Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

4 stars
View map of Av. Adolfo López Mateos Sm. 001 Mza. 001 Lote 005 Colonia Centro, Isla Mujeres, 77400

Hotel Overview

4.2/5

Overall score

91%

Would recommend

Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3
Adults-only beach resort on Isla Mujeres with optional all-inclusive
The Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres is fringed by the beautiful Playa Norte beach on Isla Mujeres and surrounded by mystique, offering a unique island experience. The luxurious rooms and suites are comfortably furnished to complement the relaxed sugar-white beaches. This resort for adults features 24-hour room service, two outdoor swimming pools, one children's pool, three outdoor Jacuzzis, three on-site bars and Spa Mystique that provides facials and massages for a unique experience of healing, magic and transformation. Guests at Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres can savour fresh gourmet dishes at the dining facilities on site and enjoy tropical cocktails and snacks at the pool bar or relax amid palms along the bucolic sea.
Highlights
  • Adults-only property with two optional all-inclusive packages
  • Beach club, outdoor pool with bar and Jacuzzi at Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres
  • On-site spa with a steam room offering facials and massages

 

Rooms

Each of the 124 rooms at Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres has a king size bed and balcony or terrace as well as a flat-panel satellite TV, mini bar that is refilled daily, complimentary Internet access, DVD and CD players and in-room safe. Bathrooms feature shower-tubs and hairdryers. Some rooms have Jacuzzi baths and feature added perks, such as bathrobes and kitchenettes.

 

Features

This picturesque beachfront property is near Costa Occidental de Isla Mujeres National Park and features three restaurants, one designed by Catalan architect Lluis Güell. Other amenities are a beach club, swimming pool and rooms with mini bars, 24-hour room service and balconies or terraces. Additionally, the Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres has a spa, beach club and disco as well as a solarium, fitness center and beautiful stretch of palm-dotted, white sand beach. Guests have the option of a room-only plan, a plan that includes breakfast and a fully all-inclusive option.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (20 mi/32 km, plus a ferry ride from Puerto Juarez)

 

Attractions
  • Tortugranja Turtle Farm (2.1 mi/3.3 km)
  • Ix Chel Maya Ruin (2.1 mi/3.3 km)

Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented Rooms

Super Saver AI
Standard room, All inclusive plan all meals and drinks included, offers king size bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, with balcony or terrace with partial view or town view, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable-TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron/ironing board, laundry service, mini bar, Ipod Holder, room service, safe in room. limited view.
Suite Premium AI W/Jaccuzi
Suite Premium All inclusive plan all meals and drinks included offers king size bed, option of extra bedroom, with air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony/terrace, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable-TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron/ironing board, jaccuzi/whirlpool/spa bath, kitchenette, laundry service, mini bar, Ipod Holder, room service, safe in room , tea and coffee making facilities and telephone.
Standard AI
Standard room, All inclusive plan all meals and drinks included, offers king size bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, with balcony or terrace with partial view or town view, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron/ironing board, laundry service, mini bar, Ipod Holder, room service, safe in room. Town view.
Suite Deluxe AI
Suite Deluxe All inclusive plan all meals included, king size bed, Ipod holder, with air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony/terrace, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable/tv, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron/ironing board, kitchenette, laundry service, mini bar, pay TV, safe in room , tea and coffee making facilities and telephone.
Suite Deluxe B and B
Suite Deluxe Bed and Breakfast, include breakfast buffet per person nice suite with breakfast buffet included, king size bed, option of extra bedroom, with air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony/terrace, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable/TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron/ironing board, kitchenette, laundry service, mini bar, Ipod Holder, safe in room , tea and coffee making facilities and telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Map

21.2574 -86.751
Area served
Privilege Aluxes is located on Isla Mujeres, the exclusive and charming island off of the coast of Cancun. At first sight the turquoise waters are breathtaking.
Nearby airports
How to Get Here If you are flying: about 35 minutes away from Cancun International Airport If you come by boat: about 20 minutes if taking the ferry.Boarding at Puerto Juarez, 35 minutes away from Cancun International Airport
Area description
"Isla", as locals call it, first news dated back to 564-1516 A.D. when it was a Mayan province, Ekab, one of the four provinces or Mayan territories that formed what is today the State of Quintana Roo and at that time was a sanctuary to Ixchel (goddess of weaving, happiness, the moon, abundance and medicine, among others. Map Location: Latitude North 21 11' 5'', Longitude West 86 42' 50". Average Temperature: 77-80 F Humidity 60% Av. Adolfo Lopez Mateos Sm. 001 Mza. 001 Lote 005 Colonia Centro C.P. 77400.Isla Mujeres. Quintana Roo. MEXICO.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
n/a

