$186 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 1, 2014 Check-out: Dec 4, 2014

Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

4 stars
Av. Adolfo López Mateos Sm. 001 Mza. 001 Lote 005 Colonia Centro, Isla Mujeres, 77400
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
322 reviews
Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres

I enjoyed my stayed at this lovely hotel, so much, that I just booked it again for next year. The... See full review

  • Scmart13
  • Nov 19, 2014
Relaxing 3rd time back

I can't say enough good things about this hotel. The location is perfect. Close to town. Easy walk... See full review

  • repeatcustomer48166
  • Oct 9, 2014
Adults-only beach resort on Isla Mujeres with optional all-inclusive
The Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres is fringed by the beautiful Playa Norte beach on Isla Mujeres and surrounded by mystique, offering a unique island experience. The luxurious rooms and suites are comfortably furnished to complement the relaxed sugar-white beaches. This resort for adults features 24-hour room service, two outdoor swimming pools, one children's pool, three outdoor Jacuzzis, three on-site bars and Spa Mystique that provides facials and massages for a unique experience of healing, magic and transformation. Guests at Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres can savour fresh gourmet dishes at the dining facilities on site and enjoy tropical cocktails and snacks at the pool bar or relax amid palms along the bucolic sea.
Highlights
  • Adults-only property with two optional all-inclusive packages
  • Beach club, outdoor pool with bar and Jacuzzi at Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres
  • On-site spa with a steam room offering facials and massages

 

Rooms

Each of the 124 rooms at Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres has a king size bed and balcony or terrace as well as a flat-panel satellite TV, mini bar that is refilled daily, complimentary Internet access, DVD and CD players and in-room safe. Bathrooms feature shower-tubs and hairdryers. Some rooms have Jacuzzi baths and feature added perks, such as bathrobes and kitchenettes.

 

Features

This picturesque beachfront property is near Costa Occidental de Isla Mujeres National Park and features three restaurants, one designed by Catalan architect Lluis Güell. Other amenities are a beach club, swimming pool and rooms with mini bars, 24-hour room service and balconies or terraces. Additionally, the Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres has a spa, beach club and disco as well as a solarium, fitness center and beautiful stretch of palm-dotted, white sand beach. Guests have the option of a room-only plan, a plan that includes breakfast and a fully all-inclusive option.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (20 mi/32 km, plus a ferry ride from Puerto Juarez)

 

Attractions
  • Tortugranja Turtle Farm (2.1 mi/3.3 km)
  • Ix Chel Maya Ruin (2.1 mi/3.3 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented Rooms

Super Saver AI
Standard room, All inclusive plan all meals and drinks included, offers king size bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, with balcony or terrace with partial view or town view, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable-TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron/ironing board, laundry service, mini bar, Ipod Holder, room service, safe in room. limited view.
Suite Premium AI W/Jaccuzi
Suite Premium All inclusive plan all meals and drinks included offers king size bed, option of extra bedroom, with air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony/terrace, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable-TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron/ironing board, jaccuzi/whirlpool/spa bath, kitchenette, laundry service, mini bar, Ipod Holder, room service, safe in room , tea and coffee making facilities and telephone.
Standard AI
Standard room, All inclusive plan all meals and drinks included, offers king size bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, with balcony or terrace with partial view or town view, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron/ironing board, laundry service, mini bar, Ipod Holder, room service, safe in room. Town view.
Suite Deluxe AI
Suite Deluxe All inclusive plan all meals included, king size bed, Ipod holder, with air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony/terrace, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable/tv, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron/ironing board, kitchenette, laundry service, mini bar, pay TV, safe in room , tea and coffee making facilities and telephone.
Suite Deluxe B and B
Suite Deluxe Bed and Breakfast, include breakfast buffet per person nice suite with breakfast buffet included, king size bed, option of extra bedroom, with air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony/terrace, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable/TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron/ironing board, kitchenette, laundry service, mini bar, Ipod Holder, safe in room , tea and coffee making facilities and telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi

