$171 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 5, 2015 Check-out: Jun 8, 2015

Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

4 stars
View map of Av. Adolfo López Mateos Sm. 001 Mza. 001 Lote 005 Colonia Centro, Isla Mujeres, 77400

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
376 out of 376
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
odessamama
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 14, 2013

great location

We loved our stay at Privileges. The location was so convenient. It was a 10 minute walk from the ferry and a few minutes from the 2 main streets (medina and hidalgo) with innumerable restaurants. The beach was the nicest of all playa norte (the other parts have giant black sandbags). The water was clear, warm and calm. We chose the breakfast included option over the all inclusive option since there are so many great and inexpensive restaurants to choose from. The breakfast was a standard buffet. I cannot comment on the hotel's restaurants since we did not dine there. I would definitely recommend renting a golf cart for a day and cruising around the island. Of note, I was mislead by the "adult oriented" in title as there were lots of little kids running around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Get a mapchick map of isla. It has a great golf cart tour of the island, list of restaurants and attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Honeymooners12
Business
Rochester, Minnesota
Jan 15, 2013

Great Place!

We went for our honeymoon and had a great time. Service was slow everywhere except the pool swim-up bar. Standard room was small but only was in our room to sleep and shower. Other than that staff was very friendly, location was perfect. Would for sure go back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Sancohos Bar and Grill down main strip, cheap, great service, food and drinks!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mandygirl1979
Business
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
Jan 27, 2013

Great Getaway for some sun and fun

We had a really great time. We did notice that you need to leave a tip when something is done for you or else they don't come back to check on you often, but that is mainly when you are getting food or drinks on the beach and kind of everywhere else you eat or have drinks. They kind of expect the tips. I understand that they probably depend on tips, but there is a difference in expecting a tip and earning a tip!! we loved the island and would totally go back. This was our first vacation ever! Just me and my husband. We did take a trip to go snorkeling and it was strange. The hotel set it up. First we were told it would be $30/person, but when we were picked up from our hotel and took a taxi (which really wasn't needed because it only took us like 3 blocks to where the boat was supposed to pick us up- and I thought the hotel paid for the taxi so we didn't pay when he dropped us off- not sure if this was right or not, I'm thinking we were supposed to pay, still don't know for sure????) we were charged $40/ person and the drinks that we were told were included with the trip were not!!!!!!!! There was a different vender near our hotel that had a picture of his boat and showed that drinks were included on the snorkel trip and showed a price of $30/person, we should have gone with him instead. Because also on our snorkel trip we were told that we were going to 4 different snorkel spots and we only went to 2!!!!!! Wasn't impressed with this set up at all from the hotel. Next time would do something different. Also when we booked it said we had a ocean or city view from our hotel room, none were visible and we paid extra to have this happen, wasn't happy with that. Instead we had a view of the cemetery and pool. The hotel was in a great spot, close to the beach and close to all the shops and food vendors. Wanted to rent a golf cart but our hotel couldn't get one for us because at 10am they were all sold out. So we had to go find one on our own and it ended up being cheaper for the same golf cart but a different vendor. Also found out if you want to have a beach chair you have to go save one at like 7am. Put your towel on a chair and then go back and have breakfast then you can go back on the beach where you saved your spot, otherwise you won't get a chair. The chairs next to our hotels you had to buy a drink and then they would let you use them. Which didn't matter much because you plan on buying some of your drinks most of the day anyway unless you went the all inclusive way. we didn't do that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

shop around first before buying the first thing you see. Especially if it is sold on the beach by the vendors coming around and asking you to buy from them, wait and go around and do some checking on the other stores. You can usually barter and get a way better price. Also the massages on the beach were much better and 60 min massages versus the ones at the hotel were 50min and like $15 more.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Phyllis beach name
Business
Minneapolis, Mn.
Jan 26, 2013

Wonderful Beach Vacation

Loved the beach, Food was very good and the staff was very accommodating. I would have liked a queen size bed so that there would have been room for a comfortable chair. When we had rain on Wednesday and Thursday we were left with nothin g to do. Some planned activities would be nice when that happens. Was good to be able to walk to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suzie 74
Business
Minnesota
Jan 26, 2013

another great experience

Great location, friendly helpful staff, breakfast buffet was good. Room, common areas and beach were all very well kept. Had another great time at PA and Isla. This Island and its people will make your vacation special, definitely not Cancun. If you like sport fishing this place is world class.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Isla Lover
Business
Michigan
Feb 4, 2013

second good as first

the PA is a really nice place. our second stay just as nice as first. PA is a great location with friendly helpful staff. No way to be disappointed with this choice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MartaSanJose
Business
San Jose, CA
Feb 17, 2013

Beautiful escape

Lovely resort pools with restaurant/bar at pool. Beautiful beach with cabanas, restaurant/bar. Great breakfast. Skip the Satay Restaurant (awful!). Better to get just breakfast rather than all inclusive. Rooms are spacious and comfortable - living room/kitchenette and bedrooms. Large terrace with tub. Would be comfortable for a family as well as couple. Laid back resort - mainly Americans - comfortable for adults and those with kids. Would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Avoid the Satay Restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bruce1969
Business
St. Cloud, mn
Mar 16, 2013

Go to soggy peso for ribs on Sunday!

Great island getaway, they seem to cater more to AI guest. Beach is much better by Ixchel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Handi Andi
Business
McDonough, GA
Apr 25, 2013

Quality and convenience

When we were last in Isla Mujeres this hotel was under construction. The location is convenient to Avenida Hidalgo and the ferry. It is near Playa Norte, which is a beautiful beach. How nice it would be if it faced the beach! We opted to have only breakfast included in our package, which allowed us to explore other options for our other meals. The breakfast buffet was fabulous, with anything you could want! Fabulous fruits, juices, pastries, omelet station and many other options; including traditional Mexican as well as European breakfast offerings. Every morning we were greeted by the servers with delicious Mexican coffee or cappuccino. The pool area was clean, with plenty of poolside chairs and cabanas; as well as a swim up bar. We definitely will stay here the next time we return to the island!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a golf cart and drive to the other side of the island to explore. There is a small place called Castillo de Garafon, right near Garafon Park. You can snorkel and swim there for less than half the price for the park. If however you plan to zipline, etc then stick with the park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Orange Travel Man
Business
Sacramento, CA
May 11, 2013

It's almost like going back in time, in a good way

Hinds Victorian is very cool. Almost everything in the room is an antique. If you're in to that type of thing, you'll love it. They only have rates by the week, so it's not ideal for a weekend trip. However, it is a great value if you are staying for a week. It's only 3 blocks from downtown Santa Cruz. It's a little too far from the Boardwalk to actually walk there, but it's less than a 10 minute drive. Back to the Hinds: Great place to stay. Downsides: no shower, only a bathtub. Also, squeaky floors. That's it though., only minor annoyances.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A restaurant called Chocolate. Great food for a reasonable price and amazing desserts. To enhance your experience there, sit outside at night next to the fire tubes and listen to street musicians

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top