$158 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 15, 2014

Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

3 stars
Calle Zazil ha No. 118 Playa norte, Isla Mujeres, 77400
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
66 reviews
the hotel has one of the best beaches in the area...and perhaps in the world!

I read the reviews about this hotel and I think they are quite accurate. The hotel has a beautiful... See full review

  • JMVelez
  • Jun 9, 2014
Good Spot

Very Quiet and secluded beach getaway wefedgwegtwetgretetwerrttert See full review

  • ttabit33
  • Dec 29, 2013
Peaceful, intimate beachfront Isla Mujeres retreat with yoga bent

The Hotel Na Balam Beach on the island of Isla Mujeres has just 33 tranquil, Mayan-inspired rooms set amid tropical flora. The hotel offers yoga and therapeutic massages aimed at rejuvenating the body and mind. Not far from Occidental de Isla Mujeres National Park and the Garrafon Natural Reef Park, the hotel has a private beach, outdoor pool, club for children, restaurants and a marina. All guest rooms have ocean or garden views with balconies or terraces. Business services and meeting facilities are available for small groups.

Highlights
  • Modern, Mayan-inspired rooms enveloped in tropical foliage with balconies or terraces overlooking the ocean or grounds
  • Restaurant serving globally inspired, Mayan vegetarian cuisine
  • Yoga classes and therapeutic massages at Hotel Na Balam Beach

 

Rooms

The 33 tranquil rooms and suites at the Hotel Na Balam Beach are accessed by an outside corridor and are informed by Mayan design with one king or two double beds and private balconies or terraces overlooking the verdant grounds or turquoise waters. All guest rooms are soundproofed and have air-conditioning, in-room safes and desks as well as bathrooms with showers, makeup/shaving mirrors and complimentary toiletries. Three gracious suites at the Hotel Na Balam Beach have one king bed and plunge pools with hydro-massage overlooking the inlet.

Features

The quiet, boutique, ocean-side property offers yoga classes, a swimming pool as well as guest rooms with balconies or terraces with views. A seaside snack bar set beneath a thatched-roof palapa serves granola, house-made rolls and natural fruit juices. The full-service Zazil Ha has a vegetarian menu informed by Mayan cooking traditions and eclectic cuisines. A boutique at Hotel Na Balam Beach sells local handicrafts. Guests can arrange water activities -- such as swimming with dolphins or snorkeling and diving excursions -- through sister property Casa Sandra. The Hotel Na Balam Beach also offers a club for children. Guests can opt to arrange tarot readings or play board games. Complimentary high-speed and wireless Internet service is available near the lobby.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (17.5 mi/28.2 km, in addition to a 20-minute ferry ride)
Attractions
  • Carey Dive Center (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Costa Occidental de Isla Mujeres National Park (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Garrafon Natural Reef Park (4.6 mi/7.5 km)

 

Business
  • Meeting rooms for small groups
  • Business center

Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres Rooms

Oceanfront with Private pool, Terrace, Hammock 400 Sq.Ft - 1 king bed
Deluxe suite offers 1 king bed oceanfront, along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, private pool, Bathroom amenities, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer upon request, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Room service and Safe in room.
Pool View Room 400 Sq.Ft with Terrace, Hammock - 2 double beds or 1 king bed
Pool view room offers one king bed or two double beds along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer upon request, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Room service and Safe in room.
Beachfront 400 Sq.Ft with Terrace, Hammock - 2 queen beds or 1 king bed
Beachfront offers one king bed or two double beds along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer upon request, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Room service and Safe in room.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.262 -86.7492
Area served
Isla Mujeres.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport.
Area description
Na Balam is on one of the most beautiful beaches of the Caribbean. Playa Norte (North Beach), a natural treasure, is the perfect place to have a sunbath, practice a water sport or admire the surroundings.

Dining

Zazil Ha Restaurant
This restaurant offers the best of the Mayan cuisine in a private and warm ambiance. It also, combines regional ingredients with International cooking techniques, creating the exquisite original dishes that have gained it fame. Open from 11:00 am to 11:00 pm.
Beach Bar
Have a cold beer, a tropical cocktail or your favorite snacks at the beach bar without having to get away from the sun, sand and the sea. Open from 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Snack Bar
with your favorite cocktail at at our snack bar while enjoying a stunning Caribbean Sea view. Open from 11:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (66)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TonyC66
Palm City FL
Jan 31, 2012

Great spot!

