$158 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 15, 2014

Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

3 stars
Calle Zazil ha No. 118 Playa norte, Isla Mujeres, 77400
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
66 reviews
the hotel has one of the best beaches in the area...and perhaps in the world!

I read the reviews about this hotel and I think they are quite accurate. The hotel has a beautiful... See full review

  • JMVelez
  • Jun 9, 2014
Good Spot

Very Quiet and secluded beach getaway wefedgwegtwetgretetwerrttert See full review

  • ttabit33
  • Dec 29, 2013
Beach front hotel with tropical gardens and hammocks under beautiful palm trees, nice and comfortable rooms with private terrace or balcony, amazing views, hammock.

Our 28 rooms come with a king size or two queen beds, a private terrace or balcony, amazing views (garden, pool, beachfront, ocean ), hammock, air conditioning and ceiling fans and in-room safety deposit boxes and 24 hours security protection.

Our 3 magnificent suites feature a king sized bed, Mayan-Modern decoration, air-conditioning, ceiling fans, a private patio and a small pool with hydro-massage with a stunning view of the inlet; beachfront with hammock ideal for honeymooners or anyone wishing a romantic and/or peaceful stay in a beautiful place.

Yoga classes and therapeutic massages are available to relax the body and soul at an extra cost.

In order not to disturb the tranquility, communications technology and internet are available close to the lobby for those who want to continue to be connected to the outside world.

Zazil Ha means clear water in Maya and is the main restaurant at Na Balam. A refuge of gastronomy where fresh and natural ingredients are chosen, simple or sophisticated dishes are served with care by the gentle hands of Mexican waiters.

Our dining at Zazil Ha features Traditional Mexican Recipes with our own twist of International Cuisine; it is considered one of the best on the island; dinning here is an experience you will always remember

Every corner at Na Balam cultivates the spirit, takes care of the body and nurtures the soul.

Isla Mujeres is the perfect place for all ages, located only 20 minutes by boat from Cancun, the island is only 5 miles long and mile wide, in the colorful downtown area you will find interesting restaurants, gift shops and other activities that you can enjoy: Bicycle riding, yoga, scuba diving, snorkeling, kayak, fishing, golf cars riding and visiting the turtle farm, you can also swim with the dolphins and sharks, or get a relaxing massage.

Hotel Amenities
-Bar/Lounge ($)
-Currency Exchange
-Doctor on Call ($)
-Pool
-Private Beach
-Yoga Lessons ($)
-Meeting/Banquet Facilities ($)
-Restaurant ($)
-Safe Deposit Box
-Spa services ($)
-Wireless Internet ONLY IN LOBBY

Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres Rooms

Oceanfront with Private pool, Terrace, Hammock 400 Sq.Ft - 1 king bed
Deluxe suite offers 1 king bed oceanfront, along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, private pool, Bathroom amenities, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer upon request, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Room service and Safe in room.
Pool View Room 400 Sq.Ft with Terrace, Hammock - 2 double beds or 1 king bed
Pool view room offers one king bed or two double beds along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer upon request, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Room service and Safe in room.
Beachfront 400 Sq.Ft with Terrace, Hammock - 2 queen beds or 1 king bed
Beachfront offers one king bed or two double beds along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer upon request, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Room service and Safe in room.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.262 -86.7492
Area served
Isla Mujeres.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport.
Area description
Na Balam is on one of the most beautiful beaches of the Caribbean. Playa Norte (North Beach), a natural treasure, is the perfect place to have a sunbath, practice a water sport or admire the surroundings.

Dining

Zazil Ha Restaurant
This restaurant offers the best of the Mayan cuisine in a private and warm ambiance. It also, combines regional ingredients with International cooking techniques, creating the exquisite original dishes that have gained it fame. Open from 11:00 am to 11:00 pm.
Beach Bar
Have a cold beer, a tropical cocktail or your favorite snacks at the beach bar without having to get away from the sun, sand and the sea. Open from 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Snack Bar
with your favorite cocktail at at our snack bar while enjoying a stunning Caribbean Sea view. Open from 11:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (66)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas, NV
May 21, 2012

Girls trip

Me and my friend fell in love with this beach 6 years ago and decided to come back and stay at Na Balam due to its location. We had a fabulous time, very relaxing. The beach is the best in Mexico! The room was very large and had alot of charm and the beds were comfortable. We loved the atmosphere of the hotel and its small size with only 33 guest rooms, and the restaurant is also very good. This resort is also very close to downtown Isla with great shopping and restaurants. We would for sure stay here again. The rooms do not have TV's or wi fi , but we did not miss it as we had plenty else to do. There is wi fi available in the lobby and restaurant area for your laptops or ipads if you cannot disconnect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The exchange rate when using the ATM is much better than any exchange rate at the airport or hotels, the ATM fees are low about $2 and they give you pesos. which when paying for food or shopping you always get a better price if paying in pesos vs dollars.

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Islasusana
Fort Collins, CO, USA
Apr 23, 2012

Beautiful water and beach area

Very Basic rooms. No hair dryer, no coffee pot, no T.V., no mini fridge. However, room was very clean and I loved the fresh, crisp white sheets everyday. The grounds are lush and jungle-like, but there are a few mosquitos. The free continental breakfast with our package was good and the restaurant was very nice located right on the beach. My only complaint is the terrible musty smell in the rooms. It seemed to improve somewhat during our six night stay. Beach towels were provided and the beach beds were nice. Wish there were more beach chairs available. We enjoyed our stay and will probably return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If this is your first trip to the island, make sure you rent a golf cart for a day to explore. There are a lot of great restaurants within walking distance from the hotel.

