$197 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

4 stars
View map of Av. Adolfo López Mateos Sm. 001 Mza. 001 Lote 005 Colonia Centro, Isla Mujeres, 77400

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
354 out of 354
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
julia v
Business
Brooklyn
Jan 18, 2015

First time to Isla

Having been to all-inclusives before (Dreams in Tulum and Pueta Vallarta) we thought this would be a similar experience. Since the hotel is half all-inclusive and half not, the experience is different. You have to wear a wrist band, prices are listed (something we found nice to not have to see at Dreams) the quality of food is not good. The beach and resort are not private. There is a road that runs through the middle of the resort making it very chaotic. The plus is that the staff is very very nice and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Angie
Business
Bismarck
Jan 17, 2015

Pure Paradise!

Our stay at Privileges Aluxes was absolutely amazing! I want to clear up a few misconceptions I read on this website, reviews from previous clients, before our trip to the island. While reading reviews trying to find out information about this hotel, I read from a few guests that they had problems with their shower water not being very warm, this was NOT the case during our stay! We always had a warm shower and the amenities were great! No need to bring a blow dryer, shampoo, conditioner, or body wash as the hotel provides these all for you! They even had toothpaste, q-tips and cotton balls available, plus many other things. Another reviewer wrote that their personal plunge pool in their room was frigidly cold, and was not enjoyable to swim in during their stay. Again, this was NOT the case on our trip. The water was warm in the pool and we spent every night enjoying the stars and the views from our balcony pool. We were upgraded to a Jr. Platinum room. While booking, I never found this as an option, but basically this room is very similar to the the Platinum Suite, only it just has one room, rather than the suited two rooms. The balcony is the same with the amazing plunge pool, two lounge chairs, an umbrella, and nice seating area under an pergola. This is the way to go! Our room number was 461 and we loved it! This room is VERY private. No one can seek a peek in your pool area, as there aren't any other rooms above you and the pool is hidden in a corner where it can't be seen from any other room. Ask for this room if you plan a trip there in the future and are looking for some privacy. It has beautiful views of both sides the Caribbean Ocean (inlet side and the open ocean), great city views, and a panoramic view of the whole island. The only bad part was the air-conditioning unit was right by our room and a little loud at night so we slept with the sliding glass door closed--which was okay since we had the air conditioner going. Everyone who works here is AMAZING and they aim to please you. Our pool staff (Jose and Christian) was the BEST! They made our trip so enjoyable and always had a smile for us every day! We did the all inclusive option and it was WELL worth it! Even though we went the all inclusive route, we still got out and ate around the island, everything is very reasonably priced and VERY delicious! Make sure to order room service if you go the all inclusive route. Cafe Del Mar on the beach is where you need to spend your afternoon meal. Their food is excellent. I had the chicken fajitas one day and they were just as good, if not better, than the fajitas that I paid for in the city. The club sandwich is good if you can have it out by the beach and you order it fresh. I ordered one by the pool and it was not quite as good, and it took a long time to have it delivered. I wish we would have tried the lounging beds a bit sooner on our vacation. We finally tried one on our last day at the resort and they were so comfortable. They have these at both the beach and by the pool area. I recommend trying them at the beginning of your stay, you'll want to go back to lounge again, I'm certain! The airport transfer through the hotel was well worth the money. If you're trying to decide how to get to the hotel, I would recommend just booking through them. NO headache, hassle, or worry. They made the transfer very carefree--tickets for the ferry were purchased ahead of time by the company that picks you up, they pay for your taxi to and from the hotel and have someone on both sides to greet you and take you to your next stop. Finally, the beach. Picturesque does not even begin to paint the picture of this amazing this piece of paradise. The water is amazingly clear with a beautiful sandy bottom. I would highly recommend this hotel for the beach alone, but as you have just read there are so many wonderful things happening here! Enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If you plan on having a few drinks while on vacation, the all inclusive package is a great deal. Drinks can be expensive and it's a pain to carry cash with you all the time we definitely got our money's worth and would choose this option again. Also, this hotel says it's adult oriented, but kids were welcome and not a bother at all! If you'd like to take your children, this would be a great spot to take them! Very relaxed atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Keith S.
Business
N/A
Jan 16, 2015

awesome Get Away

Privilege Aluxes never disappoints!!! But do yourself a favor and book at least a Suite Deluxe... The standard rooms are nice, but small... The bathroom however is a very nice size and includes bathtub and shower both...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Rent a cart from Apache at Indios!!! Great customer service... Hit Castillo de Garaffon for great snorkeling, and afterwards stop by Oscar's for the awesome pasta and pizza (after 4pm)... Take a sunset cruise with Victor Villegas and then relax in one of the many places along the beach for your favorite drinks... The locals are friendly and helpful...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wanna be a travel agent
Business
South Woodslee
Jan 14, 2015

Awesome couples vacation

The hotel was fantastic. The staff were great. The only issue was lack of hot water but we stayed January 2014 hopefully this issue has been resolved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arenzville
Jan 5, 2015

Awesome trip

Privilege is located in a fantastic location right on the beach, and just a couple short blocks to Hildalgo Street. The staff at the hotel were all very nice and helpful. We only ate at the beach restaurant for lunch, and it was very good, and the buffet restaurant once, and it was also very good. There are several local restaurants that are close and worth a try. The beach area is private and is patrolled by security from the hotel so it was never too crowded, which was nice. Our room, Superior, was very small, but we were not in there much, so not a big deal to us. We exchanged money at the hotel for a good rate, and we also rented a golf cart there for a reasonable rate. Overall a great experience. Don't be expecting to be pampered like the mega-resorts in other places, but do expect a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GrizFan
Business
Sand Coulee
Dec 30, 2014

Very good experience as usual

We stayed at the Privilege Aluxes before and were not surprised to find the food and the service to be as good if not better than the first time we were there. The People at the front desk were very helpful during our stay. They helped with information about the island, changing money, and a friendly greeting when we went through the lobby. We were on the all inclusive plan so we tried all of the restaurants and found the number of choices available and the quality of the food to be very good. We spent much of our time in the afternoons down by the beach bar and restaurant. The service was very good and the people were friendly. The breakfast buffet in the main restaurant excellent. We had the option to eat inside or outside. Our room was huge, very clean and comfortable, and had a nice balcony with a good view. This was a good choice for a Mexican Vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Do your shopping and site seeing in the morning while it's cool and spend your afternoon time relaxing in the shade at the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
East Fallser
Business
Philadelphia
Dec 9, 2014

A perfect place for me

Beautifully constructed property, on a white sand beach, yet steps away from a traditional fishing village. There is the elegance of a first rate hotel with the opportunity to experience an authentic island culture. The hotel staff is exceptionally helpful and fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

All inclusive option.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Viv O
Business
Irvine, California
Dec 8, 2014

Great stay in Isla Mujeresd

We stayed here for one night during our stay in Cancun trip. The hotel is a short walk from the ferry dock, didn't even need to take a taxi. Hotel staff were good. Had a "standard" room, which was certainly better than standard. View from the room was pretty good. Room had a big patio as well. Breakfast was included in our rate, and was delicious with loads of options. The Playa Norte beach just in front of the hotel is awesome. Location of the hotel is perfect. Had a wonderful stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Romance12306
Business
Overland park ks
Dec 1, 2014

Awesome

Best time of my life. I would always stay here! We had so much fun. Staff very nice. Clean rooms. Best experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HenryCNY
Business
Utica, New York
Nov 26, 2014

Very good overall for the price.

I Took a 5 night getaway at the Privilege with my girlfriend, the hotel was very clean and well kept, the staff super friendly, the location was excellent too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top