$140 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 27, 2015 Check-out: Jun 28, 2015

Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

3 stars
View map of Calle Zazil ha No. 118 Playa norte, Isla Mujeres, 77400

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 59
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TonyC66
Palm City FL
Jan 31, 2012

Great spot!

Great spot, clean rooms. Staff was considerate ad helpful. Best, it is close to restaurants and the downtown area, but has an incredible, almost remote beach area with tons of amenities and a great bar at sunset. For the money, it is a tremendous value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sofi2222
Business
London
Aug 29, 2014

We left!!!

The hotel is beautiful and so are it's surroundings. Unfortunately, the staff were so rude and hostile that we checked out and asked for our money back. They made us feel very uncomfortable. When we first arrived, exhausted after a day travelling and getting lost on our way to the hotel, the man that checked us in gave us our room key and pointed in the rooms general location. It was across a road and it was 11 o'clock at night. No one offered help with out bags. After 10 minutes of wondering around the pool staring at each patio door looking for a room number, I had to go back to reception and ask for someone to show us to our room. This was obviously a massive inconvenience as it took him 10 minutes of tidying the reception desk for him to lead us in the right direction. We had booked the room for 3 people and only had 2 towels and 2 bottles of water. I spoke to reception about this and we were allowed another towel but not an extra bottle of water! We would sit in the restaurant for about 20 minutes whilst the 5 members of staff would chat. Very awkward as we didn't know whether to say something or not as perhaps they hadn't seen us. This was obviously not the case as their attitude was awful when they did eventually take our order. We had opted for the continental breakfast, which we were told as soon as we were given menus, does not include a tip. We were given cold coffee, 4 bits of fruit and 4 pieces of tiny toast between 3 people. If you dared ask for more toast they would make sure it took half an hour to reach you. Then we made the mistake of ordering nachos with guacamole. The waiter told us guacamole will be 5 extra. We said that was fine. Then he brought the nachos with no guacamole. So we waited, then asked again. Then he came back over and told us we can't have guacamole because it's extra. We explained that this wasn't a problem. He then brought it out half an hour after the nachos were finished. He became quite angry and cleared the rest of the plates away which we were still eating. We attempted to go back to the restaurant for dinner and were refused entry as they would no longer accept card. We finally decided to speak to the hotel manager. This was very hard as we were questioned by 3 members of staff as to why. We politely explained to the manager why we did not feel comfortable staying there any longer. He said "What do you want me to do about it?" He wasn't exactly rude but he looked and acted like he had just given up. He told us we couldn't have the rest of our stay refunded as it was up to the travel company. I then asked if we could call them. They took the number from me and then bluntly stated that the number 'doesn't exist'. I asked to use their phone, which came up with a list of previously dialled numbers and showed that she had never called that number. The travel company were brilliant and apologised even though it wasn't their fault. They then spoke to the hotel manager and arranged a refund for us. We then tried to check out but all of the staff had disappeared so we just packed our things and left! I do not know what has happened there but the staff are very angry and hostile!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JMVelez
Business
Sabinas, Coahuila
Jun 9, 2014

the hotel has one of the best beaches in the area...and perhaps in the world!

I read the reviews about this hotel and I think they are quite accurate. The hotel has a beautiful white sand beach! (and very clean). It is like a big swimming pool. Just amazing!!! However, the big downside of the hotel is the service/staff. I don't know why people are soooo uninformed about anything you may ask (taxi fees, main park in the island opening hours, etc.). Also, in the beach I had to put the sun umbrella on my own (seriously?). If I were the owner I would put emphasis in customer service! Other than that...the pool is small and the rooms (at least ours) smell like humidity (this is perhaps due to the local weather...not sure! But in other hotels in Cancun it doesn't smell like this). The room has NO tv nor internet connection. Overall I think it is a good value for your money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to get cheap food from the restaurants in the main street. They usually have good deals with tacos and beer.

