$188 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 21, 2015 Check-out: May 22, 2015

Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

4 stars
View map of Av. Adolfo López Mateos Sm. 001 Mza. 001 Lote 005 Colonia Centro, Isla Mujeres, 77400

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
357 out of 357
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, Arizona
Oct 12, 2009

Outsanding

About this Hotel, I have absolutely no complaints. I arrived at 10:00am and my reservation was not until 3:00pm but [...], the receptionist took my luggage to a hallway in the rear, where only employees went, it would have put my mind at ease to have them put away in a private room but it was alright, I guess. I stayed and waited in the lobby, all the same. I was given a glass of champaign and was offered more as time passed on. I was also told I could use their internet and I did. I was offered the pool to swimm in and relax, but I did not want to leave my suitcases there, nor lug them about.The attentiveness and warm welcome and treatment that day and throughout my stay was unbelievably unbeatable. Thank you very much, I will return there next year and will use your company to help me get a new reservation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything was within walking distance. Motor skooters and golf carts were available for cost, but I walked everywhere, the distances to the grocery store, the restaurants, church, health clinic and entertainment were all within walking distance. Great time, really fabulous time and I went alone. I am a woman and all natives were outstanding and caring. No theft, no profanity, no vulgarity from any person in town toward one another,to strangers, or to me.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rdim
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Aug 14, 2011

Great couples getaway

This place was excellent. Great location, just steps from the beach and minutes from many local shops and restaurants. Very close to the ferry also. The staff on site were great and very accommodating. We received a complimentary bottle of water each day and had turn down service daily if requested. Having a good air conditioner was a huge plus as the heat was intense during this time of year. We had the breakfast buffet each morning with a wide variety of different items to choose from. Overall the hotel was very clean and felt very safe as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you did not participate in the all inclusive option I would recommend eating at the restaurants on the beach front. They are close and have excellent authentic Mexican food. (if that's what your looking for)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kaw28205
Business
Charlotte, NC, USA
Oct 6, 2011

perfect relaxing beach vacation

-friendly, helpful staff - most of whom went out of their way to ensure that our stay was great -rooms much nicer than I expected - loved the big bathroom! -a short walk to town - great location -breakfast buffet was the best; other meals were OK too but nothing to write home about...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Birthday group
Business
Minnesota
Feb 28, 2011

Accomadating and relaxing

Sometimes there can be issues with language communication, but the hotel staff were very nice and accomadating and some even provided a few laughs for us. We normally do not do the all-inclusive, but it is worth the price, even if you eat off site at times. The beach bar is one of the best on the island - good food, good drinks, and very clean bathrooms that work well. There is a variety of room levels, so clarify ahead of time what you are reserving. We enjoyed a couples massage right at the hotel. It was very relaxing and discreet. Our ocean view room was fresh and clean everyday (rm 143). We liked the marble floors and lack of carpet. Restraunt alley was only 1 block away and several blocks long. Plenty of eats and shopping on a pedestrian only street. The bay by the Avalon Reef Hotel was within walking distance by beach or road and had some decent snorkeling - especially for begginers or children. Would happily make a return visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Aqua Adventure provides a first-rate discovery diver program and is the only place on the island PADI certified to do so. [...]is an excellent instructor and will have you diving in no time! Information booth is on Restraunt alley and the class is a $3.00 taxi ride away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mockingbirds
Business
New York
Jul 29, 2011

Awesome Place

This is a very nice hotel. Few things you have to be very careful when you book your room. Their standard rooms are facing the city which is not a very good view. We checked reviews online and wanted to upgrade before we got there so we have a good beach view. When we called the hotel they said we cant do the upgrade and will have to check when we arrive there which is crazy because I was ready to pay the difference. Anyways when I got there the room was available and we were able to upgrade to superior room. we had all inclusive which was good deal but we did not know and no one told us that if we get a bottle of wine which we were forced to get one in their restaurant they wanted to charge is $40 but when we told the manager about this at check out they charged us $20. I was not happy about it but did not want to make a big deal. Service was not that great specially room service but the place is so nice that it could be ignored. Would recommend this to any one for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

All restaurants food was good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Philly Phanatics
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Nov 16, 2009

Fantastic

Beautiful hotel, gorgeous surroundings and landscaping, unbelievable pools, hot tubs and poolside bar (our bartender Jose was an absolute prince), friendly and couteous staff, and a fantastic location just off the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 23, 2009

Let the food and drinks flow

Great hotel. Practically brand new, huge rooms with clear ocean view, staff is pretty friendly. It was not crowded at all. You get thatched roof umbrella at beach, unlimited food and drinks bought out to your chair at no additional charge (with inclusive package)!! If you tip the guy a few bucks, they are grateful and will keep you liquored up all day. What is not to love??!! Food is decent. There was basically two restaurants open, so for a few days its fine. It would get boring if you stayed a whole week (but there are other restaurants close by). The price is unbelievable. Isla Mujeres has a lot of local people, so its a lot more laid back than Cancun. Good for families. If you want to go clubbing, do not come here. If you did this same thing in Hawaii, it would cost several times the amount (Hawaii is not the same as Cancun but you know what I mean).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mardi gras queen
Business
Mandeville La.
Jul 22, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

Great resort with wonderful staff. Rent a golf cart and tour the island for the day to see all the sites. Great places to eat seafood right along the beach. Be sure to take the short walk down the sand alley to north beach to see the incredible sunsets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Swim with the whale sharks for an unbelievable experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Katrina A.
Business
Orlando, FL
Jul 23, 2011

Great Hotel!

This hotel was great! It was more than I expected for what I paid. The hotel looks better in person than it looked in the pictures I saw [...]. I traveled alone and while the room was big enough for me, it might have been a little more cramped for two people. I loved the style of the bathroom and shower. I got the all-inclusive package and it was worth it. The hotel has three restaurants, one of which is on the beach. The food was great and I never had to worry about how much it cost. It also helps that you can drink as much as you want and not have to pay extra. While you relax on the beach, the wait staff comes around to refill your drinks for you. Room service was also included so I made sure to use it every night...hehe. The only drawback to this hotel is that it's on Isla Mujeres and you'll have to take the ferry every time you wanna go to the mainland. The island itself is nice but I didn't like having to take and pay for the ferry all the time. I've been to all-inclusive resorts before and this one takes the cake!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

On my last night there I found where the nightlife on the island happens and had a lotta fun but for people looking to hang out in mainland Cancun at night might have a challenge. The last ferry from the hotel zone back to the island is at 5:30pm so if you wanna hang out in the hotel zone, you'll have to stay there all night. It's also a 20 minute ride and only runs once an hour to the hotel zone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stephaniehelen
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Mar 28, 2010

Perfect stay

We absolutley loved this hotel! It was a perfect location, above and beyond service, breakfast was amazing! The staff couldnt have been better! The room was amazing. Everything so so clean and so nice. The breakfast had fresh from scratch pastries, omlete station, fresh squeezed juices, absolutley outstanding. I could not say enough about this hotel! I will only go back to it from now on!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is only .5 miles from the port. Walk! It is such a nice walk and it gets you acquanted to the streets. We just rolled our bags behind us. It was no problem at all. Easiest part of the trip there andhome!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top