$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 13, 2015 Check-out: Jan 15, 2015

Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

3 stars
Calle Zazil ha No. 118 Playa norte, Isla Mujeres, 77400
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
52 reviews
Dream wedding location!

My husband and I were married at Na Balam just last week! We stayed 8 nights and had a great... See full review

  • Sybil in Iowa
  • Sep 23, 2014
Perfect location but only specific rooms

The hotel is in an unprecedented location. Right on the best beach of the island. Everyone else on... See full review

  • SandL
  • Aug 31, 2014
Peaceful, intimate beachfront Isla Mujeres retreat with yoga bent

The Hotel Na Balam Beach on the island of Isla Mujeres has just 33 tranquil, Mayan-inspired rooms set amid tropical flora. The hotel offers yoga and therapeutic massages aimed at rejuvenating the body and mind. Not far from Occidental de Isla Mujeres National Park and the Garrafon Natural Reef Park, the hotel has a private beach, outdoor pool, club for children, restaurants and a marina. All guest rooms have ocean or garden views with balconies or terraces. Business services and meeting facilities are available for small groups.

Highlights
  • Modern, Mayan-inspired rooms enveloped in tropical foliage with balconies or terraces overlooking the ocean or grounds
  • Restaurant serving globally inspired, Mayan vegetarian cuisine
  • Yoga classes and therapeutic massages at Hotel Na Balam Beach

 

Rooms

The 33 tranquil rooms and suites at the Hotel Na Balam Beach are accessed by an outside corridor and are informed by Mayan design with one king or two double beds and private balconies or terraces overlooking the verdant grounds or turquoise waters. All guest rooms are soundproofed and have air-conditioning, in-room safes and desks as well as bathrooms with showers, makeup/shaving mirrors and complimentary toiletries. Three gracious suites at the Hotel Na Balam Beach have one king bed and plunge pools with hydro-massage overlooking the inlet.

Features

The quiet, boutique, ocean-side property offers yoga classes, a swimming pool as well as guest rooms with balconies or terraces with views. A seaside snack bar set beneath a thatched-roof palapa serves granola, house-made rolls and natural fruit juices. The full-service Zazil Ha has a vegetarian menu informed by Mayan cooking traditions and eclectic cuisines. A boutique at Hotel Na Balam Beach sells local handicrafts. Guests can arrange water activities -- such as swimming with dolphins or snorkeling and diving excursions -- through sister property Casa Sandra. The Hotel Na Balam Beach also offers a club for children. Guests can opt to arrange tarot readings or play board games. Complimentary high-speed and wireless Internet service is available near the lobby.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (17.5 mi/28.2 km, in addition to a 20-minute ferry ride)
Attractions
  • Carey Dive Center (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Costa Occidental de Isla Mujeres National Park (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Garrafon Natural Reef Park (4.6 mi/7.5 km)

 

Business
  • Meeting rooms for small groups
  • Business center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres Rooms

Oceanfront with Private pool, Terrace, Hammock 400 Sq.Ft - 1 king bed
Deluxe suite offers 1 king bed oceanfront, along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, private pool, Bathroom amenities, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer upon request, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Room service and Safe in room.
Pool View Room 400 Sq.Ft with Terrace, Hammock - 2 double beds or 1 king bed
Pool view room offers one king bed or two double beds along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer upon request, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Room service and Safe in room.
Beachfront 400 Sq.Ft with Terrace, Hammock - 2 queen beds or 1 king bed
Beachfront offers one king bed or two double beds along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer upon request, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Room service and Safe in room.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Zazil Ha Restaurant
This restaurant offers the best of the Mayan cuisine in a private and warm ambiance. It also, combines regional ingredients with International cooking techniques, creating the exquisite original dishes that have gained it fame. Open from 11:00 am to 11:00 pm.
Beach Bar
Have a cold beer, a tropical cocktail or your favorite snacks at the beach bar without having to get away from the sun, sand and the sea. Open from 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Snack Bar
with your favorite cocktail at at our snack bar while enjoying a stunning Caribbean Sea view. Open from 11:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (52)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
IsamuJ
Business
San Jose, CA
Nov 28, 2011

Go to Na Balam!

