$186 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 19, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

4 stars
Av. Adolfo López Mateos Sm. 001 Mza. 001 Lote 005 Colonia Centro, Isla Mujeres, 77400
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
317 reviews
Relaxing couples getaway

My husband and I recently visited this hotel a week ago. Cafe del mar is right on the beach and was... See full review

  • Koden
  • Aug 10, 2014
Another week in paradise

Just got back from another stay at Privilege Aluxes and as always we had a wonderful experience.... See full review

  • smdbeachgirl
  • Aug 4, 2014
Adults-only beach resort on Isla Mujeres with optional all-inclusive
The Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres is fringed by the beautiful Playa Norte beach on Isla Mujeres and surrounded by mystique, offering a unique island experience. The luxurious rooms and suites are comfortably furnished to complement the relaxed sugar-white beaches. This resort for adults features 24-hour room service, two outdoor swimming pools, one children's pool, three outdoor Jacuzzis, three on-site bars and Spa Mystique that provides facials and massages for a unique experience of healing, magic and transformation. Guests at Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres can savour fresh gourmet dishes at the dining facilities on site and enjoy tropical cocktails and snacks at the pool bar or relax amid palms along the bucolic sea.
Highlights
  • Adults-only property with two optional all-inclusive packages
  • Beach club, outdoor pool with bar and Jacuzzi at Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres
  • On-site spa with a steam room offering facials and massages

 

Rooms

Each of the 124 rooms at Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres has a king size bed and balcony or terrace as well as a flat-panel satellite TV, mini bar that is refilled daily, complimentary Internet access, DVD and CD players and in-room safe. Bathrooms feature shower-tubs and hairdryers. Some rooms have Jacuzzi baths and feature added perks, such as bathrobes and kitchenettes.

 

Features

This picturesque beachfront property is near Costa Occidental de Isla Mujeres National Park and features three restaurants, one designed by Catalan architect Lluis Güell. Other amenities are a beach club, swimming pool and rooms with mini bars, 24-hour room service and balconies or terraces. Additionally, the Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres has a spa, beach club and disco as well as a solarium, fitness center and beautiful stretch of palm-dotted, white sand beach. Guests have the option of a room-only plan, a plan that includes breakfast and a fully all-inclusive option.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (20 mi/32 km, plus a ferry ride from Puerto Juarez)

 

Attractions
  • Tortugranja Turtle Farm (2.1 mi/3.3 km)
  • Ix Chel Maya Ruin (2.1 mi/3.3 km)

Hotel Map

21.2574 -86.751
Area served
Privilege Aluxes is located on Isla Mujeres, the exclusive and charming island off of the coast of Cancun. At first sight the turquoise waters are breathtaking.
Nearby airports
How to Get Here If you are flying: about 35 minutes away from Cancun International Airport If you come by boat: about 20 minutes if taking the ferry.Boarding at Puerto Juarez, 35 minutes away from Cancun International Airport
Area description
"Isla", as locals call it, first news dated back to 564-1516 A.D. when it was a Mayan province, Ekab, one of the four provinces or Mayan territories that formed what is today the State of Quintana Roo and at that time was a sanctuary to Ixchel (goddess of weaving, happiness, the moon, abundance and medicine, among others. Map Location: Latitude North 21 11' 5'', Longitude West 86 42' 50". Average Temperature: 77-80 F Humidity 60% Av. Adolfo Lopez Mateos Sm. 001 Mza. 001 Lote 005 Colonia Centro C.P. 77400.Isla Mujeres. Quintana Roo. MEXICO.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented Rooms

