$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 7, 2015 Check-out: Feb 8, 2015

Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

3 stars
Calle Zazil ha No. 118 Playa norte, Isla Mujeres, 77400
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
53 reviews
Wonderful family destination

The hotel is located on the best part of the island! The beach is amazing and has great snorkeling... See full review

  • Jenelle
  • Jan 5, 2015
Dream wedding location!

My husband and I were married at Na Balam just last week! We stayed 8 nights and had a great... See full review

  • Sybil in Iowa
  • Sep 23, 2014
Peaceful, intimate beachfront Isla Mujeres retreat with yoga bent

The Hotel Na Balam Beach on the island of Isla Mujeres has just 33 tranquil, Mayan-inspired rooms set amid tropical flora. The hotel offers yoga and therapeutic massages aimed at rejuvenating the body and mind. Not far from Occidental de Isla Mujeres National Park and the Garrafon Natural Reef Park, the hotel has a private beach, outdoor pool, club for children, restaurants and a marina. All guest rooms have ocean or garden views with balconies or terraces. Business services and meeting facilities are available for small groups.

Highlights
  • Modern, Mayan-inspired rooms enveloped in tropical foliage with balconies or terraces overlooking the ocean or grounds
  • Restaurant serving globally inspired, Mayan vegetarian cuisine
  • Yoga classes and therapeutic massages at Hotel Na Balam Beach

 

Rooms

The 33 tranquil rooms and suites at the Hotel Na Balam Beach are accessed by an outside corridor and are informed by Mayan design with one king or two double beds and private balconies or terraces overlooking the verdant grounds or turquoise waters. All guest rooms are soundproofed and have air-conditioning, in-room safes and desks as well as bathrooms with showers, makeup/shaving mirrors and complimentary toiletries. Three gracious suites at the Hotel Na Balam Beach have one king bed and plunge pools with hydro-massage overlooking the inlet.

Features

The quiet, boutique, ocean-side property offers yoga classes, a swimming pool as well as guest rooms with balconies or terraces with views. A seaside snack bar set beneath a thatched-roof palapa serves granola, house-made rolls and natural fruit juices. The full-service Zazil Ha has a vegetarian menu informed by Mayan cooking traditions and eclectic cuisines. A boutique at Hotel Na Balam Beach sells local handicrafts. Guests can arrange water activities -- such as swimming with dolphins or snorkeling and diving excursions -- through sister property Casa Sandra. The Hotel Na Balam Beach also offers a club for children. Guests can opt to arrange tarot readings or play board games. Complimentary high-speed and wireless Internet service is available near the lobby.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (17.5 mi/28.2 km, in addition to a 20-minute ferry ride)
Attractions
  • Carey Dive Center (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Costa Occidental de Isla Mujeres National Park (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Garrafon Natural Reef Park (4.6 mi/7.5 km)

 

Business
  • Meeting rooms for small groups
  • Business center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres Rooms

Oceanfront with Private pool, Terrace, Hammock 400 Sq.Ft - 1 king bed
Deluxe suite offers 1 king bed oceanfront, along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, private pool, Bathroom amenities, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer upon request, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Room service and Safe in room.
Pool View Room 400 Sq.Ft with Terrace, Hammock - 2 double beds or 1 king bed
Pool view room offers one king bed or two double beds along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer upon request, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Room service and Safe in room.
Beachfront 400 Sq.Ft with Terrace, Hammock - 2 queen beds or 1 king bed
Beachfront offers one king bed or two double beds along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer upon request, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Room service and Safe in room.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Zazil Ha Restaurant
This restaurant offers the best of the Mayan cuisine in a private and warm ambiance. It also, combines regional ingredients with International cooking techniques, creating the exquisite original dishes that have gained it fame. Open from 11:00 am to 11:00 pm.
Beach Bar
Have a cold beer, a tropical cocktail or your favorite snacks at the beach bar without having to get away from the sun, sand and the sea. Open from 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Snack Bar
with your favorite cocktail at at our snack bar while enjoying a stunning Caribbean Sea view. Open from 11:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (53)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lincoln, NE
Jun 6, 2011

Outstanding!

We had a very enjoyable stay with Na Balam and definitely would stay at this hotel in the future. It was clean and quiet. The room attendants were excellent. Very short walk to the beach and the beach staff was very helpful with umbrellas and chairs. The restaurant was excellent but a little pricy. But we all recommend the guacamole and chips -- It was a daily afternoon treat and very fresh..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out all of the restaurants.. they were awesome. We found this little restaurant next door where you can just get a cup of coffee and bagel to go.. That's all I needed from dining big the night before..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mark y Linda
Business
Vail, Colorado
Apr 12, 2010

