Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

4 stars
Av. Adolfo López Mateos Sm. 001 Mza. 001 Lote 005 Colonia Centro, Isla Mujeres, 77400
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
322 reviews
Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres

I enjoyed my stayed at this lovely hotel, so much, that I just booked it again for next year. The... See full review

  • Scmart13
  • Nov 19, 2014
Relaxing 3rd time back

I can't say enough good things about this hotel. The location is perfect. Close to town. Easy walk... See full review

  • repeatcustomer48166
  • Oct 9, 2014
Adults-only beach resort on Isla Mujeres with optional all-inclusive
The Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres is fringed by the beautiful Playa Norte beach on Isla Mujeres and surrounded by mystique, offering a unique island experience. The luxurious rooms and suites are comfortably furnished to complement the relaxed sugar-white beaches. This resort for adults features 24-hour room service, two outdoor swimming pools, one children's pool, three outdoor Jacuzzis, three on-site bars and Spa Mystique that provides facials and massages for a unique experience of healing, magic and transformation. Guests at Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres can savour fresh gourmet dishes at the dining facilities on site and enjoy tropical cocktails and snacks at the pool bar or relax amid palms along the bucolic sea.
Highlights
  • Adults-only property with two optional all-inclusive packages
  • Beach club, outdoor pool with bar and Jacuzzi at Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres
  • On-site spa with a steam room offering facials and massages

 

Rooms

Each of the 124 rooms at Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres has a king size bed and balcony or terrace as well as a flat-panel satellite TV, mini bar that is refilled daily, complimentary Internet access, DVD and CD players and in-room safe. Bathrooms feature shower-tubs and hairdryers. Some rooms have Jacuzzi baths and feature added perks, such as bathrobes and kitchenettes.

 

Features

This picturesque beachfront property is near Costa Occidental de Isla Mujeres National Park and features three restaurants, one designed by Catalan architect Lluis Güell. Other amenities are a beach club, swimming pool and rooms with mini bars, 24-hour room service and balconies or terraces. Additionally, the Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres has a spa, beach club and disco as well as a solarium, fitness center and beautiful stretch of palm-dotted, white sand beach. Guests have the option of a room-only plan, a plan that includes breakfast and a fully all-inclusive option.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (20 mi/32 km, plus a ferry ride from Puerto Juarez)

 

Attractions
  • Tortugranja Turtle Farm (2.1 mi/3.3 km)
  • Ix Chel Maya Ruin (2.1 mi/3.3 km)

Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented Rooms

Super Saver AI
Standard room, All inclusive plan all meals and drinks included, offers king size bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, with balcony or terrace with partial view or town view, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable-TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron/ironing board, laundry service, mini bar, Ipod Holder, room service, safe in room. limited view.
Suite Premium AI W/Jaccuzi
Suite Premium All inclusive plan all meals and drinks included offers king size bed, option of extra bedroom, with air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony/terrace, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable-TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron/ironing board, jaccuzi/whirlpool/spa bath, kitchenette, laundry service, mini bar, Ipod Holder, room service, safe in room , tea and coffee making facilities and telephone.
Standard AI
Standard room, All inclusive plan all meals and drinks included, offers king size bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, with balcony or terrace with partial view or town view, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron/ironing board, laundry service, mini bar, Ipod Holder, room service, safe in room. Town view.
Suite Deluxe AI
Suite Deluxe All inclusive plan all meals included, king size bed, Ipod holder, with air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony/terrace, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable/tv, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron/ironing board, kitchenette, laundry service, mini bar, pay TV, safe in room , tea and coffee making facilities and telephone.
Suite Deluxe B and B
Suite Deluxe Bed and Breakfast, include breakfast buffet per person nice suite with breakfast buffet included, king size bed, option of extra bedroom, with air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony/terrace, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable/TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron/ironing board, kitchenette, laundry service, mini bar, Ipod Holder, safe in room , tea and coffee making facilities and telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Map

