$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 14, 2014 Check-out: May 17, 2014

Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

3 stars
Calle Zazil ha No. 118 Playa norte, Isla Mujeres, 77400
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
44 reviews
Good Spot

Very Quiet and secluded beach getaway wefedgwegtwetgretetwerrttert See full review

  • ttabit33
  • Dec 29, 2013
Great way to experience this Island!

We've been to this hotel many times in the past and keep coming back. They've improved the... See full review

  • Neil and Anita
  • Oct 12, 2013
Peaceful, intimate beachfront Isla Mujeres retreat with yoga bent

The Hotel Na Balam Beach on the island of Isla Mujeres has just 33 tranquil, Mayan-inspired rooms set amid tropical flora. The hotel offers yoga and therapeutic massages aimed at rejuvenating the body and mind. Not far from Occidental de Isla Mujeres National Park and the Garrafon Natural Reef Park, the hotel has a private beach, outdoor pool, club for children, restaurants and a marina. All guest rooms have ocean or garden views with balconies or terraces. Business services and meeting facilities are available for small groups.

Highlights
  • Modern, Mayan-inspired rooms enveloped in tropical foliage with balconies or terraces overlooking the ocean or grounds
  • Restaurant serving globally inspired, Mayan vegetarian cuisine
  • Yoga classes and therapeutic massages at Hotel Na Balam Beach

 

Rooms

The 33 tranquil rooms and suites at the Hotel Na Balam Beach are accessed by an outside corridor and are informed by Mayan design with one king or two double beds and private balconies or terraces overlooking the verdant grounds or turquoise waters. All guest rooms are soundproofed and have air-conditioning, in-room safes and desks as well as bathrooms with showers, makeup/shaving mirrors and complimentary toiletries. Three gracious suites at the Hotel Na Balam Beach have one king bed and plunge pools with hydro-massage overlooking the inlet.

Features

The quiet, boutique, ocean-side property offers yoga classes, a swimming pool as well as guest rooms with balconies or terraces with views. A seaside snack bar set beneath a thatched-roof palapa serves granola, house-made rolls and natural fruit juices. The full-service Zazil Ha has a vegetarian menu informed by Mayan cooking traditions and eclectic cuisines. A boutique at Hotel Na Balam Beach sells local handicrafts. Guests can arrange water activities -- such as swimming with dolphins or snorkeling and diving excursions -- through sister property Casa Sandra. The Hotel Na Balam Beach also offers a club for children. Guests can opt to arrange tarot readings or play board games. Complimentary high-speed and wireless Internet service is available near the lobby.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (17.5 mi/28.2 km, in addition to a 20-minute ferry ride)
Attractions
  • Carey Dive Center (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Costa Occidental de Isla Mujeres National Park (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Garrafon Natural Reef Park (4.6 mi/7.5 km)

 

Business
  • Meeting rooms for small groups
  • Business center

Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres Rooms

Oceanfront with Private pool, Terrace, Hammock 400 Sq.Ft - 1 king bed
Deluxe suite offers 1 king bed oceanfront, along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, private pool, Bathroom amenities, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer upon request, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Room service and Safe in room.
Pool View Room 400 Sq.Ft with Terrace, Hammock - 2 double beds or 1 king bed
Pool view room offers one king bed or two double beds along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer upon request, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Room service and Safe in room.
Beachfront 400 Sq.Ft with Terrace, Hammock - 2 queen beds or 1 king bed
Beachfront offers one king bed or two double beds along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer upon request, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Room service and Safe in room.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.262 -86.7492
Area served
Isla Mujeres.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport.
Area description
Na Balam is on one of the most beautiful beaches of the Caribbean. Playa Norte (North Beach), a natural treasure, is the perfect place to have a sunbath, practice a water sport or admire the surroundings.

Dining

Zazil Ha Restaurant
This restaurant offers the best of the Mayan cuisine in a private and warm ambiance. It also, combines regional ingredients with International cooking techniques, creating the exquisite original dishes that have gained it fame. Open from 11:00 am to 11:00 pm.
Beach Bar
Have a cold beer, a tropical cocktail or your favorite snacks at the beach bar without having to get away from the sun, sand and the sea. Open from 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Snack Bar
with your favorite cocktail at at our snack bar while enjoying a stunning Caribbean Sea view. Open from 11:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (44)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Overall score

3.8 / 5
44 out of 44
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
GMAN ATX
Austin, TX, USA
Dec 16, 2011

Na Balam in December

Stayed here in mid-December '11 and it was nice. Now granted, others have said this hotel lacks amenities and I can see why they may say that. But, if you are looking for a place to relax and have an actual getaway then this is the place. At night, it looks like you are walking into a tropical village. Lots of foliage and rock pathways that are dimly lit. This atmosphere is great. If you want a cookie-cutter style posh hotel/resort then stay elswhere. This is a basic place without tvs and phones in the rooms(but that's nice). If you are looking to really unwind, then consider this place. The bar/restaurant staff is really good. The beach is literally right by the restaurant. The walk to the main strip in the city is about ten minutes or rent a golf cart. Overall, it was a great value and I would stay there again if I went back to Isla Mujeres.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Mananas for breakfast. It is a cool restaurant/bookstore!

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
isla de mujeres, mexico
Mar 8, 2011

Isla de mujeres

the hotel's location was perfect for exploring the island. it provided a getaway from the center but was close enough to walk everywhere and back to the hotel without a problem. Everything was within distance and the staff was very attentive. Only down side was the food at the hotel was not very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The main street is close by, only a few minutes to walk there. restaurants close early but the best food is found on the outskirts of the main street. Explore those restaurants for better and cheaper foods.