Hotel Na Balam, Isla Mujeres, QROO, Mexi

I would recommennd Na Balam to visitors of Isla Mujeres. It is located at the northern tip of the island and literally on the best beach. The main shopping and restaurant district is a 5 minute walk or a $1 taxi ride from the port area. [...] Daily yoga classes were a plus.If you are looking for five star accomodations or a "luxe" resort, stick to Cancun. Na Balam is more like what Mexican hospitality and atmosphere was before the All-Inclusive resort craze. Although Isla Mujeres has become commercialized in the way most resorts evolve into tourist shopping malls, including our home town, Na Balam has preserved much of the integrity of a peaceful Mexican Holiday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several good restaurants along Hildalgo Ave., the main shopping district. We enjoyed Olivia for a romantic dinner. The Bucanero for the best fish tacos I have ever had, and Rooster for morning coffee and pastry. Sunset Grill was nice for, what else, sunset. But stick with cervesa, the cocktails were expensive and not really that good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
isla de mujeres, mexico
Mar 8, 2011

Isla de mujeres

the hotel's location was perfect for exploring the island. it provided a getaway from the center but was close enough to walk everywhere and back to the hotel without a problem. Everything was within distance and the staff was very attentive. Only down side was the food at the hotel was not very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The main street is close by, only a few minutes to walk there. restaurants close early but the best food is found on the outskirts of the main street. Explore those restaurants for better and cheaper foods.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SandL
Business
Israel
Aug 31, 2014

Perfect location but only specific rooms

The hotel is in an unprecedented location. Right on the best beach of the island. Everyone else on the island tries to get to this beach and staying here juat feels great. However, the rooms which aren't ocean view are not so good. They are not sealed and if you're a little bit sensitive to mosquitoes this may be a problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
IsamuJ
Business
San Jose, CA
Nov 28, 2011

Go to Na Balam!

This was a wonderful experience. If you want the nightlife and all the boozing drunks around you, then this is definitely NOT the place for you! If you like/need the quiet serenity, comfortable airy rooms, wonderful helpful hotel staff around you, and a restaurant that should be in the middle of Manhattan (that's how good the food is), then this is DEFINITELY the place for you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

EAT THE FOOD HERE, but not if you don't like FIVE STAR cuisine, because this is what they serve here! This food is healthy, fresh, and inexpensive, yet will tickle every tastebud on your tongue. If you come with your "better half" then get a table directly on the beach!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TonyC66
Business
Palm City FL
Jan 31, 2012

Great spot!

Great spot, clean rooms. Staff was considerate ad helpful. Best, it is close to restaurants and the downtown area, but has an incredible, almost remote beach area with tons of amenities and a great bar at sunset. For the money, it is a tremendous value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bsgro
Business
Maple Heights, OH
Jul 13, 2012

Peace and Relaxation at the Na Balam

We spent 8 nights in a beachside room at Na Balam (room 12). I wouldn't hesitate to return and to recommend it to others. Our room had two queen beds with pillow top mattresses, sitting area, hammock, and small safe (large enough to hold wallets, passports and cell phones). AC worked great. We had a private patio with two lounge chairs and were a stone's throw away from breakfast and the beach. Snorkeling area was a short walk away. Town with countless of restaurant options was a 5-10 minute walk. Service was friendly. Everything was a relaxed Caribean pace. Enjoy the pace and you'll enjoy the place! And the beach! If you imagine yourself swimming in the crystal clear water, this is your beach. Beach beds, chairs,umbrellas, and towels are available for guests at no extra charge. Restaurant/bar service is available on the beach. Outdoor showers are available for rinsing off before returning to your room. We weren't bothered by mosquitoes at all during the day. We put bug repellant on before heading off to dinner and were fine. I can't say if they have room service per se, but on Sunday we picked up some takeout chicken and ribs and brought them back to our room. We got a bucket of beer from the bar, and they said it was fine to bring it to our room. Yoga classes were offered 2x per day, for $12. I thought I'd give it a try, but was too busy enjoying the beach to try one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

I regularly stopped by the grocery store near the square to get snacks or a bottle of water and paid with 500 peso bill. They had no problem changing it and this gave me change to tip the maid and the breakfast server.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lincoln NE
Jun 26, 2011

Wonderful place to relax.

We came to Hotel Na Balam for our son's wedding and we all had a fantastic time. The rooms were clean, quiet and very comfortable. The beaches were amazing and the staff was exceptional.The food at the restaurant was delicious as well! ANYTHING we needed they were able to supply, from taxi's, setting up adventures on the Island, to homemade chicken soup when one of our family members was under the weather. We, as a family are planning on coming back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great hotel with an outdoor restaurant just about 1 block away where you can find coffee to go at a very reasonable rate as well as bagels and other breakfast items! Be sure to check out Casa Ixchel for great dining and La Luna for great dining and dancing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
México, DF
Jun 27, 2011

Excelent Vacations

the hotel is just great, it is not even necessary to get out, we just went out at the morning to know about the island, but it has everything to enjoy... the room was big enough, nicely decorated, just great... have for sure was the best place we knew in our whole trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there's a famous street where you can find all kind of nice restaurants, the good thing is that this street is just near from everywhere

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
to my best friens pettynelli,marttin,lcy
Business
beutyfull southern california
Sep 10, 2010

hotel na balam beach-isla mujeres

the moss quait vacation ever just perfet we love it the jungla full filt in a best way,whit the most importan thin ther bery frenly peapole in the beutyful small town, isla mujeres we love you,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

holywood stay away please...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top