$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 24, 2014

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

4 stars
Av. Corona 243 - Historic Downtown, Guadalajara, 44100
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
222 reviews
Exelent Hotel, near almost everything in downtown Guadalajara

Wirelss internet wasn't the best...signal went on and off when in room, at lobby not problem at all- See full review

  • SANDVL
  • Sep 8, 2014
Best location, more than what you pay for!

Super classy with historic charm, staff was attentive and efficient. When we checked in our room... See full review

  • IamRia
  • Aug 30, 2014
Colonial and Historic Building, which was built in the 19th century. It is located three blocks away from the Metropolitan Cathedral. Under the management of Mr. Luis Morales Serrano became during several decades as the bullfighters' hotel, which for many people it still is.

This building is identified with a whole period of Guadalajara's history.

The Hotel offers the most modern and updated equipments and facilities combined with a classical colonial ambient and "climate". Everything focused for the comfort and enjoyment of all our distinguished guests, assuring and warranting that it will be a trip and a meeting back with the past of this great place.

It Might be mentioned as a curious aside that there are rumors and legends about tunnels that connect Hotel Morales to the Metropolitan Cathedral (about 1/2 mi. away). The date and reasons by which these underground passages were forgotten and cancelled remain unknown. Likewise, the use they were given is a mystery but their existence does give an enigmatic touch to Hotel Morales.

The Hotel Morales is classified as Artistic Heritage and Architectonical Jewel of the city of Guadalajara. It is also under protection of the INAH (National Anthropology and History Board of Mexico).

Amenities:

- Free in-room high-speed internet access
- Laptop size safety deposit box in rooms
- Meeting rooms for up to 100 people
- Restaurant
- Live show lobby-bar - Panoramic flat roof
- Camera surveillance for public areas
- Valet laundry
- Baby-sitting upon request
- 24 hrs. medical service
- Car rental service
- Taxi & limo service
- Photocopier & fax service
- Room service from 7:00am to 10:30pm
- Vending machines
- Exercise room
- Mini-store
- Business center
- Free luggage custody
- Money exchange - Newspapers
- Free parking
- Elevator

Hotel Map

20.6729 -103.3462
Area served
Guadalajara's Historic Downtown.
Nearby airports
Miguel Hidalgo International Airport.
Area description
The Hotel is located in Downtown & Colonial Guadalajara, and walking distance to everywhere: like the Metropolitan Cathedral, Government Palace, Degollado Theatre, Museums, Banks, Shopping Areas and World Heritage "Hospicio Cabañas". The Hotel itself is a reference point.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core Rooms

Junior Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, hotel's widest suites, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, mini-refrigerator.
Imperial Suite with Jacuzzi
This room offers one king bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, alarm & radio clock, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wide wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, jacuzzi, music device, mini-refrigerator.
Double Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.
Single Suite
This room offers one queen bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

El Ruedo
Restaurant "El Ruedo" International and Mexican Food. Open daily 07:00 - 22:30.
La verbena
Panoramic Flat Roof "La Verbena" International and Mexican Food. Open according to season

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (222)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 222
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Thumperjohn
California
Apr 12, 2011

Can be hit and miss

This is my second time staying at Hotel Morales, can be very hit and miss on quality. I knew street side rooms were noisy from last visit, so asked for interior room at check in. Much quieter at night inside, but you do hear noise from lobby during daytime. It is an historic hotel, with some modern amenities. Internet is available with an ethernet cable in the room, or wifi that ONLY works in the lobby areas and not above the first floor. The Air Conditioning didn't work in my room, they let me borrow a fan and said someone would be up to fix the AC in the morning. Late the next afternoon they started work on the AC and then left, with AC still disassembled, for at least an hour. Staff can be friendly, some speak English. Others seem kind of offended when you ask if they speak English. I don't think I'll be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AMOMEXICO
San Jose, CA, USA
Dec 13, 2011

Great Location for downtown GDL

This is my second time staying at Hotel Morales and I forgot how thin the walls are. I was given a cornor room (right next to the elevator), where you could hear the elevator go and down, and people talking. Other then that the service was really good, clean rooms, good food, and walking distance to all historic downtown life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You must visit La Chata or La Chata. Great places to have breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
diego325
SF, CA
May 7, 2014

