$56 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2014 Check-out: Sep 6, 2014

Hotel Cabanas Maria del Mar

2 stars
Av. Arq. Carlos Lazo Mza 28 LT 15-1 SMZA 1, Zazil-Ha, Centro, Isla Mujeres, 74000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
26 reviews
Steps away from the best beach on the island!

I gave cabanas 5 stars because it exceeded my expectations. We stayed in the castle rooms. I... See full review

  • Betsy R
  • May 12, 2014
love it

Hotel is so close to the best beach we have ever been to. It is very laid back and quiet there... See full review

  • bill mexican traveler
  • Apr 19, 2014
Experience the island feeling. Enjoy the stunning colors of the Caribbean waters. It's time for relaxation and romance. Located in the center of North beach, the island's most famous beach, Crystal clear turquoise waters and powdery white sand are just steps from your room.
The perfect island getaway, Isla Mujeres is rich in mayan history. Translated, the island's name literally means "Island of Woman," which was given after the Spaniards arrived to Isla Mujeres and found a large number of statues of woman dedicated to Ixchel, the goddess of love and fertility.

Since then, the island has been rediscovered by visitors from all over the world looking for a romantic getaway and contact with nature. And due to its close proximity to Cancun and Rivera Maya, Isla Mujeres is also a wonderful starting point for discovering the Yucatan and its many archaeological sites.

Hotel Map

21.2604 -86.7501
Area served
Isla Mujeres
Nearby airports
International Cancun Airport Benito Juarez CUN
Area description
The island's center, a vibrant fishing village with many shops and restaurants, is within a short walk from the hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Cabanas Maria del Mar also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Cabanas Maria del Mar Rooms

Tower Room 2-3 floor
These are the smallest rooms of the hotel, they do have a partial ocean view from their shaded terrace or balcony and are closest to the water. The building consists of three levels, 8 rooms in each floor, The 2nd & 3rd Floor rooms, have one double bed and one single bed, all with A/C, mini-refrigerator, TV with Cable, bathroom with shower, safe deposit box, very colourful, fresh and pleasant rooms.(Mexican style rooms).
Cabaña Ground Floor
The Cabañas Ground Flooe rooms are around the pool of the hotel, the rooms are sold independently, they have the pool and tropical garden garden view, full of colourful flowers all year. This section was totally renovated four years ago, the rooms are the largest in the hotel, all of them with 2 double beds, A/C, mini-refrigerator, TV with Cable, safe deposit box, bathroom with shower, big shaded terraces, very colourful, quiet and pleasant rooms. None of these rooms have ocean view, only pool and garden view. The beach is a minute away walking. (Mexican style).
Castle
The Castle section has recently been totally renovated, everything in the rooms is new, the rooms are absolutely white in their minimalist style, they do have a partial ocean view from their terrace or balcony and are closest to the beach bars and restaurant of the hotel. All the rooms in the Castle have king size beds, television(cable), mini-split Air Cond. system, bathroom with shower, safe deposit box, mini-refrigerators & ceiling fan. (No smoking allowed in Castle section).

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Buho Restaurant - Bar
Buho's is a casual open air restaurant/bar serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. A diverse range of dishes are served, including a few island specialties. Buho's three beach palapa bars, with its unusual combination of swings and hammocks, serves a vast selection of tropical drinks, ice cold bear and fruit cocktails. Beverage service is available from 10:00 a.m. to midnight. Famous for its sunset happy hour, Buho's has been a "must-see" attraction for over a decade!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (26)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Cabanas Maria del Mar

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 26
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.4

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Cabanas Maria del Mar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
buddybrusegar
Wisconsin, USA
Feb 4, 2013

Twice and still wow

This was our 2nd year there and nicer than the wow I gave it last year, staff was great. garden much more groomed, maids were very kind. The only thing that was a little upsetting was the cats and dogs that were around, but that was the entire island. The island has to get a grip on the animal control.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Cabanas Maria del Mar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Betsy R
Salt Lake City,UT
May 12, 2014

Steps away from the best beach on the island!

I gave cabanas 5 stars because it exceeded my expectations. We stayed in the castle rooms. I originally booked a tower ground floor room but we ended up switching because the castle rooms were same price, just quieter and newer. The tower rooms and cabanas are all in the same area sort of surrounding the pool. There are paths with rich foliage that run all through that courtyard. It was very charming but we were on an anniversary trip and seeking privacy. Had I travelled with kids or been more interested in making friends I would have preferred to stay in the tower/cabana area. The castle, on the other hand, is across the little street from the others (tower rooms and castle run parallel to beach so your just as close to the beach.) the castle shares the same building as the restaurant but was great for us. The AC worked wonderfully, the room was very clean and was cleaned everyday, the bed was perfectly fine, and it was relatively quiet. There was a water jug dispenser in our hallway which was great because bottled water is a little pricey so we filled up there everyday. Check in/out was really easy. They provided beach towels for free. The restaurant was so charming sitting right there on the beach. Others complained about breakfast being minimal and wireless only in restaurant. That is true but we just ordered some more food to bulk up our breakfast and tried to unplug a bit! I was not expecting a 5 star hotel and this place was comfortable, relaxing, beautiful, clean, etc. We explored the whole island and hands down felt like we were in the best location . Beach was amazing. The whole trip was a dream and I would absolutely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The ferry is a short walk from the hotel. Ferry runs from 5:30am-midnight. The ferry ride is a half hour and ferry in cancun is approx 30 mins from airport. Make sure you plan accordingly when booking your flights!