Super Saver AI
Standard room, All inclusive plan all meals and drinks included, offers king size bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, with balcony or terrace with partial view or town view, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable-TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron/ironing board, laundry service, mini bar, Ipod Holder, room service, safe in room. limited view.
Suite Premium AI W/Jaccuzi
Suite Premium All inclusive plan all meals and drinks included offers king size bed, option of extra bedroom, with air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony/terrace, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable-TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron/ironing board, jaccuzi/whirlpool/spa bath, kitchenette, laundry service, mini bar, Ipod Holder, room service, safe in room , tea and coffee making facilities and telephone.
Standard AI
Standard room, All inclusive plan all meals and drinks included, offers king size bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, with balcony or terrace with partial view or town view, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron/ironing board, laundry service, mini bar, Ipod Holder, room service, safe in room. Town view.
Suite Deluxe AI
Suite Deluxe All inclusive plan all meals included, king size bed, Ipod holder, with air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony/terrace, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable/tv, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron/ironing board, kitchenette, laundry service, mini bar, pay TV, safe in room , tea and coffee making facilities and telephone.
Suite Deluxe B and B
Suite Deluxe Bed and Breakfast, include breakfast buffet per person nice suite with breakfast buffet included, king size bed, option of extra bedroom, with air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony/terrace, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable/TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron/ironing board, kitchenette, laundry service, mini bar, Ipod Holder, safe in room , tea and coffee making facilities and telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
n/a

Dining

CAFE DEL MAR-sla Mujeres
Cafe Del Mar Isla Mujeres, located on the beach just a few steps from the hotel, specialties Meat, Fish and Seafood with a variety of Cocktails and tropical beverages. Opens From 10am to 11pm.
SABOR-& Gourmet Style
Sabor Gourmet Restaurant, facing the beach, open for Breakfast Buffet, Lunch la carte and Dinner Buffet. Opens From 07am to 10pm
SATAY-Discovering Asian Flavors
Satay exquisite Fusion & Oriental cuisine, open for dinner from 6 pm to 10 pm (reservation required)
POOLBAR
Location: Hotel terrace, ground floor, nearby the pool Specialties: Cocktails & tropical beverages Open for lunch (snack-bar) Open from 10 am to 6 pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (317)

Ratings and reviews for Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
317 out of 317
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scorpion Shooter
Metro Atlanta, GA
Jan 25, 2011

Can't wait to return with family!

Privilege Aluxes, outstanding staff, fine food (particularly local seafood,) and comfortable surroundings. Visit was strictly for world class sail fishing 20 to 30 miles off of Isla, the best!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Good diving off of Isla, but it's not Cozumel. Best sail fishing in the world during Jan. to early March! Great people, fun central city, dinning, shopping, nice beaches, somthing for everyone!

Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
escapist
Northern Virginia
Jan 7, 2011

Privelege Aluxes, Isla Mujeres

1. Transportation: First of all I HIGHLY recommend paying the 40 bucks for airport transportation from Cancun, my drivers to and from were extremely friendly and helpful. They met me inside the airport and dropped me off at the departure counter. The entire transportation system was very efficient and extremely professional (many American cities could take a lession.) 2. The island: Isla Mujueres was absolutely beautiful. After taking a 15 minute ferry to the island you land on the main street of the island. There are numerous vendors selling everything from cigars to hand-sewen mayan fabrics. Also lots of restaurants to choose from, most with great prices. I prefered to walk the 5 minute walk to the hotel, but renting a golf cart or catching a taxi are also options. 3. The grounds: The hotel was gorgeous! Its very modern and new (2 years old) virtually flawless. Very well maintained as out of a movie. I saw the landscapers on hands and knees clipping the grass by hand (poor guy!.) There were functionally three pools, a great bar at the pool and I was just steps (literally 20) away from the coveted North beach. My room was beautiful with nice bathrooms, flat screen TVs, kitchenette and ocean/pool view. 4. Staff: The check-in area had a friendly-small town feel. Reception was incredibly polite and walked me to my room to show me the amenities. Everyone who answered the phone, delivered room service and who worked in the spa, restaurants and bars were all super sweet. I've been to many other latin american countries and I know that are not all so sweet in the service industry. 5. Food/drinks: My ONLY COMPLAINTS were the food and drinks. I opted for the all inclusive option (which was VERY economical) but I was disappointed with most meals and drinks (ie: margaritas were a pre-made mix, coco martini was bad, mojito beared NO resemblence to those i've had before, so i switched to beer only.) The presentation of the food was beautiful but the pork tenderloin was anything but tender, the fish seemingly undercooked, and the pad thai was not at all thai-like. I would definitely still stay at this hotel again but I would eat and drink elsewhere until they improved a bit. I wouldn't mind paying more for the all inclusive for the quality of the food to come to par.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

