$48 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 8, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

4 stars
Av. Corona 243 - Historic Downtown, Guadalajara, 44100
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
224 reviews
Exelent Hotel, near almost everything in downtown Guadalajara

Wirelss internet wasn't the best...signal went on and off when in room, at lobby not problem at all- See full review

  • SANDVL
  • Sep 8, 2014
Best location, more than what you pay for!

Super classy with historic charm, staff was attentive and efficient. When we checked in our room... See full review

  • IamRia
  • Aug 30, 2014
Colonial and Historic Building, which was built in the 19th century. It is located three blocks away from the Metropolitan Cathedral. Under the management of Mr. Luis Morales Serrano became during several decades as the bullfighters' hotel, which for many people it still is.

This building is identified with a whole period of Guadalajara's history.

The Hotel offers the most modern and updated equipments and facilities combined with a classical colonial ambient and "climate". Everything focused for the comfort and enjoyment of all our distinguished guests, assuring and warranting that it will be a trip and a meeting back with the past of this great place.

It Might be mentioned as a curious aside that there are rumors and legends about tunnels that connect Hotel Morales to the Metropolitan Cathedral (about 1/2 mi. away). The date and reasons by which these underground passages were forgotten and cancelled remain unknown. Likewise, the use they were given is a mystery but their existence does give an enigmatic touch to Hotel Morales.

The Hotel Morales is classified as Artistic Heritage and Architectonical Jewel of the city of Guadalajara. It is also under protection of the INAH (National Anthropology and History Board of Mexico).

Amenities:

- Free in-room high-speed internet access
- Laptop size safety deposit box in rooms
- Meeting rooms for up to 100 people
- Restaurant
- Live show lobby-bar - Panoramic flat roof
- Camera surveillance for public areas
- Valet laundry
- Baby-sitting upon request
- 24 hrs. medical service
- Car rental service
- Taxi & limo service
- Photocopier & fax service
- Room service from 7:00am to 10:30pm
- Vending machines
- Exercise room
- Mini-store
- Business center
- Free luggage custody
- Money exchange - Newspapers
- Free parking
- Elevator

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core Rooms

Junior Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, hotel's widest suites, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, mini-refrigerator.
Imperial Suite with Jacuzzi
This room offers one king bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, alarm & radio clock, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wide wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, jacuzzi, music device, mini-refrigerator.
Double Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.
Single Suite
This room offers one queen bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

El Ruedo
Restaurant "El Ruedo" International and Mexican Food. Open daily 07:00 - 22:30.
La verbena
Panoramic Flat Roof "La Verbena" International and Mexican Food. Open according to season

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (224)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 224
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
businesssman
Business
rosemead, ca
Oct 8, 2010

the spooky hotel...

i'm always stay at hotel morales but this time it is so so spooky. i hear hard breathing sound at night when my room's lights were out and sound of my water bottle squeeze when it was on table. i would say there is ghost in this hotel. i asked bell boys and several of them says there were reporting of a ghost in hotel that several guests have seen. so i was not wrong what i have heard. after that first night of arrived, i couldn't sleep every night until last day i checked out the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JKMartin
Business
Chicago
Feb 16, 2013

Lots of historic charm

The location is perfect And close to lots of historic tourist sites. The hotel itself is historic and very charming, the staff is great and the entire hotel is spotless. My only complaint is that the room is a bit dated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
Apr 9, 2011

Beautiful Hotel

Located in down town. Waking distanse to all most everything. I had a problem with the room assigned to me. In the morning I took a shower. The bathroom flooded. Water over 1 inch deep in the bathroom. This must happen in this room because there is a curb about 2 inches high to keep the water in. I went to the front desk and reported the problem. The front desk seemed not to concern with the problem. I asked to be changed to another room. Again the front desk was reluctant to move me to another room. After being some what upset with the hotel. They tryed to move me to avery small one bed room. I had and had requested two beds. After being upset with the service. I was finlly moved to a two bed room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure you you go to the market San Juan Dios. Very large market. You will enjoy this market.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
q00flash
Business
Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Feb 2, 2012

