$186 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 24, 2015 Check-out: Jan 27, 2015

Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

4 stars
Av. Adolfo López Mateos Sm. 001 Mza. 001 Lote 005 Colonia Centro, Isla Mujeres, 77400
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
328 reviews
A perfect place for me

Beautifully constructed property, on a white sand beach, yet steps away from a traditional fishing... See full review

  • East Fallser
  • Dec 9, 2014
Awesome

Best time of my life. I would always stay here! We had so much fun. Staff very nice. Clean rooms.... See full review

  • Romance12306
  • Dec 1, 2014
Adults-only beach resort on Isla Mujeres with optional all-inclusive
The Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres is fringed by the beautiful Playa Norte beach on Isla Mujeres and surrounded by mystique, offering a unique island experience. The luxurious rooms and suites are comfortably furnished to complement the relaxed sugar-white beaches. This resort for adults features 24-hour room service, two outdoor swimming pools, one children's pool, three outdoor Jacuzzis, three on-site bars and Spa Mystique that provides facials and massages for a unique experience of healing, magic and transformation. Guests at Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres can savour fresh gourmet dishes at the dining facilities on site and enjoy tropical cocktails and snacks at the pool bar or relax amid palms along the bucolic sea.
Highlights
  • Adults-only property with two optional all-inclusive packages
  • Beach club, outdoor pool with bar and Jacuzzi at Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres
  • On-site spa with a steam room offering facials and massages

 

Rooms

Each of the 124 rooms at Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres has a king size bed and balcony or terrace as well as a flat-panel satellite TV, mini bar that is refilled daily, complimentary Internet access, DVD and CD players and in-room safe. Bathrooms feature shower-tubs and hairdryers. Some rooms have Jacuzzi baths and feature added perks, such as bathrobes and kitchenettes.

 

Features

This picturesque beachfront property is near Costa Occidental de Isla Mujeres National Park and features three restaurants, one designed by Catalan architect Lluis Güell. Other amenities are a beach club, swimming pool and rooms with mini bars, 24-hour room service and balconies or terraces. Additionally, the Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres has a spa, beach club and disco as well as a solarium, fitness center and beautiful stretch of palm-dotted, white sand beach. Guests have the option of a room-only plan, a plan that includes breakfast and a fully all-inclusive option.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (20 mi/32 km, plus a ferry ride from Puerto Juarez)

 

Attractions
  • Tortugranja Turtle Farm (2.1 mi/3.3 km)
  • Ix Chel Maya Ruin (2.1 mi/3.3 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented Rooms

Super Saver AI
Standard room, All inclusive plan all meals and drinks included, offers king size bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, with balcony or terrace with partial view or town view, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable-TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron/ironing board, laundry service, mini bar, Ipod Holder, room service, safe in room. limited view.
Suite Premium AI W/Jaccuzi
Suite Premium All inclusive plan all meals and drinks included offers king size bed, option of extra bedroom, with air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony/terrace, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable-TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron/ironing board, jaccuzi/whirlpool/spa bath, kitchenette, laundry service, mini bar, Ipod Holder, room service, safe in room , tea and coffee making facilities and telephone.
Standard AI
Standard room, All inclusive plan all meals and drinks included, offers king size bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, with balcony or terrace with partial view or town view, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron/ironing board, laundry service, mini bar, Ipod Holder, room service, safe in room. Town view.
Suite Deluxe AI
Suite Deluxe All inclusive plan all meals included, king size bed, Ipod holder, with air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony/terrace, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable/tv, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron/ironing board, kitchenette, laundry service, mini bar, pay TV, safe in room , tea and coffee making facilities and telephone.
Suite Deluxe B and B
Suite Deluxe Bed and Breakfast, include breakfast buffet per person nice suite with breakfast buffet included, king size bed, option of extra bedroom, with air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony/terrace, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable/TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron/ironing board, kitchenette, laundry service, mini bar, Ipod Holder, safe in room , tea and coffee making facilities and telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
n/a