I went to Isla Mujeres to relax and sunbathe. There were lots of couples doing the same. If you want to be out all night (literally, most until 6am) partying you would probably do better at the chains of hotels in Cancun. You could possible have it both ways, but the ferry only runs 5:30am to 10:30pm so you could stumble back in the morning if you wanted.

Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Walnut Creek, CA
Nov 11, 2010

Aluxes on Isla!

Best deal/location on the island. Such a great experience we went back a second time only a few months later. First time a little windy second time no wind and very humid. Just understand what season you're going during so you don't complain about it when you're there. It's still paradise no matter what. Walking distance from everything, unless you're going to the south part of the island. Everything is reasonably priced, except souvenirs (just buy some tequila in the airport on your way back, you can buy most the food items in your local Mexican market anyway). If you have to buy something, but a hammock, I watched an islander making one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

(1) Purchase a regular room through [...] and attempt to upgrade when you get there. (They've changed ownership so you can't hustle a deal under the table anymore.) Ask for a Platinum room, it's the best value (but still a room with a great view), unless you have no problem dropping money. (2) Do not get the all-inclusive package, stick with the breakfast package. The main downtown road is literally a stones throw from the hotel entrance. The variety of food options is excellent and most places are quite reasonable. (3) Make friends with [...] (blond hair) at breakfast. He's just a nice and funny guy. Other notables are [...] who are bus boys. (4) Places to check out Olivia (downtown; amazing Mediterranean food; across the street is the best place for a good burger), Velasquez (between Aluxes and UltraMar dock, cheap and simple), Qubano Restaurant (side street downtown, amazing Cuban food), Milagro's Pizza (side of the road towards the south, Don Chepo (on Hidalgo; authentic and cheap of course), Faynes (on Hidalgo; select free drinks from 10:25-10:55; live music every night), Jax Bar and Grill (across the street from Aluxes; get the bucket of beers; food not so good), Playa Lancheros (side of the road further towards the south; get the smoked fish). (5) Don't buy drinks at the hotel. Buy cans of beer or liquor at the small supermarket at the end of Hildalgo (center of town) (best price/exchange) and drink on the beach or wherever. Don't buy glass unless you plan on returning it for your deposit back. (6) Don't be afraid to try to speak Spanish. I was surprised how well they speak English, but they (most of them at least) appropriate it when you try. At worst learn a couple of cheesy phrases to have fun with them.

Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
VA
Aug 10, 2009

Depends what you're looking for

The hotel is beautiful. It is a big commercial establishment in a beautiful rustic town. We like beauty and nature so it was a good base but we needed to get away from the sales, the 'deals', the hustle in the neighborhood to have a great time. When we did we were grateful (phenomenal local food, shops, and incredible waters). Aluxes makes a very good base of operations. The staff is very friendly and helpful. There were many young (18 - 30) heavy drinkers who were the closest thing we found to the Ugly Americans that we didn't want to see. No doubt, if we were one of them, we'd probably of had a better time than being around them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Find the local markets. Go where the locals go and eat like royalty!

Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Santa Fe, NM.
Nov 25, 2010

Beautiful hotel, with some kinks.

The location of the hotel is excellent, probably the best on the island. The service is hit and miss. Don't be fooled by the claim the hotel is 'Adults Only Oriented'. In no way is it oriented that way. There were many kids, screaming in the pool so everyone in the hotel hears them. When we booked this, we thought Adults Only Oriented meant Adults only, but we were sadly wrong. There are 3 hot tubs, none of which were even remotely warm. The wireless internet did not work the first 2 days of our vacation, which is a pain if you are trying to communicate with someone back in the states. The food was good, but again, the service was not very attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Taking a taxi from the airport to the ferry is much easier and quicker than taking the greyline shuttle. A taxi from the ferry to the hotel is only 30 pesos, or if you have minimal baggage, a 5 block walk.

Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bts
washington, dc
Nov 21, 2010

Wonderful!

This hotel is wonderful! During the slow season-they took care of our every need. The platinum suite is beyond amazing, and the food isn't the best, but tries hard! All inclusive is worth it for free room service and pool drinks and satay! Love this place :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Mangos! Best food on the island!

Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
love warm weather
St. Charles, MO
Dec 20, 2010

Beautiful Beach

Beautiful beach, great restaurants nearby

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dodie and Jack
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 10, 2011

Great Location and Good, Modern Hotel

80 Degrees and Sunny for 8 days-who could ask for more? This is our sixth visit to Isla Mujeres and we can not wait to go back next year--maybe this April/May? We spent New Years on Isla Mujeres and it met all of our expectations. Great gathering in the town square with fireworks, good food, friendly people and a very good band. The Aluxes Hotel was what we expected. It looks just like the pictures on the internet and 90% of what you see is exactly what you get. The pool water was cold-around 70 degrees- the pool bar service was hit or miss, the pool drinks were weak to OK, the food was average but the area was very well kept. The beach bar had a lot better service (we did tip from 1 to 2 US dollars per round), drinks were weak but they made them stronger if you asked (and tiped?), food was OK to good (fish was very good but the cheese burger was weak)the semi-private beach area was nice, clean and organized. The food at the buffet was good at breakfast and OK at lunch and dinner. It seemed if we got to the lunch and/or dinner buffet early (Lunch opened at 1:00PM/Dinner 6:30PM-I think) it was more organized and appealing. Rooms were very nice, modern but a little bare. Yes, the pillows were hard but we got use to them after 2 nights. We had a semi-partial view of the ocean, move our room from the second floor--no ocean view but a nice pool view--to the third floor--ocean view over the tree tops-not bad but not what I expected. Room service was slow but the front desk/bell hops were very helpful and efficient. I would definitely take the breakfast buffet if included in the room price. Lunch and dinner--I would go downtown-about 2 blocks away.Most of the restaurants recommended on the internet were up to their description expecially La Cazuela M&J--b/fast, Qubano--sandwich lunch, Rooster Cafe--B/fast and Lunch and Rolandi--dinner. We did splurgeon a GREAT Dinner at the Rolandi Hotel (out of town about 4 miles)but it was as good as it gets. Cost-$$$ US for two--very, very good food and romantic. Ask for [...] the Captain and tell him James Bond (my nick name per [...]) sent you--your service will be second to none!!! PS: We used Five Stars Transportation for transfer from Airport To Docks-$63.00 Round trip plus tip.Ask for [...]-he is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many bars and restaurant within 1 to 6 blocks of the Aluxes. Need a hamburger after a couple of days? Try "JAX"-GREAT BURGERS-20 yards from the hotel. Take advantage of the Aluxes location.

Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
richie and judy
glendora, new jersey
Dec 16, 2010

great location...great hotel and staff

our experience was fantastic! the hotel was immaculate inside and out. it is in a great location right on playa norte and just steps from the little town and ferry terminal. the hotel staff was very accomodating and friendly. the hotel was every bit as nice as the el conquistador in puerto rico which was our last trip. we would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there are many great,affordable dining options in the town...just a few blocks away.

Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
graycat3
Iowa
Jan 16, 2011

The good and the bad

Safe travel area. awesome island in general.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Golf carts are available for longer trips at a reasonalbe price. Our Hotel information said we had a 1PM checkin time. However we were left waiting until 3PM for 1 room and after 5PM for another room. After a long travel we were ready for a rest. Checkin staff advised their checkin time is actually 3PM. Staff at checkin were not very friendly (daytime). Otherwise all staff were excellant and friendly.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search