$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 9, 2014 Check-out: Oct 11, 2014

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

4 stars
Av. Corona 243 - Historic Downtown, Guadalajara, 44100
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
222 reviews
Exelent Hotel, near almost everything in downtown Guadalajara

Wirelss internet wasn't the best...signal went on and off when in room, at lobby not problem at all- See full review

  • SANDVL
  • Sep 8, 2014
Best location, more than what you pay for!

Super classy with historic charm, staff was attentive and efficient. When we checked in our room... See full review

  • IamRia
  • Aug 30, 2014
Colonial and Historic Building, which was built in the 19th century. It is located three blocks away from the Metropolitan Cathedral. Under the management of Mr. Luis Morales Serrano became during several decades as the bullfighters' hotel, which for many people it still is.

This building is identified with a whole period of Guadalajara's history.

The Hotel offers the most modern and updated equipments and facilities combined with a classical colonial ambient and "climate". Everything focused for the comfort and enjoyment of all our distinguished guests, assuring and warranting that it will be a trip and a meeting back with the past of this great place.

It Might be mentioned as a curious aside that there are rumors and legends about tunnels that connect Hotel Morales to the Metropolitan Cathedral (about 1/2 mi. away). The date and reasons by which these underground passages were forgotten and cancelled remain unknown. Likewise, the use they were given is a mystery but their existence does give an enigmatic touch to Hotel Morales.

The Hotel Morales is classified as Artistic Heritage and Architectonical Jewel of the city of Guadalajara. It is also under protection of the INAH (National Anthropology and History Board of Mexico).

Amenities:

- Free in-room high-speed internet access
- Laptop size safety deposit box in rooms
- Meeting rooms for up to 100 people
- Restaurant
- Live show lobby-bar - Panoramic flat roof
- Camera surveillance for public areas
- Valet laundry
- Baby-sitting upon request
- 24 hrs. medical service
- Car rental service
- Taxi & limo service
- Photocopier & fax service
- Room service from 7:00am to 10:30pm
- Vending machines
- Exercise room
- Mini-store
- Business center
- Free luggage custody
- Money exchange - Newspapers
- Free parking
- Elevator

Hotel Map

20.6729 -103.3462
Area served
Guadalajara's Historic Downtown.
Nearby airports
Miguel Hidalgo International Airport.
Area description
The Hotel is located in Downtown & Colonial Guadalajara, and walking distance to everywhere: like the Metropolitan Cathedral, Government Palace, Degollado Theatre, Museums, Banks, Shopping Areas and World Heritage "Hospicio Cabañas". The Hotel itself is a reference point.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core Rooms

Junior Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, hotel's widest suites, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, mini-refrigerator.
Imperial Suite with Jacuzzi
This room offers one king bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, alarm & radio clock, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wide wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, jacuzzi, music device, mini-refrigerator.
Double Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.
Single Suite
This room offers one queen bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

El Ruedo
Restaurant "El Ruedo" International and Mexican Food. Open daily 07:00 - 22:30.
La verbena
Panoramic Flat Roof "La Verbena" International and Mexican Food. Open according to season

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (222)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 222
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.5

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
willier
SouthGate Californian
Mar 19, 2012

family getaway

Had a bad experience on my last night. The hotel hosts banquets and the music is super loud. I could not sleep until 3am

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
fellow mexicans
Mexico city
Jun 7, 2009

Very disappointing management

The hotel is beautiful and greatly located, however we had a very bad experience there. Our cell phone dissapeared from our room, and noone wanted to be responsible, we were left to pay it by ourselves. They claimed that the staff is very trustfull and that they didn't see the cell phone and they are not responsible for "anything" left in the room even while you are still using it.....I don't think this should be the treatment that a hotel of this category should give.. as if we were lying about our missing phone...!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
santope
Seoul, Korea
Dec 31, 2012

Nice historical building, room not so good

The hotel was recently renovated so bathrooms and equipment are new. The building is very nicely done, in historical style with interior patios and antique-looking furniture. The other side of the coin is that both our rooms had windows into a ventilation shaft, which is probably inevitable in such a building. The advantage is no street noise. However, one room was on the top floor, and every time the lift moves you can hear a very loud noise from the machinery. This was not good for our sleep. Location-wise it was was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The government palace and museum are very nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
los angeles
May 22, 2010

pretty good

the bellboys were excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

eat at la gorda or la chata. ask the bellboys where they are.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kevin13
redwood city, ca
Mar 31, 2011

Not so great!!!

I have read really good reviews about the hotel in different websites but the truth is that is not something out of the ordinary. At least not worth the price. I do have to say that the location was very good since it is located in downtown Guadalajara. In general it is a nice hotel that with colonial features but not worth $1000 pesos a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

All tourist points are really close by since it is downtown GDL.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
beegees4life
Turlock, Ca
Mar 23, 2011

The 'Okay' Experience We Had

It was all good except there were some thngs that were missing. Like curtosy and good costermer service that a four star hotel SHOULD have. There was no internet in the rooms as promised and we had to actually lend us a cable for a deposit down stairs. Another example;one time when we placed the card inside of the room(which you must for the power) the wind blew the door and we were stuck outside. We had to PURCHASE another piece of plastic for they asked for a 'deposit' of five USD. The staff was 'okay'. Not wonderful as you expect a four star hotel to be. Their was just something missing... The resturant down stairs... I wouldn't recomend you to eat there. It was plain awefull. I had lost my appetite as soon as I placed that piece of food in my mouth. I would have to say the ONLY good thing about this hotel is that its in a historical downtown area and is close to historical monuments. Overall; I rate this hotel 3 1/2 Stars. I am very dissapointed. I expected more from this FOUR star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping here was good. Many plazas near by. I'll tell you one thing; it was a good experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
buddd
Panama city, Panama
Nov 17, 2010

Marvelous Morales

My family and I enjoyed our hotel stay very much. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the location of the hotel was perfect because it was near restaurants and shops and there was plenty of tourist activity to see and do. The only knock that we have is that there were never enough towels which made us constantly call room service and one day when we returned from breakfast the faulty toilet seat had been removed and not replaced which meant you guessed it--another call to the front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kevin Vacationer
Washington
Oct 27, 2012

Great place to stay!

Only complaint is that the wifi was not very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lula bistro is the best!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sea/Maz
Jan 8, 2011

Great Place with a Glitch

This was our second time staying here. The hotel has been kept up very well. It is perfectly located to enjoy the sights and people of Guadalajara.My only complaint is that the hotel did not receive my [...]reservation and stuck us in a corner/hole room. It would have been nice if we could have enjoyed the same accommodations as last time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is perfectly located to see the historic areas of Guadalajara, catch the bus to Tonala & Tlaquepaque, eat at good eating places and get to all the different shopping areas

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Oct 13, 2010

Fantastic!

Absolutely beautiful, well maintained, professional staff and perfect location. We did, however, get a weird look when we asked for an extra set of bath towels on the afternoon of a really hot day. Not rude, but we may have been the only ones to ask for a fresh set. Not very green of us, I guess. Felt very safe and loved that there was a doorman 24/7 and security for the busy weekend of the festival.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search