$140 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 27, 2015 Check-out: Jun 28, 2015

Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

3 stars
View map of Calle Zazil ha No. 118 Playa norte, Isla Mujeres, 77400

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
59 reviews
Bali meets Mexico

Given that this hotel is located so close to downtown, it's kind of amazing that it feels off the... See full review

  • Janet M.
  • May 23, 2015
Amazing Family Getaway!

Best beach on the whole on island! Incredible staff, lovely and quaint. Best yoga on the island! See full review

  • Jenelle
  • Apr 6, 2015
Peaceful, intimate beachfront Isla Mujeres retreat with yoga bent

The Hotel Na Balam Beach on the island of Isla Mujeres has just 33 tranquil, Mayan-inspired rooms set amid tropical flora. The hotel offers yoga and therapeutic massages aimed at rejuvenating the body and mind. Not far from Occidental de Isla Mujeres National Park and the Garrafon Natural Reef Park, the hotel has a private beach, outdoor pool, club for children, restaurants and a marina. All guest rooms have ocean or garden views with balconies or terraces. Business services and meeting facilities are available for small groups.

Highlights
  • Modern, Mayan-inspired rooms enveloped in tropical foliage with balconies or terraces overlooking the ocean or grounds
  • Restaurant serving globally inspired, Mayan vegetarian cuisine
  • Yoga classes and therapeutic massages at Hotel Na Balam Beach

 

Rooms

The 33 tranquil rooms and suites at the Hotel Na Balam Beach are accessed by an outside corridor and are informed by Mayan design with one king or two double beds and private balconies or terraces overlooking the verdant grounds or turquoise waters. All guest rooms are soundproofed and have air-conditioning, in-room safes and desks as well as bathrooms with showers, makeup/shaving mirrors and complimentary toiletries. Three gracious suites at the Hotel Na Balam Beach have one king bed and plunge pools with hydro-massage overlooking the inlet.

Features

The quiet, boutique, ocean-side property offers yoga classes, a swimming pool as well as guest rooms with balconies or terraces with views. A seaside snack bar set beneath a thatched-roof palapa serves granola, house-made rolls and natural fruit juices. The full-service Zazil Ha has a vegetarian menu informed by Mayan cooking traditions and eclectic cuisines. A boutique at Hotel Na Balam Beach sells local handicrafts. Guests can arrange water activities -- such as swimming with dolphins or snorkeling and diving excursions -- through sister property Casa Sandra. The Hotel Na Balam Beach also offers a club for children. Guests can opt to arrange tarot readings or play board games. Complimentary high-speed and wireless Internet service is available near the lobby.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (17.5 mi/28.2 km, in addition to a 20-minute ferry ride)
Attractions
  • Carey Dive Center (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Costa Occidental de Isla Mujeres National Park (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Garrafon Natural Reef Park (4.6 mi/7.5 km)

 

Business
  • Meeting rooms for small groups
  • Business center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres Rooms

Oceanfront with Private pool, Terrace, Hammock 400 Sq.Ft - 1 king bed
Deluxe suite offers 1 king bed oceanfront, along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, private pool, Bathroom amenities, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer upon request, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Room service and Safe in room.
Pool View Room 400 Sq.Ft with Terrace, Hammock - 2 double beds or 1 king bed
Pool view room offers one king bed or two double beds along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer upon request, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Room service and Safe in room.
Beachfront 400 Sq.Ft with Terrace, Hammock - 2 queen beds or 1 king bed
Beachfront offers one king bed or two double beds along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer upon request, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Room service and Safe in room.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Zazil Ha Restaurant
This restaurant offers the best of the Mayan cuisine in a private and warm ambiance. It also, combines regional ingredients with International cooking techniques, creating the exquisite original dishes that have gained it fame. Open from 11:00 am to 11:00 pm.
Beach Bar
Have a cold beer, a tropical cocktail or your favorite snacks at the beach bar without having to get away from the sun, sand and the sea. Open from 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Snack Bar
with your favorite cocktail at at our snack bar while enjoying a stunning Caribbean Sea view. Open from 11:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 59
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gina Crowell
Business
Sioux Falls, SD
Dec 27, 2010

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL

Yoga: "Free Yoga" portion of contract not honored. In order to take the amount of yoga classes I was planning on, I would have had to pay an additional $300. When I was emailing back and forth before my trip, and mentioned my free yoga package numerous times, I was NOT informed by staff at Na Balam that they would not be honoring my package contract. Upon arrival, I was told that they could offer me a 50% discount-this would be the same as the "50% local's discount" printed on the yoga class brochure. The entire reason I chose Na Balam, after researching my FIRST international trip for over six months, was the free yoga portion of the stay. I would appreciate a refund in the amount of $300. In addition, my "neighbors" and three other visitors to the hotel were refused their packages as well. [...] At no point was an apology offered.Housekeeping: Housekeepers let themselves in when "Do not disturb" was hung. Dirt in the closets. Cups not emptied or replaced. The room was absolutely filthy. Hair and bobby pins were strewn about the bathroom facilities, and were not cleaned up during our stay. Additionally, our broken screen door was not fixed upon request or by notice of the staff during our stay.Beach: No umbrellas or bar as promised.Spa: American pricing; poor service.Restaurant: After horrid service and sub-par food, the waiter poked his finger at my tab, saying, "Tip? Tip?". Disgusting.Dog fights/animal farm?: Every night we were treated to the sounds of five dogs fighting, sometimes with an encore of the loser crying…for hours. The hotel manager, [...], and the bartender, seemed to keep their pack of dogs behind the desk…until the fight started each evening and the entire staff rushed to separate them, telling guests that gathered in curiosity, fear, and disgust, that, "Everything is fine".Water: Hot water not available.Telephone: Refused access to a phone upon request.Noise: No sleep! The hotel next door provided a lovely techno thump from nine pm to three every night. Ridiculous.Local fauna: Our room came with two large iguanas and a demented bird that would NOT stop trying to get into our room-for a week.In sum, had the hotel not promised me free yoga, I never would have gone there. Had I not wanted yoga, I would have probably been happy with my lodging-the hut details were very Mayan and the entire facility was rustic. In no way was this a four, three, or even two star facility, however, and the lack of honoring contracts or simple guest respect was simply appalling. I will make sure to tell my friends to stay away from[...] Na Balam!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Food is disgusting and overpriced; staff will ignore you until you try to leave without tipping them; then you will be bombarded with attention.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ibfinetwo
Business
New York
Feb 21, 2010