Dining

CAFE DEL MAR-sla Mujeres
Cafe Del Mar Isla Mujeres, located on the beach just a few steps from the hotel, specialties Meat, Fish and Seafood with a variety of Cocktails and tropical beverages. Opens From 10am to 11pm.
SABOR-& Gourmet Style
Sabor Gourmet Restaurant, facing the beach, open for Breakfast Buffet, Lunch la carte and Dinner Buffet. Opens From 07am to 10pm
SATAY-Discovering Asian Flavors
Satay exquisite Fusion & Oriental cuisine, open for dinner from 6 pm to 10 pm (reservation required)
POOLBAR
Location: Hotel terrace, ground floor, nearby the pool Specialties: Cocktails & tropical beverages Open for lunch (snack-bar) Open from 10 am to 6 pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (328)

Ratings and reviews for Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
328 out of 328
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Turlututu
Asheville NC
Aug 19, 2012

Glorious Beach Front

Beautiful soft white sand. Clear clean water. Lots of shaded lounge chairs and to die for beachfront beds.Waiters always available with a smile to take food or drink orders. Make sure to give them a tip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is negotiable.Whale Shark tour is "officially" $126 per person We paid $70 and I am sure that's not the bottom.Same story with golf carts and snorkeling.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Momma Inny
Business
North Little Rock, Arkansas
Mar 11, 2010

Privilege Aluxes Bed/Breakfast Superior

The breakfast was superior. We have stayed at the Privilege Aluxes 3 times and have not been disappointed yet. Isla appears to be recovering from the economic slow down because it was very busy everywhere. The staff at the Privilege is very accomodating, no complaints!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The town is a short walk from the Hotel which makes it very nice for eating downtown and shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Isla Mujeres wedding guest
Business
Miami, FL
Oct 25, 2010

Privilege Aluxes

Renting a golf cart and driving to Punta Sur had the most spectacular views and gave me a very different feel for the island. You can get to a lot on foot, as it really is a tiny island, but you're more limited to the beach and strip restaurants unless you're mobile (golf cart or mopeds are 2 good options that are reasonably priced). Velasquez restaurant right on the beach of Playa Norte looks like a hole in the wall (indeed, it is), but has seafood that is fished right out of the ocean on the same day for VERY reasonable prices. If they didn't catch it that day, they can't serve it to you, which is as fresh as it gets. Try the fried fish if you can live with eating it whole (head and eyes and all). At the very least, it'll be a new experience. El Garaffon also has great snorkeling. I didn't go personally, but look into it. Apparently, it's known worldwide. The Turtle sanctuary is another attraction that you may as well stroll by while on your golf cart or moped, especially if you don't live near water or have a lot of experience with marine life up close and personal. As for the hotel, it was absolutely beautiful. Very modern for Mexico (someone told me it is the newest hotel on the island) and reasonably priced for all you get. Just make sure they don't give you a cementary view (unless you're into that), because it can put a significant damper on your vacation mood when you open your balcony and well...you get the picture. If you're like me and they don't have any other rooms to offer you in the price range you originally paid for, be prepared to pay about $30 a night for an upgrade (in the states it's free for your inconvenience, but apparently not at this hotel). We were there for a wedding and quite a few guests ended up paying for upgrades. On a side note, DO NOT lose the beach towel they give you at check-in. It's $30 per towel if you do. YIKES! In terms of food, the breakfast was absolutely delicious and different every day. They also stay open until 11 a.m., so you can sleep in which is nice. Finally, try to wrap your head around the idea of wearing a plastic wrist band throughout your entire stay. It can be quite cumbersome at times, so be careful not to scratch yourself. I'm sure you think I'm being ridiculous, but it was significant enough to mention. Overall, I would recommend the hotel to anyone, just be aware of a few potential pitfalls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a golf cart and go to Punta Sur on the other end of the island. There's a small ruin on the edge of the cliff with the MOST amazing views. It only takes 30 minutes from one end of the island to the other and is absolutely worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Southport NC
Nov 15, 2010

"Relaxation at it's finest"

We did the all inclusive deal and it was worth the money. We dined at all three on site restuarants and was very pleased with all three. The service could not have been better. From the front desk, waiters, housekeeping, to the bartenders. Everyone went overboard to make our stay fantastic. The concierge [...] was so helpful, she can arrange anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Must do !!! get a golf cart or moped and tour the whole Island

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lindsey...island traveler
Business
Lincoln Ne.
Jun 20, 2011

Awesome experience

The beach was great. Rooms were nice and even had a jacuzzi tub on patio, didnt think our room would have that. Service was friendly and quick. Would definitely go back. Also very nice and easy to be able to go off the resort to see the sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to some of the restaurants off the resort. Olivias and Rolandi's were amazing. Rolandis had best lasagna ever tasted.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scorpion Shooter
Business
Metro Atlanta, GA
Jan 25, 2011

Can't wait to return with family!