21.2574 -86.751
Area served
Privilege Aluxes is located on Isla Mujeres, the exclusive and charming island off of the coast of Cancun. At first sight the turquoise waters are breathtaking.
Nearby airports
How to Get Here If you are flying: about 35 minutes away from Cancun International Airport If you come by boat: about 20 minutes if taking the ferry.Boarding at Puerto Juarez, 35 minutes away from Cancun International Airport
Area description
"Isla", as locals call it, first news dated back to 564-1516 A.D. when it was a Mayan province, Ekab, one of the four provinces or Mayan territories that formed what is today the State of Quintana Roo and at that time was a sanctuary to Ixchel (goddess of weaving, happiness, the moon, abundance and medicine, among others. Map Location: Latitude North 21 11' 5'', Longitude West 86 42' 50". Average Temperature: 77-80 F Humidity 60% Av. Adolfo Lopez Mateos Sm. 001 Mza. 001 Lote 005 Colonia Centro C.P. 77400.Isla Mujeres. Quintana Roo. MEXICO.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
n/a

Dining

CAFE DEL MAR-sla Mujeres
Cafe Del Mar Isla Mujeres, located on the beach just a few steps from the hotel, specialties Meat, Fish and Seafood with a variety of Cocktails and tropical beverages. Opens From 10am to 11pm.
SABOR-& Gourmet Style
Sabor Gourmet Restaurant, facing the beach, open for Breakfast Buffet, Lunch la carte and Dinner Buffet. Opens From 07am to 10pm
SATAY-Discovering Asian Flavors
Satay exquisite Fusion & Oriental cuisine, open for dinner from 6 pm to 10 pm (reservation required)
POOLBAR
Location: Hotel terrace, ground floor, nearby the pool Specialties: Cocktails & tropical beverages Open for lunch (snack-bar) Open from 10 am to 6 pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (322)

Ratings and reviews for Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
322 out of 322
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
VA
Aug 10, 2009

Depends what you're looking for

The hotel is beautiful. It is a big commercial establishment in a beautiful rustic town. We like beauty and nature so it was a good base but we needed to get away from the sales, the 'deals', the hustle in the neighborhood to have a great time. When we did we were grateful (phenomenal local food, shops, and incredible waters). Aluxes makes a very good base of operations. The staff is very friendly and helpful. There were many young (18 - 30) heavy drinkers who were the closest thing we found to the Ugly Americans that we didn't want to see. No doubt, if we were one of them, we'd probably of had a better time than being around them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Find the local markets. Go where the locals go and eat like royalty!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Fe, NM.
Nov 25, 2010

Beautiful hotel, with some kinks.

The location of the hotel is excellent, probably the best on the island. The service is hit and miss. Don't be fooled by the claim the hotel is 'Adults Only Oriented'. In no way is it oriented that way. There were many kids, screaming in the pool so everyone in the hotel hears them. When we booked this, we thought Adults Only Oriented meant Adults only, but we were sadly wrong. There are 3 hot tubs, none of which were even remotely warm. The wireless internet did not work the first 2 days of our vacation, which is a pain if you are trying to communicate with someone back in the states. The food was good, but again, the service was not very attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Taking a taxi from the airport to the ferry is much easier and quicker than taking the greyline shuttle. A taxi from the ferry to the hotel is only 30 pesos, or if you have minimal baggage, a 5 block walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bts
Business
washington, dc
Nov 21, 2010

Wonderful!

This hotel is wonderful! During the slow season-they took care of our every need. The platinum suite is beyond amazing, and the food isn't the best, but tries hard! All inclusive is worth it for free room service and pool drinks and satay! Love this place :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Mangos! Best food on the island!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
love warm weather
Business
St. Charles, MO
Dec 20, 2010

Beautiful Beach

Beautiful beach, great restaurants nearby

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dodie and Jack
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 10, 2011

