$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 13, 2015 Check-out: Jan 15, 2015

Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

3 stars
Calle Zazil ha No. 118 Playa norte, Isla Mujeres, 77400
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
52 reviews
Dream wedding location!

My husband and I were married at Na Balam just last week! We stayed 8 nights and had a great... See full review

  • Sybil in Iowa
  • Sep 23, 2014
Perfect location but only specific rooms

The hotel is in an unprecedented location. Right on the best beach of the island. Everyone else on... See full review

  • SandL
  • Aug 31, 2014
Peaceful, intimate beachfront Isla Mujeres retreat with yoga bent

The Hotel Na Balam Beach on the island of Isla Mujeres has just 33 tranquil, Mayan-inspired rooms set amid tropical flora. The hotel offers yoga and therapeutic massages aimed at rejuvenating the body and mind. Not far from Occidental de Isla Mujeres National Park and the Garrafon Natural Reef Park, the hotel has a private beach, outdoor pool, club for children, restaurants and a marina. All guest rooms have ocean or garden views with balconies or terraces. Business services and meeting facilities are available for small groups.

Highlights
  • Modern, Mayan-inspired rooms enveloped in tropical foliage with balconies or terraces overlooking the ocean or grounds
  • Restaurant serving globally inspired, Mayan vegetarian cuisine
  • Yoga classes and therapeutic massages at Hotel Na Balam Beach

 

Rooms

The 33 tranquil rooms and suites at the Hotel Na Balam Beach are accessed by an outside corridor and are informed by Mayan design with one king or two double beds and private balconies or terraces overlooking the verdant grounds or turquoise waters. All guest rooms are soundproofed and have air-conditioning, in-room safes and desks as well as bathrooms with showers, makeup/shaving mirrors and complimentary toiletries. Three gracious suites at the Hotel Na Balam Beach have one king bed and plunge pools with hydro-massage overlooking the inlet.

Features

The quiet, boutique, ocean-side property offers yoga classes, a swimming pool as well as guest rooms with balconies or terraces with views. A seaside snack bar set beneath a thatched-roof palapa serves granola, house-made rolls and natural fruit juices. The full-service Zazil Ha has a vegetarian menu informed by Mayan cooking traditions and eclectic cuisines. A boutique at Hotel Na Balam Beach sells local handicrafts. Guests can arrange water activities -- such as swimming with dolphins or snorkeling and diving excursions -- through sister property Casa Sandra. The Hotel Na Balam Beach also offers a club for children. Guests can opt to arrange tarot readings or play board games. Complimentary high-speed and wireless Internet service is available near the lobby.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (17.5 mi/28.2 km, in addition to a 20-minute ferry ride)
Attractions
  • Carey Dive Center (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Costa Occidental de Isla Mujeres National Park (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Garrafon Natural Reef Park (4.6 mi/7.5 km)

 

Business
  • Meeting rooms for small groups
  • Business center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres Rooms

Oceanfront with Private pool, Terrace, Hammock 400 Sq.Ft - 1 king bed
Deluxe suite offers 1 king bed oceanfront, along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, private pool, Bathroom amenities, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer upon request, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Room service and Safe in room.
Pool View Room 400 Sq.Ft with Terrace, Hammock - 2 double beds or 1 king bed
Pool view room offers one king bed or two double beds along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer upon request, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Room service and Safe in room.
Beachfront 400 Sq.Ft with Terrace, Hammock - 2 queen beds or 1 king bed
Beachfront offers one king bed or two double beds along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer upon request, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Room service and Safe in room.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Zazil Ha Restaurant
This restaurant offers the best of the Mayan cuisine in a private and warm ambiance. It also, combines regional ingredients with International cooking techniques, creating the exquisite original dishes that have gained it fame. Open from 11:00 am to 11:00 pm.
Beach Bar
Have a cold beer, a tropical cocktail or your favorite snacks at the beach bar without having to get away from the sun, sand and the sea. Open from 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Snack Bar
with your favorite cocktail at at our snack bar while enjoying a stunning Caribbean Sea view. Open from 11:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (52)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 52
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tomzuev
Business
israel
Oct 12, 2014

not more then nice

Weve taken the room with the pool view- the room is nice, but as an compare of what you paying its not worth it. No wifi in the room, the breakfest is pure. I wont come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The north beach is wonderfull!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Royi orcado
Business
Los Angeles
Oct 10, 2014

Nice. Not more.