Dining

CAFE DEL MAR-sla Mujeres
Cafe Del Mar Isla Mujeres, located on the beach just a few steps from the hotel, specialties Meat, Fish and Seafood with a variety of Cocktails and tropical beverages. Opens From 10am to 11pm.
SABOR-& Gourmet Style
Sabor Gourmet Restaurant, facing the beach, open for Breakfast Buffet, Lunch la carte and Dinner Buffet. Opens From 07am to 10pm
SATAY-Discovering Asian Flavors
Satay exquisite Fusion & Oriental cuisine, open for dinner from 6 pm to 10 pm (reservation required)
POOLBAR
Location: Hotel terrace, ground floor, nearby the pool Specialties: Cocktails & tropical beverages Open for lunch (snack-bar) Open from 10 am to 6 pm

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
n/a

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (322)

Ratings and reviews for Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
322 out of 322
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Garyed
Business
Ohio, USA
Jan 16, 2014

Not a five star resort

This is a beautiful motel , not resort, but you cannot drink the water , I had one hot shower in 7 days , water was always cold. Food was awful !! I got super sick on one occasion, They have no activities , none ! For the money there is a lot of nicer resorts , I would give this a 3 star motel rating !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Littlegirl
Business
Dallas, TX
Apr 5, 2010

So Disappointed.

Isla Mujeres and this hotel have everything one needs to make a perfect tropical getaway. The island is great, but, the experience was ruined by our stay at Privilege Aluxes. Beautiful rooms, outstanding bathrooms, upscale finishes throughout, large balconies, cold A/C, hot showers, great location, fabulous chaise lounges by the pool, wonderful outdoor lounge in front of Sabor; Aluxes is a nice, quite and small boutique hotel. So what went so terribly wrong? Poor service and mediocre food. We did the all inclusive but also brought $600 in small bills, cash, exclusively for tipping our servers. We were told that the service staff was not allowed to accept cash. We needed to write our tips in when we signed for our food or drink. After scoping out the room and the view we put on our suits and went to the pool. I don't see any servers walking around. Plenty of men in dress shirts with walkie-talkies looking important, but no servers. We are sitting where the bartender can see us. After 25 minutes, I go duck my head under the pool bar palapa and ask for some drinks. The pina colada really sucks. It was very thick, like a soft custard. Not a problem, I'll just switch drinks should a server come by, which they never did. So we went to the beach. Yes, the beach is across the street, but 'street' isn't descriptive enough. It's more of a 'lane' really, or 'small, sandy, mostly foot traffic, off the main road, takes you three steps to get across, lane'. And what a beautiful beach it is. And the water? Electric teal blue. Stunning and clean and clear and perfect. It would be even more perfect with a slight alcohol buzz, waitress please! Yea, they have two very diligent waitresses working 100 chaise lounges. If you can grab her attention, because she will ignore you, then you can place your drink order. But, then you have to wait 20 minutes to actually get it and don't expect another one for at least an hour. An hour being the time it takes for her to come back around and ask if you want another and the time it takes to actually get it. Dinner our first night was the buffet at Sabor. And just like every night after, we found ourselves eating just enough to kill the hunger pains, but not enough to feel satisfied or sated because the selection was small and tasteless. Forget lunch, everything at the beachside bar or Sabor is barely edible. Before you dismiss me as some fast-food, Golden Corral loving 'Ugly American', let me inform you that my husband and I have a taste for fine food. We live in Dallas, with some of the most top-rated restaurants in the country, and frequent them often. I would have killed for a Golden Corral by day three. This was the first vacation that I ever came back having lost weight, not gained! There was no room service menu in our room, but after three requests, and two days, we did actually get one hand delivered. The one time we decided to stay in for dinner and order room service, I was told it would be twenty minutes until arrival. After a nap, some bad TV, oh, and two hours, I called down asking where our food was. The person that answered the phone wanted to take my order again (language barrier) but once I stressed that I had already placed an order and wanted to know where it was, he told me it would be ten minutes. I'm envisioning the ice cream for dessert melted all over the tray, making everything sticky, and cancel the order. By our fourth day, even after testing our theory that large cash tips would help (it didn't), I hated Privilege Aluxes and wanted to come home. We are laid back, take it as it comes, and suffer in silence kind of people, but the weight of our disappointment was almost too much to bear and overshadowed all the positives this vacation did actually have. I have never been so happy to be home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Jax

