$30 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 1, 2015 Check-out: Oct 4, 2015

Hotel San Francisco Plaza

2 stars
View map of Degollado 267, Guadalajara, 44100

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
51 reviews
good

good colonial building hotel, with nice food restaurant in town centre, i like it See full review

  • guru journeys
  • Aug 3, 2015
All Around Great

To start I had made the reservation for the wrong days but the staff said it was no problem and... See full review

  • LRojas
  • Aug 11, 2012
Hotel San Francisco Plaza, inaugurated in the year of 1986, was finally conformed by the union of three big residences. Is managed by an important Hotel family with many years of experience, whose main focus is the complete satisfaction of the client. Offering in each hotel a unique and customized identity.

By staying at San Francisco Plaza Hotel, guests are able to find an atmosphere of relaxation and comfort, surrounded by a beautiful architecture and complemented by an excellent service.

The hotel offers total of 74 warm and comfortable standard rooms, which provide the guest with all the services like: individual conditioned air and heaters, complete baths (some with bathtub) TV-CABLE, wireless Internet without additional cost, and more:
- 40 Single rooms
- 34 Double rooms

Within the hotel is the "The Quijote" Restaurant, which offers delicious dishes Mexican Style with a homemade taste. From 8:00am it is possible to enjoy the Breakfast Buffet, as well as the rest of the dishes a la carte until 9:30pm, including the Room Service. "The Quijote" is located at the entrance of the hotel, giving the client the opportunity to decide between remaining in the interior of the restaurant with rustic furniture, or, to enjoy eating outside in the terrace with a beautiful fountain and view of the hotel.

In Hotel San Francisco Plaza, guests can enjoy happy stay, in a colonial building 100% Mexican Style.

Located in the heart of the city, just a few blocks away from the Degollado Theater and the rest of the Historical places, guests will find themselves just a few steps away from experiencing all the magic that the beautiful city of Guadalajara Jalisco has to offer.

With the motivation of satisfying all the clients necessities, the hotel offers the following services:
- Wireless Internet (without cost)
- Free private Parking
- Medical Service available the 24 hours of the day
- Room service from 8:00 a.m. to 9:30 p.m.
- Safe-deposit box in reception (without cost)
- Laundry service
- Electronic Plates
- Special Windows anti-noises.
- Individual Conditioned air and Heating.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel San Francisco Plaza also booked these hotels.

★★★
$29
4.0 / 5 36 reviews
★★★
$35
3.6 / 5 14 reviews
★★★
$31
3.0 / 5 3 reviews
★★★
$37
4.0 / 5 4 reviews
★★★
$44
4.1 / 5 48 reviews
★★★
$39
3.6 / 5 5 reviews
★★★
$35
3.2 / 5 13 reviews

Hotel San Francisco Plaza Rooms

Standard Room
The room offers 1 king bed or 2 Double Beds along with the A/C, Bathroom Amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, color TV, Heating, Laundry service, Non-smoking rooms, room service and valet service.Children age 5 and under stay free in the room with parents and in existing bedding. 2 Free Children under 12 sharing with their parents maximm 2. Children over this age will be concidered an adult.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

The Quijote
Mexican Style with excellent dishes and nice terrace. Opens at 8:00 am until 9:30 pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
12:00 PM
Check-out:
2:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Hotel San Francisco Plaza

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 51
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel San Francisco Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Iggie Happy Traveler
Couples
Arizona
Jun 20, 2013

You get what you pay for

The hotel itself has a good vintage look to it and makes you feel like you are in the historic center of guadalajara. The rooms on the inside however are clearly older and quite simple. I was expecting more decor and better quality of furniture. With that said, I got exactly what I payed for a great price for a 2 star hotel. The location of the hotel, I thought was great. We were right in the middle of the centro Historico de Guadalajara and were within walking distance of all the landmarks located within. We had an absolute great time visiting all the locations like the churches, museums, historical buildings, theater and government buildings and saved a great amount of money because we didtn have to invest in transportation. We also were spoiled with all the great restaurants and great food all around the centro historico. Finally, the staff at the hotel were top notch. They were very informative and helpoful aswell as polite. They catered to all our needs and provided us a great experince at the hotel. Everything from meeting our expectations to helping us plan great tours and adventures throughout the city. I would recommend this hotel if you are traveling on a budget and want to spend your money on site seeing as opposed to spending all your money on a fancy hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel San Francisco Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Minnie2009
Couples
Santa clara ca
May 21, 2013

It was ok

Kitchen staff/ in hotel resturant was horrible service. Exteemely slow negleted us twice times we ate there and we were only ones there eating. Waitress was rude never smiled. Room was ok except for giant spider that came out of no where called it in and they did nothing. But rooms are extremely roomy big beds and location is great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Main shoppong area is 2 blocks down 3 over. Excelemt dont get taxi walk but not at nite. And 2 blocks up is an amazing center to walk and enjoy fun and great food

