$114 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 19, 2014 Check-out: Sep 21, 2014

Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

3 stars
Calle Zazil ha No. 118 Playa norte, Isla Mujeres, 77400
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
51 reviews
Like Heaven!

Perfect location and great service from all the staff we encountered. Restaurant was fantastic,... See full review

  • Rachel666
  • Feb 10, 2014
the hotel has one of the best beaches in the area...and perhaps in the world!

I read the reviews about this hotel and I think they are quite accurate. The hotel has a beautiful... See full review

  • JMVelez
  • Jun 9, 2014
Beach front hotel with tropical gardens and hammocks under beautiful palm trees, nice and comfortable rooms with private terrace or balcony, amazing views, hammock.

Our 28 rooms come with a king size or two queen beds, a private terrace or balcony, amazing views (garden, pool, beachfront, ocean ), hammock, air conditioning and ceiling fans and in-room safety deposit boxes and 24 hours security protection.

Our 3 magnificent suites feature a king sized bed, Mayan-Modern decoration, air-conditioning, ceiling fans, a private patio and a small pool with hydro-massage with a stunning view of the inlet; beachfront with hammock ideal for honeymooners or anyone wishing a romantic and/or peaceful stay in a beautiful place.

Yoga classes and therapeutic massages are available to relax the body and soul at an extra cost.

In order not to disturb the tranquility, communications technology and internet are available close to the lobby for those who want to continue to be connected to the outside world.

Zazil Ha means clear water in Maya and is the main restaurant at Na Balam. A refuge of gastronomy where fresh and natural ingredients are chosen, simple or sophisticated dishes are served with care by the gentle hands of Mexican waiters.

Our dining at Zazil Ha features Traditional Mexican Recipes with our own twist of International Cuisine; it is considered one of the best on the island; dinning here is an experience you will always remember

Every corner at Na Balam cultivates the spirit, takes care of the body and nurtures the soul.

Isla Mujeres is the perfect place for all ages, located only 20 minutes by boat from Cancun, the island is only 5 miles long and mile wide, in the colorful downtown area you will find interesting restaurants, gift shops and other activities that you can enjoy: Bicycle riding, yoga, scuba diving, snorkeling, kayak, fishing, golf cars riding and visiting the turtle farm, you can also swim with the dolphins and sharks, or get a relaxing massage.

Hotel Amenities
-Bar/Lounge ($)
-Currency Exchange
-Doctor on Call ($)
-Pool
-Private Beach
-Yoga Lessons ($)
-Meeting/Banquet Facilities ($)
-Restaurant ($)
-Safe Deposit Box
-Spa services ($)
-Wireless Internet ONLY IN LOBBY

Hotel Map

21.262 -86.7492
Area served
Isla Mujeres.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport.
Area description
Na Balam is on one of the most beautiful beaches of the Caribbean. Playa Norte (North Beach), a natural treasure, is the perfect place to have a sunbath, practice a water sport or admire the surroundings.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres Rooms

Oceanfront with Private pool, Terrace, Hammock 400 Sq.Ft - 1 king bed
Deluxe suite offers 1 king bed oceanfront, along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, private pool, Bathroom amenities, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer upon request, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Room service and Safe in room.
Pool View Room 400 Sq.Ft with Terrace, Hammock - 2 double beds or 1 king bed
Pool view room offers one king bed or two double beds along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer upon request, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Room service and Safe in room.
Beachfront 400 Sq.Ft with Terrace, Hammock - 2 queen beds or 1 king bed
Beachfront offers one king bed or two double beds along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer upon request, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Room service and Safe in room.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Zazil Ha Restaurant
This restaurant offers the best of the Mayan cuisine in a private and warm ambiance. It also, combines regional ingredients with International cooking techniques, creating the exquisite original dishes that have gained it fame. Open from 11:00 am to 11:00 pm.
Beach Bar
Have a cold beer, a tropical cocktail or your favorite snacks at the beach bar without having to get away from the sun, sand and the sea. Open from 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Snack Bar
with your favorite cocktail at at our snack bar while enjoying a stunning Caribbean Sea view. Open from 11:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (51)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 51
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gina Crowell
Sioux Falls, SD
Dec 27, 2010