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Oklahoma City, OKlahoma
Jun 22, 2011

Trip to Mexico

The island itself is nice but if you are looking for any kind of nightlife do not stay at this island OR this hotel. It is the first hotel resort that I have ever stayed that had very little entertainment. I will say there was a nice little band that played at night out on the beach but it was the ONLY entertainment EVER. They only have two bars, one being the pool bar which was not even open one day due to weather. The service was good at times but at other times non-existence. But I will say they make great drinks :) And again I never felt like they went out of their way to be of great service. The room was nice but the smallest room I ever stayed in mostly because they had a huge king size bed in a super small room. I do have to say I loved the hot tub/bath out on the balcony. They should also really mention more in reviews that a lot of the rooms back up to cemeteries. Food definitely was subpar if not some of the worst resort food I have ever had. Selection was horrible and what food they did have, did not taste very good at all. Beach was ok but do not stay here if you are looking for the crystal blue water you see in Cancun because you will see barely any of it at this hotel. Overall, it was an ok hotel but not the 4 to 5 star hotel it was rated as, not even close. I somewhat enjoyed the island but I will not stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Rent a golf cart to drive around the island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PUERTO RICO
Aug 9, 2011

Disaster

Our reservation was from Aug 2 to Aug 7. We leave the hotel on Aug 3 and changes to another one because the all inclusive service was a disaster. At lunch time the restaurant doesn't has the food that we want to eat (from the menu). On the pool bar only beers was available and the daiquiris (Frapes) doesnt have it. At beach bar nothing to food was available. During the day I went to the restaurant to reserve a space for the dinner and they tell me that no space was available. Later my husband went to the restaurant (without me)and for my surprise an space was available for dinner. THE ALL INCLUSIVE SERVICE AT THIS HOTEL DOESN'T FUNCTION.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tan but not happy
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Jan 31, 2013

Not a luxury hotel

Pros: the grounds and pool were impeccable and kept clean. The wait staff was pleasant. Cons: the pool was VERY cold; the bed was very hard and uncomfortable; the room smelled like mold; the gym was a joke; the food, with the exception of breakfast, ranged from average to terrible; anything above bottom shelf liquor or the house wine cost more and wasn't included in the all-inclusive plan; the ATM charged 6% of what you took out and only gave US dollars so you could turn around and get screwed again at the desk with a lower than norm exchange rate; they put a stained and possibly dirty comforter on the bed (they promptly changed it when I pointed it out); it says adults oriented but there were several kids, so that isn't an accurate description; the remote for the TV didn't work (yes we had the batteries changed and it didn't solve the problem); the hours to eat were pretty restrictive; there were zero activities at the hotel; the wi-fi didn't work outside. To sum it up, I've been to Mexico 5 times and this is the second worst hotel I have been to...I would not recommend it. I guess if I didn't know what a real 4 or 5 star resort was like I may have thought it was nice, but I do know the difference. We were disappointed because their web site made it sound like a top notch resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ann arbor
Jul 10, 2011

5 Star???.........3.5 Star tops

New and good looks........ Bad food incompotent staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Sep 20, 2010

Not what I was hoping for.

The hotel was just alright. The hotel staff was not very helpful when it came to information about the island and things to do. The breakfast buffet was mediocre at best...they ran out of bacon daily. We went to Satay for dinner, and my fish was undercooked...really undercooked. My room was facing a cemetary and the maintenance area of the hotel, not very pleasant at all. As I said the hotel was just alright, not what I expected at all. I was disappointed. I definitely wouldn't suggest this hotel to single people. You have to book the premier suite or better to really enjoy this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cindy28
Business
Lancaster, PA, USA
Sep 25, 2011

