$56 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 27, 2014 Check-out: Nov 28, 2014

Krystal Ixtapa

3 stars
Krystal Ixtapa, Ixtapa, 40880
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
64 reviews
relaxing recharge

The hotel is quite nice, but much better suited for the European plan. If you are looking for an... See full review

  • sun addicted
  • Jan 12, 2014
A near perfect package

We have stayed at various places over the last 15 years in Ixtapa. Hotels, but mostly condos. I now... See full review

  • jakenju
  • Mar 4, 2011
Beachfront resort with swim-up bar, beach activities and kids’ club
The Krystal Ixtapa hotel features amenities ideal for families, couples' vacations and honeymooners. The all-inclusive plan includes meals, domestic and selected international drinks and entrance fees to Christine disco. Guest rooms feature cable TV and balconies with spectacular ocean views. The Krystal Ixtapa resort is situated between two championship golf courses and also features a freeform pool with swim-up bar and water slide -- the perfect spot to spend a lazy afternoon sipping a cocktail under the palapa.

 

Highlights
  • Air-conditioned fitness center
  • All-night Christine disco
  • Kids' club for ages five to 12
  • Club rooms include daily continental breakfast and afternoon hors d'oeuvres

 

Rooms
Bright orange and yellow colors evoke the surrounding tropics, while contemporary details such as dark woods lend a contemporary feel to rooms and suites at Krystal Ixtapa. Private balconies showcase the Pacific or Sierra Madre del Sur mountains.
 
Krystal Ixtapa room options range from comfortable deluxe rooms to the lavish presidential suite. The all-inclusive deluxe ocean view room includes buffet meals, as well as a three-course a la carte dinner at Bogart's restaurant, seafood specialties at Las Velas and room service. In-room amenities include marble floors, air conditioning, coffee makers and mini-bars.

 

Features
A water slide, waterfall and children's and toddlers' sections make the Krystal Ixtapa pool a good place for the whole family to spend a sunny afternoon. Golfers take advantage of preferred greens fees at the Marina Ixtapa Golf Club across the street. Or wander over to the Plaza las Fuentes for shopping and dining.

 

Transportation
  • Ixtapa-Zihuatanejo International Airport (10.8 mi/17.4 km)
  • Mexican Federal Highway 200 (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Mexican Federal Highway 134 (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Zihuatanejo bus station (Central de Autobuses Estrella Blanca) (4.8 mi/7.8 km)

 

Attractions
  • Marina Ixtapa Golf Club (0.3 mi/0.5 km) 
  • Delfiniti Ixtapa dolphinarium (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Magic World water park (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Plaza las Fuentes (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Campo de Golf Ixtapa (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Isla Ixtapa (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • La Costa Grande Archaeological Museum (4.2 mi/6.7 km)

 

Business
  • Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Meeting and event space available
Policies and fees
Not included in all-inclusive plans: Lobster, shrimp and cuts of meat at restaurants; wine by the bottle; convenience-store snack foods and beverages; in-room mini-bar items; drinks at Christine disco; cover charges at Christine disco during open-bar special events; beauty services; ceramics painting; child care outside children's club hours; laundry and dry cleaning; telephone calls and faxes; Internet access; incidental purchases; outside tours; airport transfers; airport departure tax (approximately $20 USD per person -- amount subject to change).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Krystal Ixtapa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Krystal Ixtapa Rooms

