$114 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 17, 2015 Check-out: Sep 19, 2015

Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

3 stars
View map of Calle Zazil ha No. 118 Playa norte, Isla Mujeres, 77400

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
51 reviews
Amazing Family Getaway!

Best beach on the whole on island! Incredible staff, lovely and quaint. Best yoga on the island! See full review

  • Jenelle
  • Apr 6, 2015
fantastic beach, laid back, Relax

What a wonderful place to stay! Check in was courteous, and our bags were at the room... See full review

  • Armon
  • Mar 22, 2015

The Hotel Na Balam Beach on the island of Isla Mujeres has just 33 tranquil, Mayan-inspired rooms set amid tropical flora. The hotel offers yoga and therapeutic massages aimed at rejuvenating the body and mind. Not far from Occidental de Isla Mujeres National Park and the Garrafon Natural Reef Park, the hotel has a private beach, outdoor pool, club for children, restaurants and a marina. All guest rooms have ocean or garden views with balconies or terraces. Business services and meeting facilities are available for small groups.

Rooms

The 33 tranquil rooms and suites at the Hotel Na Balam Beach are accessed by an outside corridor and are informed by Mayan design with one king or two double beds and private balconies or terraces overlooking the verdant grounds or turquoise waters. All guest rooms are soundproofed and have air-conditioning, in-room safes and desks as well as bathrooms with showers, makeup/shaving mirrors and complimentary toiletries. Three gracious suites at the Hotel Na Balam Beach have one king bed and plunge pools with hydro-massage overlooking the inlet.

Property features

The quiet, boutique, ocean-side property offers yoga classes, a swimming pool as well as guest rooms with balconies or terraces with views. A seaside snack bar set beneath a thatched-roof palapa serves granola, house-made rolls and natural fruit juices. The full-service Zazil Ha has a vegetarian menu informed by Mayan cooking traditions and eclectic cuisines. A boutique at Hotel Na Balam Beach sells local handicrafts. Guests can arrange water activities -- such as swimming with dolphins or snorkeling and diving excursions -- through sister property Casa Sandra. The Hotel Na Balam Beach also offers a club for children. Guests can opt to arrange tarot readings or play board games. Complimentary high-speed and wireless Internet service is available near the lobby.

Highlights
  • Modern, Mayan-inspired rooms enveloped in tropical foliage with balconies or terraces overlooking the ocean or grounds
  • Restaurant serving globally inspired, Mayan vegetarian cuisine
  • Yoga classes and therapeutic massages at Hotel Na Balam Beach

 

Nearby attractions
  • Carey Dive Center (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Costa Occidental de Isla Mujeres National Park (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Garrafon Natural Reef Park (4.6 mi/7.5 km)

 

Business
  • Meeting rooms for small groups
  • Business center
Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (17.5 mi/28.2 km, in addition to a 20-minute ferry ride)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres also booked these hotels.

★★★
$116
4.2 / 5 13 reviews
★★★★
$205
4.2 / 5 338 reviews
★★
$66
3.1 / 5 28 reviews
★★★★
$130
4.2 / 5 78 reviews
★★★
$158
3.5 / 5 225 reviews
★★★
$72
4.2 / 5 32 reviews
★★★
$104
4.0 / 5 16 reviews
★★★
$45
3.1 / 5 35 reviews
★★
$71
3.8 / 5 30 reviews

Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres Rooms

Oceanfront with Private pool, Terrace, Hammock 400 Sq.Ft - 1 king bed
Deluxe suite offers 1 king bed oceanfront, along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, private pool, Bathroom amenities, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer upon request, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Room service and Safe in room.
Pool View Room 400 Sq.Ft with Terrace, Hammock - 2 double beds or 1 king bed
Pool view room offers one king bed or two double beds along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer upon request, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Room service and Safe in room.
Beachfront 400 Sq.Ft with Terrace, Hammock - 2 queen beds or 1 king bed
Beachfront offers one king bed or two double beds along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer upon request, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Room service and Safe in room.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Zazil Ha Restaurant
This restaurant offers the best of the Mayan cuisine in a private and warm ambiance. It also, combines regional ingredients with International cooking techniques, creating the exquisite original dishes that have gained it fame. Open from 11:00 am to 11:00 pm.
Beach Bar
Have a cold beer, a tropical cocktail or your favorite snacks at the beach bar without having to get away from the sun, sand and the sea. Open from 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Snack Bar
with your favorite cocktail at at our snack bar while enjoying a stunning Caribbean Sea view. Open from 11:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 51
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sofi2222
Friends
London
Aug 29, 2014

