$158 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 17, 2014 Check-out: Jul 18, 2014

Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

3 stars
Calle Zazil ha No. 118 Playa norte, Isla Mujeres, 77400
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
66 reviews
the hotel has one of the best beaches in the area...and perhaps in the world!

I read the reviews about this hotel and I think they are quite accurate. The hotel has a beautiful... See full review

  • JMVelez
  • Jun 9, 2014
Good Spot

Very Quiet and secluded beach getaway wefedgwegtwetgretetwerrttert See full review

  • ttabit33
  • Dec 29, 2013
Beach front hotel with tropical gardens and hammocks under beautiful palm trees, nice and comfortable rooms with private terrace or balcony, amazing views, hammock.

Our 28 rooms come with a king size or two queen beds, a private terrace or balcony, amazing views (garden, pool, beachfront, ocean ), hammock, air conditioning and ceiling fans and in-room safety deposit boxes and 24 hours security protection.

Our 3 magnificent suites feature a king sized bed, Mayan-Modern decoration, air-conditioning, ceiling fans, a private patio and a small pool with hydro-massage with a stunning view of the inlet; beachfront with hammock ideal for honeymooners or anyone wishing a romantic and/or peaceful stay in a beautiful place.

Yoga classes and therapeutic massages are available to relax the body and soul at an extra cost.

In order not to disturb the tranquility, communications technology and internet are available close to the lobby for those who want to continue to be connected to the outside world.

Zazil Ha means clear water in Maya and is the main restaurant at Na Balam. A refuge of gastronomy where fresh and natural ingredients are chosen, simple or sophisticated dishes are served with care by the gentle hands of Mexican waiters.

Our dining at Zazil Ha features Traditional Mexican Recipes with our own twist of International Cuisine; it is considered one of the best on the island; dinning here is an experience you will always remember

Every corner at Na Balam cultivates the spirit, takes care of the body and nurtures the soul.

Isla Mujeres is the perfect place for all ages, located only 20 minutes by boat from Cancun, the island is only 5 miles long and mile wide, in the colorful downtown area you will find interesting restaurants, gift shops and other activities that you can enjoy: Bicycle riding, yoga, scuba diving, snorkeling, kayak, fishing, golf cars riding and visiting the turtle farm, you can also swim with the dolphins and sharks, or get a relaxing massage.

Hotel Amenities
-Bar/Lounge ($)
-Currency Exchange
-Doctor on Call ($)
-Pool
-Private Beach
-Yoga Lessons ($)
-Meeting/Banquet Facilities ($)
-Restaurant ($)
-Safe Deposit Box
-Spa services ($)
-Wireless Internet ONLY IN LOBBY

Hotel Map

21.262 -86.7492
Area served
Isla Mujeres.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport.
Area description
Na Balam is on one of the most beautiful beaches of the Caribbean. Playa Norte (North Beach), a natural treasure, is the perfect place to have a sunbath, practice a water sport or admire the surroundings.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres Rooms

Oceanfront with Private pool, Terrace, Hammock 400 Sq.Ft - 1 king bed
Deluxe suite offers 1 king bed oceanfront, along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, private pool, Bathroom amenities, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer upon request, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Room service and Safe in room.
Pool View Room 400 Sq.Ft with Terrace, Hammock - 2 double beds or 1 king bed
Pool view room offers one king bed or two double beds along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer upon request, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Room service and Safe in room.
Beachfront 400 Sq.Ft with Terrace, Hammock - 2 queen beds or 1 king bed
Beachfront offers one king bed or two double beds along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer upon request, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Room service and Safe in room.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Zazil Ha Restaurant
This restaurant offers the best of the Mayan cuisine in a private and warm ambiance. It also, combines regional ingredients with International cooking techniques, creating the exquisite original dishes that have gained it fame. Open from 11:00 am to 11:00 pm.
Beach Bar
Have a cold beer, a tropical cocktail or your favorite snacks at the beach bar without having to get away from the sun, sand and the sea. Open from 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Snack Bar
with your favorite cocktail at at our snack bar while enjoying a stunning Caribbean Sea view. Open from 11:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (66)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mark y Linda
Vail, Colorado
Apr 12, 2010

