$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 13, 2015 Check-out: Jan 15, 2015

Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

3 stars
Calle Zazil ha No. 118 Playa norte, Isla Mujeres, 77400
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
52 reviews
Dream wedding location!

My husband and I were married at Na Balam just last week! We stayed 8 nights and had a great... See full review

  • Sybil in Iowa
  • Sep 23, 2014
Perfect location but only specific rooms

The hotel is in an unprecedented location. Right on the best beach of the island. Everyone else on... See full review

  • SandL
  • Aug 31, 2014
Peaceful, intimate beachfront Isla Mujeres retreat with yoga bent

The Hotel Na Balam Beach on the island of Isla Mujeres has just 33 tranquil, Mayan-inspired rooms set amid tropical flora. The hotel offers yoga and therapeutic massages aimed at rejuvenating the body and mind. Not far from Occidental de Isla Mujeres National Park and the Garrafon Natural Reef Park, the hotel has a private beach, outdoor pool, club for children, restaurants and a marina. All guest rooms have ocean or garden views with balconies or terraces. Business services and meeting facilities are available for small groups.

Highlights
  • Modern, Mayan-inspired rooms enveloped in tropical foliage with balconies or terraces overlooking the ocean or grounds
  • Restaurant serving globally inspired, Mayan vegetarian cuisine
  • Yoga classes and therapeutic massages at Hotel Na Balam Beach

 

Rooms

The 33 tranquil rooms and suites at the Hotel Na Balam Beach are accessed by an outside corridor and are informed by Mayan design with one king or two double beds and private balconies or terraces overlooking the verdant grounds or turquoise waters. All guest rooms are soundproofed and have air-conditioning, in-room safes and desks as well as bathrooms with showers, makeup/shaving mirrors and complimentary toiletries. Three gracious suites at the Hotel Na Balam Beach have one king bed and plunge pools with hydro-massage overlooking the inlet.

Features

The quiet, boutique, ocean-side property offers yoga classes, a swimming pool as well as guest rooms with balconies or terraces with views. A seaside snack bar set beneath a thatched-roof palapa serves granola, house-made rolls and natural fruit juices. The full-service Zazil Ha has a vegetarian menu informed by Mayan cooking traditions and eclectic cuisines. A boutique at Hotel Na Balam Beach sells local handicrafts. Guests can arrange water activities -- such as swimming with dolphins or snorkeling and diving excursions -- through sister property Casa Sandra. The Hotel Na Balam Beach also offers a club for children. Guests can opt to arrange tarot readings or play board games. Complimentary high-speed and wireless Internet service is available near the lobby.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (17.5 mi/28.2 km, in addition to a 20-minute ferry ride)
Attractions
  • Carey Dive Center (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Costa Occidental de Isla Mujeres National Park (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Garrafon Natural Reef Park (4.6 mi/7.5 km)

 

Business
  • Meeting rooms for small groups
  • Business center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres Rooms

Oceanfront with Private pool, Terrace, Hammock 400 Sq.Ft - 1 king bed
Deluxe suite offers 1 king bed oceanfront, along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, private pool, Bathroom amenities, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer upon request, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Room service and Safe in room.
Pool View Room 400 Sq.Ft with Terrace, Hammock - 2 double beds or 1 king bed
Pool view room offers one king bed or two double beds along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer upon request, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Room service and Safe in room.
Beachfront 400 Sq.Ft with Terrace, Hammock - 2 queen beds or 1 king bed
Beachfront offers one king bed or two double beds along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer upon request, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Room service and Safe in room.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Zazil Ha Restaurant
This restaurant offers the best of the Mayan cuisine in a private and warm ambiance. It also, combines regional ingredients with International cooking techniques, creating the exquisite original dishes that have gained it fame. Open from 11:00 am to 11:00 pm.
Beach Bar
Have a cold beer, a tropical cocktail or your favorite snacks at the beach bar without having to get away from the sun, sand and the sea. Open from 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Snack Bar
with your favorite cocktail at at our snack bar while enjoying a stunning Caribbean Sea view. Open from 11:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (52)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JMVelez
Business
Sabinas, Coahuila
Jun 9, 2014

the hotel has one of the best beaches in the area...and perhaps in the world!

I read the reviews about this hotel and I think they are quite accurate. The hotel has a beautiful white sand beach! (and very clean). It is like a big swimming pool. Just amazing!!! However, the big downside of the hotel is the service/staff. I don't know why people are soooo uninformed about anything you may ask (taxi fees, main park in the island opening hours, etc.). Also, in the beach I had to put the sun umbrella on my own (seriously?). If I were the owner I would put emphasis in customer service! Other than that...the pool is small and the rooms (at least ours) smell like humidity (this is perhaps due to the local weather...not sure! But in other hotels in Cancun it doesn't smell like this). The room has NO tv nor internet connection. Overall I think it is a good value for your money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to get cheap food from the restaurants in the main street. They usually have good deals with tacos and beer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
May 10, 2011

Great location, affordable rooms

Hotel staff was very helpful. Great food and great location. No frills (grass roof, no phone or television in room). I loved the laid back atmosphere and getaway from the everyday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a golf cart for an all day experience of the island. Petting the sharks was a great inexpensive experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peace seekers
Business
West Palm Beach, FL
Jun 24, 2010

pleasant stay

We had a lovely stay During the 1st week of June 2010. The hotel is located 9 blocks from the ferry station. The hotel staff was super friendly and welcoming. We loved relaxing on the Serene Beach and watching the sunset. Our room was Perfect, spotless,fresh sheets, comfty mattress, excellent AC, beach view and an awesome hammock and view of the water and lagoon. Local Restaurants are 3 blocks away but the hotel restaurant was pretty good, great cocktails. If you want to get away and relax, de-stress this is the place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ulle
Business
nyc
Nov 26, 2010