Na Balam is well past it's prime

The hotel has a a lovely beach, a nice restaurant, (pricey) and offers a yoga class each day. Other than that, there's nothing good to say. There were no standard amentities in the room like TV,radio hairdryer or phone. The shower was weak and the sink had little hot water. The safe was broken and was repaired while we were there. The furniture was warn.The beds were in need of replacement. The staff was pleasant enough. Unfortunately the weather was lousy and there was absolutely nothing to do. It would have been nice if the hotel had a supply of board games. Wi-fi is only available in the lobby area, which was laden with mosquitoes. Overall it was a big disappointment and certainly not worth the price. I could never recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Book any side trips once you get to your destination. We booked aside trip through [...] and it was expensive and unuseable. The side trip to Tulum originated in Cancun and we were in Isla Mujeres. Additionally the hotel transfers we purchased through [...] would only take us to a hotel in Cancun, not where we needed to go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle
Jul 22, 2010

Na Balm

We were not able to get into our room until 6PM and we were only staying one night. Very annoying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tan2
Business
Michigan
Jul 7, 2010

Relax....

We were looking for some relaxation and we got it FOR SURE at this resort. Very quiet, no TV, Radio or Phone and we didn't even notice for 2-days. Bring a blow-dryer as they are limited to 1 to share between all the rooms. Amenities are VERY limited, including replenishing toiletries and water, daily. Learn your Pesos as it is much easier to pay for things. All in all not a bad retreat for 2-over busy people :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Stick to the main street (Hidalgo)for fun. Be sure to visit the Church and supermarket area at night lots of Local fun to experience. July 4th and 5th were "DRY" days...meaning no DRINKS unless you are eating or at your resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Island travelers
Business
Maryland, USA
Dec 1, 2011

Good and Bad

We didn't expect a perfect Oceanview for the price paid but did expect to be given a room in working order. Was told no rooms left at checkin except ours (typical line) but when we waited until checkin time the people that were suppose to check out decided to stay and all of a sudden a room was found!!! So we tried getting in, first the door was broke, metal could have cut you bad, then the shower didn't work, took 2 maintenance men different shower heads to fix, beds VERY hard but location great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Fresh fish meals daily for less than $7.00 down by where the ferry comes in, great deal and real island feel, can't get any better.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cindy.saunders703
Business
Olympia, WA
Jun 2, 2011

Na Balam May 2011

This was our second trip to Isla Mujeres, this time without the kids. It was a great trip. Na Balam was the perfect accommodation for us, it was clean and comfortable. We stayed poolside, and the area was beautiful and so quiet. We loved having access to the beach, it was our favorite spot to off shore snorkel, relax. It was so close to the restaurants and shopping. We would definitely consider another stay at Na Balam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Royi orcado
Business
Los Angeles
Oct 10, 2014

Nice. Not more.

Best location but no facilities. Standard rooms only with bed. More expensive rooms with TV. Wifi only in loby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tomzuev
Business
israel
Oct 12, 2014

not more then nice

Weve taken the room with the pool view- the room is nice, but as an compare of what you paying its not worth it. No wifi in the room, the breakfest is pure. I wont come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The north beach is wonderfull!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tan2
Business
Michigan
Jul 7, 2010

Relax....

We were looking for some relaxation and we got it FOR SURE at this resort. Very quiet, no TV, Radio or Phone and we didn't even notice for 2-days. Bring a blow-dryer as they are limited to 1 to share between all the rooms. Amenities are VERY limited, including replenishing toiletries and water, daily. Learn your Pesos as it is much easier to pay for things. All in all not a bad retreat for 2-over busy people :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Stick to the main street (Hidalgo)for fun. Be sure to visit the Church and supermarket area at night lots of Local fun to experience. July 4th and 5th were "DRY" days...meaning no DRINKS unless you are eating or at your resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rgbeuk
Business
Big Bear, CA
Apr 6, 2010

NaBalam Isla Mujeres

Loads of beach time on Playa Norte, easy bike ride to south end, lots of affordable restaurant options downtown, great snorkeling on Isla Contoy. Lower-key than Cancun (why we chose Isla) w/friendly locals. Fairly loaded beaches due to Spring break, but we'd go again @ less busy time - expect it would be even mellower. NaBalam could use some room fixture updating & in-room coffee machines, but character, quiet & quaintness would still make it our choice over other Isla resorts (& for sure over Cancin's hotel zone madness).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Isla Contoy snorkeling w/Captain Tony. Wheel & deal when shopping - 1at price is always only a starting point. We usualyy ended @ 30-50% less!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top