$197 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 27, 2015 Check-out: Jun 28, 2015

Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

4 stars
View map of Av. Adolfo López Mateos Sm. 001 Mza. 001 Lote 005 Colonia Centro, Isla Mujeres, 77400

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
382 out of 382
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
plamp10
Chicago, IL
Aug 1, 2012

Great trip

Great service from the staff. The waiters on the beach were very fast. The weather on the island was great the entire time we stayed despite bad forecasts when searching for Cancun. Apparently, the main land gets worse weather. The food was okay. Probably my least favorite part of a great trip, but it wasn't problematic. We had a great time. Most of the visitors at the hotel were return visitors which is a great indicator to me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Portions are not large for dinner, order a few appetizers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cito el Guapo
Business
KC, MO
Apr 30, 2014

Good time, but fell a little short

We had a great time on Isla Mujeres. Privelege Aluxes fell short of our expectations. The room was nice, but there was some mold in the bathroom. We also had ants in the room. The staff was not very responsive. We did not mention the mold, but they did not do much about the ants, or really seem to care about it. The food was pretty good, and the beer was cold. The beach set up is strong, with plentiful native looking straw-type umbrellas and a few little beach beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rudysmith3
Business
Colorado
Apr 28, 2014

Great for Relaxation

My wife and I did a baby moon vacation and all we wanted to do was get away and relax. This was a perfect place for that. The staff was very helpful and polite. The room was very clean and more then we needed. The bed was a little hard, but still comfortable. We did the all-inclusive and ate there every day. The cafe by the beach was our favorite. Also, the pool bar was great, especially Jesus and Enrique, they are awesome. The only bad part was we wished there was more of a selection of food. My wife couldn't eat any fish, and she doesn't like Thai food all that much, so we only ate at the Satay once and it was ok. All in all a great place, great service, and great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Serial honeymooner
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Apr 25, 2014

Great couple's getaway

Spent a few days on a non-all-inclusive deal. Hotel is beatiful and clean. Rooms were surprisingly clean and spacious. After exploring the island a bit, this seems like the best hotel to stay at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Honeymooners supreme
Business
Minnesota
Apr 24, 2014

Excellence! Satisfied customer

We had an excellent time at this hotel. Our only complaint was the pillows were sort of like hospital pillows. There was an option to order different but we didnt look into it. The room wa very clean, staff went above and beyond. By day three they knew my name and would greet me as I walked by, it was unbelievable. The location was absolutely beautiful and we felt very safe. Food was good- I recommend the chicken nachos as the beach restraunt! We will definitely come back for another vacation here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Rent a golf cart for a few hours at minimum and travel the entire island. It is extremely worth it! Beautiful sights!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Merbear85
Business
Texas
Apr 13, 2014

Neat Place to Stay

We did the all inclusive, since we figured we would spend at least $80 a meal, which would save money in the long run. Since we did the all inclusive we were issued blue bands that let the staff know we were that status. This caused service to be extremely slow because the staff already knew we "paid" for things, so why rush things? They had the attitude that they did not have to please their guests. We went to the Beach Restaurant, at high noon, we were the ONLY couple there, and we had to walk away after sitting 20+minutes. There are only 3 restaurants to choose from, and the other restaurant was only for night dining. That being said, there were the exceptions...we did meet a few servers that were genuinely happy and seemed to like their jobs there. The rooms look way better in the pictures on the website than they truly were. Small details in the handy-work of anyone maintaining the building left a grungy feeling to the rooms. Rust in the recessed lighting, chunks of corners missing from walls, scrapes etc...was definitely not "4/5 star" work. Water was a big issue, super hot, then cold, then hot, then cold...constant adjusting had to be made when filling the tub or taking a shower. When I say hot, I mean boiling scalding hot! It sucked! The beach was awesome and the weather while we were there was awesome. But that is beyond the hotel's control. There was a lot to do on the island for the 5 days we spent, and the hotel staff at the desk was very proficient in aiding us. Renting a golf cart for 24hrs is worth every penny, but try to rent at noon so you will have that day plus the next morning to do more running around. Garrofon park was ok, but definitely did not live up to its high hype. Go early, get the VIP package so you can lounge and get free food...etc. The zipline was ok, and the reef is dead and very little fish are left. Ask the front desk about a guided snorkel tour, it was the best thing we did. We saw hundreds and hundreds of fish, and it only cost $32 to do 4 hrs, plus lunch was included. Shopping for trinkets should be done off the beated path at small family owned/operated sites. The "main strip" is full of high pressured salesmen and they are all trying to sell the same garbage. The overall atmosphere of our trip was more laid back and do as you please, with little or no pressure from anyone. We saw only a few drunk partiers, so it is a way different atmosphere than the main Cancun resort party area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Ask about guided snorkel tour at the front desk. Should cost about $32 and last 4 hrs. Awesome experience! Bring a underwater camera, sunscreen, and drinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LaurieP822
Business
Kirkland, WA
Apr 12, 2014

Perfection!

We had stayed here at Privilege Aluxes when our daughter got married on Isla Mujeres in 2011. At that time we had booked a block of rooms, and the staff was very accommodating to ours and our guests needs. This time there were 4 of us in our party. From the moment we entered the lobby to the moment we left, we were treated very, very well. The pool, beach, spa and restaurants were wonderful. We opted for the all-inclusive and were not disappointed. Satay, their Asian restaurant, was fabulous! We have visited Isla Mujeres numerous times and can honestly say, for location, cleanliness, professional staff, and an all around great time, Privilege Aluxes is the place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

For travel from Cancun Airport to Puerto Juarez to catch the ferry to Isla, we use Best Day. Their web address is BestDay.com and they are reasonable, on time and great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AZCO MAN
Business
ISLA MUJERES
Apr 10, 2014

PRIVILEGE

VERY GOOD, COULD HAVE MORE AREAS WHEN IT RAINS. THE STAFF IS VERY NICE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pokyokie
Business
Oklahoma City, Ok.
Apr 6, 2014

Nice Hotel

A great place to stay with a beautiful beach. Breakfasts are excellent. There was an issue with room odor when we first checked in but we were graciously upgraded to a suite that was very nice. Staff is very helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
S Sterlacci
Business
Arden Hills, MN
Apr 6, 2014

our 4th time to this paradise, every time its better!

the gracious staff, delicious food,variety, privacy, great musical entertainment and peaceful quiet make this our favorite place for restorative vacation! thank you for making our vacation so memorable. we are coming back in June for 10 days and cant wait! gracias,Sarah and Paul Sterlacci

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
casey number 1
Business
Norfolk England
Mar 26, 2014

paradise

The staff at the privilege aluxes are excellent they go all out to make your stay perfect. We got a room upgrade and a bottle of champagne waiting in our room as we celebrated our 39th wedding anniversary. Lovely location on white soft sand beach. Quite island ideal for couples.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top