We left!!!

The hotel is beautiful and so are it's surroundings. Unfortunately, the staff were so rude and hostile that we checked out and asked for our money back. They made us feel very uncomfortable. When we first arrived, exhausted after a day travelling and getting lost on our way to the hotel, the man that checked us in gave us our room key and pointed in the rooms general location. It was across a road and it was 11 o'clock at night. No one offered help with out bags. After 10 minutes of wondering around the pool staring at each patio door looking for a room number, I had to go back to reception and ask for someone to show us to our room. This was obviously a massive inconvenience as it took him 10 minutes of tidying the reception desk for him to lead us in the right direction. We had booked the room for 3 people and only had 2 towels and 2 bottles of water. I spoke to reception about this and we were allowed another towel but not an extra bottle of water! We would sit in the restaurant for about 20 minutes whilst the 5 members of staff would chat. Very awkward as we didn't know whether to say something or not as perhaps they hadn't seen us. This was obviously not the case as their attitude was awful when they did eventually take our order. We had opted for the continental breakfast, which we were told as soon as we were given menus, does not include a tip. We were given cold coffee, 4 bits of fruit and 4 pieces of tiny toast between 3 people. If you dared ask for more toast they would make sure it took half an hour to reach you. Then we made the mistake of ordering nachos with guacamole. The waiter told us guacamole will be 5 extra. We said that was fine. Then he brought the nachos with no guacamole. So we waited, then asked again. Then he came back over and told us we can't have guacamole because it's extra. We explained that this wasn't a problem. He then brought it out half an hour after the nachos were finished. He became quite angry and cleared the rest of the plates away which we were still eating. We attempted to go back to the restaurant for dinner and were refused entry as they would no longer accept card. We finally decided to speak to the hotel manager. This was very hard as we were questioned by 3 members of staff as to why. We politely explained to the manager why we did not feel comfortable staying there any longer. He said "What do you want me to do about it?" He wasn't exactly rude but he looked and acted like he had just given up. He told us we couldn't have the rest of our stay refunded as it was up to the travel company. I then asked if we could call them. They took the number from me and then bluntly stated that the number 'doesn't exist'. I asked to use their phone, which came up with a list of previously dialled numbers and showed that she had never called that number. The travel company were brilliant and apologised even though it wasn't their fault. They then spoke to the hotel manager and arranged a refund for us. We then tried to check out but all of the staff had disappeared so we just packed our things and left! I do not know what has happened there but the staff are very angry and hostile!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Coastal Man
Friends
North Carolina
Nov 7, 2012

Close...but yet so far

The Na Balam could be a five star hotel with a little creativity and better management. Here are the best parts: 1. Best beach on the island 2. The setting is close to perfect. 3. Crystal clear "ice blue" water...stunning. 4. Overall a good value despite it's deficiencies. 5. Resturant food is excellent but the service is slow so relax and have a drink while you wait. 6. Reasonably priced. Here are the bad parts: 1. Ongoing construction made for some minor noise and inconvenience. 2. We had friends/ family staying for the week and found quite a few room issues with little interest and effort to fix them...some minor, some major...such as fixing a door lock that was never fixed. 3. Simple requests were not met with any level of satisfaction. 4. The rooms are adequate but spartan so know this going in. No frig, hair dryer, TV, iron, lights over the mirror...you get the picture.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Skip the dolphin and turtle "vacation traps". Take advantage of the other water options. You definitely want to go on 1 or 2 snorkeing trips to see the plentiful and colorful fish. We enjoyed the underwater museum too. Take a fishing trip if you have time. There's a dive shop around the corner from the Na Balam and the boats are right next to the hotel. Very reasonably priced.

