$194 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

4 stars
View map of Av. Adolfo López Mateos Sm. 001 Mza. 001 Lote 005 Colonia Centro, Isla Mujeres, 77400

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
359 out of 359
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DMMcK
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Dec 1, 2011

Wonderful solo getaway

I arrived several days prior to other friends traveling to Mexico. The hotel staff at the front desk, each restaurant and on the beach were extremely friendly and accommodating; I never felt awkward or unsafe traveling alone. The hotel is located within walking distance to the ferry port and even closer to the "downtown" shops/restaurants. The buffet food offered in the morning was not bad however the food included with the all inclusive plan was much better. I am not sure if late Nov. is a slow season but I was not approached on the beach or in the streets by "salespeople" like I have been in other Mexican resort towns.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent golf carts to travel around the island rather than taking cabs. The rental process was easy, inexpensive and added to the experience of seeing the island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Francs
Business
Texas, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Relaxing, Beautiful alternative to the beaten path

We have never been to Cancun so when we searched online and saw that some of the resorts on the Isla, that sounded interesting. An island with less nightlife, a more authentic town, and bikes and golf carts to see the whole thing sounded better than just tons of hotels. That all came true - the Isla is great and Privelege was a beautiful home base. Rooms are modern and staff is cool, everything is laid back and the location is amazing. Bottom shelf liquor was gross but is that just what you get at all inclusives? The food on the other hand was awesome at all the restaurants. Great spot for relaxation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Rent a bike and ride the circumference of the island. Most visitors do it in a golf cart but it makes a nice 2 hour ride and you see much more and get a little exercise!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nopar
Business
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Dec 12, 2011

Great trip

Thanks, all went well. There were no hitches and the area i fantastic. We will go again to the same Hotel. Alan

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tvictoria
Business
New York, NY, USA
Dec 11, 2011

Perfect Babymoon getaway

When we arrived the front desk was so small and boutique looking we thought out room would be similar. It was NOT !! we originally paid for the deluxe room all inclusive but later upgraded to the suit with the Jacuzzi right on the terrace over looking the island!!! such a beautiful site!!! The room it self was HUGE!!! Large living room with a kichtenette and the bedroom was not too big not too small. We loved it our ONLY issue was the Bed comfort ... It was HARD!!! Hard as a ROCK not firm HARD!!! not comfy at all and husband can find comfort on any bed but this was challenging! All inclusive was perfect except for room service it was NASTY!!! the food wasnt the best mexcian food in town but it was decent ... well more like just ok

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there is a little strip of restaurants outside of the hotel a few blocks away, were you can find better food for a reasonable price if your tired of the all inclusive menu.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
scott543211
Business
chicago
Dec 21, 2011

excellent location

excellent location. Skip the all inclusive and see what the island has to offer for food and drink. Hotel pool and beach area are very clean and very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Isla veteran
Business
Dallas, TX
Dec 21, 2011

Isla Veteran

Very nice property; great location. Access to the beach couldn't be more convenient. Breakfast buffet was very nice. I was disappointed in margaritas and 'what was supposed to be fresh fish.' Enjoy the restaurants along the beach for the freshest fish possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoy the convenience of the breakfast buffet, but you are missing the Isla Mujeres experience if you don't seek out the local restaurants for other meals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zantello
Business
Holland, Michigan
Dec 29, 2011

Wonderful Anniversary

We had a wonderful time. Everything was clean and the wait staff was all very friendly. This was the nicest resort on the Island. I'd recommend staying here even with families. Once again, we had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make a reservation at Satay. Once you do, you'll be eating there every night thereafter!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mommacita
Business
Northern new York
Jan 13, 2012

All inclusive package needs to be.reevaluated. There were children there.

Our first time . We will go back BUT not all inclusive . However, our room was upgraded when we arrived for no particular reason. The rooms facing the street can be abit noisy but how much are you in your room. The location is fabulous to all shopping , and good restaurants.. Whether local fare or not. The beach is beautiful. All inclusive just let you have draft beer or a choice of "red " or "white " wine. The staff is friendly,courteous, helpful . Yes,you can stay at a smalller hotels but you have to pack up to go to public beach ,no public restrooms only if you are drinking at one of the local beach spots.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

So many choices. Besides Mexican taste . there is French mediterranean, Greek and. Italian.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nehrmantraut
Business
Circle Pines, MN
Jan 13, 2012

30th Anniversary Trip

We really enjoyed this hotel. The staff was great. They were very friendly and helped in every way possible. We would love to return again sometime soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Privilege Aluxes Isla Mujeres - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
scott543211
Business
chicago
Jan 9, 2012

Great location

Great location on isla mujeres,easy access from the port. You should skip the all inclusive package and just get breakfast. Then you can go out and explore this great island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go early

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top