This was a wonderful experience. If you want the nightlife and all the boozing drunks around you, then this is definitely NOT the place for you! If you like/need the quiet serenity, comfortable airy rooms, wonderful helpful hotel staff around you, and a restaurant that should be in the middle of Manhattan (that's how good the food is), then this is DEFINITELY the place for you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

EAT THE FOOD HERE, but not if you don't like FIVE STAR cuisine, because this is what they serve here! This food is healthy, fresh, and inexpensive, yet will tickle every tastebud on your tongue. If you come with your "better half" then get a table directly on the beach!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TonyC66
Business
Palm City FL
Jan 31, 2012

Great spot!

Great spot, clean rooms. Staff was considerate ad helpful. Best, it is close to restaurants and the downtown area, but has an incredible, almost remote beach area with tons of amenities and a great bar at sunset. For the money, it is a tremendous value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bsgro
Business
Maple Heights, OH
Jul 13, 2012

Peace and Relaxation at the Na Balam

We spent 8 nights in a beachside room at Na Balam (room 12). I wouldn't hesitate to return and to recommend it to others. Our room had two queen beds with pillow top mattresses, sitting area, hammock, and small safe (large enough to hold wallets, passports and cell phones). AC worked great. We had a private patio with two lounge chairs and were a stone's throw away from breakfast and the beach. Snorkeling area was a short walk away. Town with countless of restaurant options was a 5-10 minute walk. Service was friendly. Everything was a relaxed Caribean pace. Enjoy the pace and you'll enjoy the place! And the beach! If you imagine yourself swimming in the crystal clear water, this is your beach. Beach beds, chairs,umbrellas, and towels are available for guests at no extra charge. Restaurant/bar service is available on the beach. Outdoor showers are available for rinsing off before returning to your room. We weren't bothered by mosquitoes at all during the day. We put bug repellant on before heading off to dinner and were fine. I can't say if they have room service per se, but on Sunday we picked up some takeout chicken and ribs and brought them back to our room. We got a bucket of beer from the bar, and they said it was fine to bring it to our room. Yoga classes were offered 2x per day, for $12. I thought I'd give it a try, but was too busy enjoying the beach to try one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

I regularly stopped by the grocery store near the square to get snacks or a bottle of water and paid with 500 peso bill. They had no problem changing it and this gave me change to tip the maid and the breakfast server.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lincoln NE
Jun 26, 2011

Wonderful place to relax.

We came to Hotel Na Balam for our son's wedding and we all had a fantastic time. The rooms were clean, quiet and very comfortable. The beaches were amazing and the staff was exceptional.The food at the restaurant was delicious as well! ANYTHING we needed they were able to supply, from taxi's, setting up adventures on the Island, to homemade chicken soup when one of our family members was under the weather. We, as a family are planning on coming back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great hotel with an outdoor restaurant just about 1 block away where you can find coffee to go at a very reasonable rate as well as bagels and other breakfast items! Be sure to check out Casa Ixchel for great dining and La Luna for great dining and dancing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
México, DF
Jun 27, 2011

Excelent Vacations

the hotel is just great, it is not even necessary to get out, we just went out at the morning to know about the island, but it has everything to enjoy... the room was big enough, nicely decorated, just great... have for sure was the best place we knew in our whole trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there's a famous street where you can find all kind of nice restaurants, the good thing is that this street is just near from everywhere

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
to my best friens pettynelli,marttin,lcy
Business
beutyfull southern california
Sep 10, 2010

hotel na balam beach-isla mujeres

the moss quait vacation ever just perfet we love it the jungla full filt in a best way,whit the most importan thin ther bery frenly peapole in the beutyful small town, isla mujeres we love you,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

holywood stay away please...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nyc, ny
Aug 10, 2011

hotel na balam

Na Balam is a hidden little retreat on the North of the Island that provided us with a well needed peaceful and tropical holiday away from NYC. The location is perfect as well as the Mayan style of the resort, the staff are attentive and I must mention the fantastic restaurant on the beach, we ate here every night, why would you go elsewhere when you can watch an incredible sunset and with fantastic food. The food however was priced on the higher end but you certainly get what you pay for. I will certainly be visiting Na balam again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

beach front massages

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sybil in Iowa
Business
Clear Lake, IA
Sep 23, 2014

Dream wedding location!

