$30 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2015 Check-out: Aug 10, 2015

Hotel San Francisco Plaza

2 stars
View map of Degollado 267, Guadalajara, 44100

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel San Francisco Plaza

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel San Francisco Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kirvy - The Adventurer
Business
Kent,WA
Mar 5, 2012

Good Bye Old Friend

This hotel is in a good location to see the historic area, catch local transit, go to San Juan de Dios market,ect. It is sad to see it slowly deteriorate. They are trying to fix it with a coat of paint, but that doesn't do it. The restaurant was one of the reasons we always returned here, but this time the service was horrible and the food was just mediocre. We think this is Hasta La Vista.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Chatta for the best pozole Restaurant with Bavarian man in front - good breakfast & coffee

Review of Hotel San Francisco Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pvkid
Business
Puerto Vallarta Mexico
Aug 2, 2011

Great location, ok hotel.

In a great spot and the price was right. The hotel is a bit worn out but for me this can be over looked because the location is so great. I walked to all of the sights.It was clean and the staff was friendly. Free WiFi that worked great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Francisco Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
real tough span
Business
florida south
Jun 15, 2011

Grand classic needs some loving help

comfortable beds would be helpful, as would money changing options at the desk

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

dynamic and quintessional mexican all around you in city centre

Review of Hotel San Francisco Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Reitred Grandma
Business
Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Mar 22, 2011

It was an experience!

Room had a mildew odor. Staff was very friendly, courteous and helpful however we were charged for an extra night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There's an alternative night club across the street which draws a crowd at night.

Review of Hotel San Francisco Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Mar 13, 2011

Very nice atmosphere

Very nice hotel in the Historical Center of Guadaljara. Close to walk to all the sightseeing spots. The rooms in the back are wonderful and quiet, no street noise. Friendly hotel personal and trustworthy. I can just recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel San Francisco Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AnneeFannee
Business
Reno, Nevada
Feb 23, 2011

Historical and Beautiful Location

The hotel is 1 block from San Franciso Church, the oldest church in Guadalajara, and walking distance of 4 more including the Cathedral. It is within walking distance of one of the largest outdoor shopping areas I have ever seen and a giant 3 story swap meet!! Great location. The hotel is an old Spanish Mansion, 4 courtyards, all with lots of plants and cages of the happiest little finches. All rooms have a window or door that overlooks one of the courtyards...and did I mention old fountains in each one?? The architeture of this place is beautiful, thick solid wood doors, spanish tile and frescos all over. Nice restaraunt with a breakfast buffet in the morning, really cheap by American standards. We stayed 2 nights, and were really impressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

San Juan de Dios is the swap meet,1 block east, 4 blocks north, and Plaza Patriot is the outdoor shopping mall from the main cathredal west to east for blocks and blocks.

Review of Hotel San Francisco Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kent,WA
Feb 20, 2011

The Good & The Bad

Hotel is located in the Centro district which is great for getting around by walking or using the bus system. At night the area is quite seedy - not recommended for children. The in house restaurant has excellent service, good food,nice patio area for eating. The rooms are showing age. Check for cleanliness and plumbing problems. Bring any complaints to front desk.Good place to stay for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a store for every imaginable item around plazas and down streets. The prices range from very expensive to very reasonable. Be sure to visit Mercado Libertad (also known as San Juan Dios). If you don't find it there it is not available. Be sure to barter.

Review of Hotel San Francisco Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Dec 24, 2010

Hotel San Francisco Plaza

We are world travelers and have lived in 9 countries. This was on of the most beautiful hotels we have stayeds in with the fountains etc. Beauce of this dessighn it is a bit noisy as the sound reverbates against the high walls. The lovation is perfect. Mext to what we wanted to see most.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

you must try the breakfast buffet. Excellent.

Review of Hotel San Francisco Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakland, Ca
Dec 11, 2010

Hotel San Francisco Plaza, Guadalajara

Great location, beautiful hotel, unbelievable prices. I don't recommend the restaurant. Staff spoke excellent English but the customers were mainly Mexicans, which was a plus for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Superb Mexican food to be had nearby.

Review of Hotel San Francisco Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
upset husband
Business
mexico city
Nov 22, 2010

nice from the exterior

I had planned a three nights stay and last just the first one. Dark room; when requesting for a change they show me (actually they lend me the key) to see another room that smelled like gas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top