Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

3 stars
Calle Zazil ha No. 118 Playa norte, Isla Mujeres, 77400
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
51 reviews
Dream wedding location!

My husband and I were married at Na Balam just last week! We stayed 8 nights and had a great... See full review

  • Sybil in Iowa
  • Sep 23, 2014
Perfect location but only specific rooms

The hotel is in an unprecedented location. Right on the best beach of the island. Everyone else on... See full review

  • SandL
  • Aug 31, 2014
Peaceful, intimate beachfront Isla Mujeres retreat with yoga bent

The Hotel Na Balam Beach on the island of Isla Mujeres has just 33 tranquil, Mayan-inspired rooms set amid tropical flora. The hotel offers yoga and therapeutic massages aimed at rejuvenating the body and mind. Not far from Occidental de Isla Mujeres National Park and the Garrafon Natural Reef Park, the hotel has a private beach, outdoor pool, club for children, restaurants and a marina. All guest rooms have ocean or garden views with balconies or terraces. Business services and meeting facilities are available for small groups.

Highlights
  • Modern, Mayan-inspired rooms enveloped in tropical foliage with balconies or terraces overlooking the ocean or grounds
  • Restaurant serving globally inspired, Mayan vegetarian cuisine
  • Yoga classes and therapeutic massages at Hotel Na Balam Beach

 

Rooms

The 33 tranquil rooms and suites at the Hotel Na Balam Beach are accessed by an outside corridor and are informed by Mayan design with one king or two double beds and private balconies or terraces overlooking the verdant grounds or turquoise waters. All guest rooms are soundproofed and have air-conditioning, in-room safes and desks as well as bathrooms with showers, makeup/shaving mirrors and complimentary toiletries. Three gracious suites at the Hotel Na Balam Beach have one king bed and plunge pools with hydro-massage overlooking the inlet.

Features

The quiet, boutique, ocean-side property offers yoga classes, a swimming pool as well as guest rooms with balconies or terraces with views. A seaside snack bar set beneath a thatched-roof palapa serves granola, house-made rolls and natural fruit juices. The full-service Zazil Ha has a vegetarian menu informed by Mayan cooking traditions and eclectic cuisines. A boutique at Hotel Na Balam Beach sells local handicrafts. Guests can arrange water activities -- such as swimming with dolphins or snorkeling and diving excursions -- through sister property Casa Sandra. The Hotel Na Balam Beach also offers a club for children. Guests can opt to arrange tarot readings or play board games. Complimentary high-speed and wireless Internet service is available near the lobby.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (17.5 mi/28.2 km, in addition to a 20-minute ferry ride)
Attractions
  • Carey Dive Center (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Costa Occidental de Isla Mujeres National Park (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Garrafon Natural Reef Park (4.6 mi/7.5 km)

 

Business
  • Meeting rooms for small groups
  • Business center

Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres Rooms

Oceanfront with Private pool, Terrace, Hammock 400 Sq.Ft - 1 king bed
Deluxe suite offers 1 king bed oceanfront, along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, private pool, Bathroom amenities, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer upon request, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Room service and Safe in room.
Pool View Room 400 Sq.Ft with Terrace, Hammock - 2 double beds or 1 king bed
Pool view room offers one king bed or two double beds along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer upon request, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Room service and Safe in room.
Beachfront 400 Sq.Ft with Terrace, Hammock - 2 queen beds or 1 king bed
Beachfront offers one king bed or two double beds along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer upon request, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Room service and Safe in room.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Map

21.262 -86.7492
Area served
Isla Mujeres.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport.
Area description
Na Balam is on one of the most beautiful beaches of the Caribbean. Playa Norte (North Beach), a natural treasure, is the perfect place to have a sunbath, practice a water sport or admire the surroundings.

Dining

Zazil Ha Restaurant
This restaurant offers the best of the Mayan cuisine in a private and warm ambiance. It also, combines regional ingredients with International cooking techniques, creating the exquisite original dishes that have gained it fame. Open from 11:00 am to 11:00 pm.
Beach Bar
Have a cold beer, a tropical cocktail or your favorite snacks at the beach bar without having to get away from the sun, sand and the sea. Open from 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Snack Bar
with your favorite cocktail at at our snack bar while enjoying a stunning Caribbean Sea view. Open from 11:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (51)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 51
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vhk1
Business
Florida
Jun 26, 2013

