$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 9, 2015 Check-out: Jul 10, 2015

Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

3 stars
View map of Calle Zazil ha No. 118 Playa norte, Isla Mujeres, 77400

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
59 reviews
Bali meets Mexico

Given that this hotel is located so close to downtown, it's kind of amazing that it feels off the... See full review

  • Janet M.
  • May 23, 2015
Amazing Family Getaway!

Best beach on the whole on island! Incredible staff, lovely and quaint. Best yoga on the island! See full review

  • Jenelle
  • Apr 6, 2015

The Hotel Na Balam Beach on the island of Isla Mujeres has just 33 tranquil, Mayan-inspired rooms set amid tropical flora. The hotel offers yoga and therapeutic massages aimed at rejuvenating the body and mind. Not far from Occidental de Isla Mujeres National Park and the Garrafon Natural Reef Park, the hotel has a private beach, outdoor pool, club for children, restaurants and a marina. All guest rooms have ocean or garden views with balconies or terraces. Business services and meeting facilities are available for small groups.

Rooms

The 33 tranquil rooms and suites at the Hotel Na Balam Beach are accessed by an outside corridor and are informed by Mayan design with one king or two double beds and private balconies or terraces overlooking the verdant grounds or turquoise waters. All guest rooms are soundproofed and have air-conditioning, in-room safes and desks as well as bathrooms with showers, makeup/shaving mirrors and complimentary toiletries. Three gracious suites at the Hotel Na Balam Beach have one king bed and plunge pools with hydro-massage overlooking the inlet.

Property features

The quiet, boutique, ocean-side property offers yoga classes, a swimming pool as well as guest rooms with balconies or terraces with views. A seaside snack bar set beneath a thatched-roof palapa serves granola, house-made rolls and natural fruit juices. The full-service Zazil Ha has a vegetarian menu informed by Mayan cooking traditions and eclectic cuisines. A boutique at Hotel Na Balam Beach sells local handicrafts. Guests can arrange water activities -- such as swimming with dolphins or snorkeling and diving excursions -- through sister property Casa Sandra. The Hotel Na Balam Beach also offers a club for children. Guests can opt to arrange tarot readings or play board games. Complimentary high-speed and wireless Internet service is available near the lobby.

Highlights
  • Modern, Mayan-inspired rooms enveloped in tropical foliage with balconies or terraces overlooking the ocean or grounds
  • Restaurant serving globally inspired, Mayan vegetarian cuisine
  • Yoga classes and therapeutic massages at Hotel Na Balam Beach

 

Nearby attractions
  • Carey Dive Center (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Costa Occidental de Isla Mujeres National Park (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Garrafon Natural Reef Park (4.6 mi/7.5 km)

 

Business
  • Meeting rooms for small groups
  • Business center
Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (17.5 mi/28.2 km, in addition to a 20-minute ferry ride)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres Rooms

Oceanfront with Private pool, Terrace, Hammock 400 Sq.Ft - 1 king bed
Deluxe suite offers 1 king bed oceanfront, along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, private pool, Bathroom amenities, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer upon request, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Room service and Safe in room.
Pool View Room 400 Sq.Ft with Terrace, Hammock - 2 double beds or 1 king bed
Pool view room offers one king bed or two double beds along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer upon request, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Room service and Safe in room.
Beachfront 400 Sq.Ft with Terrace, Hammock - 2 queen beds or 1 king bed
Beachfront offers one king bed or two double beds along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer upon request, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Room service and Safe in room.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Zazil Ha Restaurant
This restaurant offers the best of the Mayan cuisine in a private and warm ambiance. It also, combines regional ingredients with International cooking techniques, creating the exquisite original dishes that have gained it fame. Open from 11:00 am to 11:00 pm.
Beach Bar
Have a cold beer, a tropical cocktail or your favorite snacks at the beach bar without having to get away from the sun, sand and the sea. Open from 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Snack Bar
with your favorite cocktail at at our snack bar while enjoying a stunning Caribbean Sea view. Open from 11:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 59
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Janet M.
Business
N/A
May 23, 2015