Beautiful Hotel in a Beautiful City

I booked a night at the Hotel Morales based on the previous reviews and I was impressed beyond what I had expected. The interior courtyard is beautifully appointed in a classical Mexican style that embodies what Guadalajara is all about. The service was courteous and friendly, the only complaint I have is that the internet in my room wasn't functioning and I called the desk who said they would send someone to fix it and they never arrived. I was able to get what I needed done using the wifi in the lobby, but was disappointed that I was left hanging. A second issue that dropped this from a 5 is that the bed was not great. It was ok, and I slept well, but I just spent a few nights in a hotel with a spectacular bed and so it was a bit of a downer after falling in love with the ambiance and location of the hotel. I also tried the restaurant La Chata that was mentioned in some reviews and it is excellent. If you want classic Mexican dishes, pozole is amazing if you haven't tried it, La Chata is possibly the best around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
latinamericantraveler007
Business
New York, NY, USA
Mar 15, 2014

Great option in Guadalajara

Outstanding customer service. They are ready to help and they address problems immediately. Also this is a great option for non-Spanish speakers or people whose Spanish is limited because there are many English speakers on the staff. It's a historic building with a beautiful classic lobby. I stayed in two different rooms. One was a little cramped, the other was fine. Lots of closet space. Walk in shower. The hotel has its own restaurant which is open long hours. The location is a mixed bag. You're right downtown and close to everything including lots of solid eating choices (two blocks east on Corona and on the north side of the the street there is a really good choice - sorry don't have name handy It's the one with the big open kitchen up front and tons of people cooking). The downside to the location is it's on the noisy side. Traffic, mechanical noises, some music clubs in the neighborhood. It's not terrible, but it's not bucolic. My baseline is NYC. If you're used to much quieter places it might be a bit much. That said, the quality of the customer service is excellent and that's something that is very much hit or miss in Mexican hotels (and hotels anywhere for that matter) This one is a solid hit. Try to get a room as high up as possible (the hotel has three floors). There are interior rooms that don't face the street but the only natural light source is from the courtyard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
latinamericantraveler007
Business
New York, NY, USA
Mar 21, 2014

Solid choice for Guadalajara

This is a very well run hotel with an outstanding staff. I stayed for 10 days and everyone from the bellmen to the front desk were consistently helpful and pleasant. English is spoken, but they will also let you try out your Spanish if you like too. As in all things with this hotel, they are ready to work with you. Beautiful lobby and roof decks with swimming pool, gym and what even looks like a yoga room. Location is superb, but busy. Think midtown Manhattan. There are music clubs close by and they operate at night, but they play Mexican and Latin music, not thumbing bass dance music. I found it pleasant. Your mileage may vary. Speaking of music, when I was there every day they had a fantastic pianist in the lobby and at various times in the afternoons a small ensemble playing Mexican music. There is a restaurant, but there are also many solid food options within a block or two of the hotel. Room quality varies (layout and elevation) if there are options when you check it, explore them - and the higher up the better. Bottom line is the staff understands that they are there to serve - something very few hotels at any price range seem to "get" these days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk out the front door, turn right, walk two blocks. On the other side of the street is a very solid, reliable, super clean and well run restaurant serving typical Mexican food. You will recognize it my the small army of women in working in the open kitchen which you see when you walk in - and the long lines if you go at prime time. Sorry I don't remember the name, but you can't miss it. HIGHLT recommended esp. when you just arrive and are casting around for reliable eating options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mazatlan, Mexico
Apr 3, 2011

Very Elegant Hotel.

I liked the Hotel very much. The hotel is located very close to everything in town. The restaurant in the hotel is very good. The pancakes are very good the best I have had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping in the Market San Juan Dios. One of the largest markets I have seen. Just about everything is there to buy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pitufo
Business
Los angeles
May 8, 2011

again, very convenient

everything was perfect, service, attention.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

near to everything

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 3, 2011

Charming hotel, attentive staff

This an attractive, charming hotel built in the 19th century and recently restored. The staff are helpful, the food is very good, and the location is in the heart of the historical district. My room was comfortable and well-kept. There were some problems with the wireless internet connection in my room and others. The thick walls block the signal. If you need internet (I was there on business and required it), ask for an ethernet cable at the dest, or bring one yourself. There was an ethernet jack in my room. They will provide you a cable for a refundable deposit of 100 pesos. I enjoyed my stay and looked forward to returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

"La Gorda" restaurant has great food and good prices. It's just one block down the street from the front door of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mazatlan Sinaloa
Apr 12, 2011

Beautiful Old Hotel.

With choice of a old hotel you have to give up some of the nice modern things. Like showers working well, doors closing well, floor nosiey and just being old. The hotel is old and have to relize that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You are close to everything. Gold and Silver market a must see. Tons of shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top