Very good experience

After reading some previous reviews of this hotel, we were ready for a less than welcoming hotel staff. This was not the case. The front desk staff was friendly and very helpful with any request we made of them. Our room was pool-side and it had a lovely balcony with comfortable chairs for enjoying cocktail hour. The room was quite large., larger than any we have stayed in, about 600 square feet. The beds were harder than home, but that was expected. The beach area was beautiful and was the best swimming on the island. The onsite bars offered good drinks and delicious appetizers. There was live entertainment all weekend long and we enjoyed the local music immensely. We had a continental breakfast included in our rate and it was wonderful as well. If we return to Isla Mujeres, we will return to Na Balam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Do walk along Hidalgo Street and stop at the various eateries and look at the menus. Prices vary greatly and so does the quality of the meals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CRuss
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Nov 11, 2012

Nice trip in paradise, but not without hiccups

The location has to be the best on Isla Mujeres. It is a short walk from the main strip, but at this location there are many palm trees and it is very private. The restaurant Zazil-Ha makes excellent food and is open late so you can relax on the beach enjoying your food/drinks. The wait staff is friendly, but like most of this area the service is slow for food although worth it. We had some issues with connecting calls and getting help at the front desk/reception. Some of the staff was not as approachable and did not freely offer advice about things such as directions or where to rent a scooter etc. Also it was a hassle to arrange with the hotel for pickup in cancun for our pre-paid voucher back to the airport. When our flight was canceled we stayed at a different hotel nearby and the front desk was far more acommodating and helpful. Other than the reception our room was fair (plunge pool was not worth it though). We had our wedding there and although the ceremony went well it was a bit disorganized as to how to run everything (they demanded payment in cash (USD that is)) for our photographer, minister, and music rental etc. which was hard to get that much money last minute. We did get this sorted finally. Though there were some frustrations regarding this I would stay there again hoping that they can sort these issues because they really do have the best beach on the Playa Norte.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Sea Hawk divers down the street from Na Balam. They were very helpful/friendly and we had a blast snorkeling with them! Also Jax (though it is owned by an american couple from texas) was a good place to see NFL games. Amigos on Hidalgo and Olivias were excellent places to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Coastal Man
Business
North Carolina
Nov 7, 2012

Close...but yet so far

The Na Balam could be a five star hotel with a little creativity and better management. Here are the best parts: 1. Best beach on the island 2. The setting is close to perfect. 3. Crystal clear "ice blue" water...stunning. 4. Overall a good value despite it's deficiencies. 5. Resturant food is excellent but the service is slow so relax and have a drink while you wait. 6. Reasonably priced. Here are the bad parts: 1. Ongoing construction made for some minor noise and inconvenience. 2. We had friends/ family staying for the week and found quite a few room issues with little interest and effort to fix them...some minor, some major...such as fixing a door lock that was never fixed. 3. Simple requests were not met with any level of satisfaction. 4. The rooms are adequate but spartan so know this going in. No frig, hair dryer, TV, iron, lights over the mirror...you get the picture.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Skip the dolphin and turtle "vacation traps". Take advantage of the other water options. You definitely want to go on 1 or 2 snorkeing trips to see the plentiful and colorful fish. We enjoyed the underwater museum too. Take a fishing trip if you have time. There's a dive shop around the corner from the Na Balam and the boats are right next to the hotel. Very reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling Professional
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Nov 6, 2012

Great Location!

Perfect Location!! its like your in paradise! your right on the beach, which is just gorgeous. Awesome sandbars in the middle of the ocean so it looks like your walking on water. And the rooms were big and spacious. They also had all different types of rooms, some nicer/bigger then others. But all of them were clean and spacious which is all that mattered to me and my friend since we pretty much spent all our time outside of the room enjoying the island and beach.The only reason i gave it 3 stars instead of 5 is because of the staff, mainly the reception area, there was one nice receptionist (young with redish hair) but one of the receptionists was very unfriendly (an older woman). And in general the service is very slow (which might just be how it is in mexico) but it was annoying at times. If you ordered a drink it wasn't uncommon for it to come a half hr later, the same when you ordered food. And the free breakfast included was very misleading, they only give you coffee and a fruit plate, if you want more filling things like eggs you have to pay for it. Which wasn't expensive but when you hear "free breakfast included" you expect that to mean more then just fruit. So overall i did really enjoy my stay and would stay there again, but mainly based on the location and layout of the hotel, not for the service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Bargain! They start off with a high price but they def bargain with you, so don't let yourself be ripped off and end up spending the same you would in the U.S.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bsgro
Business
Maple Heights, OH
Jul 13, 2012