Bali meets Mexico

Given that this hotel is located so close to downtown, it's kind of amazing that it feels off the beaten path. I went in the middle of May and split my vacation between The Palace and Na Balam. Na Balam kept reminding me of Bali. Maybe it was the fountain and statuary at the entrance or the water lily or carved wood or artwork or lush trees or birds? Considering how popular a spot the North Beach is, this hotel still feels private and laid back. I stayed in a tree house overlooking the pool which was lovely and I rolled out of bed in the morning, walked down my flight of steps from the tree house and right up the steps into the yoga studio where they offered classes everyday at 7, 9 11, 4 and 6 for $15 - a great way to start the day. The pool was quiet and hardly used and I simply walked across crossed the 30ft not busy street to get to the front desk, beach and restaurant at the hotel. I originally planned to eat in town, but the restaurant was so good, I ate there for all my meals - and I'm a picky foodie. In fact, one dish was so good, I ordered it TWICE. I eat seafood A LOT, and I had an DELICIOUS flaming shrimp dish with pineapple that I ordered again the next night. I had the continental breakfast - a very filling and generous plate of fresh fruit and fresh squeezed juice and sweet/savory breads. Very hearty and tasty. I also ordered breakfast a la carte and the portions were very generous and tasty. The beach was beautiful and the lounge beds GREAT. Food and drink service on the beach was good. I loved the location of the resort being at the end of the beach. The other hotels down the beach were packed with lounge chairs, louder music and sounds from town. We had all the convenience of the in town location without the noise. There was some construction happening nearby, but I didn't find it disturbing. The staff was very helpful and nice. The only small nit-picky things were that the airconditioner remote control was tricky to use and directions would have been helpful so it took a bit to get the temperature of the room right, the shower pressure was just ok, and the door to the safe and the door to the room were both secure but needed to be finessed to open. The room was spare but spacious with a thatched roof complete with audible morning birdsong. Overall, I thought the place had a nice vibe, beautiful beach, delicious food, was convenient to town and the ferry yet still private and away from the crowds. You can also easily walk/swim to the reef on the other side of the boardwalk where people snorkel. I almost stayed at Xchel Beach Hotel which got higher reviews but when Na Balam had an unexpected opening, I grabbed it. I checked out the other resorts in town, including Xchel and was VERY happy I chose Na Balam. PS You only get wireless in the reception area. Personally I go on vacation to unplug so I didn't care.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jenelle
Business
sandy
Apr 6, 2015

Amazing Family Getaway!

Best beach on the whole on island! Incredible staff, lovely and quaint. Best yoga on the island!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Armon
Business
Adrian
Mar 22, 2015

fantastic beach, laid back, Relax

What a wonderful place to stay! Check in was courteous, and our bags were at the room immediately. Life began to move a little slower, which is what we sought. Room was simple, and they kept it clean, refreshed, and bright. Breakfast on the edge of the beach was great. Simple: toast, fruit, & coffee- always fresh! Service on the beach throughout the afternoons was easy & prompt. Restaurant staff very helpful throughout our stay. We would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jenelle
Business
sandy
Jan 5, 2015

Wonderful family destination

The hotel is located on the best part of the island! The beach is amazing and has great snorkeling right there. The rooms were simple and clean. The yoga classes offered at the hotel are truly a treasure. All the instructors were wonderful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Na Balam is a short walk to the downtown area were all the shopping and restaurants are located.

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tomzuev
Business
israel
Oct 12, 2014

not more then nice

Weve taken the room with the pool view- the room is nice, but as an compare of what you paying its not worth it. No wifi in the room, the breakfest is pure. I wont come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The north beach is wonderfull!

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Royi orcado
Business
Los Angeles
Oct 10, 2014

Nice. Not more.

Best location but no facilities. Standard rooms only with bed. More expensive rooms with TV. Wifi only in loby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
long long
Business
atlanta, Ga
Oct 6, 2014

Great Location

Great location, very close to the beach and downtown area. Staffs are very friendly and helpful. Need some improvements on room cleanliness. I see ants on the floor almost everyday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sybil in Iowa
Business
Clear Lake, IA
Sep 23, 2014

Dream wedding location!