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL

Yoga: "Free Yoga" portion of contract not honored. In order to take the amount of yoga classes I was planning on, I would have had to pay an additional $300. When I was emailing back and forth before my trip, and mentioned my free yoga package numerous times, I was NOT informed by staff at Na Balam that they would not be honoring my package contract. Upon arrival, I was told that they could offer me a 50% discount-this would be the same as the "50% local's discount" printed on the yoga class brochure. The entire reason I chose Na Balam, after researching my FIRST international trip for over six months, was the free yoga portion of the stay. I would appreciate a refund in the amount of $300. In addition, my "neighbors" and three other visitors to the hotel were refused their packages as well. [...] At no point was an apology offered.Housekeeping: Housekeepers let themselves in when "Do not disturb" was hung. Dirt in the closets. Cups not emptied or replaced. The room was absolutely filthy. Hair and bobby pins were strewn about the bathroom facilities, and were not cleaned up during our stay. Additionally, our broken screen door was not fixed upon request or by notice of the staff during our stay.Beach: No umbrellas or bar as promised.Spa: American pricing; poor service.Restaurant: After horrid service and sub-par food, the waiter poked his finger at my tab, saying, "Tip? Tip?". Disgusting.Dog fights/animal farm?: Every night we were treated to the sounds of five dogs fighting, sometimes with an encore of the loser crying…for hours. The hotel manager, [...], and the bartender, seemed to keep their pack of dogs behind the desk…until the fight started each evening and the entire staff rushed to separate them, telling guests that gathered in curiosity, fear, and disgust, that, "Everything is fine".Water: Hot water not available.Telephone: Refused access to a phone upon request.Noise: No sleep! The hotel next door provided a lovely techno thump from nine pm to three every night. Ridiculous.Local fauna: Our room came with two large iguanas and a demented bird that would NOT stop trying to get into our room-for a week.In sum, had the hotel not promised me free yoga, I never would have gone there. Had I not wanted yoga, I would have probably been happy with my lodging-the hut details were very Mayan and the entire facility was rustic. In no way was this a four, three, or even two star facility, however, and the lack of honoring contracts or simple guest respect was simply appalling. I will make sure to tell my friends to stay away from[...] Na Balam!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

Food is disgusting and overpriced; staff will ignore you until you try to leave without tipping them; then you will be bombarded with attention.

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ibfinetwo
New York
Feb 21, 2010

Na Balam is well past it's prime

The hotel has a a lovely beach, a nice restaurant, (pricey) and offers a yoga class each day. Other than that, there's nothing good to say. There were no standard amentities in the room like TV,radio hairdryer or phone. The shower was weak and the sink had little hot water. The safe was broken and was repaired while we were there. The furniture was warn.The beds were in need of replacement. The staff was pleasant enough. Unfortunately the weather was lousy and there was absolutely nothing to do. It would have been nice if the hotel had a supply of board games. Wi-fi is only available in the lobby area, which was laden with mosquitoes. Overall it was a big disappointment and certainly not worth the price. I could never recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Book any side trips once you get to your destination. We booked aside trip through [...] and it was expensive and unuseable. The side trip to Tulum originated in Cancun and we were in Isla Mujeres. Additionally the hotel transfers we purchased through [...] would only take us to a hotel in Cancun, not where we needed to go.

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle
Jul 22, 2010

Na Balm

We were not able to get into our room until 6PM and we were only staying one night. Very annoying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
wkentf
Burley, Idaho
Jan 6, 2010

Good location, iffy service

Beautiful, relatively quiet location on northeast end of Isla Mujeres. Rooms are large and clean (occasional bug or lizard, but this is Mexico). Restaurant on premises is good - one of best on island. Problems: we booked an ocean front room for several nights starting New Years Eve. When we checked in, we were told room not available due to "plumbing problems" and were moved across the street to "pool side" room. Became obvious they had overbooked and they did move us into our ocean side room the next day and threw in a breakfast for each of us. Only gave us one key for 3 adults - when asked for additional keys, keys provided (on several different occasions) did not work. No hot water one day. Just more hassles than one would want considering that you are paying a premium to be there New Years weekend. In general staff was courteous but not particularly friendly and repeatedly said they would do things that they did not follow up on. Would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything in town easy to walk to. Very eclectic group of restaurants, coffee shops and bars. Dining on the main pedestrian walkway (Hildago) is generally pricey and mediocre. Some of better and more reasonable restaurants are found on side streets paralleling and perpendicular to Hildago. Olivia is almost universally recommended if you like Mediterranean food.

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tan2
Michigan
Jul 7, 2010

Relax....