Best location but no facilities. Standard rooms only with bed. More expensive rooms with TV. Wifi only in loby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sybil in Iowa
Business
Clear Lake, IA
Sep 23, 2014

Dream wedding location!

My husband and I were married at Na Balam just last week! We stayed 8 nights and had a great experience. We had several family and friends also staying at the hotel for various lengths of time. Upon check in we did experience some issues with the rooms we were given not being the rooms we booked. Hotel staff did work to remedy each situation as best they could. The issues weren't major things (example: my brother booked a room with a king sized bed and they initially gave him a room with two doubles at check in. When he confirmed with them that he'd booked a king room, they apologized and upgraded him to a junior suite!) My husband and I worked with Adely to help plan our wedding. I first made contact with her 6 months ago and she did a fantastic job of answering all my questions, planning the details and helping us the entire time. We wanted to have a legal ceremony performed and it required additional paperwork and a blood test. Adely personally took us to the lab for the blood test and to the location to file the marriage application. The direct assistance was greatly appreciated. We held our wedding reception in the palapa area above the hotel's restaurant, Zazil-Ha. Russell and Elvis were assigned to serve our wedding party that evening and did an incredible job of making sure everyone had drinks and a great experience. They set up a post-ceremony area on the beach with drinks and snacks and then the group moved upstairs for the dinner. The food was incredible and many of my guests tried things they'd never had before! When we first checked in to the hotel, we were assigned room 11. A very nice simple room on the 2nd floor that overlooks the beach. We had requested a refrigerator in the room (for medication purposes) and this room did not have one. Because of this, Adely upgraded us to room 15 when it became available a few days later, a junior suite with a plunge pool. It was FANTASTIC! A beautiful room with plenty of space and a small pool right off your patio area. The plunge pools are obviously hot tubs that are no longer working. The jets are still in them, but do not work. However after a hot night of partying on Hidalgo, a dip in the plunge pool was pretty awesome. In each room, the beds were very comfortable (something I've had a hard time finding on Isla Mujeres). The beds were actually pillow tops and the pillows were firm and comfy too. The ONLY negative thing I could say about Na Balam is that the water pressure in the shower of our first room was very low. It was perfect in the second room. But in both rooms, we never had hot water in the shower. Mostly just lukewarm. Not a huge deal as it was so hot during the day, a cold shower actually felt pretty good. And most hotels on Isla seem to have a lot of water issues, so we've come to expect it. Now...the best part of the Na Balam: THE BEACH! Hands down the beach area in front of Na Balam is the BEST section of Playa Norte!!!! Since it's located near the north end of the beach, almost no Cancun day-trippers venture down that far. And since Na Balam is a smaller hotel with only 33 rooms, their is always plenty of space available on the beach. The beach beds are comfy and the guys from Zazil-Ha will come set up an umbrella for you and bring you food and drink from the restaurant. The water is crystal blue and amazing! No seaweed or rocks to be found! The area in front of Na Balam is my favorite section of Playa Norte. We had an incredible wedding and stay at Na Balam. Adely, Russel and Elvis went above and beyond to ensure we would have a memorable and enjoyable experience. We can't wait to return to this magical paradise!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food at the hotel's restaurant, Zazil-Ha, is amazing! They have a huge variety of interesting and unique foods available...particularly the seafood. YUM!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SandL
Business
Israel
Aug 31, 2014

Perfect location but only specific rooms

The hotel is in an unprecedented location. Right on the best beach of the island. Everyone else on the island tries to get to this beach and staying here juat feels great. However, the rooms which aren't ocean view are not so good. They are not sealed and if you're a little bit sensitive to mosquitoes this may be a problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ttabit33
Business
chicago
Dec 29, 2013

Good Spot

Very Quiet and secluded beach getaway wefedgwegtwetgretetwerrttert

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Hidalgo Street also many other places/ Short Ferry ride from Cancun- 45 min total etc et ctetc etc

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Neil and Anita
Business
Calgary, Alberta
Oct 12, 2013

Great way to experience this Island!

