$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2014 Check-out: Jul 27, 2014

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

4 stars
Av. Corona 243 - Historic Downtown, Guadalajara, 44100
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
327 reviews
Great Hotel

The Hotel Morales was great. Located in downtown Guadalajara is walking distance from everything.... See full review

  • Nube viajera
  • Jun 29, 2014
Great Experience

This hotel is marvellous, the arcitecture and location makes it stand out. The service was great,... See full review

  • Jalisco man
  • Jun 26, 2014
Colonial and Historic Building, which was built in the 19th century. It is located three blocks away from the Metropolitan Cathedral. Under the management of Mr. Luis Morales Serrano became during several decades as the bullfighters' hotel, which for many people it still is.

This building is identified with a whole period of Guadalajara's history.

The Hotel offers the most modern and updated equipments and facilities combined with a classical colonial ambient and "climate". Everything focused for the comfort and enjoyment of all our distinguished guests, assuring and warranting that it will be a trip and a meeting back with the past of this great place.

It Might be mentioned as a curious aside that there are rumors and legends about tunnels that connect Hotel Morales to the Metropolitan Cathedral (about 1/2 mi. away). The date and reasons by which these underground passages were forgotten and cancelled remain unknown. Likewise, the use they were given is a mystery but their existence does give an enigmatic touch to Hotel Morales.

The Hotel Morales is classified as Artistic Heritage and Architectonical Jewel of the city of Guadalajara. It is also under protection of the INAH (National Anthropology and History Board of Mexico).

Amenities:

- Free in-room high-speed internet access
- Laptop size safety deposit box in rooms
- Meeting rooms for up to 100 people
- Restaurant
- Live show lobby-bar - Panoramic flat roof
- Camera surveillance for public areas
- Valet laundry
- Baby-sitting upon request
- 24 hrs. medical service
- Car rental service
- Taxi & limo service
- Photocopier & fax service
- Room service from 7:00am to 10:30pm
- Vending machines
- Exercise room
- Mini-store
- Business center
- Free luggage custody
- Money exchange - Newspapers
- Free parking
- Elevator

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core Rooms

Junior Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, hotel's widest suites, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, mini-refrigerator.
Imperial Suite with Jacuzzi
This room offers one king bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, alarm & radio clock, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wide wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, jacuzzi, music device, mini-refrigerator.
Double Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.
Single Suite
This room offers one queen bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.6729 -103.3462
Area served
Guadalajara's Historic Downtown.
Nearby airports
Miguel Hidalgo International Airport.
Area description
The Hotel is located in Downtown & Colonial Guadalajara, and walking distance to everywhere: like the Metropolitan Cathedral, Government Palace, Degollado Theatre, Museums, Banks, Shopping Areas and World Heritage "Hospicio Cabañas". The Hotel itself is a reference point.

Dining

El Ruedo
Restaurant "El Ruedo" International and Mexican Food. Open daily 07:00 - 22:30.
La verbena
Panoramic Flat Roof "La Verbena" International and Mexican Food. Open according to season

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (327)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
118 out of 327
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.6

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Manteca
Dec 9, 2008

A sad experience

I purchased the best room that was available at the Hotel. Above the room where we stayed there is a meeting room with no insulation for sound between the ceiling of our room and the meeting room. On Saturday afternoon my wife came down with a terrible headache so we had to return to our room for the evening. At approximately 6 PM that night a Party began and the noise from the danciong and the loud voices where so loud that we could not even hear the television. I complained but was told that there was no where else that they could move us and that the Party would be over at 10 PM. The Party ended at about 10:30 PM and then the staff was walking, talking, moving furniture until about 11:45PM. Again the noise was unbearable. Then again at 7 AM the Staff started with the noise all over again. The meals that they served for room service was bearly edible. The room was constantly shaking with all of the traffic in the street. I asked for the Manager and he was never available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The location of the Hotel was very good for shopping.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mesaron
Ajijic, Mexico
Jul 9, 2011

A HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT

We have travelled for over 40 years in Mexico. We love the country very much...so much, in fact, we live in Mexico now. However, this hotel totally misrepresents itself other than that it is a beautiful restoration. It is a beautiful restoration with the exception of the LAMINATE FLOORING in the "suite". To call the room and "Imperial Suite" is a laugh! It's a very large room with a jacuzzi bath..but a suite indiates that one will have a separate sitting area. The suite is poorly designed. As I sit here now, writing this review, the toilet is still leaking, as well as the air conditioner. They did, however, replace the leaking refrigerator which was leaking inside the armoir. I'm still waiting for the breakfast menu that I ordered when we first sat down for breakfast. We've visited Guadalajara many times. This trip we were visiting family, visiting the historical buildings and made a trip to Mercado Librtad. After breakfast, I approached the front desk and asked for 4 bottles of water. I was told (with attitude) that I should go the restaurant and get it myself...I think not. At over $170 USD per night, I think that one deserves better service and respect. The management should be ashamed of itself or, better yet - REPLACED!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoy Guadalajara! It's a wonderful city with many, many things to do and sites to see. Everything is very convenient to visit from this location. ONLY PROBLEM IS THE HOTEL!

