Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres ★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$181
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 9, 2016 Check-out: Feb 10, 2016

Not bad, not great

Would recommend Sun, Sep 14, 2014
This was our second stay at Na Balam, overall the experience was fine. They didn't honor our request 3 month prior to arrival to have a king bed room with mattress on the floor for our kids. They took our balcony chairs while a production company was shooting a commercial on the beach (only one day) The restaurant staff was usually friendly, however the day before the shooting they were very busy and didn't seem to care about their guests.

Dining

Olivia has the best food in the Island, and the Chicken spot next to Rooster cafe on the main street has the BEST roasted chicken ever!

| Brooklyn, NY Family

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Perfect location but only specific rooms

Would recommend Sun, Aug 31, 2014
The hotel is in an unprecedented location. Right on the best beach of the island. Everyone else on the island tries to get to this beach and staying here juat feels great. However, the rooms which aren't ocean view are not so good. They are not sealed and if you're a little bit sensitive to mosquitoes this may be a problem.

| Israel Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

We left!!!

Would not recommend Fri, Aug 29, 2014
The hotel is beautiful and so are it's surroundings. Unfortunately, the staff were so rude and hostile that we checked out and asked for our money back. They made us feel very uncomfortable. When we first arrived, exhausted after a day travelling and getting lost on our way to the hotel, the man that checked us in gave us our room key and pointed in the rooms general location. It was across a road and it was 11 o'clock at night. No one offered help with out bags. After 10 minutes of wondering around the pool staring at each patio door looking for a room number, I had to go back to reception and ask for someone to show us to our room. This was obviously a massive inconvenience as it took him 10 minutes of tidying the reception desk for him to lead us in the right direction. We had booked the room for 3 people and only had 2 towels and 2 bottles of water. I spoke to reception about this and we were allowed another towel but not an extra bottle of water! We would sit in the restaurant for about 20 minutes whilst the 5 members of staff would chat. Very awkward as we didn't know whether to say something or not as perhaps they hadn't seen us. This was obviously not the case as their attitude was awful when they did eventually take our order. We had opted for the continental breakfast, which we were told as soon as we were given menus, does not include a tip. We were given cold coffee, 4 bits of fruit and 4 pieces of tiny toast between 3 people. If you dared ask for more toast they would make sure it took half an hour to reach you. Then we made the mistake of ordering nachos with guacamole. The waiter told us guacamole will be 5 extra. We said that was fine. Then he brought the nachos with no guacamole. So we waited, then asked again. Then he came back over and told us we can't have guacamole because it's extra. We explained that this wasn't a problem. He then brought it out half an hour after the nachos were finished. He became quite angry and cleared the rest of the plates away which we were still eating. We attempted to go back to the restaurant for dinner and were refused entry as they would no longer accept card. We finally decided to speak to the hotel manager. This was very hard as we were questioned by 3 members of staff as to why. We politely explained to the manager why we did not feel comfortable staying there any longer. He said "What do you want me to do about it?" He wasn't exactly rude but he looked and acted like he had just given up. He told us we couldn't have the rest of our stay refunded as it was up to the travel company. I then asked if we could call them. They took the number from me and then bluntly stated that the number 'doesn't exist'. I asked to use their phone, which came up with a list of previously dialled numbers and showed that she had never called that number. The travel company were brilliant and apologised even though it wasn't their fault. They then spoke to the hotel manager and arranged a refund for us. We then tried to check out but all of the staff had disappeared so we just packed our things and left! I do not know what has happened there but the staff are very angry and hostile!

| London Friends

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

the hotel has one of the best beaches in the area...and perhaps in the world!

Would recommend Mon, Jun 9, 2014
I read the reviews about this hotel and I think they are quite accurate. The hotel has a beautiful white sand beach! (and very clean). It is like a big swimming pool. Just amazing!!! However, the big downside of the hotel is the service/staff. I don't know why people are soooo uninformed about anything you may ask (taxi fees, main park in the island opening hours, etc.). Also, in the beach I had to put the sun umbrella on my own (seriously?). If I were the owner I would put emphasis in customer service! Other than that...the pool is small and the rooms (at least ours) smell like humidity (this is perhaps due to the local weather...not sure! But in other hotels in Cancun it doesn't smell like this). The room has NO tv nor internet connection. Overall I think it is a good value for your money.

Dining

Go to get cheap food from the restaurants in the main street. They usually have good deals with tacos and beer.

| Sabinas, Coahuila Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Good Spot

Would recommend Sun, Dec 29, 2013
Very Quiet and secluded beach getaway wefedgwegtwetgretetwerrttert

Nightlife hint

Hidalgo Street also many other places/ Short Ferry ride from Cancun- 45 min total etc et ctetc etc

| chicago Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Great way to experience this Island!