Hotel Na Balam, Isla Mujeres, QROO, Mexi

I would recommennd Na Balam to visitors of Isla Mujeres. It is located at the northern tip of the island and literally on the best beach. The main shopping and restaurant district is a 5 minute walk or a $1 taxi ride from the port area. [...] Daily yoga classes were a plus.If you are looking for five star accomodations or a "luxe" resort, stick to Cancun. Na Balam is more like what Mexican hospitality and atmosphere was before the All-Inclusive resort craze. Although Isla Mujeres has become commercialized in the way most resorts evolve into tourist shopping malls, including our home town, Na Balam has preserved much of the integrity of a peaceful Mexican Holiday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several good restaurants along Hildalgo Ave., the main shopping district. We enjoyed Olivia for a romantic dinner. The Bucanero for the best fish tacos I have ever had, and Rooster for morning coffee and pastry. Sunset Grill was nice for, what else, sunset. But stick with cervesa, the cocktails were expensive and not really that good.

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
first time in Isla
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Mar 14, 2012

It couldn't be more beautiful!

I returned home from a week at Na Balam hotel on Isla Mujeres yesterday. I must say, that it was a wonderful way to spend a week. The hotel staff was incredibly nice and helpful, the food at the hotel restaurant was wonderful and the room was clean and HUGE! We loved spending time on our balcony that overlooked the ocean, and the beds and chairs on the beach were perfect. This hotel is meant as a place to get away from it all, and that was exactly what we found. If you are looking for a place to stay "plugged in" this is not for you. I loved the fact that we didn't have a TV or even a clock in the room as I was able to just relax and unwind and allow the sound of the waves and birds calm my body and soul. The crystal clear beach that this hotel is located on, was the best beach I've ever been to. Absolutely amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you stop in at Fenix (a beach bar/lounge/restaurant) that is located right next to the hotel. You might think it is part of the hotel, but it isn't. The food was great and the beers were CHEAP! Great staff and owners.

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
May 10, 2011

Great location, affordable rooms

Hotel staff was very helpful. Great food and great location. No frills (grass roof, no phone or television in room). I loved the laid back atmosphere and getaway from the everyday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a golf cart for an all day experience of the island. Petting the sharks was a great inexpensive experience.

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lincoln, NE
Jun 6, 2011

Outstanding!

We had a very enjoyable stay with Na Balam and definitely would stay at this hotel in the future. It was clean and quiet. The room attendants were excellent. Very short walk to the beach and the beach staff was very helpful with umbrellas and chairs. The restaurant was excellent but a little pricy. But we all recommend the guacamole and chips -- It was a daily afternoon treat and very fresh..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out all of the restaurants.. they were awesome. We found this little restaurant next door where you can just get a cup of coffee and bagel to go.. That's all I needed from dining big the night before..

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Claudette, A Lifelong Learner
Acton,MA
Feb 21, 2010

NaBalam is a respite for the soul

NaBalam is the perfect place to unwind if you are looking for an attentive staff and respect for your need for peace and quiet. The hotel has only 28 rooms and there are no "loud" amenities (e.g. numerous restaurants, organized activities). This results in an attentive staff that is not hassled by demands of guests, and a restful atmosphere. The hotel is located directly on the quiet end of Playa Norte, the main beach on Isla Mujeras. There are palapas, beach chairs, and mattrasses for the guests, and you don't get the party people interfering with the stress free atmosphere. If you want to be served beverages or snacks on the beach, the fiendly staff is there to serve you. Finally, the food is some of the best I have tasted in a beach hotel. With an emphasis on home cooking and organic fare, this is a place where you can find a healthy and tasty approach while on vacation. Home made natural yogurt, fresh fish cooked in banana leaves, multigrain breads and egg white omelets with fresh asparagus were just some of the selections we ate with great pleasure to our senses, as well as our waistlines.The restaurant is located directly on the beach. Due to some strong winds on a few days, it was relocated to an outside venue in the garden. Again, the goal of the staff was to please its customers while maintaining a Caribbean feel. In addition to being directly on the beach, the proximity of NaBalam to the downtown area of Isla Mujeres could not be better. A short 10 minute walk down quiet streets brought you to the main streets of the island where shopping and numerous dining options were available. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is seeking a quiet, restful, and pleasing environment for a vacation. My husband and I are already talking about returning to Isla and the NaBalam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Claudette, A Lifelong Learner
Acton,MA
Feb 21, 2010