Great spot, clean rooms. Staff was considerate ad helpful. Best, it is close to restaurants and the downtown area, but has an incredible, almost remote beach area with tons of amenities and a great bar at sunset. For the money, it is a tremendous value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cindy.saunders703
Olympia, WA
Jun 2, 2011

Na Balam May 2011

This was our second trip to Isla Mujeres, this time without the kids. It was a great trip. Na Balam was the perfect accommodation for us, it was clean and comfortable. We stayed poolside, and the area was beautiful and so quiet. We loved having access to the beach, it was our favorite spot to off shore snorkel, relax. It was so close to the restaurants and shopping. We would definitely consider another stay at Na Balam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
May 10, 2011

Great location, affordable rooms

Hotel staff was very helpful. Great food and great location. No frills (grass roof, no phone or television in room). I loved the laid back atmosphere and getaway from the everyday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a golf cart for an all day experience of the island. Petting the sharks was a great inexpensive experience.

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
May 10, 2011

Great location, affordable rooms

Hotel staff was very helpful. Great food and great location. No frills (grass roof, no phone or television in room). I loved the laid back atmosphere and getaway from the everyday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a golf cart for an all day experience of the island. Petting the sharks was a great inexpensive experience.

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
isla de mujeres, mexico
Mar 8, 2011

Isla de mujeres

the hotel's location was perfect for exploring the island. it provided a getaway from the center but was close enough to walk everywhere and back to the hotel without a problem. Everything was within distance and the staff was very attentive. Only down side was the food at the hotel was not very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The main street is close by, only a few minutes to walk there. restaurants close early but the best food is found on the outskirts of the main street. Explore those restaurants for better and cheaper foods.

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
isla de mujeres, mexico
Mar 8, 2011

Isla de mujeres

the hotel's location was perfect for exploring the island. it provided a getaway from the center but was close enough to walk everywhere and back to the hotel without a problem. Everything was within distance and the staff was very attentive. Only down side was the food at the hotel was not very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The main street is close by, only a few minutes to walk there. restaurants close early but the best food is found on the outskirts of the main street. Explore those restaurants for better and cheaper foods.

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gina Crowell
Sioux Falls, SD
Dec 27, 2010

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL

Yoga: "Free Yoga" portion of contract not honored. In order to take the amount of yoga classes I was planning on, I would have had to pay an additional $300. When I was emailing back and forth before my trip, and mentioned my free yoga package numerous times, I was NOT informed by staff at Na Balam that they would not be honoring my package contract. Upon arrival, I was told that they could offer me a 50% discount-this would be the same as the "50% local's discount" printed on the yoga class brochure. The entire reason I chose Na Balam, after researching my FIRST international trip for over six months, was the free yoga portion of the stay. I would appreciate a refund in the amount of $300. In addition, my "neighbors" and three other visitors to the hotel were refused their packages as well. [...] At no point was an apology offered.Housekeeping: Housekeepers let themselves in when "Do not disturb" was hung. Dirt in the closets. Cups not emptied or replaced. The room was absolutely filthy. Hair and bobby pins were strewn about the bathroom facilities, and were not cleaned up during our stay. Additionally, our broken screen door was not fixed upon request or by notice of the staff during our stay.Beach: No umbrellas or bar as promised.Spa: American pricing; poor service.Restaurant: After horrid service and sub-par food, the waiter poked his finger at my tab, saying, "Tip? Tip?". Disgusting.Dog fights/animal farm?: Every night we were treated to the sounds of five dogs fighting, sometimes with an encore of the loser crying…for hours. The hotel manager, [...], and the bartender, seemed to keep their pack of dogs behind the desk…until the fight started each evening and the entire staff rushed to separate them, telling guests that gathered in curiosity, fear, and disgust, that, "Everything is fine".Water: Hot water not available.Telephone: Refused access to a phone upon request.Noise: No sleep! The hotel next door provided a lovely techno thump from nine pm to three every night. Ridiculous.Local fauna: Our room came with two large iguanas and a demented bird that would NOT stop trying to get into our room-for a week.In sum, had the hotel not promised me free yoga, I never would have gone there. Had I not wanted yoga, I would have probably been happy with my lodging-the hut details were very Mayan and the entire facility was rustic. In no way was this a four, three, or even two star facility, however, and the lack of honoring contracts or simple guest respect was simply appalling. I will make sure to tell my friends to stay away from[...] Na Balam!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

Food is disgusting and overpriced; staff will ignore you until you try to leave without tipping them; then you will be bombarded with attention.