Privilege Aluxes, outstanding staff, fine food (particularly local seafood,) and comfortable surroundings. Visit was strictly for world class sail fishing 20 to 30 miles off of Isla, the best!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Good diving off of Isla, but it's not Cozumel. Best sail fishing in the world during Jan. to early March! Great people, fun central city, dinning, shopping, nice beaches, somthing for everyone!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
escapist
Business
Northern Virginia
Jan 7, 2011

Privelege Aluxes, Isla Mujeres

1. Transportation: First of all I HIGHLY recommend paying the 40 bucks for airport transportation from Cancun, my drivers to and from were extremely friendly and helpful. They met me inside the airport and dropped me off at the departure counter. The entire transportation system was very efficient and extremely professional (many American cities could take a lession.) 2. The island: Isla Mujueres was absolutely beautiful. After taking a 15 minute ferry to the island you land on the main street of the island. There are numerous vendors selling everything from cigars to hand-sewen mayan fabrics. Also lots of restaurants to choose from, most with great prices. I prefered to walk the 5 minute walk to the hotel, but renting a golf cart or catching a taxi are also options. 3. The grounds: The hotel was gorgeous! Its very modern and new (2 years old) virtually flawless. Very well maintained as out of a movie. I saw the landscapers on hands and knees clipping the grass by hand (poor guy!.) There were functionally three pools, a great bar at the pool and I was just steps (literally 20) away from the coveted North beach. My room was beautiful with nice bathrooms, flat screen TVs, kitchenette and ocean/pool view. 4. Staff: The check-in area had a friendly-small town feel. Reception was incredibly polite and walked me to my room to show me the amenities. Everyone who answered the phone, delivered room service and who worked in the spa, restaurants and bars were all super sweet. I've been to many other latin american countries and I know that are not all so sweet in the service industry. 5. Food/drinks: My ONLY COMPLAINTS were the food and drinks. I opted for the all inclusive option (which was VERY economical) but I was disappointed with most meals and drinks (ie: margaritas were a pre-made mix, coco martini was bad, mojito beared NO resemblence to those i've had before, so i switched to beer only.) The presentation of the food was beautiful but the pork tenderloin was anything but tender, the fish seemingly undercooked, and the pad thai was not at all thai-like. I would definitely still stay at this hotel again but I would eat and drink elsewhere until they improved a bit. I wouldn't mind paying more for the all inclusive for the quality of the food to come to par.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

I went to Isla Mujeres to relax and sunbathe. There were lots of couples doing the same. If you want to be out all night (literally, most until 6am) partying you would probably do better at the chains of hotels in Cancun. You could possible have it both ways, but the ferry only runs 5:30am to 10:30pm so you could stumble back in the morning if you wanted.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Walnut Creek, CA
Nov 11, 2010

Aluxes on Isla!

Best deal/location on the island. Such a great experience we went back a second time only a few months later. First time a little windy second time no wind and very humid. Just understand what season you're going during so you don't complain about it when you're there. It's still paradise no matter what. Walking distance from everything, unless you're going to the south part of the island. Everything is reasonably priced, except souvenirs (just buy some tequila in the airport on your way back, you can buy most the food items in your local Mexican market anyway). If you have to buy something, but a hammock, I watched an islander making one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

(1) Purchase a regular room through [...] and attempt to upgrade when you get there. (They've changed ownership so you can't hustle a deal under the table anymore.) Ask for a Platinum room, it's the best value (but still a room with a great view), unless you have no problem dropping money. (2) Do not get the all-inclusive package, stick with the breakfast package. The main downtown road is literally a stones throw from the hotel entrance. The variety of food options is excellent and most places are quite reasonable. (3) Make friends with [...] (blond hair) at breakfast. He's just a nice and funny guy. Other notables are [...] who are bus boys. (4) Places to check out Olivia (downtown; amazing Mediterranean food; across the street is the best place for a good burger), Velasquez (between Aluxes and UltraMar dock, cheap and simple), Qubano Restaurant (side street downtown, amazing Cuban food), Milagro's Pizza (side of the road towards the south, Don Chepo (on Hidalgo; authentic and cheap of course), Faynes (on Hidalgo; select free drinks from 10:25-10:55; live music every night), Jax Bar and Grill (across the street from Aluxes; get the bucket of beers; food not so good), Playa Lancheros (side of the road further towards the south; get the smoked fish). (5) Don't buy drinks at the hotel. Buy cans of beer or liquor at the small supermarket at the end of Hildalgo (center of town) (best price/exchange) and drink on the beach or wherever. Don't buy glass unless you plan on returning it for your deposit back. (6) Don't be afraid to try to speak Spanish. I was surprised how well they speak English, but they (most of them at least) appropriate it when you try. At worst learn a couple of cheesy phrases to have fun with them.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
VA
Aug 10, 2009

