$114 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 17, 2015 Check-out: Sep 19, 2015

Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

3 stars
View map of Calle Zazil ha No. 118 Playa norte, Isla Mujeres, 77400

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
51 reviews
Amazing Family Getaway!

Best beach on the whole on island! Incredible staff, lovely and quaint. Best yoga on the island! See full review

  • Jenelle
  • Apr 6, 2015
fantastic beach, laid back, Relax

What a wonderful place to stay! Check in was courteous, and our bags were at the room... See full review

  • Armon
  • Mar 22, 2015

The Hotel Na Balam Beach on the island of Isla Mujeres has just 33 tranquil, Mayan-inspired rooms set amid tropical flora. The hotel offers yoga and therapeutic massages aimed at rejuvenating the body and mind. Not far from Occidental de Isla Mujeres National Park and the Garrafon Natural Reef Park, the hotel has a private beach, outdoor pool, club for children, restaurants and a marina. All guest rooms have ocean or garden views with balconies or terraces. Business services and meeting facilities are available for small groups.

Rooms

The 33 tranquil rooms and suites at the Hotel Na Balam Beach are accessed by an outside corridor and are informed by Mayan design with one king or two double beds and private balconies or terraces overlooking the verdant grounds or turquoise waters. All guest rooms are soundproofed and have air-conditioning, in-room safes and desks as well as bathrooms with showers, makeup/shaving mirrors and complimentary toiletries. Three gracious suites at the Hotel Na Balam Beach have one king bed and plunge pools with hydro-massage overlooking the inlet.

Property features

The quiet, boutique, ocean-side property offers yoga classes, a swimming pool as well as guest rooms with balconies or terraces with views. A seaside snack bar set beneath a thatched-roof palapa serves granola, house-made rolls and natural fruit juices. The full-service Zazil Ha has a vegetarian menu informed by Mayan cooking traditions and eclectic cuisines. A boutique at Hotel Na Balam Beach sells local handicrafts. Guests can arrange water activities -- such as swimming with dolphins or snorkeling and diving excursions -- through sister property Casa Sandra. The Hotel Na Balam Beach also offers a club for children. Guests can opt to arrange tarot readings or play board games. Complimentary high-speed and wireless Internet service is available near the lobby.

Highlights
  • Modern, Mayan-inspired rooms enveloped in tropical foliage with balconies or terraces overlooking the ocean or grounds
  • Restaurant serving globally inspired, Mayan vegetarian cuisine
  • Yoga classes and therapeutic massages at Hotel Na Balam Beach

 

Nearby attractions
  • Carey Dive Center (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Costa Occidental de Isla Mujeres National Park (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Garrafon Natural Reef Park (4.6 mi/7.5 km)

 

Business
  • Meeting rooms for small groups
  • Business center
Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (17.5 mi/28.2 km, in addition to a 20-minute ferry ride)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres also booked these hotels.

★★★
$116
4.2 / 5 13 reviews
★★★★
$205
4.2 / 5 338 reviews
★★
$66
3.1 / 5 28 reviews
★★★★
$130
4.2 / 5 78 reviews
★★★
$158
3.5 / 5 225 reviews
★★★
$72
4.2 / 5 32 reviews
★★★
$104
4.0 / 5 16 reviews
★★★
$45
3.1 / 5 35 reviews
★★
$71
3.8 / 5 30 reviews

Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres Rooms

Oceanfront with Private pool, Terrace, Hammock 400 Sq.Ft - 1 king bed
Deluxe suite offers 1 king bed oceanfront, along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, private pool, Bathroom amenities, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer upon request, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Room service and Safe in room.
Pool View Room 400 Sq.Ft with Terrace, Hammock - 2 double beds or 1 king bed
Pool view room offers one king bed or two double beds along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer upon request, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Room service and Safe in room.
Beachfront 400 Sq.Ft with Terrace, Hammock - 2 queen beds or 1 king bed
Beachfront offers one king bed or two double beds along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer upon request, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Room service and Safe in room.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Zazil Ha Restaurant
This restaurant offers the best of the Mayan cuisine in a private and warm ambiance. It also, combines regional ingredients with International cooking techniques, creating the exquisite original dishes that have gained it fame. Open from 11:00 am to 11:00 pm.
Beach Bar
Have a cold beer, a tropical cocktail or your favorite snacks at the beach bar without having to get away from the sun, sand and the sea. Open from 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Snack Bar
with your favorite cocktail at at our snack bar while enjoying a stunning Caribbean Sea view. Open from 11:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 51
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jenelle
Family
sandy
Apr 6, 2015

Amazing Family Getaway!

