$48 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 8, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

4 stars
Av. Corona 243 - Historic Downtown, Guadalajara, 44100
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
224 reviews
Exelent Hotel, near almost everything in downtown Guadalajara

Wirelss internet wasn't the best...signal went on and off when in room, at lobby not problem at all- See full review

  • SANDVL
  • Sep 8, 2014
Best location, more than what you pay for!

Super classy with historic charm, staff was attentive and efficient. When we checked in our room... See full review

  • IamRia
  • Aug 30, 2014
Colonial and Historic Building, which was built in the 19th century. It is located three blocks away from the Metropolitan Cathedral. Under the management of Mr. Luis Morales Serrano became during several decades as the bullfighters' hotel, which for many people it still is.

This building is identified with a whole period of Guadalajara's history.

The Hotel offers the most modern and updated equipments and facilities combined with a classical colonial ambient and "climate". Everything focused for the comfort and enjoyment of all our distinguished guests, assuring and warranting that it will be a trip and a meeting back with the past of this great place.

It Might be mentioned as a curious aside that there are rumors and legends about tunnels that connect Hotel Morales to the Metropolitan Cathedral (about 1/2 mi. away). The date and reasons by which these underground passages were forgotten and cancelled remain unknown. Likewise, the use they were given is a mystery but their existence does give an enigmatic touch to Hotel Morales.

The Hotel Morales is classified as Artistic Heritage and Architectonical Jewel of the city of Guadalajara. It is also under protection of the INAH (National Anthropology and History Board of Mexico).

Amenities:

- Free in-room high-speed internet access
- Laptop size safety deposit box in rooms
- Meeting rooms for up to 100 people
- Restaurant
- Live show lobby-bar - Panoramic flat roof
- Camera surveillance for public areas
- Valet laundry
- Baby-sitting upon request
- 24 hrs. medical service
- Car rental service
- Taxi & limo service
- Photocopier & fax service
- Room service from 7:00am to 10:30pm
- Vending machines
- Exercise room
- Mini-store
- Business center
- Free luggage custody
- Money exchange - Newspapers
- Free parking
- Elevator

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core Rooms

Junior Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, hotel's widest suites, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, mini-refrigerator.
Imperial Suite with Jacuzzi
This room offers one king bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, alarm & radio clock, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wide wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, jacuzzi, music device, mini-refrigerator.
Double Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.
Single Suite
This room offers one queen bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

El Ruedo
Restaurant "El Ruedo" International and Mexican Food. Open daily 07:00 - 22:30.
La verbena
Panoramic Flat Roof "La Verbena" International and Mexican Food. Open according to season

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (224)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 224
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ajijic, Jalisco, Mexico
Jul 11, 2011

Imperial Suite - Unsuitable for Royalty

1. some front desk personnel obnoxious - when we asked for bottled water, we were told to go and get it ourselves; 2. our "Imperial Suite" had leaking a/c - leaking commode - leaking refrigerator; and, whoever would expect our "Imperial Suite" to be covered with laminate flooring (hardly appropriate for the period of restoration); ceramic tile would have been the flooring of choice; large room (not suite) appeared sparsely filled with furnishings - much wasted floor space for amount of furnishings used; 3. for the $170.00 we paid per night for our 3-day stay was way over-priced and much more enjoyment could have been found in less expensive establishments; 4. the nicest employee was the housekeeper who was reponsible for our room (she deserves a raise in pay and/or promotion). Her smile said it all! 5. true, the decor in the common areas was very nice, however, one can't spend 24-hours roaming the halls and admiring the renovated surroundings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco, Mexico
Jan 3, 2011

Very bad service staff

Free internet was not available in the rooms and the reception in the lobby was very slow. Valet parking took at least 20 minutes because the elevator is slow and your car was returned a half a block away, not at the front entry where you gave it to the attendant. The front desk wanted a 100 peso deposit for a second key (plastic card)for the room and they never worked. The first two times going back to the front desk they said I was in the other room and subsequent trips it was because I put the key in my wallet and finally they said the second key never works. One elevator for such a large hotel is not adequate for all the guests and staff. While the room was pleasant, I would never stay there again. There are much better choices in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Two typical and popular Mexican restaurants are nearby. La Chata and La Gorda. Hotel restaurant was fine for breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mjb9
Business
ca
Sep 25, 2012