Depends what you're looking for

The hotel is beautiful. It is a big commercial establishment in a beautiful rustic town. We like beauty and nature so it was a good base but we needed to get away from the sales, the 'deals', the hustle in the neighborhood to have a great time. When we did we were grateful (phenomenal local food, shops, and incredible waters). Aluxes makes a very good base of operations. The staff is very friendly and helpful. There were many young (18 - 30) heavy drinkers who were the closest thing we found to the Ugly Americans that we didn't want to see. No doubt, if we were one of them, we'd probably of had a better time than being around them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Find the local markets. Go where the locals go and eat like royalty!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Fe, NM.
Nov 25, 2010

Beautiful hotel, with some kinks.

The location of the hotel is excellent, probably the best on the island. The service is hit and miss. Don't be fooled by the claim the hotel is 'Adults Only Oriented'. In no way is it oriented that way. There were many kids, screaming in the pool so everyone in the hotel hears them. When we booked this, we thought Adults Only Oriented meant Adults only, but we were sadly wrong. There are 3 hot tubs, none of which were even remotely warm. The wireless internet did not work the first 2 days of our vacation, which is a pain if you are trying to communicate with someone back in the states. The food was good, but again, the service was not very attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Taking a taxi from the airport to the ferry is much easier and quicker than taking the greyline shuttle. A taxi from the ferry to the hotel is only 30 pesos, or if you have minimal baggage, a 5 block walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dodie and Jack
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 10, 2011

Great Location and Good, Modern Hotel

80 Degrees and Sunny for 8 days-who could ask for more? This is our sixth visit to Isla Mujeres and we can not wait to go back next year--maybe this April/May? We spent New Years on Isla Mujeres and it met all of our expectations. Great gathering in the town square with fireworks, good food, friendly people and a very good band. The Aluxes Hotel was what we expected. It looks just like the pictures on the internet and 90% of what you see is exactly what you get. The pool water was cold-around 70 degrees- the pool bar service was hit or miss, the pool drinks were weak to OK, the food was average but the area was very well kept. The beach bar had a lot better service (we did tip from 1 to 2 US dollars per round), drinks were weak but they made them stronger if you asked (and tiped?), food was OK to good (fish was very good but the cheese burger was weak)the semi-private beach area was nice, clean and organized. The food at the buffet was good at breakfast and OK at lunch and dinner. It seemed if we got to the lunch and/or dinner buffet early (Lunch opened at 1:00PM/Dinner 6:30PM-I think) it was more organized and appealing. Rooms were very nice, modern but a little bare. Yes, the pillows were hard but we got use to them after 2 nights. We had a semi-partial view of the ocean, move our room from the second floor--no ocean view but a nice pool view--to the third floor--ocean view over the tree tops-not bad but not what I expected. Room service was slow but the front desk/bell hops were very helpful and efficient. I would definitely take the breakfast buffet if included in the room price. Lunch and dinner--I would go downtown-about 2 blocks away.Most of the restaurants recommended on the internet were up to their description expecially La Cazuela M&J--b/fast, Qubano--sandwich lunch, Rooster Cafe--B/fast and Lunch and Rolandi--dinner. We did splurgeon a GREAT Dinner at the Rolandi Hotel (out of town about 4 miles)but it was as good as it gets. Cost-$$$ US for two--very, very good food and romantic. Ask for [...] the Captain and tell him James Bond (my nick name per [...]) sent you--your service will be second to none!!! PS: We used Five Stars Transportation for transfer from Airport To Docks-$63.00 Round trip plus tip.Ask for [...]-he is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many bars and restaurant within 1 to 6 blocks of the Aluxes. Need a hamburger after a couple of days? Try "JAX"-GREAT BURGERS-20 yards from the hotel. Take advantage of the Aluxes location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top