Best beach on the whole on island! Incredible staff, lovely and quaint. Best yoga on the island!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jenelle
Family
sandy
Jan 5, 2015

Wonderful family destination

The hotel is located on the best part of the island! The beach is amazing and has great snorkeling right there. The rooms were simple and clean. The yoga classes offered at the hotel are truly a treasure. All the instructors were wonderful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Na Balam is a short walk to the downtown area were all the shopping and restaurants are located.

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
long long
Family
atlanta, Ga
Oct 6, 2014

Great Location

Great location, very close to the beach and downtown area. Staffs are very friendly and helpful. Need some improvements on room cleanliness. I see ants on the floor almost everyday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brooklyn family of 4
Family
Brooklyn, NY
Sep 14, 2014

Not bad, not great

This was our second stay at Na Balam, overall the experience was fine. They didn't honor our request 3 month prior to arrival to have a king bed room with mattress on the floor for our kids. They took our balcony chairs while a production company was shooting a commercial on the beach (only one day) The restaurant staff was usually friendly, however the day before the shooting they were very busy and didn't seem to care about their guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Olivia has the best food in the Island, and the Chicken spot next to Rooster cafe on the main street has the BEST roasted chicken ever!

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JMVelez
Family
Sabinas, Coahuila
Jun 9, 2014

the hotel has one of the best beaches in the area...and perhaps in the world!

I read the reviews about this hotel and I think they are quite accurate. The hotel has a beautiful white sand beach! (and very clean). It is like a big swimming pool. Just amazing!!! However, the big downside of the hotel is the service/staff. I don't know why people are soooo uninformed about anything you may ask (taxi fees, main park in the island opening hours, etc.). Also, in the beach I had to put the sun umbrella on my own (seriously?). If I were the owner I would put emphasis in customer service! Other than that...the pool is small and the rooms (at least ours) smell like humidity (this is perhaps due to the local weather...not sure! But in other hotels in Cancun it doesn't smell like this). The room has NO tv nor internet connection. Overall I think it is a good value for your money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to get cheap food from the restaurants in the main street. They usually have good deals with tacos and beer.

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheAckermann
Family
Fredericksburg, VA, USA
Jan 27, 2012

Hotel na Balaam

We stayed at Hotel Na Balaam in mid-January and had a great time. The location is wonderful, the rooms just the right size and location, and the staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
IsamuJ
Family
San Jose, CA
Nov 28, 2011

Go to Na Balam!

This was a wonderful experience. If you want the nightlife and all the boozing drunks around you, then this is definitely NOT the place for you! If you like/need the quiet serenity, comfortable airy rooms, wonderful helpful hotel staff around you, and a restaurant that should be in the middle of Manhattan (that's how good the food is), then this is DEFINITELY the place for you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

EAT THE FOOD HERE, but not if you don't like FIVE STAR cuisine, because this is what they serve here! This food is healthy, fresh, and inexpensive, yet will tickle every tastebud on your tongue. If you come with your "better half" then get a table directly on the beach!

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Lincoln NE
Jun 26, 2011

Wonderful place to relax.

We came to Hotel Na Balam for our son's wedding and we all had a fantastic time. The rooms were clean, quiet and very comfortable. The beaches were amazing and the staff was exceptional.The food at the restaurant was delicious as well! ANYTHING we needed they were able to supply, from taxi's, setting up adventures on the Island, to homemade chicken soup when one of our family members was under the weather. We, as a family are planning on coming back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great hotel with an outdoor restaurant just about 1 block away where you can find coffee to go at a very reasonable rate as well as bagels and other breakfast items! Be sure to check out Casa Ixchel for great dining and La Luna for great dining and dancing!

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Lincoln, NE
Jun 6, 2011

Outstanding!

We had a very enjoyable stay with Na Balam and definitely would stay at this hotel in the future. It was clean and quiet. The room attendants were excellent. Very short walk to the beach and the beach staff was very helpful with umbrellas and chairs. The restaurant was excellent but a little pricy. But we all recommend the guacamole and chips -- It was a daily afternoon treat and very fresh..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out all of the restaurants.. they were awesome. We found this little restaurant next door where you can just get a cup of coffee and bagel to go.. That's all I needed from dining big the night before..

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LindenHillsMom
Family
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 23, 2010

Na Balam Best for Families

We enjoyed the beautiful grounds and our beach room #6. There were many areas for our 1 1/2 year old to run and play (in shade and sun). The staff was friendly and accommodating. The location was the best Isla has to offer. The restaurant food was outstanding and met the needs for our entire family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoy breakfast at the local market, elements, monyona. Rent a golf cart and tour the island don't miss the Turtle farm excursion.

Back to menu Return to top