$114 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 10, 2014 Check-out: Oct 13, 2014

Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

3 stars
Calle Zazil ha No. 118 Playa norte, Isla Mujeres, 77400
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
48 reviews
Perfect location but only specific rooms

The hotel is in an unprecedented location. Right on the best beach of the island. Everyone else on... See full review

  • SandL
  • Aug 31, 2014
the hotel has one of the best beaches in the area...and perhaps in the world!

I read the reviews about this hotel and I think they are quite accurate. The hotel has a beautiful... See full review

  • JMVelez
  • Jun 9, 2014
Peaceful, intimate beachfront Isla Mujeres retreat with yoga bent

The Hotel Na Balam Beach on the island of Isla Mujeres has just 33 tranquil, Mayan-inspired rooms set amid tropical flora. The hotel offers yoga and therapeutic massages aimed at rejuvenating the body and mind. Not far from Occidental de Isla Mujeres National Park and the Garrafon Natural Reef Park, the hotel has a private beach, outdoor pool, club for children, restaurants and a marina. All guest rooms have ocean or garden views with balconies or terraces. Business services and meeting facilities are available for small groups.

Highlights
  • Modern, Mayan-inspired rooms enveloped in tropical foliage with balconies or terraces overlooking the ocean or grounds
  • Restaurant serving globally inspired, Mayan vegetarian cuisine
  • Yoga classes and therapeutic massages at Hotel Na Balam Beach

 

Rooms

The 33 tranquil rooms and suites at the Hotel Na Balam Beach are accessed by an outside corridor and are informed by Mayan design with one king or two double beds and private balconies or terraces overlooking the verdant grounds or turquoise waters. All guest rooms are soundproofed and have air-conditioning, in-room safes and desks as well as bathrooms with showers, makeup/shaving mirrors and complimentary toiletries. Three gracious suites at the Hotel Na Balam Beach have one king bed and plunge pools with hydro-massage overlooking the inlet.

Features

The quiet, boutique, ocean-side property offers yoga classes, a swimming pool as well as guest rooms with balconies or terraces with views. A seaside snack bar set beneath a thatched-roof palapa serves granola, house-made rolls and natural fruit juices. The full-service Zazil Ha has a vegetarian menu informed by Mayan cooking traditions and eclectic cuisines. A boutique at Hotel Na Balam Beach sells local handicrafts. Guests can arrange water activities -- such as swimming with dolphins or snorkeling and diving excursions -- through sister property Casa Sandra. The Hotel Na Balam Beach also offers a club for children. Guests can opt to arrange tarot readings or play board games. Complimentary high-speed and wireless Internet service is available near the lobby.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (17.5 mi/28.2 km, in addition to a 20-minute ferry ride)
Attractions
  • Carey Dive Center (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Costa Occidental de Isla Mujeres National Park (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Garrafon Natural Reef Park (4.6 mi/7.5 km)

 

Business
  • Meeting rooms for small groups
  • Business center

Hotel Map

21.262 -86.7492
Area served
Isla Mujeres.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport.
Area description
Na Balam is on one of the most beautiful beaches of the Caribbean. Playa Norte (North Beach), a natural treasure, is the perfect place to have a sunbath, practice a water sport or admire the surroundings.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres Rooms

Oceanfront with Private pool, Terrace, Hammock 400 Sq.Ft - 1 king bed
Deluxe suite offers 1 king bed oceanfront, along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, private pool, Bathroom amenities, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer upon request, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Room service and Safe in room.
Pool View Room 400 Sq.Ft with Terrace, Hammock - 2 double beds or 1 king bed
Pool view room offers one king bed or two double beds along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer upon request, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Room service and Safe in room.
Beachfront 400 Sq.Ft with Terrace, Hammock - 2 queen beds or 1 king bed
Beachfront offers one king bed or two double beds along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer upon request, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Room service and Safe in room.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Zazil Ha Restaurant
This restaurant offers the best of the Mayan cuisine in a private and warm ambiance. It also, combines regional ingredients with International cooking techniques, creating the exquisite original dishes that have gained it fame. Open from 11:00 am to 11:00 pm.
Beach Bar
Have a cold beer, a tropical cocktail or your favorite snacks at the beach bar without having to get away from the sun, sand and the sea. Open from 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Snack Bar
with your favorite cocktail at at our snack bar while enjoying a stunning Caribbean Sea view. Open from 11:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 48
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
5
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brooklyn family of 4
Brooklyn, NY
Sep 14, 2014

Not bad, not great

This was our second stay at Na Balam, overall the experience was fine. They didn't honor our request 3 month prior to arrival to have a king bed room with mattress on the floor for our kids. They took our balcony chairs while a production company was shooting a commercial on the beach (only one day) The restaurant staff was usually friendly, however the day before the shooting they were very busy and didn't seem to care about their guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Olivia has the best food in the Island, and the Chicken spot next to Rooster cafe on the main street has the BEST roasted chicken ever!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JMVelez
Sabinas, Coahuila
Jun 9, 2014

the hotel has one of the best beaches in the area...and perhaps in the world!

