$192 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2014 Check-out: Aug 14, 2014

Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

4 stars
Av. Adolfo López Mateos Sm. 001 Mza. 001 Lote 005 Colonia Centro, Isla Mujeres, 77400
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
439 reviews
2nd stay was just as good as the 1st

We stayed at Privilege Aluxes for the second time since 2012 and it was exactly as we remembered.... See full review

  • LBGM
  • Jun 20, 2014
Great for Relaxation

My wife and I did a baby moon vacation and all we wanted to do was get away and relax. This was a... See full review

  • rudysmith3
  • Apr 28, 2014
Adults-only beach resort on Isla Mujeres with optional all-inclusive
The Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres is fringed by the beautiful Playa Norte beach on Isla Mujeres and surrounded by mystique, offering a unique island experience. The luxurious rooms and suites are comfortably furnished to complement the relaxed sugar-white beaches. This resort for adults features 24-hour room service, two outdoor swimming pools, one children's pool, three outdoor Jacuzzis, three on-site bars and Spa Mystique that provides facials and massages for a unique experience of healing, magic and transformation. Guests at Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres can savour fresh gourmet dishes at the dining facilities on site and enjoy tropical cocktails and snacks at the pool bar or relax amid palms along the bucolic sea.
Highlights
  • Adults-only property with two optional all-inclusive packages
  • Beach club, outdoor pool with bar and Jacuzzi at Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres
  • On-site spa with a steam room offering facials and massages

 

Rooms

Each of the 124 rooms at Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres has a king size bed and balcony or terrace as well as a flat-panel satellite TV, mini bar that is refilled daily, complimentary Internet access, DVD and CD players and in-room safe. Bathrooms feature shower-tubs and hairdryers. Some rooms have Jacuzzi baths and feature added perks, such as bathrobes and kitchenettes.

 

Features

This picturesque beachfront property is near Costa Occidental de Isla Mujeres National Park and features three restaurants, one designed by Catalan architect Lluis Güell. Other amenities are a beach club, swimming pool and rooms with mini bars, 24-hour room service and balconies or terraces. Additionally, the Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres has a spa, beach club and disco as well as a solarium, fitness center and beautiful stretch of palm-dotted, white sand beach. Guests have the option of a room-only plan, a plan that includes breakfast and a fully all-inclusive option.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (20 mi/32 km, plus a ferry ride from Puerto Juarez)

 

Attractions
  • Tortugranja Turtle Farm (2.1 mi/3.3 km)
  • Ix Chel Maya Ruin (2.1 mi/3.3 km)

Hotel Map

21.2574 -86.751
Area served
Privilege Aluxes is located on Isla Mujeres, the exclusive and charming island off of the coast of Cancun. At first sight the turquoise waters are breathtaking.
Nearby airports
How to Get Here If you are flying: about 35 minutes away from Cancun International Airport If you come by boat: about 20 minutes if taking the ferry.Boarding at Puerto Juarez, 35 minutes away from Cancun International Airport
Area description
"Isla", as locals call it, first news dated back to 564-1516 A.D. when it was a Mayan province, Ekab, one of the four provinces or Mayan territories that formed what is today the State of Quintana Roo and at that time was a sanctuary to Ixchel (goddess of weaving, happiness, the moon, abundance and medicine, among others. Map Location: Latitude North 21 11' 5'', Longitude West 86 42' 50". Average Temperature: 77-80 F Humidity 60% Av. Adolfo Lopez Mateos Sm. 001 Mza. 001 Lote 005 Colonia Centro C.P. 77400.Isla Mujeres. Quintana Roo. MEXICO.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented also booked these hotels.

Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented Rooms

Super Saver AI
Standard room, All inclusive plan all meals and drinks included, offers king size bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, with balcony or terrace with partial view or town view, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable-TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron/ironing board, laundry service, mini bar, Ipod Holder, room service, safe in room. limited view.
Suite Premium AI W/Jaccuzi
Suite Premium All inclusive plan all meals and drinks included offers king size bed, option of extra bedroom, with air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony/terrace, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable-TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron/ironing board, jaccuzi/whirlpool/spa bath, kitchenette, laundry service, mini bar, Ipod Holder, room service, safe in room , tea and coffee making facilities and telephone.
Standard AI
Standard room, All inclusive plan all meals and drinks included, offers king size bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, with balcony or terrace with partial view or town view, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron/ironing board, laundry service, mini bar, Ipod Holder, room service, safe in room. Town view.
Suite Deluxe AI
Suite Deluxe All inclusive plan all meals included, king size bed, Ipod holder, with air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony/terrace, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable/tv, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron/ironing board, kitchenette, laundry service, mini bar, pay TV, safe in room , tea and coffee making facilities and telephone.
Suite Deluxe B and B
Suite Deluxe Bed and Breakfast, include breakfast buffet per person nice suite with breakfast buffet included, king size bed, option of extra bedroom, with air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony/terrace, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable/TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron/ironing board, kitchenette, laundry service, mini bar, Ipod Holder, safe in room , tea and coffee making facilities and telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
n/a