Review of Hotel Cabanas Maria del Mar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
buddybrusegar
Wisconsin, USA
Feb 5, 2012

WOW

After reading some the the reviews I was not sure I made the right choose of hotels to stay but they were wrong. The staff was more than helpful. Beach AWESOME, walking distance to downtown and more. They also rent cart right there at the hotel about the same cost as downtown places. Bathroom really small on 2nd and 3rd, but 1st were a little bigger. Can not wait to go back Loved It!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Cabanas Maria del Mar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
MN
Jul 2, 2009

Cute hotel

It was a super cute hotel. I was traveling by myself for two days before my family arrived and decided to spend two days in isla mujeres. Everyone was nice and accommodating. The room was clean and decent sized, the only downside was the bed was super hard... but once you get over that fact the hotel was quite cute. It is located right on first beach, so its right on the ocean, and it is beautiful. Overall I really enjoyed it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Diving in Isla Mujeres is quite good. It is home to the sleeping shark

Review of Hotel Cabanas Maria del Mar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The other Dave
Lake Ozark, MO
Oct 27, 2012

I enjoy this place

I have stayed at Maria del Mar many times and will continue to go back. It has excellent location for the great beach just steps away. This was my first stay in the Towers and they were really small so, if booking a package deal, I would recommend the upgrade to the Cabana rooms. They are larger rooms and have a beautiful view of the interior gardens and pool. This place is a great value, but don't go with great expectations. Just relax and enjoy the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Spend your evenings and nights a few blocks away on Hidalgo for fine dining and entertainment.

Review of Hotel Cabanas Maria del Mar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diego1
Fort Worth
Sep 2, 2012

Great in almost everyway

I was a little reluctant to book this hotel by the user ratings but this was a great place to stay. The staff was a little slow but the life on the island is slow and relaxing. The room was kept immaculate and the maid staff was nothing but excellent. The location is right on the beach and attracts mostly European visitors. Yes the continental breakfast was not a great layout but the coffee, juice and toast was perfect for me to set out the day. The beach was clean and relaxing and gave one the ultimate real Mexican local flavor not like the resorts where you feel you haven't left the U.S.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The center of town is but a short walk away never settle on the price presented look around then haggle you'll get what you want at a good price. Take a short trip to Cancun to the 28 Mercado and get the best deals on souveniers

Review of Hotel Cabanas Maria del Mar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bill mexican traveler
Pittsburgh, PA
Apr 19, 2014

love it

Hotel is so close to the best beach we have ever been to. It is very laid back and quiet there something that is important to us. It is a close walk to town and the ferry. It is truly our own little piece of paradise and plan to return year after year,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The small restaurants along the beach are wonderful if you love fresh whole fish and good seafood.

Review of Hotel Cabanas Maria del Mar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Utah Dar
Salt Lake City, UT
Feb 17, 2013

Paradise at a Great Value

This is the 2nd time we have stayed here and the 6th in Isla. We found this room to be quite comfortable. Furnishings are sparse but very adequate. Extremely clean, every one of our 10 day stay. The tower rooms are a bit newer, lighter and brighter then the smaller cabanas. However that pool location is lovely. Pool is clean and quiet. A few chairs & cushions need repair. Loved the location from town, just a short walk. And the beach, just a few steps away. Plan to pay $5 for your chair. Coffee, juice and toast included for breakfast is also fine. Good coffee. Fabulous food is limitless in town. Staff was friendly. Bicycle taxi from the ferry is great also, much more relaxing and pleasant. Wifi from the restaurant worked well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't be afraid to eat all the great food. From the little cart by the ferry to the wonderful baked goods from the old gentleman at the end of Hidalgo Street.

Review of Hotel Cabanas Maria del Mar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
artfulshopper
sanibel island, FL
Jul 5, 2010

Isla Mujeres

This hotel is in the quieter section of the island but within walking distance of the town/ferry/shops/restaurants. The people are very friendly, if a little too pushy about selling their wares. We had great fresh seafood and also enjoyed the bustling narrow streets. We always felt safe (three women travelers).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Cabanas Maria del Mar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mount Pleasant, TX
Apr 20, 2010

"Mostly good; a few opportunities"

Overall the hotel was good. Very close to the beach and clean with all ammenities functional. We had to leave early the day of our departure and they couldn't help us with a taxi so we walked to the ferry. The breakfast was almost non-existent, some toast, coffee, and juice that isn't very good. The little restaurant the breakfast is served at does not have very friendly staff, but overall not a bad experience except one part. I bought the transportation package from Cancun to Isla Mujeres and back (Grey Lines). It was pretty much a disaster from the start. Waste of money. I will just get my own transportation next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't buy the ground transportation package from Grey Lines. Waste of money.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search