$75 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Hotel Fontan Ixtapa

2 stars
View map of Boulevard Paseo De Ixtapa, S/N, Ixtapa, 40880

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
16 reviews
good deal

we stayed there 2 weeks its not a 5 star but rooms where clean they had no probem to give us a... See full review

  • tazz67
  • Mar 11, 2014
Slow and Easy

Had the old and the new feeling, if that makes sense. Felt comfortable. Staff was helpful, and saw... See full review

  • J. Ron
  • Feb 11, 2012
The Hotel Fontan Ixtapa is comprised of three towers, each rising eight stories above the beach and showcasing both the Pacific and the Sierra Madre del Sur mountains. Located in the center of Playa del Palmar, the hotel is minutes from the traditional fishing village of Zihuatanejo and 10 miles from the airport. Hotel Fontan Ixtapa guests choose between all-inclusive or room-only plans. On-site and nearby recreation includes a fitness center, water sports and shopping -- though doing nothing but lying on the beach remains a popular option.

 

Rooms
Guest rooms at the Hotel Fontan Ixtapa feature one king or two double beds, balconies, air conditioning, satellite TV, workdesk and telephone. Daily housekeeping is included.

 

Property features
All-inclusive amenities at the Hotel Fontan Ixtapa include breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets, drinks from 11 a.m. to 11 p.m., snacks, beach and pool activities, evening entertainment, taxes and tips.
 
Work out in the fitness center or join a bike tour, water aerobics class or beach volleyball game. The three on-site restaurants at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa -- Miramar, Real Palapa and La Hacienda -- showcase the area's fresh seafood specialties such as garlic shrimp and traditional favorites such as veal chops with fresh vegetables. Room service is available. Savor stunning sunsets with a drink from one of five on-site bars. For a late-night snack, the resort's convenience shop is always open.

 

Highlights
  • Kids' club play area
  • Massage treatments available (fees apply)
  • Oceanfront dining
  • Guest rooms feature balconies
  • Fitness center

 

Nearby attractions
  • Plaza las Fuentes (across the street)
  • Magic World water park (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Delfiniti Ixtapa dolphinarium (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Campo de Golf Ixtapa (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Marina Ixtapa Golf Club (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • La Costa Grande Archaeological Museum (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • Isla Ixtapa (3.8 mi/6.2 km)

 

Business
  • Meeting and event space available
Transportation
  • Ixtapa-Zihuatanejo International Airport (9.8 mi/15.8 km)
  • Mexican Federal Highway 200 (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Zihuatanejo bus station (Central de Autobuses Estrella Blanca) (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Mexican Federal Highway 134 (4.8 mi/7.7 km)

 

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Fontan Ixtapa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Fontan Ixtapa Rooms

Standard All Inclusive
Spacious and comfortable room with two double beds or one king size bed includes air-conditioning, cable television, hot and cold water showers, closet, desk and telephone. The rooms are tastefully decorated in soft pastel tones perfect for rest and relaxation.
Standard Room
Spacious and comfortable room with two double beds or one king size bed includes air-conditioning, cable television, hot and cold water showers, closet, desk and telephone. The rooms are tastefully decorated in soft pastel tones perfect for rest and relaxation.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Parking
Free parking

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel has 5 function rooms, holding between 50 and 1200 people, ideal for all kinds of social events, conventions, lectures, business meetings etc.

Dining

Miramar
Open from 13:00 to 17:00 for breakfast, lunch and a la carte dinner. Seats 130 people.
Real Palapa
Open from 7:00 to 22:30 for breakfast, lunch and buffet dinner. Seats 440 people.
La Hacienda
Open from 18:00 to 22:00 for dinner. Seats 146 People. Open during high season only.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
1:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Fontan Ixtapa

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 16
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Fontan Ixtapa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tazz67
Business
ixtapa
Mar 11, 2014

good deal

we stayed there 2 weeks its not a 5 star but rooms where clean they had no probem to give us a water side room staff was nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Fontan Ixtapa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
stvandmav
Business
st paul, mn
Mar 17, 2012

wonderful trip

Overall we were pleased once we changed rooms for a panoramic view of the ocean. The food was good, the staff was pleasant and it had a great location. Our only suggestion for the hotel is get new beds and pillows.,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

You must go to Ziwa when you are there. It is just great. The shopping is less expensive there too.

Review of Hotel Fontan Ixtapa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Loveey
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Mar 8, 2012

Great Family Vacation

Two years ago my family and I stayed in the Fontan for two weeks, and I must say it was one of the best experiences I've had. They have many good shows playing at night for everyone to watch. They always have music playing near the poolside which is very entertaining especially if you have young children. The bathroom was pretty small and so were the beds. But I'm definitely coming back this year. (:

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The shows they play at night are always really entertaining, and are amazing to watch.

Review of Hotel Fontan Ixtapa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J. Ron
Business
Edmond, Oklahoma
Feb 11, 2012

Slow and Easy

Had the old and the new feeling, if that makes sense. Felt comfortable. Staff was helpful, and saw to my needs. Great access to the beach area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Fontan Ixtapa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield, Il.
Feb 21, 2011

Ixtapa

Good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Fontan Ixtapa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
atlanta, ga.
Feb 16, 2011

hotel fontan Ixtapa

hotel was fine with a great view and friendly people. the maid, [...], was extra special at making my roomfeel comfortable with animals made from linens and extra flowers on her shifts. somestimes the noise level was a bit high and too much.didn't use the resturant, but front desk was nice at answering questions and very good at using english.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

across the street

Review of Hotel Fontan Ixtapa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lewiston, Idaho
Feb 9, 2011

Hotel Fontan Ixtapa

Hotel is clean and staff friendly and English spoken here. Do not do all inclusive but eat at local places. Family hotel on weekends but not too crowded

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Franks is fun and friendly. Debra's Mamma Norma' has good food.

Review of Hotel Fontan Ixtapa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, California
May 20, 2010

simply not the best

The staff continuously interrupted in the mornings even when we put the sign on the door to not disturb and we came back to the room and the sign was turned around and someone had gone into our room and moved things around. definately do not leave anything in the room you dont want messed with or stolen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

go to El Faro... most romantic dining experience in Ixatpa/ Zihuat

Review of Hotel Fontan Ixtapa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mexi1
Business
Victoria, Canada
Mar 21, 2010

All Inclusive at Hotel Fontan!

When we arived and were given our room I was shocked to see two beds that weren't much bigger than single beds. I went to the front counter and the lady gave me another room which was very nice and did have double beds. Tipping does help with service however for the most part service was very good. If you wanted strutured activities this was not the place! The young woman at the counter outside by the towels was miserable and never did a thing other than dance around a lot! The other thing that was annoying was that other people we had met all got a coupon for a night at the Hacienda. [...] Overall the stay was very nice. It is incredibly clean both inside and out, the location is supurb right on the ocean which is also very clean. We had nice decorations in our rooms from the cleaning staff - we left tips for them. We mostly stayed at the hotel and went across the street to the market which was fun - most deals were very expensive though. Be careful about buying vanilla as they want $100 pesos which is equivalent to 10.00.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't forget to try the Mirimar restaurant at the hotel - its very good and has a menu! One other hint - make sure you don't arive at the hotel during a Mexican long weekend as the hotel gets just packed and it isn't the best experience! Otherwise everything was pretty much great.

Review of Hotel Fontan Ixtapa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
canada, toronto
Feb 21, 2010

ok for the price

The hotel is ok for the price, a bit crowded and noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top