$188 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

Villa Maria Cristina Boutique Hotel

4 stars
Paseo de la Presa de la Olla 80 A, Col. Centro, Guanajuato, 36000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
5.0
out of 5
4 reviews
Luxurious and quiet

We stayed for a week at the Maria Cristina and every day was a pleasure. The staff couldn't do... See full review

  • Barbarita
  • Mar 12, 2012
Best hotel experience!

We chose this hotel because it was one of the only hotels in Guanajuato that had a gym. Although... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 26, 2009
Offering the cozy and stylish atmosphere of an aristocratic home. Its 13 spacious suites with wooden floors and marble bathrooms, are decorated with French furniture and take full advantage of the architectural style, with large windows allowing for natural light, creating an atmosphere of elegant intimacy.

The warm, terracotta-colored walls, floors inlaid with mosaics and hallways punctuated by plants, create pleasant public areas and a sense of space. The terrace, with its king-size jacuzzi beneath a pergola, is the ideal space for al fresco dining, afternoon tea or an evening cocktail, when the light thrown by the wrought-iron lamps and the water features create a romantic ambiance.

The hotel also serves as the ideal location for a special occasion or event, from conferences and meetings to weddings and celebrations. The hotel's spa, with a Roman-style sunken pool, whirlpool, Swiss showers and treatment rooms, is an oasis in which to be pampered just a short walk from suite. The first-class, friendly service from the staff will cater to every whim and make feel at home, away from home, while private limousine service from the local airport or Mexico City means luxury experience begins ven before reaching the hotel.

Amenities:
Concierge, Free Parking, Pool, Restaurant and Spa Services.

Hotel Map

21.0045 -101.2466
Area served
Guanajuato.
Nearby airports
Guanajuato City's International Airport is El Bajio, which serves several small cities of the region. It is located 35 minutes from the hotel.
Area description
Without a doubt one of Mexico’s most picturesque cities, Guanajuato lies among mineral-rich hills just four hours north of Mexico City and an hour from the Bajio International Airport, making it a convenient destination to get away from it all. The city’s narrow, cobblestone streets wind between pastel-colored houses, offering never-ending routes to the curious visitor, who will find shade in its many public squares and pavement cafes. Host of the annual International Cervantino Festival, that every October sees artists from all over the world descend on Guanajuato for two weeks of world-class entertainment, the elegance of the city’s buildings and public squares date from its rich past as one of the country’s most important silver-mining towns, which put it on the map during colonial times and financed the construction of majestic buildings, such as the Juarez Theater, opposite the main square, and the Basilica.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Villa Maria Cristina Boutique Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Villa Maria Cristina Boutique Hotel Rooms

Junior Suite
Room with a king bed includes high ceilings, large windows, wooden floors and elegant Roche Bobois furniture in warm, dark woods, Room service, whirlpool tubs or steam baths, oversize beds with soft, high-quality linen.
Patio Suite
Room with a king bed includes high ceilings, large windows, wooden floors and elegant Roche Bobois furniture in warm, dark woods, Room service, whirlpool tubs or steam baths, oversize beds with soft, high-quality linen.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Restaurant
On the first floor, with full-length French windows onto balconies overlooking the street, and a fireplace, the Restaurant at Hotel Villa Maria Cristina is the city's most sophisticated. An elegant, wood-panelled bar with a spiral staircase leading to the wine cellar, offers the perfect place for an aperitif while browsing the menu of gourmet cuisine. The bar boasts an extensive collection of quality tequilas, as well as a variety of spirits and liquors. Freshly prepared by the master chef, the menu changes daily to offer an eclectic and tantalizing selection of Mexican and international dishes, served in an elegant atmosphere of refined taste, or in the comfort and intimacy of the suite. Fine wines from around the world complement the gourmet dishes, and the sommelier will be only too happy to suggest a particular bottle to best accompany the meal. A delicious range of desserts, port wines and Sherries offer the perfect way to round off the culinary experience.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (4)

Ratings and reviews for Villa Maria Cristina Boutique Hotel

Overall score

5 / 5
5.01.0
4 out of 4
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.8
Sort by:
Review of Villa Maria Cristina Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Barbarita
Houston, Texas
Mar 12, 2012

Luxurious and quiet

We stayed for a week at the Maria Cristina and every day was a pleasure. The staff couldn't do enough for us, were polite and unobtrusive and made the stay very special. The facilities are excellent for the size of the hotel and we made full use of the spa area every day. It is a little way out of town but coming back to the tranquility of the hotel's beautiful courtyards was an everyday treat. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Villa Maria Cristina Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Berkeley, CA
Jul 26, 2009

Best hotel experience!

We chose this hotel because it was one of the only hotels in Guanajuato that had a gym. Although check in time was at 3pm, we arrived early thinking they could store our luggage while we went out exploring. We were surprised to find out that they had upgraded our room because our original room was not ready. The room was of high end quality furniture and the hot tub was very relaxing! The hotel only has 13 rooms which makes it very quiet. The pool and gym were open 24hrs a day which made it very convenient for us. The pool is made out of small tiles which gives it a Romanesque look. The gym had a few cardio machines but also had pilates mats available. The restaurant had a large selection of foods and wines available. It was completely empty the entire time which made it seem like the staff were personally serving us. We truly felt like we were spoiled the entire time! The hotel towels were soft, had a nice smell to them (compared to normal hotel towels), and were available in the gym and pool. Complementary water bottles were also made available in the rooms, pool, and gym. Umbrellas are also made available throughout the hotel in case an occasional rain shower slips in. The wireless internet was complimentary and fast! This was what I consider luxury for a great rate. We found all the other reviews helpful but fortunately, did not experience any of the negatives. We are recommending this hotel to all our friends and we hope to return in the near future!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

We have been to Guanajuato many many times before and felt that walking was the best way to get from the the hotel to the city center and attractions. Unfortunately, we got lost. To make it easier, take a taxi. It will make your trip less stressful! A big plus is that the taxis in this town are cheap compared to other towns.

Review of Villa Maria Cristina Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toronto, ON
Feb 12, 2008

Villa Maria Cristina, Guanajuato

The hotel is beautifully designed and comfortable, with an attentive staff. In what was labelled a junior suite, the bed was small for two people. But otherwise the room and bathroom facilities were excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Villa Maria Cristina Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 14, 2007

Villa Maria Christina was Great!

Villa Maria Christina is a beautiful place, and perfectly apppointed. Very quiet. We loved the outdoor living areas that so perfectly and comfortably expanded our room. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. We walked to the center of town several times, or took the short cab ride, and thoroughly enjoyed exploring Guanajuato. We definitely felt like the Villa Marie Christina met all of our expectations. Highly recommend it to others!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search