$66 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Krystal Ixtapa

3 stars
View map of Krystal Ixtapa, Ixtapa, 40880

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Krystal Ixtapa

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 23, 2011

pretty good

Hotel Krystal was overall very nice. We did not do the all inclusive because we were told that the restaurants across the street were amazing and they were. The all inclusive food did not look that great and it sat out most of the day. The hotel was clean and we had everything we needed. A few concerns - we were supposed to have a suite with 1 king and 2 double beds - our room only had the 2 double beds. They stated that they don't offer the 3 bed option so be aware. I got a cot but I had to talk to 3 different people at the front desk to get it. Also they do not give you a key to the room fridge so we couldn't keep things cold. Check in and check out was fast and smooth. Pool area was amazing. I will definitely go to this hotel again because many of the hotels on the beach only offer all inclusive and we really enjoyed the experience and people in the town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take taxi's everywhere. They are super cheap and you usually can get to Ixtapa Island and Zihu for 6 dollars. Snorkeling on Ixtapa island was fun, but much of the coral is dead there, probably due to tourist standing on it. I recommend going out fishing or out on a boat in the morning. We saw manta rays and dolphins jumping out of the water everywhere! It was so amazing. Also saw a whale.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
johnnie V
Business
minnesota
Feb 23, 2011

great location

electricity turned off for a few hours the first two days there, food was ok, had to spray for ants the first day, toilet needed fixing, elevators weren't running all the time, only one some days, service was great though

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

if you take a cab some place, make sure you get the price before going, we were lied to or tried to overcharge us twice, one cab driver on our trip to the airport, took us for $20 extra, hotel was to pay for our trip and we had a voucher, but at the airport the cabbie started to make a fuss in front of everyone like he didn't understand that the hotel was paying him with the voucher,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 23, 2011

pretty good

Hotel Krystal was overall very nice. We did not do the all inclusive because we were told that the restaurants across the street were amazing and they were. The all inclusive food did not look that great and it sat out most of the day. The hotel was clean and we had everything we needed. A few concerns - we were supposed to have a suite with 1 king and 2 double beds - our room only had the 2 double beds. They stated that they don't offer the 3 bed option so be aware. I got a cot but I had to talk to 3 different people at the front desk to get it. Also they do not give you a key to the room fridge so we couldn't keep things cold. Check in and check out was fast and smooth. Pool area was amazing. I will definitely go to this hotel again because many of the hotels on the beach only offer all inclusive and we really enjoyed the experience and people in the town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take taxi's everywhere. They are super cheap and you usually can get to Ixtapa Island and Zihu for 6 dollars. Snorkeling on Ixtapa island was fun, but much of the coral is dead there, probably due to tourist standing on it. I recommend going out fishing or out on a boat in the morning. We saw manta rays and dolphins jumping out of the water everywhere! It was so amazing. Also saw a whale.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Clintocks
Business
Flushing, MI
Feb 20, 2011

4th stay at the Krystal

This is the 4th trip for our family (always a group of 10-14) to Ixtapa. We have stayed at the Krystal everytime and the hotel itself is always clean and the grounds are kept up well, but the hotel is in need of renovation. The pool area is awesome and very clean and the staff are always exceptionally nice and friendly. The location is also great as it is within walking distance of lots of shopping and dining. I would not recommend people go there if they expect a 4 or 5 star hotel, but if you don't mind the rooms having a few maintenance problems then it is an okay place to stay. To the owner of the hotel: PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE do some renovations so we don't have to go to a nicer hotel. We love staying there but it needs a big facelift.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Although it is more expensive go to Zihuatanejo for dinner, the food and service are generally better than in Ixtapa.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Packer Fan who Loves Mexico
Business
Wisconsin
Feb 20, 2011

Location, Location, Location

This hotel has a great location, but they really need some updates to the rooms, to the lobby and to the beach area where you sit. The staff is friendly, but they need to just go a little extra to make the experience great. The very worst part of this hotel right now is that there are no ice machines. You have to go daily to the restaurant and ask for your bucket of ice. Not the experience you want as a hotel guest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cookies German Restaurant and Bakery has fantastic chocolate chip pancakes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
elsalo
Business
Anchorage Alaska
Jan 28, 2011

best location for the price

maid service was the best she always made sure we had what ever we needed. front desk was helpful and cheerful . pool area was just right . just a few steps from the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Eddie Oso
Business
Santa cruz, CA
Jan 26, 2011

Not next year

When checking into the hotel we were given a room with a bad view, had to bribe the front desk and bellman 10.00 to get a better room - even thou we confirmed with hotel the day before a king bed. Once taken to the 2nd room someone had been in it so maid had to come clean - about 5:30 pm. We have stayed at the Krystal the last 4 - 6 years - will not return unless the rooms are updated. The bathroom had rust around the door, mold and stains on the ceiling, the bathtub was discolored and in very bad condition. The roome had a mold smell in it. The pool area was not cleaned every night. Noticed that towards the weekend when the locals come in they cleaned !! Also - the slide and waterfall only had water doing 25% of the time we were there. Very disappointed in the condition of the hotel. It is a good location - but there are other hotels with just as good locations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't eat at the hotel - there are many good resturants in walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, Fl
Jan 16, 2011

Great vacations

Location is great. The views to the pacific ocean and the smalls islands in front of ixtapa beach are superb. Hotel rooms needs an upgrade, but for us was OK because we enjoy a lot the beach,the pool and the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wolfgang - bargain hunter
Business
Anderson , IN. usa
Nov 30, 2010

Still safe place to vacation....

We last stayed at the Krystal hotel in Feb. 2008. Everything this time was good, esp. the pools, and beach area; the maid service was super!!!. Construction noise was a problem...they are renovating the 9 and 10th floor, so stay away from floor 8; we were on 8th floor and noise was bad at times. Also they should be able to guarantee a king size bed, and they always say king or double. Security is good in hotel zone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

buy gifts and everything you can in Zihuatanejo where it's cheaper . Use pesos , not dollars, to buy stuff; it is much cheaper that way. use the atm to get your money exchanged.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Braunfels TX
Jul 11, 2010

The worst

When we arrived we had booked a family suite. That is 2 rooms that are connecting. we were given two rooms with no connection i have a 6 and 7 yr old children they were not to sleep in a separate rooms with no adult supervision. I was upset that nothing could be done not even a refund for one of the rooms so my husband stayed with one of the children and i stayed with an other. Then to top it off my children could not get the continental breakfast because only adult get it. So i paid for continental BF and had to pay more for my children. They also told me that i should of booked thru them and this would of never happened. Over all ixtapa was beautiful. would go again but a different hotel..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top