My husband and I were married at Na Balam just last week! We stayed 8 nights and had a great experience. We had several family and friends also staying at the hotel for various lengths of time. Upon check in we did experience some issues with the rooms we were given not being the rooms we booked. Hotel staff did work to remedy each situation as best they could. The issues weren't major things (example: my brother booked a room with a king sized bed and they initially gave him a room with two doubles at check in. When he confirmed with them that he'd booked a king room, they apologized and upgraded him to a junior suite!) My husband and I worked with Adely to help plan our wedding. I first made contact with her 6 months ago and she did a fantastic job of answering all my questions, planning the details and helping us the entire time. We wanted to have a legal ceremony performed and it required additional paperwork and a blood test. Adely personally took us to the lab for the blood test and to the location to file the marriage application. The direct assistance was greatly appreciated. We held our wedding reception in the palapa area above the hotel's restaurant, Zazil-Ha. Russell and Elvis were assigned to serve our wedding party that evening and did an incredible job of making sure everyone had drinks and a great experience. They set up a post-ceremony area on the beach with drinks and snacks and then the group moved upstairs for the dinner. The food was incredible and many of my guests tried things they'd never had before! When we first checked in to the hotel, we were assigned room 11. A very nice simple room on the 2nd floor that overlooks the beach. We had requested a refrigerator in the room (for medication purposes) and this room did not have one. Because of this, Adely upgraded us to room 15 when it became available a few days later, a junior suite with a plunge pool. It was FANTASTIC! A beautiful room with plenty of space and a small pool right off your patio area. The plunge pools are obviously hot tubs that are no longer working. The jets are still in them, but do not work. However after a hot night of partying on Hidalgo, a dip in the plunge pool was pretty awesome. In each room, the beds were very comfortable (something I've had a hard time finding on Isla Mujeres). The beds were actually pillow tops and the pillows were firm and comfy too. The ONLY negative thing I could say about Na Balam is that the water pressure in the shower of our first room was very low. It was perfect in the second room. But in both rooms, we never had hot water in the shower. Mostly just lukewarm. Not a huge deal as it was so hot during the day, a cold shower actually felt pretty good. And most hotels on Isla seem to have a lot of water issues, so we've come to expect it. Now...the best part of the Na Balam: THE BEACH! Hands down the beach area in front of Na Balam is the BEST section of Playa Norte!!!! Since it's located near the north end of the beach, almost no Cancun day-trippers venture down that far. And since Na Balam is a smaller hotel with only 33 rooms, their is always plenty of space available on the beach. The beach beds are comfy and the guys from Zazil-Ha will come set up an umbrella for you and bring you food and drink from the restaurant. The water is crystal blue and amazing! No seaweed or rocks to be found! The area in front of Na Balam is my favorite section of Playa Norte. We had an incredible wedding and stay at Na Balam. Adely, Russel and Elvis went above and beyond to ensure we would have a memorable and enjoyable experience. We can't wait to return to this magical paradise!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food at the hotel's restaurant, Zazil-Ha, is amazing! They have a huge variety of interesting and unique foods available...particularly the seafood. YUM!

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brooklyn family of 4
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Sep 14, 2014

Not bad, not great

This was our second stay at Na Balam, overall the experience was fine. They didn't honor our request 3 month prior to arrival to have a king bed room with mattress on the floor for our kids. They took our balcony chairs while a production company was shooting a commercial on the beach (only one day) The restaurant staff was usually friendly, however the day before the shooting they were very busy and didn't seem to care about their guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Olivia has the best food in the Island, and the Chicken spot next to Rooster cafe on the main street has the BEST roasted chicken ever!

Review of Hotel Na Balam Beach -Isla Mujeres

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SandL
Business
Israel
Aug 31, 2014

Perfect location but only specific rooms

The hotel is in an unprecedented location. Right on the best beach of the island. Everyone else on the island tries to get to this beach and staying here juat feels great. However, the rooms which aren't ocean view are not so good. They are not sealed and if you're a little bit sensitive to mosquitoes this may be a problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top