Hotel Morales Guadalajara

My room was very nice and was kept clean and well stocked. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The pool was quite nice. The restaurant was good with a nice breakfast buffet. The doormen know the local information and are eager to help. The location is very near the central cultural district which is only two blocks away, the virtual heart of the city. 4.5 stars Wifi is iffy at best. There is no wifi in the rooms and access is sometimes available on the floors in the public areas but mostly not. The lobby has wifi but it is not working right, login with 3 strong bars but fail to access the internet, and then get bumped off and then repeat over and over. Compounding the problem the personnel at the front desk indicate that everyone else is using it, but when you ask everyone else they all say they are having the same problem. There are two computers (one out of order) with wired internet access that had good internet connection, when they were not in use by others. But it would be nice if there was an option to print from them (boarding passes, maps, etc.). 2 stars total 4 stars

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Chata, 1.5 blocks towards downtown, ask the doorman, good food, clean and quick, moderate price, the only drawback are the constant lines, but they move quickly

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boobala
Business
Sayulita, Nayarit, Mx
Dec 6, 2012

Hotel Moarales Rocks

We had a great stay for two nights. My second time there and I would go back again. Just wish there was a fun bar/restaurant for happy hours close by.......:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the backpack traveler
Business
Los Angeles, California
May 19, 2013

great Location

this hotel was in located in the center of the city and I loved staying here. the rooms are clean and the staff was very friendly. I would definitely stay here the next time I go to Guadalajara. The hotel has a colonial design and is so beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PA
Mar 14, 2011

Beautiful building in a historic area

Upside : Hotel building is so pretty and located in a historic area. So we could walk around in the evening to see all the lighted pretty historic places. Room was clean and spacious. Hotel staff was really nice and friendly. And they helped me to find my lost item. Downside : There are not enough rack or space to put things and towel. As it is located in a popular area, street was noisy at night. I used ear plug during our whole stay. Don't leave your cloth on the bed when you go out. They took my cloth with sheets altogether. But on the later day, I could find my jacket luckily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

All the historic places are within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Beach, CA
Sep 1, 2010

Great location and price and charming

The staff was very helpful and the hotel is very charming old world look. It is somewhat noisy though only because you can here people closing their room doors and some close them very hard which woke us up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

There are not many good restaurants in walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chandler, AZ
Jun 2, 2010

Great hotel... just hunted...

I went to Guadalajara on vacation with my girlfriend and some friends.I looked online for the best deal and [...] had it.Great location, great rooms, spacious bathroom shower, classical decor, valet parking, great service, very clean...Everything is walking distance, you're located in downtown.Only problem was that the hotel was hunted. We heard a lot of noises, the door knob being moved every night, steps outside our room, a little kid reported to be playing around the halls. We couldn't sleep the last night, we heard the doors being forced and no-one was there when we ran to check for people... They told us that 3rd and 4th floors are the ones that report these activities, so I'd recommend staying in the 1st or 2nd floor (we were in the 3rd floor).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Chata, you gotta try this place, it was amazing. If there's a line, don't worry, you'll get free beer while waiting in line. Also, give a try to JugoTortiPollo, they have great morning start selection (fruits -juice and salad, sandwiches and chicken); the place next door is also good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Feb 18, 2010

Very nice historic hotel

This is a wonderful, renovated historic hotel. It is located in the middle of busy, urban Guadalajara and I enjoyed being able to walk to many shops, museums, parks, tiendas, and restaurants. If you're looking for a super quiet place, this is not the hotel for you but the hotel can't control the outside night life noise (which wasn't that bad but is something to consider).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Luis Obispo, CA
Mar 9, 2008

Beautiful, but beds are hard

The hotel is lovely, beautifully maintained, immaculately clean and a good value for the price. Nice amenities, but the beds were very very firm. After the first night they softened it some by placing a folded blanket under the sheet, but it was still firmer that I typically like, and I thought I like a firm mattress. The staff were helpful and friendly and the location was wonderful- walking distance from all of the major attractions in downtown Guadalajara. If you stay here try to walk (about 10 minutes) to the Bierria Las 9 Esquinas, beautiful, inexpensive and wonderful food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top