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Manteca
Dec 9, 2008

A sad experience

I purchased the best room that was available at the Hotel. Above the room where we stayed there is a meeting room with no insulation for sound between the ceiling of our room and the meeting room. On Saturday afternoon my wife came down with a terrible headache so we had to return to our room for the evening. At approximately 6 PM that night a Party began and the noise from the danciong and the loud voices where so loud that we could not even hear the television. I complained but was told that there was no where else that they could move us and that the Party would be over at 10 PM. The Party ended at about 10:30 PM and then the staff was walking, talking, moving furniture until about 11:45PM. Again the noise was unbearable. Then again at 7 AM the Staff started with the noise all over again. The meals that they served for room service was bearly edible. The room was constantly shaking with all of the traffic in the street. I asked for the Manager and he was never available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The location of the Hotel was very good for shopping.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mesaron
Ajijic, Mexico
Jul 9, 2011

A HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT

We have travelled for over 40 years in Mexico. We love the country very much...so much, in fact, we live in Mexico now. However, this hotel totally misrepresents itself other than that it is a beautiful restoration. It is a beautiful restoration with the exception of the LAMINATE FLOORING in the "suite". To call the room and "Imperial Suite" is a laugh! It's a very large room with a jacuzzi bath..but a suite indiates that one will have a separate sitting area. The suite is poorly designed. As I sit here now, writing this review, the toilet is still leaking, as well as the air conditioner. They did, however, replace the leaking refrigerator which was leaking inside the armoir. I'm still waiting for the breakfast menu that I ordered when we first sat down for breakfast. We've visited Guadalajara many times. This trip we were visiting family, visiting the historical buildings and made a trip to Mercado Librtad. After breakfast, I approached the front desk and asked for 4 bottles of water. I was told (with attitude) that I should go the restaurant and get it myself...I think not. At over $170 USD per night, I think that one deserves better service and respect. The management should be ashamed of itself or, better yet - REPLACED!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoy Guadalajara! It's a wonderful city with many, many things to do and sites to see. Everything is very convenient to visit from this location. ONLY PROBLEM IS THE HOTEL!

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Guest from Arizona
Phoenix, AZ
Apr 22, 2009

Great Hotel and location, Staff so rude

We got to the Hotel and our room wasn't ready. Front desk staff was rude, we spoke to them in english and they seem to care less and were not helpful to us. The times we call the front dest for different items, not once did we receive anything. For ice we had to go across the streett o buy ice because we never got it from the staff at the hotel or restaurant. front desk staff twice made fun at us and we brougth it to the attendtion of the hotel manager per written letter and never got a call from him. We felt real bad at this hotel. We will never go to this location again and we do travel to Guadalajara once a year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Historic center is within waking distance from the hotel.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Guest from Arizona
Phoenix, AZ
Apr 22, 2009

Great Hotel and location, Staff so rude

We got to the Hotel and our room wasn't ready. Front desk staff was rude, we spoke to them in english and they seem to care less and were not helpful to us. The times we call the front dest for different items, not once did we receive anything. For ice we had to go across the streett o buy ice because we never got it from the staff at the hotel or restaurant. front desk staff twice made fun at us and we brougth it to the attendtion of the hotel manager per written letter and never got a call from him. We felt real bad at this hotel. We will never go to this location again and we do travel to Guadalajara once a year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Historic center is within waking distance from the hotel.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tucson, AZ
Jun 28, 2010

Central location, clean rooms

Hotel Morales is in a central location that allows you to walk to many of the historical and government buildings in the area. However, note that the area can be a bit loud (lots of bus traffic on the corner). This hotel is not for a tranquil get away but is a great choice if you're comfortable walking and exploring the city. The rooms have recently been remodeled and are quite nice (the bed was softer than most beds we had while traveling through Mexico). The one down side was that we did occasionally smell sewage... we were able to fix this by throwing a towel over one of the floor drains in the bathroom. Overall, I would recommend this hotel for the more seasoned travelers who like to check out cities on their own and business travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The breakfast buffet at the hotel was ho-hum... but there are some amazing restaurants in Guadalajara. "Asador La Vaca Argentina" is a great Argentinian steak house about a 40 minute walk through the city (take a cab there and you can easily walk back along one of the main roads). There was also a Swiss restaurant in the block ("Luscherly") that was hands down delicious! These two eateries are musts while you're in town!

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Santa Rosa, CA
Jun 21, 2010

Lovely architecture and location

We stayed two days. The breakfast buffet was reasonably priced and very good. The only downside was that we were in a non-smoking section, but smoke wafted up from the inner patio on lower floors. Also, the air conditioner was extremely loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tucson, AZ
Jun 28, 2010

Central location, clean rooms

Hotel Morales is in a central location that allows you to walk to many of the historical and government buildings in the area. However, note that the area can be a bit loud (lots of bus traffic on the corner). This hotel is not for a tranquil get away but is a great choice if you're comfortable walking and exploring the city. The rooms have recently been remodeled and are quite nice (the bed was softer than most beds we had while traveling through Mexico). The one down side was that we did occasionally smell sewage... we were able to fix this by throwing a towel over one of the floor drains in the bathroom. Overall, I would recommend this hotel for the more seasoned travelers who like to check out cities on their own and business travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The breakfast buffet at the hotel was ho-hum... but there are some amazing restaurants in Guadalajara. "Asador La Vaca Argentina" is a great Argentinian steak house about a 40 minute walk through the city (take a cab there and you can easily walk back along one of the main roads). There was also a Swiss restaurant in the block ("Luscherly") that was hands down delicious! These two eateries are musts while you're in town!

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
no name 123
Canada
Jan 28, 2012

noisy location...

Very lovely hotel and staff very nice but location just a little too busy for us!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

I would recommend if you are looking for a location in the centre of Guadalajara and dont mind lots of busy people looking for fun!

Back to menu Return to top