$114 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 9, 2014 Check-out: Dec 10, 2014

Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

3 stars
Calle Zazil ha No. 118 Playa norte, Isla Mujeres, 77400
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
51 reviews
Dream wedding location!

My husband and I were married at Na Balam just last week! We stayed 8 nights and had a great... See full review

  • Sybil in Iowa
  • Sep 23, 2014
Perfect location but only specific rooms

The hotel is in an unprecedented location. Right on the best beach of the island. Everyone else on... See full review

  • SandL
  • Aug 31, 2014
Peaceful, intimate beachfront Isla Mujeres retreat with yoga bent

The Hotel Na Balam Beach on the island of Isla Mujeres has just 33 tranquil, Mayan-inspired rooms set amid tropical flora. The hotel offers yoga and therapeutic massages aimed at rejuvenating the body and mind. Not far from Occidental de Isla Mujeres National Park and the Garrafon Natural Reef Park, the hotel has a private beach, outdoor pool, club for children, restaurants and a marina. All guest rooms have ocean or garden views with balconies or terraces. Business services and meeting facilities are available for small groups.

Highlights
  • Modern, Mayan-inspired rooms enveloped in tropical foliage with balconies or terraces overlooking the ocean or grounds
  • Restaurant serving globally inspired, Mayan vegetarian cuisine
  • Yoga classes and therapeutic massages at Hotel Na Balam Beach

 

Rooms

The 33 tranquil rooms and suites at the Hotel Na Balam Beach are accessed by an outside corridor and are informed by Mayan design with one king or two double beds and private balconies or terraces overlooking the verdant grounds or turquoise waters. All guest rooms are soundproofed and have air-conditioning, in-room safes and desks as well as bathrooms with showers, makeup/shaving mirrors and complimentary toiletries. Three gracious suites at the Hotel Na Balam Beach have one king bed and plunge pools with hydro-massage overlooking the inlet.

Features

The quiet, boutique, ocean-side property offers yoga classes, a swimming pool as well as guest rooms with balconies or terraces with views. A seaside snack bar set beneath a thatched-roof palapa serves granola, house-made rolls and natural fruit juices. The full-service Zazil Ha has a vegetarian menu informed by Mayan cooking traditions and eclectic cuisines. A boutique at Hotel Na Balam Beach sells local handicrafts. Guests can arrange water activities -- such as swimming with dolphins or snorkeling and diving excursions -- through sister property Casa Sandra. The Hotel Na Balam Beach also offers a club for children. Guests can opt to arrange tarot readings or play board games. Complimentary high-speed and wireless Internet service is available near the lobby.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (17.5 mi/28.2 km, in addition to a 20-minute ferry ride)
Attractions
  • Carey Dive Center (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Costa Occidental de Isla Mujeres National Park (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Garrafon Natural Reef Park (4.6 mi/7.5 km)

 

Business
  • Meeting rooms for small groups
  • Business center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres Rooms

Oceanfront with Private pool, Terrace, Hammock 400 Sq.Ft - 1 king bed
Deluxe suite offers 1 king bed oceanfront, along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, private pool, Bathroom amenities, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer upon request, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Room service and Safe in room.
Pool View Room 400 Sq.Ft with Terrace, Hammock - 2 double beds or 1 king bed
Pool view room offers one king bed or two double beds along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer upon request, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Room service and Safe in room.
Beachfront 400 Sq.Ft with Terrace, Hammock - 2 queen beds or 1 king bed
Beachfront offers one king bed or two double beds along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer upon request, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Room service and Safe in room.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Zazil Ha Restaurant
This restaurant offers the best of the Mayan cuisine in a private and warm ambiance. It also, combines regional ingredients with International cooking techniques, creating the exquisite original dishes that have gained it fame. Open from 11:00 am to 11:00 pm.
Beach Bar
Have a cold beer, a tropical cocktail or your favorite snacks at the beach bar without having to get away from the sun, sand and the sea. Open from 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Snack Bar
with your favorite cocktail at at our snack bar while enjoying a stunning Caribbean Sea view. Open from 11:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (51)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 51
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cindy.saunders703
Business
Olympia, WA
Jun 2, 2011

Na Balam May 2011

This was our second trip to Isla Mujeres, this time without the kids. It was a great trip. Na Balam was the perfect accommodation for us, it was clean and comfortable. We stayed poolside, and the area was beautiful and so quiet. We loved having access to the beach, it was our favorite spot to off shore snorkel, relax. It was so close to the restaurants and shopping. We would definitely consider another stay at Na Balam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brooklyn family of 4
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Sep 14, 2014

Not bad, not great

This was our second stay at Na Balam, overall the experience was fine. They didn't honor our request 3 month prior to arrival to have a king bed room with mattress on the floor for our kids. They took our balcony chairs while a production company was shooting a commercial on the beach (only one day) The restaurant staff was usually friendly, however the day before the shooting they were very busy and didn't seem to care about their guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Olivia has the best food in the Island, and the Chicken spot next to Rooster cafe on the main street has the BEST roasted chicken ever!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Royi orcado
Business
Los Angeles
Oct 10, 2014

Nice. Not more.