Would recommend Sat, Oct 12, 2013
We've been to this hotel many times in the past and keep coming back. They've improved the restaurant and the grounds since our last visit as well as the beds...the old beds were too hard, the new mattresses are much better. You really can't beat the location right on one of the most beautiful beaches you'll ever see. The area in town with all of the shops and restaurants is within easy walking distance and if you explore the side streets you'll find many great low cost restaurants frequented by the locals as well as the more adventurous visitors. Overall a good value with just the right amenities situated in one of the best locations on the island!

| Calgary, Alberta Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Wonderful stay at Na Balam

Would recommend Wed, Aug 28, 2013
We had read several negative reviews of Na Balam before our trip and am very glad to report that we did not find any situation that was anything like the reviews. From the airport and ferry transportation arranged by the hotel, to the room to the restaurant, we were very pleased and impressed. We had a pool side room with a small balcony and it was utterly charming. The room itself was about 600 square feet, very spacious. It had a thatch roof and high ceiling with a super a/c unit. The pool and hot tub were literally outside of our room. The beach in front of the hotel was the most beautiful on the island. Many tour boats came and put swimmers in the water off-shore. We ate breakfast in the restaurant each morning and everything was absolutely fresh and delicious. On the weekend live music was fun and entertaining. The yoga room was nearby and we could hear the gong but did not take advantage of the lessons! If we return to Isla Mujeres we will stay again at Na Balam.

| Florida Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Very good experience

Would recommend Wed, Jun 26, 2013
After reading some previous reviews of this hotel, we were ready for a less than welcoming hotel staff. This was not the case. The front desk staff was friendly and very helpful with any request we made of them. Our room was pool-side and it had a lovely balcony with comfortable chairs for enjoying cocktail hour. The room was quite large., larger than any we have stayed in, about 600 square feet. The beds were harder than home, but that was expected. The beach area was beautiful and was the best swimming on the island. The onsite bars offered good drinks and delicious appetizers. There was live entertainment all weekend long and we enjoyed the local music immensely. We had a continental breakfast included in our rate and it was wonderful as well. If we return to Isla Mujeres, we will return to Na Balam.

Dining

Do walk along Hidalgo Street and stop at the various eateries and look at the menus. Prices vary greatly and so does the quality of the meals.

| Florida Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Nice trip in paradise, but not without hiccups

Would recommend Sun, Nov 11, 2012
The location has to be the best on Isla Mujeres. It is a short walk from the main strip, but at this location there are many palm trees and it is very private. The restaurant Zazil-Ha makes excellent food and is open late so you can relax on the beach enjoying your food/drinks. The wait staff is friendly, but like most of this area the service is slow for food although worth it. We had some issues with connecting calls and getting help at the front desk/reception. Some of the staff was not as approachable and did not freely offer advice about things such as directions or where to rent a scooter etc. Also it was a hassle to arrange with the hotel for pickup in cancun for our pre-paid voucher back to the airport. When our flight was canceled we stayed at a different hotel nearby and the front desk was far more acommodating and helpful. Other than the reception our room was fair (plunge pool was not worth it though). We had our wedding there and although the ceremony went well it was a bit disorganized as to how to run everything (they demanded payment in cash (USD that is)) for our photographer, minister, and music rental etc. which was hard to get that much money last minute. We did get this sorted finally. Though there were some frustrations regarding this I would stay there again hoping that they can sort these issues because they really do have the best beach on the Playa Norte.

Entertainment hint

Go to the Sea Hawk divers down the street from Na Balam. They were very helpful/friendly and we had a blast snorkeling with them! Also Jax (though it is owned by an american couple from texas) was a good place to see NFL games. Amigos on Hidalgo and Olivias were excellent places to eat.

| Brooklyn, NY Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Close...but yet so far

Would recommend Wed, Nov 7, 2012
The Na Balam could be a five star hotel with a little creativity and better management. Here are the best parts: 1. Best beach on the island 2. The setting is close to perfect. 3. Crystal clear "ice blue" water...stunning. 4. Overall a good value despite it's deficiencies. 5. Resturant food is excellent but the service is slow so relax and have a drink while you wait. 6. Reasonably priced. Here are the bad parts: 1. Ongoing construction made for some minor noise and inconvenience. 2. We had friends/ family staying for the week and found quite a few room issues with little interest and effort to fix them...some minor, some major...such as fixing a door lock that was never fixed. 3. Simple requests were not met with any level of satisfaction. 4. The rooms are adequate but spartan so know this going in. No frig, hair dryer, TV, iron, lights over the mirror...you get the picture.

Attractions

Skip the dolphin and turtle "vacation traps". Take advantage of the other water options. You definitely want to go on 1 or 2 snorkeing trips to see the plentiful and colorful fish. We enjoyed the underwater museum too. Take a fishing trip if you have time. There's a dive shop around the corner from the Na Balam and the boats are right next to the hotel. Very reasonably priced.

| North Carolina Friends

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5