Room For Improvement

While this hotel is centrally located and it's staff is generally professional (with the exception of a hotel clerk who carried my bag to my room upon my arrival only forget me the next day and accost me in the street demanding my room number because he suspected I didn't belong in the hotel), the room itself left a great deal to be desired. For one thing, the room safe was ridiculously complicated, requiring a series of steps to both lock and unlock it that I've not only never seen before in all my travels, but came without any instructions. As a result, I had to have someone come to my room twice to unjam the safe and to explain how to use it. Another problem with the room was that the bathroom had no shower curtain. As a result, the bathroom floor was absolutely soaked after I took a shower. Finally, while the room did have coffee maker, it's cord was so short that I couldn't plug it into the wall anywhere in the room (forcing me to make coffee in the bathroom!) To add insult to injury, when I finally went to pour myself a cup of coffee, the lid fell off the coffee pot because it had never been attached. When you combine all this with the fact that the walls in the room were very thin, it made for a somewhat unpleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Like Nice People
Chicago
Feb 16, 2009

Great Space, Poor Front Desk

I was very pleased to see the restored lobby with its huge fountain. The physical location was great, the bell staff helpful, the food just so-so, but each time I had an "encounter" with the front desk, I was sorely disappointed in the lack of interest. I felt like they were doing me a big favor just talking to me--taking away time from them gossiping with eachother.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Chata just donw the street, 2 blocks, was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vacay Bud
Imperial Valley, CA
Aug 10, 2010

Great Location and Wonderful Get-a-way

The hotel was very clean and centrally located to many historical sights. It was clean and the staff was very helpful at all times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dago Ibarra
El Paso, Texas
Nov 19, 2013

Great Place to stay in Downtown Guadalajara

This is a great hotel if you want to visit downtown sites. You can walk anyway from here, convenient located near main avenues. Hotel is good, but avoid the rooms near the elevator. I stayed in room 202 close to it. It's too much nouse. You hear the mechanism all night long.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Cathedral, main square, Hospicio Cabanas, food everywhere !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Mar 3, 2010

Great Colonial Hotel

Beautiful colonial style hotel from 1880s, nicely rehabed with modern conveniences and old charm, located only a couple of blocks from the Cathedral and downtown activities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CJ Visiting Mom
Chicago, IL.
Jan 27, 2014

Perfect for Touring Guadalajara

Loved the historical feel to the whole hotel! Loved the beautiful views from my balcony! Loved the location... Great walking to everything! Loved the staff, always so nice & helpful! Loved Hotel Morales, will stay here again on my next trip to Guadalajara!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Must see the beautiful Cathdrals, Theater, Parks, Cantina and all the street vendor shopping. Oh don't forget to try the Papas w/hot suace sold all over from the street vendors, it's a must! Loved them, my favorite!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Triedtheothers
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Aug 28, 2014

Nice Place, Great Location

A beautiful historic hotel. Good Restaurant. Front desk was not particularly friendly but the waiters were. The A/C could have been stronger but overall a very pleasant experience. I will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anders J
Chippewa Falls, WI
Mar 3, 2013

One of the Best Values in Mexico

This hotel really is in a beautifully restored colonial style building with courtyards and fountains. The only things I would generally complain about is that the wi-fi does not reach into most of the rooms, but sitting in the courtyards or lobby on the laptop is actually very pleasant. I personally did not like the pillows on the bed; they were memory foam. There is a good mix of people at this hotel, business, tourists, Mexican, USA, Canadian, European, etc. It is not overly touristy or business-like which is a nice change from other places I have stayed in Mexico. I went to Guadalajara for business and leisure and the location and services at the hotel were very good for both, and the location is great for tourists and business because most of the main attractions are within walking distance of the hotel and most of the major roads in town originate near the hotel so business travel is relatively quick. The taqueria across the street is also excellent, even if the seats are a little awkward.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Banamex bank on the corner of Av Juarez and Corona has the lowest ATM fee near the hotel, and there is usually no line because they have 5 ATMs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search