My husband and I were married at Na Balam just last week! We stayed 8 nights and had a great experience. We had several family and friends also staying at the hotel for various lengths of time. Upon check in we did experience some issues with the rooms we were given not being the rooms we booked. Hotel staff did work to remedy each situation as best they could. The issues weren't major things (example: my brother booked a room with a king sized bed and they initially gave him a room with two doubles at check in. When he confirmed with them that he'd booked a king room, they apologized and upgraded him to a junior suite!) My husband and I worked with Adely to help plan our wedding. I first made contact with her 6 months ago and she did a fantastic job of answering all my questions, planning the details and helping us the entire time. We wanted to have a legal ceremony performed and it required additional paperwork and a blood test. Adely personally took us to the lab for the blood test and to the location to file the marriage application. The direct assistance was greatly appreciated. We held our wedding reception in the palapa area above the hotel's restaurant, Zazil-Ha. Russell and Elvis were assigned to serve our wedding party that evening and did an incredible job of making sure everyone had drinks and a great experience. They set up a post-ceremony area on the beach with drinks and snacks and then the group moved upstairs for the dinner. The food was incredible and many of my guests tried things they'd never had before! When we first checked in to the hotel, we were assigned room 11. A very nice simple room on the 2nd floor that overlooks the beach. We had requested a refrigerator in the room (for medication purposes) and this room did not have one. Because of this, Adely upgraded us to room 15 when it became available a few days later, a junior suite with a plunge pool. It was FANTASTIC! A beautiful room with plenty of space and a small pool right off your patio area. The plunge pools are obviously hot tubs that are no longer working. The jets are still in them, but do not work. However after a hot night of partying on Hidalgo, a dip in the plunge pool was pretty awesome. In each room, the beds were very comfortable (something I've had a hard time finding on Isla Mujeres). The beds were actually pillow tops and the pillows were firm and comfy too. The ONLY negative thing I could say about Na Balam is that the water pressure in the shower of our first room was very low. It was perfect in the second room. But in both rooms, we never had hot water in the shower. Mostly just lukewarm. Not a huge deal as it was so hot during the day, a cold shower actually felt pretty good. And most hotels on Isla seem to have a lot of water issues, so we've come to expect it. Now...the best part of the Na Balam: THE BEACH! Hands down the beach area in front of Na Balam is the BEST section of Playa Norte!!!! Since it's located near the north end of the beach, almost no Cancun day-trippers venture down that far. And since Na Balam is a smaller hotel with only 33 rooms, their is always plenty of space available on the beach. The beach beds are comfy and the guys from Zazil-Ha will come set up an umbrella for you and bring you food and drink from the restaurant. The water is crystal blue and amazing! No seaweed or rocks to be found! The area in front of Na Balam is my favorite section of Playa Norte. We had an incredible wedding and stay at Na Balam. Adely, Russel and Elvis went above and beyond to ensure we would have a memorable and enjoyable experience. We can't wait to return to this magical paradise!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food at the hotel's restaurant, Zazil-Ha, is amazing! They have a huge variety of interesting and unique foods available...particularly the seafood. YUM!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rgbeuk
Business
Big Bear, CA
Apr 6, 2010

NaBalam Isla Mujeres

Loads of beach time on Playa Norte, easy bike ride to south end, lots of affordable restaurant options downtown, great snorkeling on Isla Contoy. Lower-key than Cancun (why we chose Isla) w/friendly locals. Fairly loaded beaches due to Spring break, but we'd go again @ less busy time - expect it would be even mellower. NaBalam could use some room fixture updating & in-room coffee machines, but character, quiet & quaintness would still make it our choice over other Isla resorts (& for sure over Cancin's hotel zone madness).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Isla Contoy snorkeling w/Captain Tony. Wheel & deal when shopping - 1at price is always only a starting point. We usualyy ended @ 30-50% less!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Canada
Jul 20, 2010

Na balam is a very value for money hotel

Very nice and clean, on the best location in the island, very quiet and u dont need much more then this hotel besides maybe good food... ALl and all, I would go back there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top