$114 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 16, 2015 Check-out: Sep 17, 2015

Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

3 stars
View map of Calle Zazil ha No. 118 Playa norte, Isla Mujeres, 77400

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 51
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Royi orcado
Couples
Los Angeles
Oct 10, 2014

Nice. Not more.

Best location but no facilities. Standard rooms only with bed. More expensive rooms with TV. Wifi only in loby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tomzuev
Couples
israel
Oct 12, 2014

not more then nice

Weve taken the room with the pool view- the room is nice, but as an compare of what you paying its not worth it. No wifi in the room, the breakfest is pure. I wont come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The north beach is wonderfull!

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
long long
Family
atlanta, Ga
Oct 6, 2014

Great Location

Great location, very close to the beach and downtown area. Staffs are very friendly and helpful. Need some improvements on room cleanliness. I see ants on the floor almost everyday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GMAN ATX
Couples
Austin, TX, USA
Dec 16, 2011

Na Balam in December

Stayed here in mid-December '11 and it was nice. Now granted, others have said this hotel lacks amenities and I can see why they may say that. But, if you are looking for a place to relax and have an actual getaway then this is the place. At night, it looks like you are walking into a tropical village. Lots of foliage and rock pathways that are dimly lit. This atmosphere is great. If you want a cookie-cutter style posh hotel/resort then stay elswhere. This is a basic place without tvs and phones in the rooms(but that's nice). If you are looking to really unwind, then consider this place. The bar/restaurant staff is really good. The beach is literally right by the restaurant. The walk to the main strip in the city is about ten minutes or rent a golf cart. Overall, it was a great value and I would stay there again if I went back to Isla Mujeres.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Mananas for breakfast. It is a cool restaurant/bookstore!

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Catwoman18
Couples
Illinois, USA
Dec 29, 2011

Winter Getaway

I spent my first night ever in Mexico at Na Balam. It's a wonderful place, great if you want some privacy. I did not like the first room I was given and the friendly staff gave me another option without any problem. Attended a yoga class and it was great, very relaxing. Attentive staff. My only negative is that breakfast is not included int he price, but we ate at their restaurant and the food and service were great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
robertoke
Couples
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Jan 15, 2012

Pretty decent for the price - GREAT yoga classes

My partner and I are both into yoga and that was one of the main reasons that we chose this hotel. It was also priced very reasonably in the package and just a 5 minute walk from dozens of shops and restaurants. As it turned out, it was good, but not excellent. The restaurant was just okay and a bit pricey for the quality, though the view is amazing - it's right on the north beach! As for the beach there, it would be great for kids but it's so shallow that you have to walk over 100-200 meters to get to any depth for swimming. Some people may like that, and the water was crystal clear! One problem we had was that it rained so hard that the water was dripping right through the straw roof onto our bed. Good thing it didn't happen until the day we left. All in all it was a good experience though and the yoga with "Lal Maharajh" was amazing and offered several times a day - at 9am, 11am, and 7pm, with a couple of sunset yoga classes at other times. The kundalini yoga was not as impressive. You'll have to see who's teaching at the time you are there. It's well worth the $150 pesos ($12US) per 1 1/2 hour class.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Not much is mentioned about live music on Isla Mujeres, but there is a variety of good live music, beyond just the traditional strolling Mexican singer/guitarists that show up everywhere. They are good (some are excellent) but you can also see other styles of music all along Avenida Hidalgo - the main drag on the north end of the island. Tres Mentiras is a very simple, affordable bar/restaurant that opened recently - and they often have intimate jam sessions at night, passing guitars around. Very cool!

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheAckermann
Family
Fredericksburg, VA, USA
Jan 27, 2012

Hotel na Balaam

We stayed at Hotel Na Balaam in mid-January and had a great time. The location is wonderful, the rooms just the right size and location, and the staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
first time in Isla
Couples
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Mar 14, 2012

It couldn't be more beautiful!

I returned home from a week at Na Balam hotel on Isla Mujeres yesterday. I must say, that it was a wonderful way to spend a week. The hotel staff was incredibly nice and helpful, the food at the hotel restaurant was wonderful and the room was clean and HUGE! We loved spending time on our balcony that overlooked the ocean, and the beds and chairs on the beach were perfect. This hotel is meant as a place to get away from it all, and that was exactly what we found. If you are looking for a place to stay "plugged in" this is not for you. I loved the fact that we didn't have a TV or even a clock in the room as I was able to just relax and unwind and allow the sound of the waves and birds calm my body and soul. The crystal clear beach that this hotel is located on, was the best beach I've ever been to. Absolutely amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you stop in at Fenix (a beach bar/lounge/restaurant) that is located right next to the hotel. You might think it is part of the hotel, but it isn't. The food was great and the beers were CHEAP! Great staff and owners.

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Islasusana
Couples
Fort Collins, CO, USA
Apr 23, 2012

Beautiful water and beach area

Very Basic rooms. No hair dryer, no coffee pot, no T.V., no mini fridge. However, room was very clean and I loved the fresh, crisp white sheets everyday. The grounds are lush and jungle-like, but there are a few mosquitos. The free continental breakfast with our package was good and the restaurant was very nice located right on the beach. My only complaint is the terrible musty smell in the rooms. It seemed to improve somewhat during our six night stay. Beach towels were provided and the beach beds were nice. Wish there were more beach chairs available. We enjoyed our stay and will probably return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If this is your first trip to the island, make sure you rent a golf cart for a day to explore. There are a lot of great restaurants within walking distance from the hotel.

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Las Vegas, NV
May 21, 2012

Girls trip

Me and my friend fell in love with this beach 6 years ago and decided to come back and stay at Na Balam due to its location. We had a fabulous time, very relaxing. The beach is the best in Mexico! The room was very large and had alot of charm and the beds were comfortable. We loved the atmosphere of the hotel and its small size with only 33 guest rooms, and the restaurant is also very good. This resort is also very close to downtown Isla with great shopping and restaurants. We would for sure stay here again. The rooms do not have TV's or wi fi , but we did not miss it as we had plenty else to do. There is wi fi available in the lobby and restaurant area for your laptops or ipads if you cannot disconnect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The exchange rate when using the ATM is much better than any exchange rate at the airport or hotels, the ATM fees are low about $2 and they give you pesos. which when paying for food or shopping you always get a better price if paying in pesos vs dollars.

Back to menu Return to top