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling Professional
Friends
Brooklyn, NY
Nov 6, 2012

Great Location!

Perfect Location!! its like your in paradise! your right on the beach, which is just gorgeous. Awesome sandbars in the middle of the ocean so it looks like your walking on water. And the rooms were big and spacious. They also had all different types of rooms, some nicer/bigger then others. But all of them were clean and spacious which is all that mattered to me and my friend since we pretty much spent all our time outside of the room enjoying the island and beach.The only reason i gave it 3 stars instead of 5 is because of the staff, mainly the reception area, there was one nice receptionist (young with redish hair) but one of the receptionists was very unfriendly (an older woman). And in general the service is very slow (which might just be how it is in mexico) but it was annoying at times. If you ordered a drink it wasn't uncommon for it to come a half hr later, the same when you ordered food. And the free breakfast included was very misleading, they only give you coffee and a fruit plate, if you want more filling things like eggs you have to pay for it. Which wasn't expensive but when you hear "free breakfast included" you expect that to mean more then just fruit. So overall i did really enjoy my stay and would stay there again, but mainly based on the location and layout of the hotel, not for the service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Bargain! They start off with a high price but they def bargain with you, so don't let yourself be ripped off and end up spending the same you would in the U.S.

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Las Vegas, NV
May 21, 2012

Girls trip

Me and my friend fell in love with this beach 6 years ago and decided to come back and stay at Na Balam due to its location. We had a fabulous time, very relaxing. The beach is the best in Mexico! The room was very large and had alot of charm and the beds were comfortable. We loved the atmosphere of the hotel and its small size with only 33 guest rooms, and the restaurant is also very good. This resort is also very close to downtown Isla with great shopping and restaurants. We would for sure stay here again. The rooms do not have TV's or wi fi , but we did not miss it as we had plenty else to do. There is wi fi available in the lobby and restaurant area for your laptops or ipads if you cannot disconnect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The exchange rate when using the ATM is much better than any exchange rate at the airport or hotels, the ATM fees are low about $2 and they give you pesos. which when paying for food or shopping you always get a better price if paying in pesos vs dollars.

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lindajeank
Friends
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Mar 11, 2012

Enjoyed our stay

We spent one week at the NaBalam, and were satisfied for the money we spent. We had room 2, which was close to the front desk, close to the beach, and close the the bar/restaurant area. Some nights there was some noise from other guests going by, but by closing windows and turning on the air conditioner, we were not bothered by this. We enjoyed the healthy continental breakfast each day, but by the last day, we skipped it, since it was exactly the same each day. There was always the option to order from the menu, which some in our group did, and the food was good. We had lunch one day and dinner once, and were satisfied with both meals. Our shower head was leaky, but plenty of hot water. The ice machine could have made more ice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TonyC66
Friends
Palm City FL
Jan 31, 2012

Great spot!

Great spot, clean rooms. Staff was considerate ad helpful. Best, it is close to restaurants and the downtown area, but has an incredible, almost remote beach area with tons of amenities and a great bar at sunset. For the money, it is a tremendous value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Houston, TX
May 10, 2011

Great location, affordable rooms

Hotel staff was very helpful. Great food and great location. No frills (grass roof, no phone or television in room). I loved the laid back atmosphere and getaway from the everyday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a golf cart for an all day experience of the island. Petting the sharks was a great inexpensive experience.

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
to my best friens pettynelli,marttin,lcy
Friends
beutyfull southern california
Sep 10, 2010

hotel na balam beach-isla mujeres

the moss quait vacation ever just perfet we love it the jungla full filt in a best way,whit the most importan thin ther bery frenly peapole in the beutyful small town, isla mujeres we love you,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

holywood stay away please...

Back to menu Return to top