$66 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

Krystal Ixtapa

3 stars
View map of Krystal Ixtapa, Ixtapa, 40880

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Krystal Ixtapa

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travis Anderson
Business
St Paul, Minnesota
Mar 29, 2013

We really liked the Krystal

We really liked the Krystal mostly for it's location and service! We had met many families that had been there before and were returning for as many as 20 years. It's comforting to hear that kind of loyalty to the destination and the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Reno Beach Couple
Business
Reno, Nevada
Feb 20, 2013

Needs help!

Great central location on a wonderful soft sand beach with numerous palapas for shade on the beach ... is great there. The pool(s) and area was very nice, attractive and well maintained. Used to be a swim-up bar years ago, but is now permanantly closed off. Fairly quiet and relaxing around pool area. Service is varied ... a few friendly and helpful, but many not even cordial ... no "Buenos dias", or similar ... no smile ... often as if they were doing us a favor! A little smile and friendliness is cheap and goes a long way. This, in my opinion, is due to weak management ... think training, expectations, etc. Management needs to raise the bar with training/expectations in how they greet and interact with their guests. Upon arrival, the front desk person was unfriendly ... not even a "Welcome to our hotel", or similar ... as if he was bored and did just the minimum to get us checked-in. Interestingly, one week later, upon our check-out, a different person at the front desk and our valet for our bags and getting us a cab were very friendly and professional. Wish we had received that warmth upon our arrival. The food and food service was way off! We ate at the hotel restaurant the first night ... it was not very good. Hence, we enjoyed good to excellent food at restaurants for the following nights across the street. We usually ate breakfast at the hotel before going to the beach. The menu had very little or no description (on both the English and Spanish sides). It was okay and some entrees were quite good, but NO consistency ... one day the same order as the next would be different! A great location on a great beach, but a "tired" property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many interesting and varied restaurants with very good food about 8-10 minutes walk from the front of the hotel in the commercial center. Makes a fun evening.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
El Presidente Uno
Business
Colorado Springs, Colo.
Feb 7, 2013

A great getaway during January

The hotel was one of the first in Ixtapa but is very comfortable and the room we had has been upgraded over the years. We have been going to Ixtapa for about 20 years and have always stayed at this hotel. The staff is great and the location is central so you can walk to every place in Ixtapa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EDCSJ
Business
Santa Cruz, CA, USA
Jan 28, 2013

staff

The staff at the hotel was very friendly, helpful and courtous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OOwweenn
Business
Mesa, AZ
Dec 16, 2012

Compact and complete.

Area compact and literally on the ocean. Took the all-inclusive and the food (and beverage) was varied and good every day. It was three days before we got out of the hotel to walk down the street to the bazaar. Read previous visit comments and I saw where renovations had been made and hotel upgrade appreciated by me. Minor problems when reported to the desk were handled. Would I recommend to others? YES! Will I return? YES!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy your Mexican currency at the airport. It was difficult to find a bank to change currency. If fact, we never found it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Queretaro
Aug 27, 2012

Excellent

This trip have a 50% in my reservation, the hotel has everything nearly, good beach, good pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Mariscos GABO II this restaurant estay in front of a pemex gasoline at the entrance of Ixtapa has a variety of sea food and good quality

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EGB2012
Business
Lake Elsinore, CA
Aug 19, 2012

Great vacation in Ixtapa

The Krystal was a very good hotel in respect to location on the beach, a wonderful pool and very clean rooms with nice updates. I did experience a problem with the Air Conditioning in the room as it broke after the first night we arrived. We were advised the A/C would be repaired and the hotel provided us a fan in the room. After the 4th night with A/C that was not functioning properly, we requested a room change The hotel was eager to please, however, made no accomodations or reductions in our hotel bill or our charges incurred at the hotel. In addition, when you check out, beware of hidden charges, such as charges for towel use at the pool, etc... You can removed, however, you have to ask for the charges to be removed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gringa Mama
Business
Puebla, MX
Aug 5, 2012

Ixtapa for families

Krystal Resort Hotel is older and really geared for families - on an all inclusive package. The beach is very nice with pounding heavy surf that is definitely dangerous - it's not a swimming beach. The pool is totally laid out for fun but if it is extremely hot then so it the pool and that is not refreshing. The staff were always there to serve and there wasn't much they could do about weak and inconsistent internet access and the same for the elevators.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Best restaurant bar none is Raffealo's just down the road fro Krystal. GREAT Italian food and perfect steak dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jameswm
Business
Bloomfield Hills, MI, USA
Mar 11, 2012

Spring Break

Our family LOVE Ixtapa/Zihua and have been there many times. This is second time we have stayed at Krystal. Location cannot be beat ~ within walking distance of everything and bus to Zihua right in front of hotel. We do not do all-inclusive as we love exploring Ixtapa restaurants (Soleido, Deborah's are great!) as well as Zihua (Daniel's). Regarding Krystal...room nice with great view.Housekeeping did good job ~ getting towels as well as TP for three was daily challenge and apparently Krystal doesn't supply washcloths. Staff cater to the Mexican guests especially Fridays thru Sunday which frankly became quite obvious not to mention annoying. Staff at Reception Desk as well as Concierge not terribly friendly and again catered to Mexican clients. Also....regarding room comfort ~ pillows hard and lumpy (WORST pillows we have ever slept on). Bedspreads were kind of similar to a plastic tablecloth.....definitely could use some improvement. Overall had a FABULOUS time. Plan to stay in Zihua next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RoadTripTraveler
Business
Houston, Texas, EEUU
Mar 6, 2012

Good Value for the price..

We Stayed 3 Days and was a good Experience for what we payed, the beach to take a walk its really good, all the rooms have at least partial view to the bay, on weekends they had this special Mexican night with music dancing food and beer for only 16 dollars the show its not special the food was ok, if you are looking for young crowd… this is not the place, everything it’s on walking distance, the rooms seems to be a little old but overall was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top