$140 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 5, 2015 Check-out: May 6, 2015

Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

3 stars
View map of Calle Zazil ha No. 118 Playa norte, Isla Mujeres, 77400

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheAckermann
Business
Fredericksburg, VA, USA
Jan 27, 2012

Hotel na Balaam

We stayed at Hotel Na Balaam in mid-January and had a great time. The location is wonderful, the rooms just the right size and location, and the staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
first time in Isla
Business
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Mar 14, 2012

It couldn't be more beautiful!

I returned home from a week at Na Balam hotel on Isla Mujeres yesterday. I must say, that it was a wonderful way to spend a week. The hotel staff was incredibly nice and helpful, the food at the hotel restaurant was wonderful and the room was clean and HUGE! We loved spending time on our balcony that overlooked the ocean, and the beds and chairs on the beach were perfect. This hotel is meant as a place to get away from it all, and that was exactly what we found. If you are looking for a place to stay "plugged in" this is not for you. I loved the fact that we didn't have a TV or even a clock in the room as I was able to just relax and unwind and allow the sound of the waves and birds calm my body and soul. The crystal clear beach that this hotel is located on, was the best beach I've ever been to. Absolutely amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you stop in at Fenix (a beach bar/lounge/restaurant) that is located right next to the hotel. You might think it is part of the hotel, but it isn't. The food was great and the beers were CHEAP! Great staff and owners.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Islasusana
Business
Fort Collins, CO, USA
Apr 23, 2012

Beautiful water and beach area

Very Basic rooms. No hair dryer, no coffee pot, no T.V., no mini fridge. However, room was very clean and I loved the fresh, crisp white sheets everyday. The grounds are lush and jungle-like, but there are a few mosquitos. The free continental breakfast with our package was good and the restaurant was very nice located right on the beach. My only complaint is the terrible musty smell in the rooms. It seemed to improve somewhat during our six night stay. Beach towels were provided and the beach beds were nice. Wish there were more beach chairs available. We enjoyed our stay and will probably return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If this is your first trip to the island, make sure you rent a golf cart for a day to explore. There are a lot of great restaurants within walking distance from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
May 21, 2012

Girls trip

Me and my friend fell in love with this beach 6 years ago and decided to come back and stay at Na Balam due to its location. We had a fabulous time, very relaxing. The beach is the best in Mexico! The room was very large and had alot of charm and the beds were comfortable. We loved the atmosphere of the hotel and its small size with only 33 guest rooms, and the restaurant is also very good. This resort is also very close to downtown Isla with great shopping and restaurants. We would for sure stay here again. The rooms do not have TV's or wi fi , but we did not miss it as we had plenty else to do. There is wi fi available in the lobby and restaurant area for your laptops or ipads if you cannot disconnect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The exchange rate when using the ATM is much better than any exchange rate at the airport or hotels, the ATM fees are low about $2 and they give you pesos. which when paying for food or shopping you always get a better price if paying in pesos vs dollars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Breezy beach seeker
Business
Sutton, MA
May 31, 2012

Overnight in Paradise

While the room type I booked, an overview, was not available at check in, the hotel was able to upgrade me to a suite, which was VERY nice. The private plunge pool made me forget the partial water view the room has from the pool deck. The restaurant is ideally located on a point. Beach and ocean on two sides. Food was excellent. I highly recommend the BLT + fried egg breakfast sandwich. No cellular or wifi reception in the room was the only major drawback. Thank you to the hotel and staff for a great experience. I will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Angelos was phenomenal. Arranged for a lobster tail margherita pizza. Out of this world,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CRuss
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Nov 11, 2012

Nice trip in paradise, but not without hiccups

The location has to be the best on Isla Mujeres. It is a short walk from the main strip, but at this location there are many palm trees and it is very private. The restaurant Zazil-Ha makes excellent food and is open late so you can relax on the beach enjoying your food/drinks. The wait staff is friendly, but like most of this area the service is slow for food although worth it. We had some issues with connecting calls and getting help at the front desk/reception. Some of the staff was not as approachable and did not freely offer advice about things such as directions or where to rent a scooter etc. Also it was a hassle to arrange with the hotel for pickup in cancun for our pre-paid voucher back to the airport. When our flight was canceled we stayed at a different hotel nearby and the front desk was far more acommodating and helpful. Other than the reception our room was fair (plunge pool was not worth it though). We had our wedding there and although the ceremony went well it was a bit disorganized as to how to run everything (they demanded payment in cash (USD that is)) for our photographer, minister, and music rental etc. which was hard to get that much money last minute. We did get this sorted finally. Though there were some frustrations regarding this I would stay there again hoping that they can sort these issues because they really do have the best beach on the Playa Norte.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Sea Hawk divers down the street from Na Balam. They were very helpful/friendly and we had a blast snorkeling with them! Also Jax (though it is owned by an american couple from texas) was a good place to see NFL games. Amigos on Hidalgo and Olivias were excellent places to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vhk1
Business
Florida
Jun 26, 2013

Very good experience

After reading some previous reviews of this hotel, we were ready for a less than welcoming hotel staff. This was not the case. The front desk staff was friendly and very helpful with any request we made of them. Our room was pool-side and it had a lovely balcony with comfortable chairs for enjoying cocktail hour. The room was quite large., larger than any we have stayed in, about 600 square feet. The beds were harder than home, but that was expected. The beach area was beautiful and was the best swimming on the island. The onsite bars offered good drinks and delicious appetizers. There was live entertainment all weekend long and we enjoyed the local music immensely. We had a continental breakfast included in our rate and it was wonderful as well. If we return to Isla Mujeres, we will return to Na Balam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Do walk along Hidalgo Street and stop at the various eateries and look at the menus. Prices vary greatly and so does the quality of the meals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vhk1
Business
Florida
Aug 28, 2013

Wonderful stay at Na Balam

We had read several negative reviews of Na Balam before our trip and am very glad to report that we did not find any situation that was anything like the reviews. From the airport and ferry transportation arranged by the hotel, to the room to the restaurant, we were very pleased and impressed. We had a pool side room with a small balcony and it was utterly charming. The room itself was about 600 square feet, very spacious. It had a thatch roof and high ceiling with a super a/c unit. The pool and hot tub were literally outside of our room. The beach in front of the hotel was the most beautiful on the island. Many tour boats came and put swimmers in the water off-shore. We ate breakfast in the restaurant each morning and everything was absolutely fresh and delicious. On the weekend live music was fun and entertaining. The yoga room was nearby and we could hear the gong but did not take advantage of the lessons! If we return to Isla Mujeres we will stay again at Na Balam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Neil and Anita
Business
Calgary, Alberta
Oct 12, 2013

Great way to experience this Island!

We've been to this hotel many times in the past and keep coming back. They've improved the restaurant and the grounds since our last visit as well as the beds...the old beds were too hard, the new mattresses are much better. You really can't beat the location right on one of the most beautiful beaches you'll ever see. The area in town with all of the shops and restaurants is within easy walking distance and if you explore the side streets you'll find many great low cost restaurants frequented by the locals as well as the more adventurous visitors. Overall a good value with just the right amenities situated in one of the best locations on the island!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ttabit33
Business
chicago
Dec 29, 2013

Good Spot

Very Quiet and secluded beach getaway wefedgwegtwetgretetwerrttert

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Hidalgo Street also many other places/ Short Ferry ride from Cancun- 45 min total etc et ctetc etc

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top