$188 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 17, 2015 Check-out: May 20, 2015

Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

4 stars
View map of Av. Adolfo López Mateos Sm. 001 Mza. 001 Lote 005 Colonia Centro, Isla Mujeres, 77400

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
357 out of 357
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler D
Business
Philadelphia, PA
May 28, 2010

Fun in the Sun

You do not have to buy the round trip shuttle to go to and from the hotel because it won't go straight to the hotel. You pay the shuttle to get to the pier and then you pay for the ferry to get to the hotel and you have to pay for the ferry separately. It's cheaper if you pay for a cab about $25 from the airport to the pier. You do not have to pay for a cab to get to the hotel from the pier because the hotel is just right around the corner and is literally a 10 minute walk. The ferry will cost you about $13 round trip. At the hotel the staff was very helpful and was willing to answer all questions. They helped us reserve two mopeds for two days and we were able to go around the island. You should go out to eat at other restaurants. Do not eat at the hotel it's expensive for average food. Also walk around to the right of the beach there is a bigger area to swim versus the one right in front of the hotel. Buy souveniers on the mainland and not on the island they will rip you off unless you bargain with them. We booked a tour of the Mayan ruins and it was a lot of fun. Be sure to wear plenty of sunblock, light clothing, and a hat on the tour because you will be gone for about 12 hours. Calling long distance on the phone was a breeze and the hotel did not charge us a lot at all. About $60 for 10 phone calls whereas we were charged $800 for three 2 minute phone calls in Dominican Republic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CC on Isla
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 25, 2011

Location, location, location....

Isla was as beautiful and fun as ever. Aluxes is a very nice place to stay...but don't waste your $ on the all inclusive packages...there are MANY great places to eat within 4-5 blocks walk. Brisa's Grill is our favorite - never gone wrong there. The beach at Aluxes is very nice, good people watching, great palapas, and nice water for swimming. The music can be a bit loud, but they'll turn it down if you ask. Get there early and drop off towels/books/etc. to keep a prime palapa spot for the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat out. Often. Don't waste meals at the hotel. The food is NOT good, and the surrounding spots are fun, inexpensive, and some are FANTASTIC.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Island Relaxer
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Feb 2, 2011

Great Vacation

Great place to rest and relax. Food good, staff excellent. Massage was good. Enjoying walking about the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great numbers of placed to eat on the island other than the hotel. Had good meals in all the restaurants we visted.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Green Bay Wisconsin
Feb 7, 2011

Extremely relaxing & georgeous beaches

After checking into a beautiful & very clean room (with jacuzzi on balcony and used quite often) we went immediately down to the beach, which was simply beautiful. The drinks and food service was great. No problem there. Fresh fish daily. Entertainment in evening on beach (2 hours of singing & dancing every night in the sand) was nothing but perfect. Sunsets were spectacular. We took golf carts around the island, took a snorkeling trip, went out one evening for lobster & coconut shrimp "yummy" and price wasn't too bad either - could not have asked for more. A very relaxing trip, definitely not Cancun which us being in our 50's enjoyed. Definitely plan to go back next year and will stay at the Privilege Aluxes again. Thanks for the wonderful memories.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

We had the all inclusive package and cannot complain of any bad meals - steak was even good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jmac099
Business
texas
Jul 13, 2011

would recommened to anyone

hotel was clean and neat - staff very attentive. we did not do the all inclusive - to many options within walking distance. the pool and private beach were fantastic. Jax accross the street was a favorite for lunch and dinner. Ciro's is the BEST place to rent a golf cart from. we did not stay in the room much other then to sleep nightly. the air conditioning performed without issues - which i understand can be problems with other local hotels. no loud noise from local area at night. bed was comfortable. hotel is very centrally located to north beach and the reef for that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Magikhat
Business
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
Aug 19, 2010

Nice Hotel and Grounds

Our check-in said 1:00pm but they would not let us check in until 3:00pm even though the place was not that busy. We booked a deluxe ocean suite room only to be placed on the first floor with a pool view. Other than these problems the rooms were amazing and large, the staff was great except a few people at the front desk. The location is very good with access to the beach. The pools were very nice and clean and the swim up bar has very good mixed drinks. For the room only being around $85 a night it was a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go down Hidalgo to Brisas Restaurant - Very good food. Also if you have some money to burn go to the Sunset Grill which is about 2 minutes away on the beach and watch the sunset.. very good food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mailmnswifey
Business
Chicago
Jul 9, 2011

Great Service, good food, clean rooms.