I read the reviews about this hotel and I think they are quite accurate. The hotel has a beautiful white sand beach! (and very clean). It is like a big swimming pool. Just amazing!!! However, the big downside of the hotel is the service/staff. I don't know why people are soooo uninformed about anything you may ask (taxi fees, main park in the island opening hours, etc.). Also, in the beach I had to put the sun umbrella on my own (seriously?). If I were the owner I would put emphasis in customer service! Other than that...the pool is small and the rooms (at least ours) smell like humidity (this is perhaps due to the local weather...not sure! But in other hotels in Cancun it doesn't smell like this). The room has NO tv nor internet connection. Overall I think it is a good value for your money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to get cheap food from the restaurants in the main street. They usually have good deals with tacos and beer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheAckermann
Fredericksburg, VA, USA
Jan 27, 2012

Hotel na Balaam

We stayed at Hotel Na Balaam in mid-January and had a great time. The location is wonderful, the rooms just the right size and location, and the staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
IsamuJ
San Jose, CA
Nov 28, 2011

Go to Na Balam!

This was a wonderful experience. If you want the nightlife and all the boozing drunks around you, then this is definitely NOT the place for you! If you like/need the quiet serenity, comfortable airy rooms, wonderful helpful hotel staff around you, and a restaurant that should be in the middle of Manhattan (that's how good the food is), then this is DEFINITELY the place for you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

EAT THE FOOD HERE, but not if you don't like FIVE STAR cuisine, because this is what they serve here! This food is healthy, fresh, and inexpensive, yet will tickle every tastebud on your tongue. If you come with your "better half" then get a table directly on the beach!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lincoln NE
Jun 26, 2011

Wonderful place to relax.

We came to Hotel Na Balam for our son's wedding and we all had a fantastic time. The rooms were clean, quiet and very comfortable. The beaches were amazing and the staff was exceptional.The food at the restaurant was delicious as well! ANYTHING we needed they were able to supply, from taxi's, setting up adventures on the Island, to homemade chicken soup when one of our family members was under the weather. We, as a family are planning on coming back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great hotel with an outdoor restaurant just about 1 block away where you can find coffee to go at a very reasonable rate as well as bagels and other breakfast items! Be sure to check out Casa Ixchel for great dining and La Luna for great dining and dancing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lincoln, NE
Jun 6, 2011

Outstanding!

We had a very enjoyable stay with Na Balam and definitely would stay at this hotel in the future. It was clean and quiet. The room attendants were excellent. Very short walk to the beach and the beach staff was very helpful with umbrellas and chairs. The restaurant was excellent but a little pricy. But we all recommend the guacamole and chips -- It was a daily afternoon treat and very fresh..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out all of the restaurants.. they were awesome. We found this little restaurant next door where you can just get a cup of coffee and bagel to go.. That's all I needed from dining big the night before..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LindenHillsMom
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 23, 2010

Na Balam Best for Families

We enjoyed the beautiful grounds and our beach room #6. There were many areas for our 1 1/2 year old to run and play (in shade and sun). The staff was friendly and accommodating. The location was the best Isla has to offer. The restaurant food was outstanding and met the needs for our entire family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoy breakfast at the local market, elements, monyona. Rent a golf cart and tour the island don't miss the Turtle farm excursion.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
wkentf
Burley, Idaho
Jan 6, 2010

Good location, iffy service

Beautiful, relatively quiet location on northeast end of Isla Mujeres. Rooms are large and clean (occasional bug or lizard, but this is Mexico). Restaurant on premises is good - one of best on island. Problems: we booked an ocean front room for several nights starting New Years Eve. When we checked in, we were told room not available due to "plumbing problems" and were moved across the street to "pool side" room. Became obvious they had overbooked and they did move us into our ocean side room the next day and threw in a breakfast for each of us. Only gave us one key for 3 adults - when asked for additional keys, keys provided (on several different occasions) did not work. No hot water one day. Just more hassles than one would want considering that you are paying a premium to be there New Years weekend. In general staff was courteous but not particularly friendly and repeatedly said they would do things that they did not follow up on. Would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything in town easy to walk to. Very eclectic group of restaurants, coffee shops and bars. Dining on the main pedestrian walkway (Hildago) is generally pricey and mediocre. Some of better and more reasonable restaurants are found on side streets paralleling and perpendicular to Hildago. Olivia is almost universally recommended if you like Mediterranean food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search