We were looking for some relaxation and we got it FOR SURE at this resort. Very quiet, no TV, Radio or Phone and we didn't even notice for 2-days. Bring a blow-dryer as they are limited to 1 to share between all the rooms. Amenities are VERY limited, including replenishing toiletries and water, daily. Learn your Pesos as it is much easier to pay for things. All in all not a bad retreat for 2-over busy people :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Stick to the main street (Hidalgo)for fun. Be sure to visit the Church and supermarket area at night lots of Local fun to experience. July 4th and 5th were "DRY" days...meaning no DRINKS unless you are eating or at your resort.

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Island travelers
Maryland, USA
Dec 1, 2011

Good and Bad

We didn't expect a perfect Oceanview for the price paid but did expect to be given a room in working order. Was told no rooms left at checkin except ours (typical line) but when we waited until checkin time the people that were suppose to check out decided to stay and all of a sudden a room was found!!! So we tried getting in, first the door was broke, metal could have cut you bad, then the shower didn't work, took 2 maintenance men different shower heads to fix, beds VERY hard but location great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Fresh fish meals daily for less than $7.00 down by where the ferry comes in, great deal and real island feel, can't get any better.

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lindajeank
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Mar 11, 2012

Enjoyed our stay

We spent one week at the NaBalam, and were satisfied for the money we spent. We had room 2, which was close to the front desk, close to the beach, and close the the bar/restaurant area. Some nights there was some noise from other guests going by, but by closing windows and turning on the air conditioner, we were not bothered by this. We enjoyed the healthy continental breakfast each day, but by the last day, we skipped it, since it was exactly the same each day. There was always the option to order from the menu, which some in our group did, and the food was good. We had lunch one day and dinner once, and were satisfied with both meals. Our shower head was leaky, but plenty of hot water. The ice machine could have made more ice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling Professional
Brooklyn, NY
Nov 6, 2012

Great Location!

Perfect Location!! its like your in paradise! your right on the beach, which is just gorgeous. Awesome sandbars in the middle of the ocean so it looks like your walking on water. And the rooms were big and spacious. They also had all different types of rooms, some nicer/bigger then others. But all of them were clean and spacious which is all that mattered to me and my friend since we pretty much spent all our time outside of the room enjoying the island and beach.The only reason i gave it 3 stars instead of 5 is because of the staff, mainly the reception area, there was one nice receptionist (young with redish hair) but one of the receptionists was very unfriendly (an older woman). And in general the service is very slow (which might just be how it is in mexico) but it was annoying at times. If you ordered a drink it wasn't uncommon for it to come a half hr later, the same when you ordered food. And the free breakfast included was very misleading, they only give you coffee and a fruit plate, if you want more filling things like eggs you have to pay for it. Which wasn't expensive but when you hear "free breakfast included" you expect that to mean more then just fruit. So overall i did really enjoy my stay and would stay there again, but mainly based on the location and layout of the hotel, not for the service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Bargain! They start off with a high price but they def bargain with you, so don't let yourself be ripped off and end up spending the same you would in the U.S.

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Coastal Man
North Carolina
Nov 7, 2012

Close...but yet so far

The Na Balam could be a five star hotel with a little creativity and better management. Here are the best parts: 1. Best beach on the island 2. The setting is close to perfect. 3. Crystal clear "ice blue" water...stunning. 4. Overall a good value despite it's deficiencies. 5. Resturant food is excellent but the service is slow so relax and have a drink while you wait. 6. Reasonably priced. Here are the bad parts: 1. Ongoing construction made for some minor noise and inconvenience. 2. We had friends/ family staying for the week and found quite a few room issues with little interest and effort to fix them...some minor, some major...such as fixing a door lock that was never fixed. 3. Simple requests were not met with any level of satisfaction. 4. The rooms are adequate but spartan so know this going in. No frig, hair dryer, TV, iron, lights over the mirror...you get the picture.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Skip the dolphin and turtle "vacation traps". Take advantage of the other water options. You definitely want to go on 1 or 2 snorkeing trips to see the plentiful and colorful fish. We enjoyed the underwater museum too. Take a fishing trip if you have time. There's a dive shop around the corner from the Na Balam and the boats are right next to the hotel. Very reasonably priced.

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cindy.saunders703
Olympia, WA
Jun 2, 2011

Na Balam May 2011

This was our second trip to Isla Mujeres, this time without the kids. It was a great trip. Na Balam was the perfect accommodation for us, it was clean and comfortable. We stayed poolside, and the area was beautiful and so quiet. We loved having access to the beach, it was our favorite spot to off shore snorkel, relax. It was so close to the restaurants and shopping. We would definitely consider another stay at Na Balam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search