Great Location and Good, Modern Hotel

80 Degrees and Sunny for 8 days-who could ask for more? This is our sixth visit to Isla Mujeres and we can not wait to go back next year--maybe this April/May? We spent New Years on Isla Mujeres and it met all of our expectations. Great gathering in the town square with fireworks, good food, friendly people and a very good band. The Aluxes Hotel was what we expected. It looks just like the pictures on the internet and 90% of what you see is exactly what you get. The pool water was cold-around 70 degrees- the pool bar service was hit or miss, the pool drinks were weak to OK, the food was average but the area was very well kept. The beach bar had a lot better service (we did tip from 1 to 2 US dollars per round), drinks were weak but they made them stronger if you asked (and tiped?), food was OK to good (fish was very good but the cheese burger was weak)the semi-private beach area was nice, clean and organized. The food at the buffet was good at breakfast and OK at lunch and dinner. It seemed if we got to the lunch and/or dinner buffet early (Lunch opened at 1:00PM/Dinner 6:30PM-I think) it was more organized and appealing. Rooms were very nice, modern but a little bare. Yes, the pillows were hard but we got use to them after 2 nights. We had a semi-partial view of the ocean, move our room from the second floor--no ocean view but a nice pool view--to the third floor--ocean view over the tree tops-not bad but not what I expected. Room service was slow but the front desk/bell hops were very helpful and efficient. I would definitely take the breakfast buffet if included in the room price. Lunch and dinner--I would go downtown-about 2 blocks away.Most of the restaurants recommended on the internet were up to their description expecially La Cazuela M&J--b/fast, Qubano--sandwich lunch, Rooster Cafe--B/fast and Lunch and Rolandi--dinner. We did splurgeon a GREAT Dinner at the Rolandi Hotel (out of town about 4 miles)but it was as good as it gets. Cost-$$$ US for two--very, very good food and romantic. Ask for [...] the Captain and tell him James Bond (my nick name per [...]) sent you--your service will be second to none!!! PS: We used Five Stars Transportation for transfer from Airport To Docks-$63.00 Round trip plus tip.Ask for [...]-he is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many bars and restaurant within 1 to 6 blocks of the Aluxes. Need a hamburger after a couple of days? Try "JAX"-GREAT BURGERS-20 yards from the hotel. Take advantage of the Aluxes location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
richie and judy
Business
glendora, new jersey
Dec 16, 2010

great location...great hotel and staff

our experience was fantastic! the hotel was immaculate inside and out. it is in a great location right on playa norte and just steps from the little town and ferry terminal. the hotel staff was very accomodating and friendly. the hotel was every bit as nice as the el conquistador in puerto rico which was our last trip. we would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there are many great,affordable dining options in the town...just a few blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
graycat3
Business
Iowa
Jan 16, 2011

The good and the bad

Safe travel area. awesome island in general.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Golf carts are available for longer trips at a reasonalbe price. Our Hotel information said we had a 1PM checkin time. However we were left waiting until 3PM for 1 room and after 5PM for another room. After a long travel we were ready for a rest. Checkin staff advised their checkin time is actually 3PM. Staff at checkin were not very friendly (daytime). Otherwise all staff were excellant and friendly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michelle_and_Spi
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 13, 2010

Upgrade Surprise

To our surprise we were upgraded to a top floor room with a balcony jacuzzi!!! This made for lots of fun with the bubbles and warm breezes. The room is elegant, clean and quiet. Wonderful travertine bathroom with separate shower and loo. There is a pesky rooster that wakes up around 4am. Keep your sliding door closed if you don't want to hear him. Blackout curtains make for peaceful slumber. The pool and hot tub are not heated and I never asked the reason. The beach is quite busy. We preferred the absence of crowds in Tulum, however, there is great people watching while laying out on your cabana on Isla. Rent bikes to ride around the entire island. It is only 5 miles long. The shops, restaurants and ferry are only a few minutes walk. The breakfast buffet is good. Fresh made omelets and wonderful fruit is delicious! I found the colorful, candied sprinkles on the pancakes and french toast funny since this is an "adults only" resort. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Our favorite part of the island is renting bikes and riding all day to see all the ocean views and taking swims in the clear waters. Having the restaurants and shopping in a 3 minute walk is a bonus!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hogger76
Business
Cloverdale Mi.
Feb 16, 2010

Isla

The hotel was in a great location. On one side was the beach and on the other was the town which we really enjoyed. The rooms were different than most hotel rooms but not in a bad way. We found that most balconys could be observed from the balcony above which limited our privacy. The breakfast was adequet and the staff was on the ball.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Athens, New York
Dec 9, 2010

Great Hotel-Staff needs more Supervision

Even though it was the shoulder season the staff in the restaurant needs to be more attentive to the guest. The beach bar staff was not attentive at all to the needs of the guest. The bar could have made ten times the sales if the lazy staff were more attentive to the guest. They were just goofing off at the bar hiding. Perhaps they should lower the pay so they would hussle for more tips. The maid staff needs to work off of a list, every day we needed to approach them later in the day for soap,bath salts, water, coffee etc. The Hotel was beautiful and modern, large clean rooms. There are many inexpensive restaurants on the strip to eat lunch and dinner. I would go back again but staff supervision is a problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top