Dining

CAFE DEL MAR-sla Mujeres
Cafe Del Mar Isla Mujeres, located on the beach just a few steps from the hotel, specialties Meat, Fish and Seafood with a variety of Cocktails and tropical beverages. Opens From 10am to 11pm.
SABOR-& Gourmet Style
Sabor Gourmet Restaurant, facing the beach, open for Breakfast Buffet, Lunch la carte and Dinner Buffet. Opens From 07am to 10pm
SATAY-Discovering Asian Flavors
Satay exquisite Fusion & Oriental cuisine, open for dinner from 6 pm to 10 pm (reservation required)
POOLBAR
Location: Hotel terrace, ground floor, nearby the pool Specialties: Cocktails & tropical beverages Open for lunch (snack-bar) Open from 10 am to 6 pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (354)

Ratings and reviews for Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
354 out of 354
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Aug 22, 2009

Terrific vacation spot

Location was great - staff was very friendly and accomodating. We only did the all-inclusive breakfast (which was definitely worth it), only because we wanted to venture out to some of the unique, diverse fresh food restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Locate Enrique's dive excursions - we went swimming with whale sharks and it was INCREDIBLE! He's within walking distance from the hotel, right on the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres
Jul 24, 2011

First time leaving the country

The trip was excellent and the Isla Mujeres was beautiful. We saw the pyramids, went snorkeling,zip-lined , and explored the island's beauty as well as the beauty of Cancun as we were able to travel back and fourth. I loved every thing about Isla Mujeres and the hotel was luxurious but I must say the staff was extremely rude and consistently tried to get us to pay more for many things. I do suggest any one to go but to make sure you watch your checks from the hotel and question any charges you are not sure of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don Cheapos restaurant had excellent service and food. Also Rolandis had excellent food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
skinaz
Business
Scottsdale AZ
Feb 17, 2011

AWESOME resort! AI plan worth it!

We really enjoyed our time at PA; upon arrival, we were greeted w/champagne, and given a complimentary room upgrade! We were on the 5th floor, facing the graveyard - nice and quiet - and we had ocean views, although not ocean-front. The buildings are seemingly new; the beach was well-maintained, and the staff was excellent. We opted for the All-inclusive plan as we enjoy cocktails. WELL worth it! The food was ok, not great - our favorite was Cafe del Mar on the beach. It was too cold to get in the pools or ocean, but we did lay under the palapas on the beach and on the pool beds, relaxed, and did some damage to their bar costs! We tipped per round a dollar and never had to wait for service - a little goes a long way. This resort is NOT for children; no activities for them, so don't take them and ruin other guests' times. Lots of older couples and gay couples. Only gripe was the sheets were not soft; the napkins in the restaurant were WAY softer than the sheets! We plan to return this summer to the PA!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't take a cab from the ferry - the PA is about a block down.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anne W
Business
New York, NY, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Best hotel to relax and pamper

I stayed at Privileges for 5 nights this August -- it was absolutely wonderful! The hotel is very new, so everything is in great condition. I had a room overlooking the cemetery (not as awful was it sounds -- you can see the sea and both the sunrise and sunset) with the outdoor jacuzzi. Every day, the room was perfectly cleaned -- I even had my flower replaced when it died! The beach is not huge, but it's still pretty nice and Playa Norte is just a few minutes' walk. Lots of delicious food nearby (so I don't recommend the all-inclusive) and cab rides are really cheap. The staff was friendly -- not always super helpful when I had questions, but also not intrusive or pushy. I would absolutely stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JB West
Business
Augusta, GA
Jun 13, 2011

Refreshing 20th Wedding Anniversary!

