Ixtapa dolphinarium (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Magic World water park (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Plaza las Fuentes (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Campo de Golf Ixtapa (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Isla Ixtapa (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • La Costa Grande Archaeological Museum (4.2 mi/6.7 km)

 

Business
  • Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Meeting and event space available
Policies and fees
Not included in all-inclusive plans: Lobster, shrimp and cuts of meat at restaurants; wine by the bottle; convenience-store snack foods and beverages; in-room mini-bar items; drinks at Christine disco; cover charges at Christine disco during open-bar special events; beauty services; ceramics painting; child care outside children's club hours; laundry and dry cleaning; telephone calls and faxes; Internet access; incidental purchases; outside tours; airport transfers; airport departure tax (approximately $20 USD per person -- amount subject to change).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Krystal Ixtapa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Krystal Ixtapa Rooms

Krystal Club Ocean View
Splendid rooms, casual decor and colorful bedspreads. King size or two double beds available, connecting rooms, mini bar, in room security box, cable TV with premium channels and on Command movies. Additional services: Private check in and check out continental breakfast, hors d'oeuvres and wine in the evenings at the club lounge. Access to the Gym. Wireless Internet.
Deluxe Ocean View Room
The room provides a furnished balcony with a spectacular panoramic view over the Pacific Ocean. These recently remodeled rooms are decorated with trendy style NH furniture, beds with spring-box mattresses, 27 inch television and a two-chair dining set. The barefoot-friendly guestrooms have marble floors, marble bathrooms with shower/tub combinations. Additional amenities include wireless internet free of charge, minibar, safety box, hairdryer, coffee & tea facilities, direct outside telephone line.
All Inclusive Deluxe Ocean View
Includes meals (including the famous Bogart's restaurant and seafood specialties at Las Velas restaurant), domestic and selected international drinks. Dine out program. No cover at Christine disco. All-Inclusive food and beverages: Buffet breakfasts, lunches, and dinners -Dinners at Aquamarina restaurant and/or La Velas restaurant -Three-course a la carte dinner at Bogart's restaurant (previous reservations at concierge desk. A la Carte menu for All Inclusive. Kids are allowed at 6pm seating time). House wine by the glass. -Snacks from noon to 5 pm -Domestic and selected international drinks, except at Christine and servibar. -Room service (limited snacks from 11 pm to 6 am). -Board games at the Sport bar. -Dine-around program. -Supervised outdoor activities for ages 4-12 from 10 AM to 5 PM (hours subject to change). -All tips and taxes included.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Bogart's
Fine food for fine people An ambience where that atmosphere of romance and adventure is recreated. It is the perfect place to give free rein to your own fantasy while enjoying the delights and specialties of the international exquisite cuisine. For regular guests to Ixtapa we do not have to explain anything about this famous and well known restaurant. Set in a decor of Casablanca in Moroccan style with live piano music every night, it will make you feel you are in a real movie. This air-conditioned fine dining restaurant offers an international changing menu and a wide variety of quality wines; it is also known for its table preparations. Reservations and dress code required. Some items with surcharge for all inclusive plans.
Sport Bar
Located in the heart of the hotel featuring big plasma television screens, pool table and various game tables: open from 6 pm to midnight.
Room Service
Available 24 hs.
Cascada Snack Bar
Casual, open-air restaurant/bar serving burgers, hot dogs, nachos, quesadillas, tacos. Open late morning to early evening. Food served daily in high seasons (late-December through Easter, mid-June through August) and weekends during low seasons.
Las Velas
Open-air, ocean-view restaurant with thatched roof. A la carte and/or buffet lunches. A la carte dinners featuring grilled foods.
Aquamarina
Breakfast and dinner are served in this lively open air restaurant with pool/ocean view. The breakfast buffet consists of a wide variety of international as well as typical Mexican dishes. At night an a la carte menu is served.
Special Notice
Christmas and New Years dinner are not included in the all-inclusive plan. There will be a surcharge of $75 for adults and $40 for children under 12 on December 24 and December 25, and a surcharge of $100 for adults and $60 for children under 12 on December 31. Guests can reserve a table at check-in and will receive a confirmation coupon.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hotel Krystal Ixtapa is the best option for holding congresses and conventions. It has 8 fully equipped meeting rooms and its swimming pool for the organization of events of up to 3,000 people. At the same time, it offers 3 restaurants, sport bar, lobby bar and the Beach Club.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (64)

Ratings and reviews for Krystal Ixtapa

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Clintocks
Business
Flushing, MI
Feb 20, 2011

4th stay at the Krystal

This is the 4th trip for our family (always a group of 10-14) to Ixtapa. We have stayed at the Krystal everytime and the hotel itself is always clean and the grounds are kept up well, but the hotel is in need of renovation. The pool area is awesome and very clean and the staff are always exceptionally nice and friendly. The location is also great as it is within walking distance of lots of shopping and dining. I would not recommend people go there if they expect a 4 or 5 star hotel, but if you don't mind the rooms having a few maintenance problems then it is an okay place to stay. To the owner of the hotel: PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE do some renovations so we don't have to go to a nicer hotel. We love staying there but it needs a big facelift.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Although it is more expensive go to Zihuatanejo for dinner, the food and service are generally better than in Ixtapa.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Packer Fan who Loves Mexico
Business
Wisconsin
Feb 20, 2011