Krystal Club Ocean View
Splendid rooms, casual decor and colorful bedspreads. King size or two double beds available, connecting rooms, mini bar, in room security box, cable TV with premium channels and on Command movies. Additional services: Private check in and check out continental breakfast, hors d'oeuvres and wine in the evenings at the club lounge. Access to the Gym. Wireless Internet.
Deluxe Ocean View Room
The room provides a furnished balcony with a spectacular panoramic view over the Pacific Ocean. These recently remodeled rooms are decorated with trendy style NH furniture, beds with spring-box mattresses, 27 inch television and a two-chair dining set. The barefoot-friendly guestrooms have marble floors, marble bathrooms with shower/tub combinations. Additional amenities include wireless internet free of charge, minibar, safety box, hairdryer, coffee & tea facilities, direct outside telephone line.
All Inclusive Deluxe Ocean View
Includes meals (including the famous Bogart's restaurant and seafood specialties at Las Velas restaurant), domestic and selected international drinks. Dine out program. No cover at Christine disco. All-Inclusive food and beverages: Buffet breakfasts, lunches, and dinners -Dinners at Aquamarina restaurant and/or La Velas restaurant -Three-course a la carte dinner at Bogart's restaurant (previous reservations at concierge desk. A la Carte menu for All Inclusive. Kids are allowed at 6pm seating time). House wine by the glass. -Snacks from noon to 5 pm -Domestic and selected international drinks, except at Christine and servibar. -Room service (limited snacks from 11 pm to 6 am). -Board games at the Sport bar. -Dine-around program. -Supervised outdoor activities for ages 4-12 from 10 AM to 5 PM (hours subject to change). -All tips and taxes included.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Bogart's
Fine food for fine people An ambience where that atmosphere of romance and adventure is recreated. It is the perfect place to give free rein to your own fantasy while enjoying the delights and specialties of the international exquisite cuisine. For regular guests to Ixtapa we do not have to explain anything about this famous and well known restaurant. Set in a decor of Casablanca in Moroccan style with live piano music every night, it will make you feel you are in a real movie. This air-conditioned fine dining restaurant offers an international changing menu and a wide variety of quality wines; it is also known for its table preparations. Reservations and dress code required. Some items with surcharge for all inclusive plans.
Sport Bar
Located in the heart of the hotel featuring big plasma television screens, pool table and various game tables: open from 6 pm to midnight.
Room Service
Available 24 hs.
Cascada Snack Bar
Casual, open-air restaurant/bar serving burgers, hot dogs, nachos, quesadillas, tacos. Open late morning to early evening. Food served daily in high seasons (late-December through Easter, mid-June through August) and weekends during low seasons.
Las Velas
Open-air, ocean-view restaurant with thatched roof. A la carte and/or buffet lunches. A la carte dinners featuring grilled foods.
Aquamarina
Breakfast and dinner are served in this lively open air restaurant with pool/ocean view. The breakfast buffet consists of a wide variety of international as well as typical Mexican dishes. At night an a la carte menu is served.
Special Notice
Christmas and New Years dinner are not included in the all-inclusive plan. There will be a surcharge of $75 for adults and $40 for children under 12 on December 24 and December 25, and a surcharge of $100 for adults and $60 for children under 12 on December 31. Guests can reserve a table at check-in and will receive a confirmation coupon.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hotel Krystal Ixtapa is the best option for holding congresses and conventions. It has 8 fully equipped meeting rooms and its swimming pool for the organization of events of up to 3,000 people. At the same time, it offers 3 restaurants, sport bar, lobby bar and the Beach Club.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (64)

Ratings and reviews for Krystal Ixtapa

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EDCSJ
Santa Cruz, CA, USA
Jan 28, 2013

staff

The staff at the hotel was very friendly, helpful and courtous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
scrapzombie
Business
Minneapolis
Nov 14, 2014

Below Average, Needs Updating

The Krystal property is in dire need of an update! The rooms have outdated furniture, stained fixtures, and below average beds. The rooms also need a significant deep cleaning! The location and pool area nice, as is the hotel lobby. WiFi services are spotty at best. There are much better properties in Ixtapa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
legama
Business
LA, Cali
Oct 13, 2014

OK

Just a business trip. An upgrade in the rooms would help

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Emilios

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bummed and dissatisfied
Business
Fort Worth, Texas
Jul 1, 2014

HOTEL VERY OUTDATED

I travel to my country, Mexico quite a bit and keep in mind that the accommodations one has in the states cannot compare with those in other countries usually. However, this hotel truly needs a lot of renovation and updating and simply cannot justify the prices they require for the accommodations they provide. We booked a "family suite" which really turned out to be two rooms side by side. Pictures of "suite" on the website are very deceiving. First of all, the rooms were hot from the moment we walked in and never really got cool enough, AC not very efficient. On the third day we had rain and we returned to our room after breakfast only to walk right into a huge puddle of water on the floor from where there was a major leak in the balcony sliding door. This explained the room being hot, but again, both rooms were never cool. For our last evening We were moved two floors down and although this room was much cooler yet smaller than what we paid for. The staff argued with me in disagreement, but clearly the balcony and room were much smaller. We were never offered a partial reimbursement or even a complimentary dinner in the restaurant there (as we did not book all-inclusive) have for the inconvenience or the down sizing of room. The hotel is very old and the rooms really need some serious renovation and updating. The location of the hotel is really great, but the hotel is not great whatsoever. We didn't get the all inclusive package and now I'm glad we didn't as we don't feel we got our money's worth with just the room cost. Had to call for coffee packs each day because the staff wouldn't leave any after cleaning the room. Never got an ice bucket in room for ice, had to go down to bar with a bag to be filled. The pool service was poor. Never could get a wait staff person to order a beverage. The pool water was also too warm. Very disappointing and frustrating over all. Ixtapa is a beautiful place but our stay in this hotel really put a damper on our three day stay. Stinks to come in from the beach on a hot day to an equally hot room.. I do not recommend this hotel whatsoever. Not worth the money, aggravation and most of all, the great disappointment for a trip one saves for and looks forward to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

the shopping and dining out of the hotel was very convenient right across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jorge Futbolista
Business
Los Angeles
Apr 29, 2014