Best location but no facilities. Standard rooms only with bed. More expensive rooms with TV. Wifi only in loby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tomzuev
Business
israel
Oct 12, 2014

not more then nice

Weve taken the room with the pool view- the room is nice, but as an compare of what you paying its not worth it. No wifi in the room, the breakfest is pure. I wont come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The north beach is wonderfull!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rgbeuk
Business
Big Bear, CA
Apr 6, 2010

NaBalam Isla Mujeres

Loads of beach time on Playa Norte, easy bike ride to south end, lots of affordable restaurant options downtown, great snorkeling on Isla Contoy. Lower-key than Cancun (why we chose Isla) w/friendly locals. Fairly loaded beaches due to Spring break, but we'd go again @ less busy time - expect it would be even mellower. NaBalam could use some room fixture updating & in-room coffee machines, but character, quiet & quaintness would still make it our choice over other Isla resorts (& for sure over Cancin's hotel zone madness).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Isla Contoy snorkeling w/Captain Tony. Wheel & deal when shopping - 1at price is always only a starting point. We usualyy ended @ 30-50% less!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Canada
Jul 20, 2010

Na balam is a very value for money hotel

Very nice and clean, on the best location in the island, very quiet and u dont need much more then this hotel besides maybe good food... ALl and all, I would go back there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GMAN ATX
Business
Austin, TX, USA
Dec 16, 2011

Na Balam in December

Stayed here in mid-December '11 and it was nice. Now granted, others have said this hotel lacks amenities and I can see why they may say that. But, if you are looking for a place to relax and have an actual getaway then this is the place. At night, it looks like you are walking into a tropical village. Lots of foliage and rock pathways that are dimly lit. This atmosphere is great. If you want a cookie-cutter style posh hotel/resort then stay elswhere. This is a basic place without tvs and phones in the rooms(but that's nice). If you are looking to really unwind, then consider this place. The bar/restaurant staff is really good. The beach is literally right by the restaurant. The walk to the main strip in the city is about ten minutes or rent a golf cart. Overall, it was a great value and I would stay there again if I went back to Isla Mujeres.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Mananas for breakfast. It is a cool restaurant/bookstore!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Catwoman18
Business
Illinois, USA
Dec 29, 2011

Winter Getaway

I spent my first night ever in Mexico at Na Balam. It's a wonderful place, great if you want some privacy. I did not like the first room I was given and the friendly staff gave me another option without any problem. Attended a yoga class and it was great, very relaxing. Attentive staff. My only negative is that breakfast is not included int he price, but we ate at their restaurant and the food and service were great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
robertoke
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Jan 15, 2012

Pretty decent for the price - GREAT yoga classes

My partner and I are both into yoga and that was one of the main reasons that we chose this hotel. It was also priced very reasonably in the package and just a 5 minute walk from dozens of shops and restaurants. As it turned out, it was good, but not excellent. The restaurant was just okay and a bit pricey for the quality, though the view is amazing - it's right on the north beach! As for the beach there, it would be great for kids but it's so shallow that you have to walk over 100-200 meters to get to any depth for swimming. Some people may like that, and the water was crystal clear! One problem we had was that it rained so hard that the water was dripping right through the straw roof onto our bed. Good thing it didn't happen until the day we left. All in all it was a good experience though and the yoga with "Lal Maharajh" was amazing and offered several times a day - at 9am, 11am, and 7pm, with a couple of sunset yoga classes at other times. The kundalini yoga was not as impressive. You'll have to see who's teaching at the time you are there. It's well worth the $150 pesos ($12US) per 1 1/2 hour class.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Not much is mentioned about live music on Isla Mujeres, but there is a variety of good live music, beyond just the traditional strolling Mexican singer/guitarists that show up everywhere. They are good (some are excellent) but you can also see other styles of music all along Avenida Hidalgo - the main drag on the north end of the island. Tres Mentiras is a very simple, affordable bar/restaurant that opened recently - and they often have intimate jam sessions at night, passing guitars around. Very cool!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheAckermann
Business
Fredericksburg, VA, USA
Jan 27, 2012

Hotel na Balaam

We stayed at Hotel Na Balaam in mid-January and had a great time. The location is wonderful, the rooms just the right size and location, and the staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top