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ttabit33
Business
chicago
Dec 29, 2013

Good Spot

Very Quiet and secluded beach getaway wefedgwegtwetgretetwerrttert

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Hidalgo Street also many other places/ Short Ferry ride from Cancun- 45 min total etc et ctetc etc

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Neil and Anita
Business
Calgary, Alberta
Oct 12, 2013

Great way to experience this Island!

We've been to this hotel many times in the past and keep coming back. They've improved the restaurant and the grounds since our last visit as well as the beds...the old beds were too hard, the new mattresses are much better. You really can't beat the location right on one of the most beautiful beaches you'll ever see. The area in town with all of the shops and restaurants is within easy walking distance and if you explore the side streets you'll find many great low cost restaurants frequented by the locals as well as the more adventurous visitors. Overall a good value with just the right amenities situated in one of the best locations on the island!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vhk1
Business
Florida
Aug 28, 2013

Wonderful stay at Na Balam

We had read several negative reviews of Na Balam before our trip and am very glad to report that we did not find any situation that was anything like the reviews. From the airport and ferry transportation arranged by the hotel, to the room to the restaurant, we were very pleased and impressed. We had a pool side room with a small balcony and it was utterly charming. The room itself was about 600 square feet, very spacious. It had a thatch roof and high ceiling with a super a/c unit. The pool and hot tub were literally outside of our room. The beach in front of the hotel was the most beautiful on the island. Many tour boats came and put swimmers in the water off-shore. We ate breakfast in the restaurant each morning and everything was absolutely fresh and delicious. On the weekend live music was fun and entertaining. The yoga room was nearby and we could hear the gong but did not take advantage of the lessons! If we return to Isla Mujeres we will stay again at Na Balam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vhk1
Business
Florida
Jun 26, 2013

Very good experience

After reading some previous reviews of this hotel, we were ready for a less than welcoming hotel staff. This was not the case. The front desk staff was friendly and very helpful with any request we made of them. Our room was pool-side and it had a lovely balcony with comfortable chairs for enjoying cocktail hour. The room was quite large., larger than any we have stayed in, about 600 square feet. The beds were harder than home, but that was expected. The beach area was beautiful and was the best swimming on the island. The onsite bars offered good drinks and delicious appetizers. There was live entertainment all weekend long and we enjoyed the local music immensely. We had a continental breakfast included in our rate and it was wonderful as well. If we return to Isla Mujeres, we will return to Na Balam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Do walk along Hidalgo Street and stop at the various eateries and look at the menus. Prices vary greatly and so does the quality of the meals.

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CRuss
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Nov 11, 2012

Nice trip in paradise, but not without hiccups

The location has to be the best on Isla Mujeres. It is a short walk from the main strip, but at this location there are many palm trees and it is very private. The restaurant Zazil-Ha makes excellent food and is open late so you can relax on the beach enjoying your food/drinks. The wait staff is friendly, but like most of this area the service is slow for food although worth it. We had some issues with connecting calls and getting help at the front desk/reception. Some of the staff was not as approachable and did not freely offer advice about things such as directions or where to rent a scooter etc. Also it was a hassle to arrange with the hotel for pickup in cancun for our pre-paid voucher back to the airport. When our flight was canceled we stayed at a different hotel nearby and the front desk was far more acommodating and helpful. Other than the reception our room was fair (plunge pool was not worth it though). We had our wedding there and although the ceremony went well it was a bit disorganized as to how to run everything (they demanded payment in cash (USD that is)) for our photographer, minister, and music rental etc. which was hard to get that much money last minute. We did get this sorted finally. Though there were some frustrations regarding this I would stay there again hoping that they can sort these issues because they really do have the best beach on the Playa Norte.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Sea Hawk divers down the street from Na Balam. They were very helpful/friendly and we had a blast snorkeling with them! Also Jax (though it is owned by an american couple from texas) was a good place to see NFL games. Amigos on Hidalgo and Olivias were excellent places to eat.

