$204 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 10, 2015 Check-out: Jun 13, 2015

Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

4 stars
View map of Av. Adolfo López Mateos Sm. 001 Mza. 001 Lote 005 Colonia Centro, Isla Mujeres, 77400

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
382 out of 382
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mardi gras queen
Business
Mandeville La.
Jul 22, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

Great resort with wonderful staff. Rent a golf cart and tour the island for the day to see all the sites. Great places to eat seafood right along the beach. Be sure to take the short walk down the sand alley to north beach to see the incredible sunsets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Swim with the whale sharks for an unbelievable experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 22, 2011

Things that should know!

The hotel accommadation was nice however,they never have any money on hand to give you change. The maid came into my room and cleaned it while a had the do not disturb sign on the door. It was while we were out for the day. Orbit book me a flight at 7:44 in the morning to come home and I couldn't possibly make that flight because the fairy doesn't leave the island that early. I spent 3 hrs rescheduling a later flight and it cost me $300.00 more to get home. Orbit wouldn't be responsible for. The travel agent should have known that I couldn't get off the island that early. Isn't that what they get paid for? I suggest you stay on the island of Cancun and not isla Mujeres and just come to visit isla mujeres for a day. You'll end up paying $7.00 per person to catch a fairy each way back and forth to Cancun because the best attraction are on the main land.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't bring large bills because most of the places of business won't take them. The hotel have a nice restaurant and there are other places to eat on the island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Beach, FL
Jul 20, 2011

Hotel Aluxes Isla Mujeres

[...] The room was very clean and spacious, the staff was very friendly and very personable, and the food was quite delicious. I was slightly disappointed in the food, in the sense that I was expecting home cooked Mexican food, and we ended up with an Americanized menu. The food was very tasty, however not what I really wanted. The pool is warm and crystal clear with a swim up pool side bar. The beach is clean and has plenty of personal chairs, cabanas or beds to choose from. It's set up like a private beach with servers that come by to check and see if you are in need of anything... they are very attentive. During our stay we dove the cenotes and snorkeled with the whale sharks. An absolute must! The whale sharks were the high light of our trip.Over all, we had an amazing time, and we will be back next year. I'll just make sure that I book the all inclusive in advance so we don't have to pay extra money per day when we get there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

From the hotel, you can walk everywhere. The Ferry which will take you to the mainland, the charter boats to take you diving, snorkeling, or to the whale sharks, shopping and dinning at restaurants off property. Cab is not needed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jmac099
Business
texas
Jul 13, 2011

would recommened to anyone

hotel was clean and neat - staff very attentive. we did not do the all inclusive - to many options within walking distance. the pool and private beach were fantastic. Jax accross the street was a favorite for lunch and dinner. Ciro's is the BEST place to rent a golf cart from. we did not stay in the room much other then to sleep nightly. the air conditioning performed without issues - which i understand can be problems with other local hotels. no loud noise from local area at night. bed was comfortable. hotel is very centrally located to north beach and the reef for that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york, ny
Jul 13, 2011

Great

It was great vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
atl ga
Jul 12, 2011

room next to funeral home

beach is nice /food is terrible /room is nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

dont get all incl. food is bad

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ann arbor
Jul 10, 2011

5 Star???.........3.5 Star tops

New and good looks........ Bad food incompotent staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
anya1fed
Business
Michigan
Jul 10, 2011

Relaxing getaway on cozy island

This hotel is on a beautiful stretch of beach on the north side of the island. There is a small service road between the hotel and beach, though it is not a busy road at all. There are many palapas on the beach for hotel guests only and a good tip with your first order will ensure great service throughout the day. We walked down North beach and rented some snorkel equipment on side street near a large bar with swings (cannot recall the name here) and then continued to the shallow lagoon which was perfect for novice snorkelers like me! I heard that several experienced divers took an excursion and loved the underwater sights, but we didn't leave the island while we were there. There are many great restaurants on the island and you can count on a top-notch burger at Jax which is next door to the hotel. We did not hear loud music or any disturbances at night during our stay. There was a dance/music festival on the island which was being set up on our last day, so we didn't get to check it out, but it looked like fun! Overall the hotel was clean, comfortable and the staff was friendly and helpful. We stayed in 2 rooms and upgraded to the rooftop pool suite after 2 days and was totally worth it. There was absolutely nothing wrong with our first room, but when we found out that a pool room was available, we had to try it. It was huge (2 stories) and was such a treat. I loved being able to lay out in the morn after breakfast in my own privacy before heading down to beach or pool to meet up with friends. We will definitely return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Get a small bike taxi for your luggage when you arrive on the ferry dock. We didn't, and even though it was a short walk, it was hot and sweaty to maneuver our luggage and we regret not doing it upon arrival. We took a regular taxi on your departure trip and cost $5.00-also worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mailmnswifey
Business
Chicago
Jul 9, 2011

Great Service, good food, clean rooms.

We stayed in a standard room, small but everything we needed. Big bathroom and balcony with jacuzzi tub. Our housekeeper Miriam was awesome, kept the room super clean, mini bar stocked, and put my rose from the Gray Line transfer guy in a glass with water. Jaime, the doorman was amazing, took our bags and gave us a thorough rundown of the resort and town on the way up to our room. EVERYONE we encountered from front desk to waiters to security were extremely nice, and eager to help in any way possible. My only *complaints, but not complaints, it was difficult to order room service on one occasion, and the desk ran out of money for their offered currency exchange. (EXCELLENT RATE, but if you didn't get your exchange in by mid afternoon, they were out. And the service is offered 24 hrs a day) You CAN hear everything from out in the corridors and quite a bit from the neighboring rooms, but given the small amount of time everyone is in the rooms, it didn't really bother us. Food was good,but we're not adventurous eaters, so we didn't sample that wide a variety. But service was great at Sabor and Cafe Del Mar. Beach service was excellent, friendly and prompt, without being annoying. Great beach chair/lounge set up. Over all, I would definitely go back, i just wanted them to have some amazing salsas at the buffet. :) *Tip your housekeepers/doormen/servers! Show them you appreciate their jobs and help!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

We found cheaper prices on the beachfront street as far as tshirts and "souveniers" than in the center of the neighborhood (North tip of island), we bought tshirts that were 3x120pesos that were 180pesos EACH a couple of blocks in(same exact shirts). Definitely walk around a bit before you start buying. And while bartering is somewhat a given,esp during low season, recognize an honest good deal when you see it and don't try to haggle them down too much. We honestly found the BEST deals in the tiny shops where the owner DID NOT say anything more than Hola. The pushy ones seemed to be more expensive. *RENTING GOLF CARTS GO FIND [...] Has a very nice corner shop, will give you a deal, has the nice clean well maintained carts. He speaks perfect English, is SUPER nice, and has tons of knowledge about everything on the island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Orleans, LA
Jul 6, 2011

Paradise

Amazing, beautiful. [@], the bellman was awesome as was the entire staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Brisas, near the ferry, ask for Pasqual.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top