Location, Location, Location

This hotel has a great location, but they really need some updates to the rooms, to the lobby and to the beach area where you sit. The staff is friendly, but they need to just go a little extra to make the experience great. The very worst part of this hotel right now is that there are no ice machines. You have to go daily to the restaurant and ask for your bucket of ice. Not the experience you want as a hotel guest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cookies German Restaurant and Bakery has fantastic chocolate chip pancakes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
elsalo
Business
Anchorage Alaska
Jan 28, 2011

best location for the price

maid service was the best she always made sure we had what ever we needed. front desk was helpful and cheerful . pool area was just right . just a few steps from the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Eddie Oso
Business
Santa cruz, CA
Jan 26, 2011

Not next year

When checking into the hotel we were given a room with a bad view, had to bribe the front desk and bellman 10.00 to get a better room - even thou we confirmed with hotel the day before a king bed. Once taken to the 2nd room someone had been in it so maid had to come clean - about 5:30 pm. We have stayed at the Krystal the last 4 - 6 years - will not return unless the rooms are updated. The bathroom had rust around the door, mold and stains on the ceiling, the bathtub was discolored and in very bad condition. The roome had a mold smell in it. The pool area was not cleaned every night. Noticed that towards the weekend when the locals come in they cleaned !! Also - the slide and waterfall only had water doing 25% of the time we were there. Very disappointed in the condition of the hotel. It is a good location - but there are other hotels with just as good locations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't eat at the hotel - there are many good resturants in walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, Fl
Jan 16, 2011

Great vacations

Location is great. The views to the pacific ocean and the smalls islands in front of ixtapa beach are superb. Hotel rooms needs an upgrade, but for us was OK because we enjoy a lot the beach,the pool and the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wolfgang - bargain hunter
Business
Anderson , IN. usa
Nov 30, 2010

Still safe place to vacation....

We last stayed at the Krystal hotel in Feb. 2008. Everything this time was good, esp. the pools, and beach area; the maid service was super!!!. Construction noise was a problem...they are renovating the 9 and 10th floor, so stay away from floor 8; we were on 8th floor and noise was bad at times. Also they should be able to guarantee a king size bed, and they always say king or double. Security is good in hotel zone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

buy gifts and everything you can in Zihuatanejo where it's cheaper . Use pesos , not dollars, to buy stuff; it is much cheaper that way. use the atm to get your money exchanged.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Braunfels TX
Jul 11, 2010

The worst

When we arrived we had booked a family suite. That is 2 rooms that are connecting. we were given two rooms with no connection i have a 6 and 7 yr old children they were not to sleep in a separate rooms with no adult supervision. I was upset that nothing could be done not even a refund for one of the rooms so my husband stayed with one of the children and i stayed with an other. Then to top it off my children could not get the continental breakfast because only adult get it. So i paid for continental BF and had to pay more for my children. They also told me that i should of booked thru them and this would of never happened. Over all ixtapa was beautiful. would go again but a different hotel..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Derel
Business
Wisconsin
Jul 4, 2010

Excellent for the money!

Dont listen to all the bad reviews. Yes the shower gets water on the floor but that is because its a glass door, and it doesnt matter anyways because there is a drain right next to the shower for that reason. Check in was a breeze. Extremely friendly staff that was willing to do anything to make our stay better! I would not do the all inclusive due too the fact that it is cheaper to walk across the road to all of the fantastic restaraunts! This is our third trip to Ixtapa and we love it every time. Go to Chili Beans and ask for the General! Dont hesitate to stay at this hotel its first class in my book for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Kapados music bar is a tree top bar that is alot of fun. They will play about any request that you have. El Camino is a little bar back in franks plaza that has beers for 130 pesos.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Canoga Park, CA
Jun 29, 2010

It was a nightmare

1. We arrive to find out the our vacation was not all included meals/drinks The gentleman in the front desk wanted to bargain with us. He wanted us pay 80.USD per person a day for meals/ drinks he seen we would take the deal he was offering us he lower the price to 60.USD per person. When we ask to speak to a manager his answer was "I am the manager that's why I can give you that price" 2. on Wednesday the 23rd we had step out of our room in the evening and I had left one of the lights on; when we return to our room the lights where off and some of our personal belonging where reorganize "moved" I had complained to the front desk and the only thing they can tell me is that it wounded happen again! 3. They had our rooms confuse with someone ales; on Friday the 25th the bellboy opened our door while my wife was getting dress. The Hotel had gave our room to someone ales while we where still occupying it. 4. We had left a written complain to the hotel and left it for management to read over whit our email's and signatures.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ixtapa Fan
Business
Detroit, MI
Apr 27, 2010

Losing its luster

We have been coming here for 15 years. We love the location and the hotel layout. The staff has always been friendly and efficient. However, since going to the ALL Inclusive option it seems the service and quality of food has begun to suffer. We tried the All Inclusive option for the first time this year. I'm sorry to say it will be our last time doing so. It is the most uninclusive all inclusive hotel I have ever been to. Also the building itself is beginning to show its wear. The rooms really need to be updated. Its still a good value but hopefully will get back to what it was when we first started coming down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top