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gina Crowell
Sioux Falls, SD
Dec 27, 2010

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL

Yoga: "Free Yoga" portion of contract not honored. In order to take the amount of yoga classes I was planning on, I would have had to pay an additional $300. When I was emailing back and forth before my trip, and mentioned my free yoga package numerous times, I was NOT informed by staff at Na Balam that they would not be honoring my package contract. Upon arrival, I was told that they could offer me a 50% discount-this would be the same as the "50% local's discount" printed on the yoga class brochure. The entire reason I chose Na Balam, after researching my FIRST international trip for over six months, was the free yoga portion of the stay. I would appreciate a refund in the amount of $300. In addition, my "neighbors" and three other visitors to the hotel were refused their packages as well. [...] At no point was an apology offered.Housekeeping: Housekeepers let themselves in when "Do not disturb" was hung. Dirt in the closets. Cups not emptied or replaced. The room was absolutely filthy. Hair and bobby pins were strewn about the bathroom facilities, and were not cleaned up during our stay. Additionally, our broken screen door was not fixed upon request or by notice of the staff during our stay.Beach: No umbrellas or bar as promised.Spa: American pricing; poor service.Restaurant: After horrid service and sub-par food, the waiter poked his finger at my tab, saying, "Tip? Tip?". Disgusting.Dog fights/animal farm?: Every night we were treated to the sounds of five dogs fighting, sometimes with an encore of the loser crying…for hours. The hotel manager, [...], and the bartender, seemed to keep their pack of dogs behind the desk…until the fight started each evening and the entire staff rushed to separate them, telling guests that gathered in curiosity, fear, and disgust, that, "Everything is fine".Water: Hot water not available.Telephone: Refused access to a phone upon request.Noise: No sleep! The hotel next door provided a lovely techno thump from nine pm to three every night. Ridiculous.Local fauna: Our room came with two large iguanas and a demented bird that would NOT stop trying to get into our room-for a week.In sum, had the hotel not promised me free yoga, I never would have gone there. Had I not wanted yoga, I would have probably been happy with my lodging-the hut details were very Mayan and the entire facility was rustic. In no way was this a four, three, or even two star facility, however, and the lack of honoring contracts or simple guest respect was simply appalling. I will make sure to tell my friends to stay away from[...] Na Balam!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

Food is disgusting and overpriced; staff will ignore you until you try to leave without tipping them; then you will be bombarded with attention.

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Midwest
Dec 14, 2010

Na Balam Isla Mujeres, Mexico

Na Balam was want we have experienced before in a tropical hotel. Beautiful grounds but noisy construction near our oceanfront room. Very clean premises and pleasant hotel and bar staff. Beds are very hard and not very comfortable. Restaurant for evening service was clueless. We left for another restaurant in town. Enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Olivia's had good food, good service and great ambiance.

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Midwest
Dec 14, 2010

Na Balam Isla Mujeres, Mexico

Na Balam was want we have experienced before in a tropical hotel. Beautiful grounds but noisy construction near our oceanfront room. Very clean premises and pleasant hotel and bar staff. Beds are very hard and not very comfortable. Restaurant for evening service was clueless. We left for another restaurant in town. Enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Olivia's had good food, good service and great ambiance.

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ulle
nyc
Nov 26, 2010

A Jungle Atmosphere

Hotel Na Balam on Isla Mujeres provides the right location and atmosphere for those wishing to escape big city life. You enter the compound through a stone Mayan-style portal which is flanked at night by burning torches. The buildings are two story, with thatched roofs and hewn-log stairs leading to rustic wooden balconies. All rooms have hammocks and seating outside. There are several pool area buildings each of which seem to have only four units allowing for corner rooms that contain two windows and a large sliding door. In contrast to the abundance of lush foliage outside, the interiors are minimalist white: linens, muslin drapes, platform beds, large couch, and hint of a modern take on Mayan design. They seem to be newly-renovated. My room reminded me of being inside a gallery and viewing a Rousseau jungle painting framed by each window. The room was spacious with two queen beds and a large couch; it could have slept five. The whiteness was contrasted with a dark wood mirror, drapery rods,dresser and sconces. An ornate dark wood carving of a Mayan shaman adorned one wall. I thought the design was well-thought out. There is no phone or TV and you need to bring a hairdryer, if necessary. The beach, Playa Norte, is a two-minute walk. The beach is scenic but the water is very shallow and if you really like to swim, go to the public beach, a fifteen minute walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Avenida Hidalgo is a pedestrian-only shopping and dining street about a 10 minute walk away. Most of the restaurants and stores open after lunch or in the evening. There is a choice of Italian, Mexican, Argentinian, Cuban restaurants. But my favorite was Bally Hoo, on the water just north of the ferry terminal. The food was good and the view, especially of the sunset, was wonderful.

Back to menu Return to top