Hotel San Francisco Plaza ★★

$39
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 16, 2016 Check-out: Feb 17, 2016

Definitely not 4 Star

Would not recommend Fri, Mar 9, 2012
Good location in the city. The rooms are badly in need refurbishing in order to keep the 4 star rating they claim. When we checked in, the room had a non-operating TV so we were relocated to another room where the toilet leaked all over the bathroom floor. It was repaired the next day. Food in the restaurant was quite good and everyone on Staff was helpful and friendly.

Shopping hint

This hotel is walking distance to the central market where you can find anything and everything at reasonable prices. Lots of fun to browse plus great food.

| Prescott, AZ, USA & Mazatlan, Mexico Friends

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Good Bye Old Friend

Would not recommend Mon, Mar 5, 2012
This hotel is in a good location to see the historic area, catch local transit, go to San Juan de Dios market,ect. It is sad to see it slowly deteriorate. They are trying to fix it with a coat of paint, but that doesn't do it. The restaurant was one of the reasons we always returned here, but this time the service was horrible and the food was just mediocre. We think this is Hasta La Vista.

Dining

La Chatta for the best pozole Restaurant with Bavarian man in front - good breakfast & coffee

| Kent,WA Couples

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Great location, ok hotel.

Would recommend Tue, Aug 2, 2011
In a great spot and the price was right. The hotel is a bit worn out but for me this can be over looked because the location is so great. I walked to all of the sights.It was clean and the staff was friendly. Free WiFi that worked great.

| Puerto Vallarta Mexico Singles

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Grand classic needs some loving help

Would recommend Wed, Jun 15, 2011
comfortable beds would be helpful, as would money changing options at the desk

Nightlife hint

dynamic and quintessional mexican all around you in city centre

| florida south L.G.B.T.

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 1 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

It was an experience!

Would not recommend Tue, Mar 22, 2011
Room had a mildew odor. Staff was very friendly, courteous and helpful however we were charged for an extra night.

Shopping hint

There's an alternative night club across the street which draws a crowd at night.

| Rancho Cucamonga, CA Family

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Very nice atmosphere

Would recommend Sun, Mar 13, 2011
Very nice hotel in the Historical Center of Guadaljara. Close to walk to all the sightseeing spots. The rooms in the back are wonderful and quiet, no street noise. Friendly hotel personal and trustworthy. I can just recommend it!

| San Francisco, CA Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Historical and Beautiful Location

Would recommend Wed, Feb 23, 2011
The hotel is 1 block from San Franciso Church, the oldest church in Guadalajara, and walking distance of 4 more including the Cathedral. It is within walking distance of one of the largest outdoor shopping areas I have ever seen and a giant 3 story swap meet!! Great location. The hotel is an old Spanish Mansion, 4 courtyards, all with lots of plants and cages of the happiest little finches. All rooms have a window or door that overlooks one of the courtyards...and did I mention old fountains in each one?? The architeture of this place is beautiful, thick solid wood doors, spanish tile and frescos all over. Nice restaraunt with a breakfast buffet in the morning, really cheap by American standards. We stayed 2 nights, and were really impressed.

Shopping hint

San Juan de Dios is the swap meet,1 block east, 4 blocks north, and Plaza Patriot is the outdoor shopping mall from the main cathredal west to east for blocks and blocks.

| Reno, Nevada Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

The Good & The Bad

Would recommend Sun, Feb 20, 2011
Hotel is located in the Centro district which is great for getting around by walking or using the bus system. At night the area is quite seedy - not recommended for children. The in house restaurant has excellent service, good food,nice patio area for eating. The rooms are showing age. Check for cleanliness and plumbing problems. Bring any complaints to front desk.Good place to stay for the price.

Shopping hint

There is a store for every imaginable item around plazas and down streets. The prices range from very expensive to very reasonable. Be sure to visit Mercado Libertad (also known as San Juan Dios). If you don't find it there it is not available. Be sure to barter.

| Kent,WA Family

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Hotel San Francisco Plaza

Would recommend Fri, Dec 24, 2010
We are world travelers and have lived in 9 countries. This was on of the most beautiful hotels we have stayeds in with the fountains etc. Beauce of this dessighn it is a bit noisy as the sound reverbates against the high walls. The lovation is perfect. Mext to what we wanted to see most.

Dining

you must try the breakfast buffet. Excellent.

| Seattle, WA Friends

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Hotel San Francisco Plaza, Guadalajara

Would recommend Sat, Dec 11, 2010
Great location, beautiful hotel, unbelievable prices. I don't recommend the restaurant. Staff spoke excellent English but the customers were mainly Mexicans, which was a plus for me.

Dining

Superb Mexican food to be had nearby.

| Oakland, Ca Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5