NaBalam is a respite for the soul

NaBalam is the perfect place to unwind if you are looking for an attentive staff and respect for your need for peace and quiet. The hotel has only 28 rooms and there are no "loud" amenities (e.g. numerous restaurants, organized activities). This results in an attentive staff that is not hassled by demands of guests, and a restful atmosphere. The hotel is located directly on the quiet end of Playa Norte, the main beach on Isla Mujeras. There are palapas, beach chairs, and mattrasses for the guests, and you don't get the party people interfering with the stress free atmosphere. If you want to be served beverages or snacks on the beach, the fiendly staff is there to serve you. Finally, the food is some of the best I have tasted in a beach hotel. With an emphasis on home cooking and organic fare, this is a place where you can find a healthy and tasty approach while on vacation. Home made natural yogurt, fresh fish cooked in banana leaves, multigrain breads and egg white omelets with fresh asparagus were just some of the selections we ate with great pleasure to our senses, as well as our waistlines.The restaurant is located directly on the beach. Due to some strong winds on a few days, it was relocated to an outside venue in the garden. Again, the goal of the staff was to please its customers while maintaining a Caribbean feel. In addition to being directly on the beach, the proximity of NaBalam to the downtown area of Isla Mujeres could not be better. A short 10 minute walk down quiet streets brought you to the main streets of the island where shopping and numerous dining options were available. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is seeking a quiet, restful, and pleasing environment for a vacation. My husband and I are already talking about returning to Isla and the NaBalam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mark y Linda
Vail, Colorado
Apr 12, 2010

Hotel Na Balam, Isla Mujeres, QROO, Mexi

I would recommennd Na Balam to visitors of Isla Mujeres. It is located at the northern tip of the island and literally on the best beach. The main shopping and restaurant district is a 5 minute walk or a $1 taxi ride from the port area. [...] Daily yoga classes were a plus.If you are looking for five star accomodations or a "luxe" resort, stick to Cancun. Na Balam is more like what Mexican hospitality and atmosphere was before the All-Inclusive resort craze. Although Isla Mujeres has become commercialized in the way most resorts evolve into tourist shopping malls, including our home town, Na Balam has preserved much of the integrity of a peaceful Mexican Holiday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several good restaurants along Hildalgo Ave., the main shopping district. We enjoyed Olivia for a romantic dinner. The Bucanero for the best fish tacos I have ever had, and Rooster for morning coffee and pastry. Sunset Grill was nice for, what else, sunset. But stick with cervesa, the cocktails were expensive and not really that good.

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Catwoman18
Illinois, USA
Dec 29, 2011

Winter Getaway

I spent my first night ever in Mexico at Na Balam. It's a wonderful place, great if you want some privacy. I did not like the first room I was given and the friendly staff gave me another option without any problem. Attended a yoga class and it was great, very relaxing. Attentive staff. My only negative is that breakfast is not included int he price, but we ate at their restaurant and the food and service were great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
robertoke
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Jan 15, 2012

Pretty decent for the price - GREAT yoga classes

My partner and I are both into yoga and that was one of the main reasons that we chose this hotel. It was also priced very reasonably in the package and just a 5 minute walk from dozens of shops and restaurants. As it turned out, it was good, but not excellent. The restaurant was just okay and a bit pricey for the quality, though the view is amazing - it's right on the north beach! As for the beach there, it would be great for kids but it's so shallow that you have to walk over 100-200 meters to get to any depth for swimming. Some people may like that, and the water was crystal clear! One problem we had was that it rained so hard that the water was dripping right through the straw roof onto our bed. Good thing it didn't happen until the day we left. All in all it was a good experience though and the yoga with "Lal Maharajh" was amazing and offered several times a day - at 9am, 11am, and 7pm, with a couple of sunset yoga classes at other times. The kundalini yoga was not as impressive. You'll have to see who's teaching at the time you are there. It's well worth the $150 pesos ($12US) per 1 1/2 hour class.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Not much is mentioned about live music on Isla Mujeres, but there is a variety of good live music, beyond just the traditional strolling Mexican singer/guitarists that show up everywhere. They are good (some are excellent) but you can also see other styles of music all along Avenida Hidalgo - the main drag on the north end of the island. Tres Mentiras is a very simple, affordable bar/restaurant that opened recently - and they often have intimate jam sessions at night, passing guitars around. Very cool!

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
isla de mujeres, mexico
Mar 8, 2011

Isla de mujeres

the hotel's location was perfect for exploring the island. it provided a getaway from the center but was close enough to walk everywhere and back to the hotel without a problem. Everything was within distance and the staff was very attentive. Only down side was the food at the hotel was not very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The main street is close by, only a few minutes to walk there. restaurants close early but the best food is found on the outskirts of the main street. Explore those restaurants for better and cheaper foods.

Back to menu Return to top