Good location

Rooms were cleaned but the hotel was damaged during recent earthquake.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Beautiful Church within 2 miles.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LuvCancun
Business
Buffalo, MN 55313, USA
Jan 13, 2014

Good and bad

The staff was pleasant but not accommodating. Had to ask for things several times and the "rules" seemed to change day to day. I stayed her 5 years ago and I think I was more satisfied then. They really need to do a lot of updating. The pool is wonderful though and the water temp was perfect. If the price was right I would stay here again but it would not be my first choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

$20 massages on the beach for an hour!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sun addicted
Business
Ixtapa, Mexico
Jan 12, 2014

relaxing recharge

The hotel is quite nice, but much better suited for the European plan. If you are looking for an all inclusive, this is not your hotel. We go every year for the weather and the staff. No one in my group drinks a lot, so the european plan works just great for us. Our evening entertainment is a long leisurely dinner with friends at one of the nearby restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Judith Great Granny
Business
Bloomington, MN
Jan 10, 2014

The Krystal Grows on You

We got to the Krystal on Dec. 26 and were surprised at the great number of families there until Jan. 5 when the hotel and ixtapa became less crowded. The setting is beautiful, the pools lovely, the beach and surf great, and the walks along the beach and the walkways along roads wonderful. The staff was friendly and helpful. We had laughs speculating on what our towel, washcloth situation would be as that varied greatly, with 2 of 14 days having all the towels, etc. that one would expect. We are strongly considering returning next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Generals Sports Bar will find games. Great staff! Cafe Moreles --great service and food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Idon'thaveone
Business
Hayden Lake, ID
Jun 7, 2013

No Happy Hour at Disney Kid Camp

The resort was packed with families the entire time we were there. They were bringing people in by the bus load and it felt like Disney kid camp. The pool was elbow to elbow with kids so we didn’t even step foot in it. Not to mention, they closed the pool at 8:00. It was not difficult to find a chair at the beach and that is what my husband and I prefer anyway. Having said that, I think some members of our group would have liked to have used the pool if it had been less crowded or available after bed time. There are three bars at this resort (including Bogarts) combined with beach service. NONE of them had happy hour of any kind. We actually went to the resort down the street where we stayed last year for their great service, drinks, and happy hour. The location is good and the rooms were fine. I would not recommend the Krystal Club upgrade. These rooms were advertised as bigger and included breakfast along with appetizers & wine delivered to the room each evening. Another couple in our group of six paid for the breakfast only and their room was IDENTICAL. When I asked the front desk about it they said all of the rooms on that floor were the same. Since we did not care for the wine or the appetizers it was a complete waste of money. Other than the main bartender at the pool bar, the staff was fine. They charged $10/day to use the refrigerator in the room so we purchased a cooler. The ONLY place to get ice was at the pool bar and the main bartender was not too friendly about it. When some of the other staff members would try to assist us he would even give THEM dirty looks. Towards the end of our ten day trip we just started having the ice sent up to the room. While this usually resulted in tipping the delivery person, it was well worth it to avoid Mr. Sunshine. The ONLY thing this resort had to offer over the one we stayed in last year was a balcony. In short, we will not be staying at this resort again. Sadly this was the first time the other four members of our group had travelled to Mexico and, while Ixtapa is amazing, I don't think this resort left the best impression.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mom and sisters
Business
Minnestoa
Apr 8, 2013

15 year Customer Comments

although we like this hotel and the staff we were frustrated by the following items: 1. no hot water a couple of days 2. room not cleaned one afternoon after a day at the beach and we had to wait which delayed our evening plans. 3. no pesos many days when we wanted to exchange. 4. we love our wait staff Jesus and Anabel 5. we also enjoy our time with Andres, security guard

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travis Anderson
Business
St Paul, Minnesota
Mar 29, 2013

We really liked the Krystal

We really liked the Krystal mostly for it's location and service! We had met many families that had been there before and were returning for as many as 20 years. It's comforting to hear that kind of loyalty to the destination and the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top