We've been to this hotel many times in the past and keep coming back. They've improved the restaurant and the grounds since our last visit as well as the beds...the old beds were too hard, the new mattresses are much better. You really can't beat the location right on one of the most beautiful beaches you'll ever see. The area in town with all of the shops and restaurants is within easy walking distance and if you explore the side streets you'll find many great low cost restaurants frequented by the locals as well as the more adventurous visitors. Overall a good value with just the right amenities situated in one of the best locations on the island!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vhk1
Business
Florida
Aug 28, 2013

Wonderful stay at Na Balam

We had read several negative reviews of Na Balam before our trip and am very glad to report that we did not find any situation that was anything like the reviews. From the airport and ferry transportation arranged by the hotel, to the room to the restaurant, we were very pleased and impressed. We had a pool side room with a small balcony and it was utterly charming. The room itself was about 600 square feet, very spacious. It had a thatch roof and high ceiling with a super a/c unit. The pool and hot tub were literally outside of our room. The beach in front of the hotel was the most beautiful on the island. Many tour boats came and put swimmers in the water off-shore. We ate breakfast in the restaurant each morning and everything was absolutely fresh and delicious. On the weekend live music was fun and entertaining. The yoga room was nearby and we could hear the gong but did not take advantage of the lessons! If we return to Isla Mujeres we will stay again at Na Balam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vhk1
Business
Florida
Jun 26, 2013

Very good experience

After reading some previous reviews of this hotel, we were ready for a less than welcoming hotel staff. This was not the case. The front desk staff was friendly and very helpful with any request we made of them. Our room was pool-side and it had a lovely balcony with comfortable chairs for enjoying cocktail hour. The room was quite large., larger than any we have stayed in, about 600 square feet. The beds were harder than home, but that was expected. The beach area was beautiful and was the best swimming on the island. The onsite bars offered good drinks and delicious appetizers. There was live entertainment all weekend long and we enjoyed the local music immensely. We had a continental breakfast included in our rate and it was wonderful as well. If we return to Isla Mujeres, we will return to Na Balam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Do walk along Hidalgo Street and stop at the various eateries and look at the menus. Prices vary greatly and so does the quality of the meals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CRuss
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Nov 11, 2012

Nice trip in paradise, but not without hiccups

The location has to be the best on Isla Mujeres. It is a short walk from the main strip, but at this location there are many palm trees and it is very private. The restaurant Zazil-Ha makes excellent food and is open late so you can relax on the beach enjoying your food/drinks. The wait staff is friendly, but like most of this area the service is slow for food although worth it. We had some issues with connecting calls and getting help at the front desk/reception. Some of the staff was not as approachable and did not freely offer advice about things such as directions or where to rent a scooter etc. Also it was a hassle to arrange with the hotel for pickup in cancun for our pre-paid voucher back to the airport. When our flight was canceled we stayed at a different hotel nearby and the front desk was far more acommodating and helpful. Other than the reception our room was fair (plunge pool was not worth it though). We had our wedding there and although the ceremony went well it was a bit disorganized as to how to run everything (they demanded payment in cash (USD that is)) for our photographer, minister, and music rental etc. which was hard to get that much money last minute. We did get this sorted finally. Though there were some frustrations regarding this I would stay there again hoping that they can sort these issues because they really do have the best beach on the Playa Norte.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Sea Hawk divers down the street from Na Balam. They were very helpful/friendly and we had a blast snorkeling with them! Also Jax (though it is owned by an american couple from texas) was a good place to see NFL games. Amigos on Hidalgo and Olivias were excellent places to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bsgro
Business
Maple Heights, OH
Jul 13, 2012

Peace and Relaxation at the Na Balam

We spent 8 nights in a beachside room at Na Balam (room 12). I wouldn't hesitate to return and to recommend it to others. Our room had two queen beds with pillow top mattresses, sitting area, hammock, and small safe (large enough to hold wallets, passports and cell phones). AC worked great. We had a private patio with two lounge chairs and were a stone's throw away from breakfast and the beach. Snorkeling area was a short walk away. Town with countless of restaurant options was a 5-10 minute walk. Service was friendly. Everything was a relaxed Caribean pace. Enjoy the pace and you'll enjoy the place! And the beach! If you imagine yourself swimming in the crystal clear water, this is your beach. Beach beds, chairs,umbrellas, and towels are available for guests at no extra charge. Restaurant/bar service is available on the beach. Outdoor showers are available for rinsing off before returning to your room. We weren't bothered by mosquitoes at all during the day. We put bug repellant on before heading off to dinner and were fine. I can't say if they have room service per se, but on Sunday we picked up some takeout chicken and ribs and brought them back to our room. We got a bucket of beer from the bar, and they said it was fine to bring it to our room. Yoga classes were offered 2x per day, for $12. I thought I'd give it a try, but was too busy enjoying the beach to try one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

I regularly stopped by the grocery store near the square to get snacks or a bottle of water and paid with 500 peso bill. They had no problem changing it and this gave me change to tip the maid and the breakfast server.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top