Dining

CAFE DEL MAR-sla Mujeres
Cafe Del Mar Isla Mujeres, located on the beach just a few steps from the hotel, specialties Meat, Fish and Seafood with a variety of Cocktails and tropical beverages. Opens From 10am to 11pm.
SABOR-& Gourmet Style
Sabor Gourmet Restaurant, facing the beach, open for Breakfast Buffet, Lunch la carte and Dinner Buffet. Opens From 07am to 10pm
SATAY-Discovering Asian Flavors
Satay exquisite Fusion & Oriental cuisine, open for dinner from 6 pm to 10 pm (reservation required)
POOLBAR
Location: Hotel terrace, ground floor, nearby the pool Specialties: Cocktails & tropical beverages Open for lunch (snack-bar) Open from 10 am to 6 pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (439)

Ratings and reviews for Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
439 out of 439
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pearson
Cleveland, TN, USA
Mar 26, 2012

Couples spring break

We had a wonderful trip. The hotel was better than I'd expected. The staff upgraded us for a nominal fee. The room was wonderful! The only thing that would have made it any better would have been the pool bar service was slow. They only had one person and the wait was long.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Dont pay full price for anything. Everything is negotiable.

Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suzie 74
Minnesota
Jan 26, 2013

another great experience

Great location, friendly helpful staff, breakfast buffet was good. Room, common areas and beach were all very well kept. Had another great time at PA and Isla. This Island and its people will make your vacation special, definitely not Cancun. If you like sport fishing this place is world class.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cleveland, Ohio
Aug 22, 2009

Terrific vacation spot

Location was great - staff was very friendly and accomodating. We only did the all-inclusive breakfast (which was definitely worth it), only because we wanted to venture out to some of the unique, diverse fresh food restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Locate Enrique's dive excursions - we went swimming with whale sharks and it was INCREDIBLE! He's within walking distance from the hotel, right on the beach.

Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
RI
Jan 21, 2011

Great Trip

We stayed for 4 nights in a Suite Premium AI. AI value is definitely worth it even if you plan to eat off the property. The room was clean and spacious with a great balcony. We switched rooms after one night so we could be on a higher floor with a better view. Hotel was very accommodating. All the staff were very helpful and we did not find the service to be slow at all. This was our second time at the hotel and found that they had made some significant improvements to the food. The worst experience was Satay. They seem to be trying too hard. The restaurant has great atmosphere but the food was not good at all. Beach was beautiful and the pool(unheated) area was great. The island feels very safe and was fun to walk around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
S Bryant
Sherwood, AR, USA
Jan 26, 2012

Great vacation

Hotel was very nice. The location was perfect. Our room did not get cleaned till very late in the day and there was always sand still on the floor and the coffee pot was not cleaned or even clean cups. Other than that, the hotel was very nice and we would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next door to the hotel is a wonderful sports bar. It's called Jax and you can sit upstairs and people watch, beach watch, or watch TV...food is awesome!!

Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres
Jul 24, 2011

First time leaving the country

The trip was excellent and the Isla Mujeres was beautiful. We saw the pyramids, went snorkeling,zip-lined , and explored the island's beauty as well as the beauty of Cancun as we were able to travel back and fourth. I loved every thing about Isla Mujeres and the hotel was luxurious but I must say the staff was extremely rude and consistently tried to get us to pay more for many things. I do suggest any one to go but to make sure you watch your checks from the hotel and question any charges you are not sure of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don Cheapos restaurant had excellent service and food. Also Rolandis had excellent food.

Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Isla Mujures
Mar 27, 2011

Great getaway

Single frieds traveling together. All-inclusives are geared towards couples and families this island is safe. You can walk around safely in the middle of the day or at night. The people staff and vistors are all friendly and helpful. Spent 12 days relaxing on the beach walking around the island. Rented golf cart explored other side of the island. If you want bikes and mopeds are also available. Saw many beautiful sunsets while having drinks at your choice of beach bars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

When booking your room upgrade to a suite. Standard rooms are small. E-mail hotel week prior to departure and request room over looking pool. To many good meals to be had outside the hotel that are inexpensive. Never had a bad meal. You can eat the fruits and salads. The island is not for everyone. If you always want to be on the go you may not want to stay here. Take a day trip from Cancun and check it out.

Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dodie and Jack
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 10, 2011