Review of Hotel San Francisco Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LRojas
Couples
San Diego, California
Aug 11, 2012

All Around Great

To start I had made the reservation for the wrong days but the staff said it was no problem and that they would take care of it. I was so relieved that I didn't have to pay any extra. The hotel is beautiful and old I really loved the antique style. It is only 2 or 3 blocks from the town center so it was a perfect location. The day we checked out we had to be at the airport early and the staff called the taxi for us. Also, because it is not right in the middle of the centro things cost less around the hotel. There is a small restaurant right in front of the hotel to the right on the corner that serves the most delicious fresh food ever and very cheap. I totally recommend Tapatio Tours which costs only 100 pesos and takes you to Tlaquepaque, Tanala, Zonapec, and all around Guadalajara you get to see all the artisan work it is amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant on the right corner in front of the hotel. You walk across some type of a cement median, but it's right in front like 50 steps from the hotel. They make everything super fresh and so delicious. It is the cheapest too.

Review of Hotel San Francisco Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Black Friday
Couples
Bandon, OR
Mar 18, 2012

So much more than I expected

I had read several reviews of this hotel and was prepared to get my $35 a night's worth, but was impressed that I got so much more than that. It is festively and freshly painted in green and yellow (Oregon Duck colors) with a fountain in the lobby and another in the restaurant. There are cages of canaries, some nesting on eggs everywhere. The bedroom was spacious with a comfortable couch, table and chairs and plenty of heart water in the shower. The food in the restarurant was good and cheap. It is at the edge of the historical district in walking distance of everything we wanted to see. Would defintely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Liberacion mercado (do not miss) has everything you want in souvenirs from Mexico, but I found better quality merchandise in the outdoor venders. So I would suggest checking them out first and comparing when you get inside. And don't be shy about bargaining.

Review of Hotel San Francisco Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kirvy - The Adventurer
Couples
Kent,WA
Mar 5, 2012

Good Bye Old Friend

This hotel is in a good location to see the historic area, catch local transit, go to San Juan de Dios market,ect. It is sad to see it slowly deteriorate. They are trying to fix it with a coat of paint, but that doesn't do it. The restaurant was one of the reasons we always returned here, but this time the service was horrible and the food was just mediocre. We think this is Hasta La Vista.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Chatta for the best pozole Restaurant with Bavarian man in front - good breakfast & coffee

Review of Hotel San Francisco Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
San Francisco, CA
Mar 13, 2011

Very nice atmosphere

Very nice hotel in the Historical Center of Guadaljara. Close to walk to all the sightseeing spots. The rooms in the back are wonderful and quiet, no street noise. Friendly hotel personal and trustworthy. I can just recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel San Francisco Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AnneeFannee
Couples
Reno, Nevada
Feb 23, 2011

Historical and Beautiful Location

The hotel is 1 block from San Franciso Church, the oldest church in Guadalajara, and walking distance of 4 more including the Cathedral. It is within walking distance of one of the largest outdoor shopping areas I have ever seen and a giant 3 story swap meet!! Great location. The hotel is an old Spanish Mansion, 4 courtyards, all with lots of plants and cages of the happiest little finches. All rooms have a window or door that overlooks one of the courtyards...and did I mention old fountains in each one?? The architeture of this place is beautiful, thick solid wood doors, spanish tile and frescos all over. Nice restaraunt with a breakfast buffet in the morning, really cheap by American standards. We stayed 2 nights, and were really impressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

San Juan de Dios is the swap meet,1 block east, 4 blocks north, and Plaza Patriot is the outdoor shopping mall from the main cathredal west to east for blocks and blocks.

Review of Hotel San Francisco Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Oakland, Ca
Dec 11, 2010

Hotel San Francisco Plaza, Guadalajara

Great location, beautiful hotel, unbelievable prices. I don't recommend the restaurant. Staff spoke excellent English but the customers were mainly Mexicans, which was a plus for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Superb Mexican food to be had nearby.

Review of Hotel San Francisco Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Malandrina Rebelde
Couples
Oakland, CA
Sep 12, 2009

Romantic Hideout

This hotel is great and the staff is very friendly. The little restaraunt has great food and very friendly service. My only compaints are that the streets can be noisy at night and the the man at the check in counter had a bad attitude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel San Francisco Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Irving,TX
Jul 16, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

The room I was given was smaller than previous visits.They have a large suite directly across the fountain from check-in that is great for a couple with two kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Down the street to the left at the Hotel Aranzazu they have a much better breakfast buffet.

Back to menu Return to top