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
first time in Isla
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Mar 14, 2012

It couldn't be more beautiful!

I returned home from a week at Na Balam hotel on Isla Mujeres yesterday. I must say, that it was a wonderful way to spend a week. The hotel staff was incredibly nice and helpful, the food at the hotel restaurant was wonderful and the room was clean and HUGE! We loved spending time on our balcony that overlooked the ocean, and the beds and chairs on the beach were perfect. This hotel is meant as a place to get away from it all, and that was exactly what we found. If you are looking for a place to stay "plugged in" this is not for you. I loved the fact that we didn't have a TV or even a clock in the room as I was able to just relax and unwind and allow the sound of the waves and birds calm my body and soul. The crystal clear beach that this hotel is located on, was the best beach I've ever been to. Absolutely amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you stop in at Fenix (a beach bar/lounge/restaurant) that is located right next to the hotel. You might think it is part of the hotel, but it isn't. The food was great and the beers were CHEAP! Great staff and owners.

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lindajeank
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Mar 11, 2012

Enjoyed our stay

We spent one week at the NaBalam, and were satisfied for the money we spent. We had room 2, which was close to the front desk, close to the beach, and close the the bar/restaurant area. Some nights there was some noise from other guests going by, but by closing windows and turning on the air conditioner, we were not bothered by this. We enjoyed the healthy continental breakfast each day, but by the last day, we skipped it, since it was exactly the same each day. There was always the option to order from the menu, which some in our group did, and the food was good. We had lunch one day and dinner once, and were satisfied with both meals. Our shower head was leaky, but plenty of hot water. The ice machine could have made more ice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TonyC66
Palm City FL
Jan 31, 2012

Great spot!

Great spot, clean rooms. Staff was considerate ad helpful. Best, it is close to restaurants and the downtown area, but has an incredible, almost remote beach area with tons of amenities and a great bar at sunset. For the money, it is a tremendous value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheAckermann
Fredericksburg, VA, USA
Jan 27, 2012

Hotel na Balaam

We stayed at Hotel Na Balaam in mid-January and had a great time. The location is wonderful, the rooms just the right size and location, and the staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
robertoke
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Jan 15, 2012

Pretty decent for the price - GREAT yoga classes

My partner and I are both into yoga and that was one of the main reasons that we chose this hotel. It was also priced very reasonably in the package and just a 5 minute walk from dozens of shops and restaurants. As it turned out, it was good, but not excellent. The restaurant was just okay and a bit pricey for the quality, though the view is amazing - it's right on the north beach! As for the beach there, it would be great for kids but it's so shallow that you have to walk over 100-200 meters to get to any depth for swimming. Some people may like that, and the water was crystal clear! One problem we had was that it rained so hard that the water was dripping right through the straw roof onto our bed. Good thing it didn't happen until the day we left. All in all it was a good experience though and the yoga with "Lal Maharajh" was amazing and offered several times a day - at 9am, 11am, and 7pm, with a couple of sunset yoga classes at other times. The kundalini yoga was not as impressive. You'll have to see who's teaching at the time you are there. It's well worth the $150 pesos ($12US) per 1 1/2 hour class.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Not much is mentioned about live music on Isla Mujeres, but there is a variety of good live music, beyond just the traditional strolling Mexican singer/guitarists that show up everywhere. They are good (some are excellent) but you can also see other styles of music all along Avenida Hidalgo - the main drag on the north end of the island. Tres Mentiras is a very simple, affordable bar/restaurant that opened recently - and they often have intimate jam sessions at night, passing guitars around. Very cool!

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Catwoman18
Illinois, USA
Dec 29, 2011

Winter Getaway

I spent my first night ever in Mexico at Na Balam. It's a wonderful place, great if you want some privacy. I did not like the first room I was given and the friendly staff gave me another option without any problem. Attended a yoga class and it was great, very relaxing. Attentive staff. My only negative is that breakfast is not included int he price, but we ate at their restaurant and the food and service were great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GMAN ATX
Austin, TX, USA
Dec 16, 2011

Na Balam in December

Stayed here in mid-December '11 and it was nice. Now granted, others have said this hotel lacks amenities and I can see why they may say that. But, if you are looking for a place to relax and have an actual getaway then this is the place. At night, it looks like you are walking into a tropical village. Lots of foliage and rock pathways that are dimly lit. This atmosphere is great. If you want a cookie-cutter style posh hotel/resort then stay elswhere. This is a basic place without tvs and phones in the rooms(but that's nice). If you are looking to really unwind, then consider this place. The bar/restaurant staff is really good. The beach is literally right by the restaurant. The walk to the main strip in the city is about ten minutes or rent a golf cart. Overall, it was a great value and I would stay there again if I went back to Isla Mujeres.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Mananas for breakfast. It is a cool restaurant/bookstore!

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Island travelers
Maryland, USA
Dec 1, 2011

Good and Bad

We didn't expect a perfect Oceanview for the price paid but did expect to be given a room in working order. Was told no rooms left at checkin except ours (typical line) but when we waited until checkin time the people that were suppose to check out decided to stay and all of a sudden a room was found!!! So we tried getting in, first the door was broke, metal could have cut you bad, then the shower didn't work, took 2 maintenance men different shower heads to fix, beds VERY hard but location great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Fresh fish meals daily for less than $7.00 down by where the ferry comes in, great deal and real island feel, can't get any better.

Back to menu Return to top