A Jungle Atmosphere

Hotel Na Balam on Isla Mujeres provides the right location and atmosphere for those wishing to escape big city life. You enter the compound through a stone Mayan-style portal which is flanked at night by burning torches. The buildings are two story, with thatched roofs and hewn-log stairs leading to rustic wooden balconies. All rooms have hammocks and seating outside. There are several pool area buildings each of which seem to have only four units allowing for corner rooms that contain two windows and a large sliding door. In contrast to the abundance of lush foliage outside, the interiors are minimalist white: linens, muslin drapes, platform beds, large couch, and hint of a modern take on Mayan design. They seem to be newly-renovated. My room reminded me of being inside a gallery and viewing a Rousseau jungle painting framed by each window. The room was spacious with two queen beds and a large couch; it could have slept five. The whiteness was contrasted with a dark wood mirror, drapery rods,dresser and sconces. An ornate dark wood carving of a Mayan shaman adorned one wall. I thought the design was well-thought out. There is no phone or TV and you need to bring a hairdryer, if necessary. The beach, Playa Norte, is a two-minute walk. The beach is scenic but the water is very shallow and if you really like to swim, go to the public beach, a fifteen minute walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Avenida Hidalgo is a pedestrian-only shopping and dining street about a 10 minute walk away. Most of the restaurants and stores open after lunch or in the evening. There is a choice of Italian, Mexican, Argentinian, Cuban restaurants. But my favorite was Bally Hoo, on the water just north of the ferry terminal. The food was good and the view, especially of the sunset, was wonderful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Claudette, A Lifelong Learner
Business
Acton,MA
Feb 21, 2010

NaBalam is a respite for the soul

NaBalam is the perfect place to unwind if you are looking for an attentive staff and respect for your need for peace and quiet. The hotel has only 28 rooms and there are no "loud" amenities (e.g. numerous restaurants, organized activities). This results in an attentive staff that is not hassled by demands of guests, and a restful atmosphere. The hotel is located directly on the quiet end of Playa Norte, the main beach on Isla Mujeras. There are palapas, beach chairs, and mattrasses for the guests, and you don't get the party people interfering with the stress free atmosphere. If you want to be served beverages or snacks on the beach, the fiendly staff is there to serve you. Finally, the food is some of the best I have tasted in a beach hotel. With an emphasis on home cooking and organic fare, this is a place where you can find a healthy and tasty approach while on vacation. Home made natural yogurt, fresh fish cooked in banana leaves, multigrain breads and egg white omelets with fresh asparagus were just some of the selections we ate with great pleasure to our senses, as well as our waistlines.The restaurant is located directly on the beach. Due to some strong winds on a few days, it was relocated to an outside venue in the garden. Again, the goal of the staff was to please its customers while maintaining a Caribbean feel. In addition to being directly on the beach, the proximity of NaBalam to the downtown area of Isla Mujeres could not be better. A short 10 minute walk down quiet streets brought you to the main streets of the island where shopping and numerous dining options were available. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is seeking a quiet, restful, and pleasing environment for a vacation. My husband and I are already talking about returning to Isla and the NaBalam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LindenHillsMom
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 23, 2010

Na Balam Best for Families

We enjoyed the beautiful grounds and our beach room #6. There were many areas for our 1 1/2 year old to run and play (in shade and sun). The staff was friendly and accommodating. The location was the best Isla has to offer. The restaurant food was outstanding and met the needs for our entire family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoy breakfast at the local market, elements, monyona. Rent a golf cart and tour the island don't miss the Turtle farm excursion.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Middle-age crazy
Business
Kaufnan, Texas
Jun 6, 2010

Peaceful Easy Feeling!!

This is a great place to stay if you want to avoid the chain type hotels and do something different. The poolside rooms are across a small street from main part of the hotel. Pool is medium size and beautiful grounds. Very quiet and uncrowded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk up street to Marias Cabanas Del Mar and rent a golf cart at "Easy" rentals. It was awesome to pickup and drop off right by the hotel. The beach was really damaged by last hurricane but it's still beautiful and the grounds are nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san diego, ca
Oct 30, 2010

Worth what payed

No food or drinks whatsoever available aft 3 pm. Nearby small store available. Rooms are clean. Staff friendly but short-minded. Great for an off-season budget non-luxurious romantic getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Italian restaurant "Rolandis" is a must, 8 minute walk. Excellent food and service. Mexican red wine "Calixa" an excellent choice. Ask directions to the front desk staff when checking-in

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Midwest
Dec 14, 2010

Na Balam Isla Mujeres, Mexico

Na Balam was want we have experienced before in a tropical hotel. Beautiful grounds but noisy construction near our oceanfront room. Very clean premises and pleasant hotel and bar staff. Beds are very hard and not very comfortable. Restaurant for evening service was clueless. We left for another restaurant in town. Enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Olivia's had good food, good service and great ambiance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
mn
Feb 28, 2010

wonderful

very relaxing, great location definately the right end of the island to be at!! Quick walk to the town for great resturants,drinks,and shopping. Playa Norte is by far the best beach!! This is a place that is true mexico, palapas, hamocks, sand everywhere, palm trees, not USA 5 star resorty highrise.very quaint and romantic!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top