We wanted a quiet, relaxing place to celebrate our anniversary and we were not disappointed. When we walked in the door we were greeted with champagne and a cool wet cloth (nice touch!). The surroundings were beautiful, and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. We spent most of our time by the ocean or the pool. We got the all inclusive plan and enjoyed the 3 different restaurants. The food is not American, so embrace their methods and tastes and ways of doing things. Since we don't drink alcohol, it seemed a little unfair that we paid the same price as the people who drank constantly (good value for drinkers though!). Away from the hotel, the town is loud and busy - there's construction and people are constantly asking you to buy things. We preferred golf carting around to walking, but if you enjoy shopping and bartering, you may like to walk. We had to adjust to later times-lunch at 2, dinner at 8, etc. The restaurant on the beach had a band every night. Even if we didn't eat there, we would go out and listen. Go ahead and use what little Spanish you know - they never made us feel stupid and seemed to enjoy our attempts. Although the hotel claims "adults only", we did see a few families w/ children. This wasn't a bother to us, but if there had been a LOT of small children, that would have made the pool and beach times less relaxing. There were a few minor issues: the clock wouldn't set in our room; above us someone had set an alarm that went off, but they weren't in there to turn it off (if did get shut off eventually); we were unable to use the telephone in the room (to set up our return shuttle) - had to use the phone in the lobby; it was a little unclear what "all inclusive" meant - did it include a pedicure or massage or was that extra? We never really got an answer on that. Make sure you get a room on the back side of the hotel w/ a pool/ocean view, AND get a terrace (ours didn't have a jacuzzi, but we had a whirlpool bath tub instead). AVOID getting a room facing the front of the hotel - it's noisy w/ cars and construction and there's a school, where it appears all the kids do is scream all day (starting around 7am). We only noticed this when we walked up the stairs to our room - we couldn't hear it from our side and we loved sitting on the terrace and watching the sunset. *DO take a day to rent a golf cart - drive all the way to the other end of the island and spend the day at Garrafon Park - snorkeling, zip lining, biking, swimming, etc. Before going to Garrafon, go ALL the way to the end and check out the great view and all the iguanas! We felt very safe - we would've been a little more unsure of food/beverages in town, but the hotel was well prepared and reliable. Bottled water is provided constantly. We used the safe in our room to store passports, etc. At Garrafon Park, they have lockers to keep belongings. We never felt like we were in danger of theft, and we did take precautions. The Mexican people as a whole were hard working and friendly - eager to help. I even loved the little "statues" our maid made out of towels. DON'T exchange money - it's not necessary. We brought small American bills (1's, 5's, 10's) and it was accepted everywhere we went. At Garrafon Park we paid on credit, as that was a little pricier. The ferry, golf cart and Garrafon (and gifts) are the only things we paid extra for. Overall, fabulous trip. We spent an entire day googling all of our "Cancun" options, and we read through all these reviews, which we found very helpful. If you want a lot of action and different clubs to go to, etc, then you should probably stay on the main land of Cancun. Isla La Mujeres is for the mellower crowd. You can get a ferry or boat to come to the island just for a day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

[...] include "airport shuttle" in your price. They greeted us in the airport w/ flowers and were expecting us (you had to call ahead and give them your itinerary). They did a great job transporting us to and from the ferry (which costs extra). At the end of the trip, they picked us up at the ferry and brought us to the airport (20-30 min. ride) - they were right on time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver
Dec 21, 2010

Relaxing Two Weeks

Very nice newer hotel and I got just what I booked on Orbits. The room has a kitchenette but no utensils or dishware so basically it is just a fridge you share with the minibar soda and beer. They did not do much mopping or sweeping, just straightining up and changing towels and sheets so things got a bit dusty and gritty after two weeks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All the resturants you want are in the little town next to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City, KS
Oct 2, 2010

Fabulous hotel for the price!

Upon arrival we found out that they had upgraded us from the platinum suite to the presidential suite at no charge due to there being a leak in the platinum suite from a recent storm. This was fantastic news, although, check-in wasn't for another 3 hours and we had to wait the full 3 hours for the room to be ready. Some of the restuarants do not serve until 1pm and since it was still 12pm we had to eat at the beachside restaurant in the heat in jeans after a long travel day, so this was a bit of a disappointment. Once we finally got in our room, we were amazed at the amount of space in the suite. It was gorgous and had fantastic views. The restaurants were also pretty good. The Tai restuarant wasn't the greatest, it was the only restuarant that required reservations, but would not recommend it to anyone not doing the all inclusive package. The only suggestions I would have for the hotel would be to speed up bar and food service as it seemed a lot of the staff were just standing around, get softer beds or add pads to beds, and to expand the drink menu as the types of drinks available were limited or the staff did not know how to make drinks requested or speak enough english to understand how to make them. I would also suggest giving some directions on where to go on the island for newcomers as it took us around 3 - 4 days to figure out where everyone was hanging out at night on the island since traveling to and from Cancun past midnight is not possible due to ferry schedule. We had a fantastic trip though. The resort was beautiful and we would definetely recommend this to others hands down due to the low cost for the suite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Most newcomers were walking down the main street that goes from the ferry to the hotel along the shore since it has lights and looks like there would be things going on there. However, there isn't much going on there at night. If you go east 1.5 blocks and south a few more blocks you will find that most shops, restuarants, and bars are open late and there are quite a few people out there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oceangirl
Business
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Feb 14, 2010

A week at Privilege

Nice hotel but has a sewage problem. Needs to be address in a manner other than pouring chlorine down the drains!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Loads of great affordable restaurants...don't bother with AI unless it is really cheap!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DCSWIM
Business
Alexandria, VA
Oct 21, 2009

Good experience

The hotel is well kept and is very close to the Playa Norte beach. The room is very nice and modern with a large bath and a balcony. The breakfast buffet is excellent and the service is wonderful. Remember to tip the housekeeper, the waiter, and other service staff and you will have an excellent experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Todd W
Business
MN
Mar 6, 2011

Enjoyed it

The staff was great and so was the suite we stayed in. The place was clean and the staff took great care of us. We brought down some small bills to spread around for tips and it really helped. We upgraded to an ocean view that was all inclusive and were glad we made that choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We had a blast renting a golf cart and buzzing around the island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top