We stayed in a standard room, small but everything we needed. Big bathroom and balcony with jacuzzi tub. Our housekeeper Miriam was awesome, kept the room super clean, mini bar stocked, and put my rose from the Gray Line transfer guy in a glass with water. Jaime, the doorman was amazing, took our bags and gave us a thorough rundown of the resort and town on the way up to our room. EVERYONE we encountered from front desk to waiters to security were extremely nice, and eager to help in any way possible. My only *complaints, but not complaints, it was difficult to order room service on one occasion, and the desk ran out of money for their offered currency exchange. (EXCELLENT RATE, but if you didn't get your exchange in by mid afternoon, they were out. And the service is offered 24 hrs a day) You CAN hear everything from out in the corridors and quite a bit from the neighboring rooms, but given the small amount of time everyone is in the rooms, it didn't really bother us. Food was good,but we're not adventurous eaters, so we didn't sample that wide a variety. But service was great at Sabor and Cafe Del Mar. Beach service was excellent, friendly and prompt, without being annoying. Great beach chair/lounge set up. Over all, I would definitely go back, i just wanted them to have some amazing salsas at the buffet. :) *Tip your housekeepers/doormen/servers! Show them you appreciate their jobs and help!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

We found cheaper prices on the beachfront street as far as tshirts and "souveniers" than in the center of the neighborhood (North tip of island), we bought tshirts that were 3x120pesos that were 180pesos EACH a couple of blocks in(same exact shirts). Definitely walk around a bit before you start buying. And while bartering is somewhat a given,esp during low season, recognize an honest good deal when you see it and don't try to haggle them down too much. We honestly found the BEST deals in the tiny shops where the owner DID NOT say anything more than Hola. The pushy ones seemed to be more expensive. *RENTING GOLF CARTS GO FIND [...] Has a very nice corner shop, will give you a deal, has the nice clean well maintained carts. He speaks perfect English, is SUPER nice, and has tons of knowledge about everything on the island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Aug 22, 2009

Terrific vacation spot

Location was great - staff was very friendly and accomodating. We only did the all-inclusive breakfast (which was definitely worth it), only because we wanted to venture out to some of the unique, diverse fresh food restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Locate Enrique's dive excursions - we went swimming with whale sharks and it was INCREDIBLE! He's within walking distance from the hotel, right on the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres
Jul 24, 2011

First time leaving the country

The trip was excellent and the Isla Mujeres was beautiful. We saw the pyramids, went snorkeling,zip-lined , and explored the island's beauty as well as the beauty of Cancun as we were able to travel back and fourth. I loved every thing about Isla Mujeres and the hotel was luxurious but I must say the staff was extremely rude and consistently tried to get us to pay more for many things. I do suggest any one to go but to make sure you watch your checks from the hotel and question any charges you are not sure of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don Cheapos restaurant had excellent service and food. Also Rolandis had excellent food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
skinaz
Business
Scottsdale AZ
Feb 17, 2011

AWESOME resort! AI plan worth it!

We really enjoyed our time at PA; upon arrival, we were greeted w/champagne, and given a complimentary room upgrade! We were on the 5th floor, facing the graveyard - nice and quiet - and we had ocean views, although not ocean-front. The buildings are seemingly new; the beach was well-maintained, and the staff was excellent. We opted for the All-inclusive plan as we enjoy cocktails. WELL worth it! The food was ok, not great - our favorite was Cafe del Mar on the beach. It was too cold to get in the pools or ocean, but we did lay under the palapas on the beach and on the pool beds, relaxed, and did some damage to their bar costs! We tipped per round a dollar and never had to wait for service - a little goes a long way. This resort is NOT for children; no activities for them, so don't take them and ruin other guests' times. Lots of older couples and gay couples. Only gripe was the sheets were not soft; the napkins in the restaurant were WAY softer than the sheets! We plan to return this summer to the PA!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't take a cab from the ferry - the PA is about a block down.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top