Peace and Relaxation at the Na Balam

We spent 8 nights in a beachside room at Na Balam (room 12). I wouldn't hesitate to return and to recommend it to others. Our room had two queen beds with pillow top mattresses, sitting area, hammock, and small safe (large enough to hold wallets, passports and cell phones). AC worked great. We had a private patio with two lounge chairs and were a stone's throw away from breakfast and the beach. Snorkeling area was a short walk away. Town with countless of restaurant options was a 5-10 minute walk. Service was friendly. Everything was a relaxed Caribean pace. Enjoy the pace and you'll enjoy the place! And the beach! If you imagine yourself swimming in the crystal clear water, this is your beach. Beach beds, chairs,umbrellas, and towels are available for guests at no extra charge. Restaurant/bar service is available on the beach. Outdoor showers are available for rinsing off before returning to your room. We weren't bothered by mosquitoes at all during the day. We put bug repellant on before heading off to dinner and were fine. I can't say if they have room service per se, but on Sunday we picked up some takeout chicken and ribs and brought them back to our room. We got a bucket of beer from the bar, and they said it was fine to bring it to our room. Yoga classes were offered 2x per day, for $12. I thought I'd give it a try, but was too busy enjoying the beach to try one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

I regularly stopped by the grocery store near the square to get snacks or a bottle of water and paid with 500 peso bill. They had no problem changing it and this gave me change to tip the maid and the breakfast server.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Breezy beach seeker
Business
Sutton, MA
May 31, 2012

Overnight in Paradise

While the room type I booked, an overview, was not available at check in, the hotel was able to upgrade me to a suite, which was VERY nice. The private plunge pool made me forget the partial water view the room has from the pool deck. The restaurant is ideally located on a point. Beach and ocean on two sides. Food was excellent. I highly recommend the BLT + fried egg breakfast sandwich. No cellular or wifi reception in the room was the only major drawback. Thank you to the hotel and staff for a great experience. I will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Angelos was phenomenal. Arranged for a lobster tail margherita pizza. Out of this world,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
May 21, 2012

Girls trip

Me and my friend fell in love with this beach 6 years ago and decided to come back and stay at Na Balam due to its location. We had a fabulous time, very relaxing. The beach is the best in Mexico! The room was very large and had alot of charm and the beds were comfortable. We loved the atmosphere of the hotel and its small size with only 33 guest rooms, and the restaurant is also very good. This resort is also very close to downtown Isla with great shopping and restaurants. We would for sure stay here again. The rooms do not have TV's or wi fi , but we did not miss it as we had plenty else to do. There is wi fi available in the lobby and restaurant area for your laptops or ipads if you cannot disconnect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The exchange rate when using the ATM is much better than any exchange rate at the airport or hotels, the ATM fees are low about $2 and they give you pesos. which when paying for food or shopping you always get a better price if paying in pesos vs dollars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Islasusana
Business
Fort Collins, CO, USA
Apr 23, 2012

Beautiful water and beach area

Very Basic rooms. No hair dryer, no coffee pot, no T.V., no mini fridge. However, room was very clean and I loved the fresh, crisp white sheets everyday. The grounds are lush and jungle-like, but there are a few mosquitos. The free continental breakfast with our package was good and the restaurant was very nice located right on the beach. My only complaint is the terrible musty smell in the rooms. It seemed to improve somewhat during our six night stay. Beach towels were provided and the beach beds were nice. Wish there were more beach chairs available. We enjoyed our stay and will probably return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If this is your first trip to the island, make sure you rent a golf cart for a day to explore. There are a lot of great restaurants within walking distance from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
first time in Isla
Business
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Mar 14, 2012

It couldn't be more beautiful!

I returned home from a week at Na Balam hotel on Isla Mujeres yesterday. I must say, that it was a wonderful way to spend a week. The hotel staff was incredibly nice and helpful, the food at the hotel restaurant was wonderful and the room was clean and HUGE! We loved spending time on our balcony that overlooked the ocean, and the beds and chairs on the beach were perfect. This hotel is meant as a place to get away from it all, and that was exactly what we found. If you are looking for a place to stay "plugged in" this is not for you. I loved the fact that we didn't have a TV or even a clock in the room as I was able to just relax and unwind and allow the sound of the waves and birds calm my body and soul. The crystal clear beach that this hotel is located on, was the best beach I've ever been to. Absolutely amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you stop in at Fenix (a beach bar/lounge/restaurant) that is located right next to the hotel. You might think it is part of the hotel, but it isn't. The food was great and the beers were CHEAP! Great staff and owners.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lindajeank
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Mar 11, 2012

Enjoyed our stay

We spent one week at the NaBalam, and were satisfied for the money we spent. We had room 2, which was close to the front desk, close to the beach, and close the the bar/restaurant area. Some nights there was some noise from other guests going by, but by closing windows and turning on the air conditioner, we were not bothered by this. We enjoyed the healthy continental breakfast each day, but by the last day, we skipped it, since it was exactly the same each day. There was always the option to order from the menu, which some in our group did, and the food was good. We had lunch one day and dinner once, and were satisfied with both meals. Our shower head was leaky, but plenty of hot water. The ice machine could have made more ice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top