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Coastal Man
Business
North Carolina
Nov 7, 2012

Close...but yet so far

The Na Balam could be a five star hotel with a little creativity and better management. Here are the best parts: 1. Best beach on the island 2. The setting is close to perfect. 3. Crystal clear "ice blue" water...stunning. 4. Overall a good value despite it's deficiencies. 5. Resturant food is excellent but the service is slow so relax and have a drink while you wait. 6. Reasonably priced. Here are the bad parts: 1. Ongoing construction made for some minor noise and inconvenience. 2. We had friends/ family staying for the week and found quite a few room issues with little interest and effort to fix them...some minor, some major...such as fixing a door lock that was never fixed. 3. Simple requests were not met with any level of satisfaction. 4. The rooms are adequate but spartan so know this going in. No frig, hair dryer, TV, iron, lights over the mirror...you get the picture.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Skip the dolphin and turtle "vacation traps". Take advantage of the other water options. You definitely want to go on 1 or 2 snorkeing trips to see the plentiful and colorful fish. We enjoyed the underwater museum too. Take a fishing trip if you have time. There's a dive shop around the corner from the Na Balam and the boats are right next to the hotel. Very reasonably priced.

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling Professional
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Nov 6, 2012

Great Location!

Perfect Location!! its like your in paradise! your right on the beach, which is just gorgeous. Awesome sandbars in the middle of the ocean so it looks like your walking on water. And the rooms were big and spacious. They also had all different types of rooms, some nicer/bigger then others. But all of them were clean and spacious which is all that mattered to me and my friend since we pretty much spent all our time outside of the room enjoying the island and beach.The only reason i gave it 3 stars instead of 5 is because of the staff, mainly the reception area, there was one nice receptionist (young with redish hair) but one of the receptionists was very unfriendly (an older woman). And in general the service is very slow (which might just be how it is in mexico) but it was annoying at times. If you ordered a drink it wasn't uncommon for it to come a half hr later, the same when you ordered food. And the free breakfast included was very misleading, they only give you coffee and a fruit plate, if you want more filling things like eggs you have to pay for it. Which wasn't expensive but when you hear "free breakfast included" you expect that to mean more then just fruit. So overall i did really enjoy my stay and would stay there again, but mainly based on the location and layout of the hotel, not for the service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Bargain! They start off with a high price but they def bargain with you, so don't let yourself be ripped off and end up spending the same you would in the U.S.

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bsgro
Business
Maple Heights, OH
Jul 13, 2012

Peace and Relaxation at the Na Balam

We spent 8 nights in a beachside room at Na Balam (room 12). I wouldn't hesitate to return and to recommend it to others. Our room had two queen beds with pillow top mattresses, sitting area, hammock, and small safe (large enough to hold wallets, passports and cell phones). AC worked great. We had a private patio with two lounge chairs and were a stone's throw away from breakfast and the beach. Snorkeling area was a short walk away. Town with countless of restaurant options was a 5-10 minute walk. Service was friendly. Everything was a relaxed Caribean pace. Enjoy the pace and you'll enjoy the place! And the beach! If you imagine yourself swimming in the crystal clear water, this is your beach. Beach beds, chairs,umbrellas, and towels are available for guests at no extra charge. Restaurant/bar service is available on the beach. Outdoor showers are available for rinsing off before returning to your room. We weren't bothered by mosquitoes at all during the day. We put bug repellant on before heading off to dinner and were fine. I can't say if they have room service per se, but on Sunday we picked up some takeout chicken and ribs and brought them back to our room. We got a bucket of beer from the bar, and they said it was fine to bring it to our room. Yoga classes were offered 2x per day, for $12. I thought I'd give it a try, but was too busy enjoying the beach to try one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

I regularly stopped by the grocery store near the square to get snacks or a bottle of water and paid with 500 peso bill. They had no problem changing it and this gave me change to tip the maid and the breakfast server.

Back to menu Return to top