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
vhk1
Florida
Jun 26, 2013

Very good experience

After reading some previous reviews of this hotel, we were ready for a less than welcoming hotel staff. This was not the case. The front desk staff was friendly and very helpful with any request we made of them. Our room was pool-side and it had a lovely balcony with comfortable chairs for enjoying cocktail hour. The room was quite large., larger than any we have stayed in, about 600 square feet. The beds were harder than home, but that was expected. The beach area was beautiful and was the best swimming on the island. The onsite bars offered good drinks and delicious appetizers. There was live entertainment all weekend long and we enjoyed the local music immensely. We had a continental breakfast included in our rate and it was wonderful as well. If we return to Isla Mujeres, we will return to Na Balam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Do walk along Hidalgo Street and stop at the various eateries and look at the menus. Prices vary greatly and so does the quality of the meals.

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
Breezy beach seeker
Sutton, MA
May 31, 2012

Overnight in Paradise

While the room type I booked, an overview, was not available at check in, the hotel was able to upgrade me to a suite, which was VERY nice. The private plunge pool made me forget the partial water view the room has from the pool deck. The restaurant is ideally located on a point. Beach and ocean on two sides. Food was excellent. I highly recommend the BLT + fried egg breakfast sandwich. No cellular or wifi reception in the room was the only major drawback. Thank you to the hotel and staff for a great experience. I will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Angelos was phenomenal. Arranged for a lobster tail margherita pizza. Out of this world,

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
Peace seekers
West Palm Beach, FL
Jun 24, 2010

pleasant stay

We had a lovely stay During the 1st week of June 2010. The hotel is located 9 blocks from the ferry station. The hotel staff was super friendly and welcoming. We loved relaxing on the Serene Beach and watching the sunset. Our room was Perfect, spotless,fresh sheets, comfty mattress, excellent AC, beach view and an awesome hammock and view of the water and lagoon. Local Restaurants are 3 blocks away but the hotel restaurant was pretty good, great cocktails. If you want to get away and relax, de-stress this is the place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
Middle-age crazy
Kaufnan, Texas
Jun 6, 2010

Peaceful Easy Feeling!!

This is a great place to stay if you want to avoid the chain type hotels and do something different. The poolside rooms are across a small street from main part of the hotel. Pool is medium size and beautiful grounds. Very quiet and uncrowded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk up street to Marias Cabanas Del Mar and rent a golf cart at "Easy" rentals. It was awesome to pickup and drop off right by the hotel. The beach was really damaged by last hurricane but it's still beautiful and the grounds are nice.

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
TheAckermann
Fredericksburg, VA, USA
Jan 27, 2012

Hotel na Balaam

We stayed at Hotel Na Balaam in mid-January and had a great time. The location is wonderful, the rooms just the right size and location, and the staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Lincoln, NE
Jun 6, 2011

Outstanding!

We had a very enjoyable stay with Na Balam and definitely would stay at this hotel in the future. It was clean and quiet. The room attendants were excellent. Very short walk to the beach and the beach staff was very helpful with umbrellas and chairs. The restaurant was excellent but a little pricy. But we all recommend the guacamole and chips -- It was a daily afternoon treat and very fresh..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out all of the restaurants.. they were awesome. We found this little restaurant next door where you can just get a cup of coffee and bagel to go.. That's all I needed from dining big the night before..

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
Neil and Anita
Calgary, Alberta
Oct 12, 2013

Great way to experience this Island!

We've been to this hotel many times in the past and keep coming back. They've improved the restaurant and the grounds since our last visit as well as the beds...the old beds were too hard, the new mattresses are much better. You really can't beat the location right on one of the most beautiful beaches you'll ever see. The area in town with all of the shops and restaurants is within easy walking distance and if you explore the side streets you'll find many great low cost restaurants frequented by the locals as well as the more adventurous visitors. Overall a good value with just the right amenities situated in one of the best locations on the island!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
CRuss
Brooklyn, NY
Nov 11, 2012

Nice trip in paradise, but not without hiccups

The location has to be the best on Isla Mujeres. It is a short walk from the main strip, but at this location there are many palm trees and it is very private. The restaurant Zazil-Ha makes excellent food and is open late so you can relax on the beach enjoying your food/drinks. The wait staff is friendly, but like most of this area the service is slow for food although worth it. We had some issues with connecting calls and getting help at the front desk/reception. Some of the staff was not as approachable and did not freely offer advice about things such as directions or where to rent a scooter etc. Also it was a hassle to arrange with the hotel for pickup in cancun for our pre-paid voucher back to the airport. When our flight was canceled we stayed at a different hotel nearby and the front desk was far more acommodating and helpful. Other than the reception our room was fair (plunge pool was not worth it though). We had our wedding there and although the ceremony went well it was a bit disorganized as to how to run everything (they demanded payment in cash (USD that is)) for our photographer, minister, and music rental etc. which was hard to get that much money last minute. We did get this sorted finally. Though there were some frustrations regarding this I would stay there again hoping that they can sort these issues because they really do have the best beach on the Playa Norte.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Sea Hawk divers down the street from Na Balam. They were very helpful/friendly and we had a blast snorkeling with them! Also Jax (though it is owned by an american couple from texas) was a good place to see NFL games. Amigos on Hidalgo and Olivias were excellent places to eat.

Back to menu Return to top