Great Location and Good, Modern Hotel

80 Degrees and Sunny for 8 days-who could ask for more? This is our sixth visit to Isla Mujeres and we can not wait to go back next year--maybe this April/May? We spent New Years on Isla Mujeres and it met all of our expectations. Great gathering in the town square with fireworks, good food, friendly people and a very good band. The Aluxes Hotel was what we expected. It looks just like the pictures on the internet and 90% of what you see is exactly what you get. The pool water was cold-around 70 degrees- the pool bar service was hit or miss, the pool drinks were weak to OK, the food was average but the area was very well kept. The beach bar had a lot better service (we did tip from 1 to 2 US dollars per round), drinks were weak but they made them stronger if you asked (and tiped?), food was OK to good (fish was very good but the cheese burger was weak)the semi-private beach area was nice, clean and organized. The food at the buffet was good at breakfast and OK at lunch and dinner. It seemed if we got to the lunch and/or dinner buffet early (Lunch opened at 1:00PM/Dinner 6:30PM-I think) it was more organized and appealing. Rooms were very nice, modern but a little bare. Yes, the pillows were hard but we got use to them after 2 nights. We had a semi-partial view of the ocean, move our room from the second floor--no ocean view but a nice pool view--to the third floor--ocean view over the tree tops-not bad but not what I expected. Room service was slow but the front desk/bell hops were very helpful and efficient. I would definitely take the breakfast buffet if included in the room price. Lunch and dinner--I would go downtown-about 2 blocks away.Most of the restaurants recommended on the internet were up to their description expecially La Cazuela M&J--b/fast, Qubano--sandwich lunch, Rooster Cafe--B/fast and Lunch and Rolandi--dinner. We did splurgeon a GREAT Dinner at the Rolandi Hotel (out of town about 4 miles)but it was as good as it gets. Cost-$$$ US for two--very, very good food and romantic. Ask for [...] the Captain and tell him James Bond (my nick name per [...]) sent you--your service will be second to none!!! PS: We used Five Stars Transportation for transfer from Airport To Docks-$63.00 Round trip plus tip.Ask for [...]-he is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many bars and restaurant within 1 to 6 blocks of the Aluxes. Need a hamburger after a couple of days? Try "JAX"-GREAT BURGERS-20 yards from the hotel. Take advantage of the Aluxes location.

Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler D
Philadelphia, PA
May 28, 2010

Fun in the Sun

You do not have to buy the round trip shuttle to go to and from the hotel because it won't go straight to the hotel. You pay the shuttle to get to the pier and then you pay for the ferry to get to the hotel and you have to pay for the ferry separately. It's cheaper if you pay for a cab about $25 from the airport to the pier. You do not have to pay for a cab to get to the hotel from the pier because the hotel is just right around the corner and is literally a 10 minute walk. The ferry will cost you about $13 round trip. At the hotel the staff was very helpful and was willing to answer all questions. They helped us reserve two mopeds for two days and we were able to go around the island. You should go out to eat at other restaurants. Do not eat at the hotel it's expensive for average food. Also walk around to the right of the beach there is a bigger area to swim versus the one right in front of the hotel. Buy souveniers on the mainland and not on the island they will rip you off unless you bargain with them. We booked a tour of the Mayan ruins and it was a lot of fun. Be sure to wear plenty of sunblock, light clothing, and a hat on the tour because you will be gone for about 12 hours. Calling long distance on the phone was a breeze and the hotel did not charge us a lot at all. About $60 for 10 phone calls whereas we were charged $800 for three 2 minute phone calls in Dominican Republic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
escapist
Northern Virginia
Jan 7, 2011

Privelege Aluxes, Isla Mujeres

1. Transportation: First of all I HIGHLY recommend paying the 40 bucks for airport transportation from Cancun, my drivers to and from were extremely friendly and helpful. They met me inside the airport and dropped me off at the departure counter. The entire transportation system was very efficient and extremely professional (many American cities could take a lession.) 2. The island: Isla Mujueres was absolutely beautiful. After taking a 15 minute ferry to the island you land on the main street of the island. There are numerous vendors selling everything from cigars to hand-sewen mayan fabrics. Also lots of restaurants to choose from, most with great prices. I prefered to walk the 5 minute walk to the hotel, but renting a golf cart or catching a taxi are also options. 3. The grounds: The hotel was gorgeous! Its very modern and new (2 years old) virtually flawless. Very well maintained as out of a movie. I saw the landscapers on hands and knees clipping the grass by hand (poor guy!.) There were functionally three pools, a great bar at the pool and I was just steps (literally 20) away from the coveted North beach. My room was beautiful with nice bathrooms, flat screen TVs, kitchenette and ocean/pool view. 4. Staff: The check-in area had a friendly-small town feel. Reception was incredibly polite and walked me to my room to show me the amenities. Everyone who answered the phone, delivered room service and who worked in the spa, restaurants and bars were all super sweet. I've been to many other latin american countries and I know that are not all so sweet in the service industry. 5. Food/drinks: My ONLY COMPLAINTS were the food and drinks. I opted for the all inclusive option (which was VERY economical) but I was disappointed with most meals and drinks (ie: margaritas were a pre-made mix, coco martini was bad, mojito beared NO resemblence to those i've had before, so i switched to beer only.) The presentation of the food was beautiful but the pork tenderloin was anything but tender, the fish seemingly undercooked, and the pad thai was not at all thai-like. I would definitely still stay at this hotel again but I would eat and drink elsewhere until they improved a bit. I wouldn't mind paying more for the all inclusive for the quality of the food to come to par.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

I went to Isla Mujeres to relax and sunbathe. There were lots of couples doing the same. If you want to be out all night (literally, most until 6am) partying you would probably do better at the chains of hotels in Cancun. You could possible have it both ways, but the ferry only runs 5:30am to 10:30pm so you could stumble back in the morning if you wanted.

Back to menu Return to top