Third time to Isla in 2011

We have fallen in love with this island.We have stayed at 2 hotels and a studio apartment so far..The hotel is very clean and newer which is a plus.I felt like things do need to be maintained to keep up appearances.The pool area and pool surfaces need maintenance.For example,the pool tiles need to be cleaned and wood decking sanded and refinished. We have been to Mexico 10 times and always find the people so warm and welcoming.This trip we did't do the all inclusive because the island has such wonderful food all within walking distance to Privledges.We had VERY inconsistent service.Housekeeping did a wonderful job cleaning but somedays no hand towels,wash clothes or a shampoo refill?At check in we were given very little information about when and where breakfast were,no mini bar price list (after 3 requests we got one.)At breakfast the serviced ranged from wonderful to "we may be invisible?" Since we knew the island and were persistent we always got what we needed. I think Privledges needs to brush up on customer service training before I would return or recommend them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Barlito's for amazing sandwiches and desserts.We went twice although we try not to repeat an eatery in 1 visit. This place was too good !!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Last time visitor
Business
Washington State
Dec 31, 2009

Not what I was hoping for

Our week long stay got off to a rocky start. When the check in process began they tried to charge us for our room when we had prepaid. This also happened at check out with the buffet breakfast. Look at your bill carefully there was a charge on our account that we did not make and it was quite an ordeal to get the charge removed. I thought we had reserved a suite with a hot tub on the balcony and a view of the water. When we arrived we were brought to a small room with a hot tub on the balcony and a very limited view of the water. I told the bellman that this was not the room we reserved. He explained there were no suites with hot tubs on the balaconies. He then showed us a suite with a better view. We asked for some time to discuss which room we would take. When we went back to the front desk the bellman said he had a better room for us if we would wait just 5 minutes. (This is the reply for every request.) We waited for about 30 minutes and then were handed key cards and told to go to room 533. It was a suite with a nice view of the pool and the water. The hastle to get to this point was awful. The people who work here are charming and try to be accommodating. They did show signs of poor training. The food in room service was awful. We ordered a steak and baked potato and the potato was cold, I mean right out of the fridge cold. There were no ice machines so you had to order ice from room service but half the time my husband ended up going to the restaurant to get ice. The buffet breakfast was ok but not fantastic. We were looking for a quiet place to rest and relax. This was not it. The music starts as early as 7:00AM and while to the pool view was nice, it was very noisy with children screaming most of the day and the blender in the pool bar was really loud. We went to Isla Mujeres because it was supposed to be a quiet fishing island. It was definitely a touristy place now. We ended up in the suite without the hot tub but there was a kitchen. However you cannot use the kitchen unless you bring you own pots,pans, dishes, etc. There was a coffee pot but it was broken and there was no coffee but only instant. To use it you must bring coffee and filters. The bathroom was adequate but there was one sink and small counter. A door to the toilet room would have been nice. The hotel seemed to have some repair issues for such a new hotel. I know I have sounded negative but the weather was fantastic and we managed to find time to relax and rest with our doors closed. The beach was nice but there was no snorkeling and we could not find a place to snorkel that did not require joining a beach club or paying for a snorkle tour. I went to this hotel hoping the problems of being a new hotel were worked out but it really did not earn too many stars with me. The day we rented a golf cart we did see at least a couple of hotels with a fabulous place for swimming and snorkling. If we went back we would definitely stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 22, 2011

Things that should know!

The hotel accommadation was nice however,they never have any money on hand to give you change. The maid came into my room and cleaned it while a had the do not disturb sign on the door. It was while we were out for the day. Orbit book me a flight at 7:44 in the morning to come home and I couldn't possibly make that flight because the fairy doesn't leave the island that early. I spent 3 hrs rescheduling a later flight and it cost me $300.00 more to get home. Orbit wouldn't be responsible for. The travel agent should have known that I couldn't get off the island that early. Isn't that what they get paid for? I suggest you stay on the island of Cancun and not isla Mujeres and just come to visit isla mujeres for a day. You'll end up paying $7.00 per person to catch a fairy each way back and forth to Cancun because the best attraction are on the main land.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't bring large bills because most of the places of business won't take them. The hotel have a nice restaurant and there are other places to eat on the island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top