$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 24, 2014

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

4 stars
Av. Corona 243 - Historic Downtown, Guadalajara, 44100
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
222 reviews
Exelent Hotel, near almost everything in downtown Guadalajara

Wirelss internet wasn't the best...signal went on and off when in room, at lobby not problem at all- See full review

  • SANDVL
  • Sep 8, 2014
Best location, more than what you pay for!

Super classy with historic charm, staff was attentive and efficient. When we checked in our room... See full review

  • IamRia
  • Aug 30, 2014
Colonial and Historic Building, which was built in the 19th century. It is located three blocks away from the Metropolitan Cathedral. Under the management of Mr. Luis Morales Serrano became during several decades as the bullfighters' hotel, which for many people it still is.

This building is identified with a whole period of Guadalajara's history.

The Hotel offers the most modern and updated equipments and facilities combined with a classical colonial ambient and "climate". Everything focused for the comfort and enjoyment of all our distinguished guests, assuring and warranting that it will be a trip and a meeting back with the past of this great place.

It Might be mentioned as a curious aside that there are rumors and legends about tunnels that connect Hotel Morales to the Metropolitan Cathedral (about 1/2 mi. away). The date and reasons by which these underground passages were forgotten and cancelled remain unknown. Likewise, the use they were given is a mystery but their existence does give an enigmatic touch to Hotel Morales.

The Hotel Morales is classified as Artistic Heritage and Architectonical Jewel of the city of Guadalajara. It is also under protection of the INAH (National Anthropology and History Board of Mexico).

Amenities:

- Free in-room high-speed internet access
- Laptop size safety deposit box in rooms
- Meeting rooms for up to 100 people
- Restaurant
- Live show lobby-bar - Panoramic flat roof
- Camera surveillance for public areas
- Valet laundry
- Baby-sitting upon request
- 24 hrs. medical service
- Car rental service
- Taxi & limo service
- Photocopier & fax service
- Room service from 7:00am to 10:30pm
- Vending machines
- Exercise room
- Mini-store
- Business center
- Free luggage custody
- Money exchange - Newspapers
- Free parking
- Elevator

Hotel Map

20.6729 -103.3462
Area served
Guadalajara's Historic Downtown.
Nearby airports
Miguel Hidalgo International Airport.
Area description
The Hotel is located in Downtown & Colonial Guadalajara, and walking distance to everywhere: like the Metropolitan Cathedral, Government Palace, Degollado Theatre, Museums, Banks, Shopping Areas and World Heritage "Hospicio Cabañas". The Hotel itself is a reference point.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core Rooms

Junior Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, hotel's widest suites, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, mini-refrigerator.
Imperial Suite with Jacuzzi
This room offers one king bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, alarm & radio clock, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wide wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, jacuzzi, music device, mini-refrigerator.
Double Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.
Single Suite
This room offers one queen bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

El Ruedo
Restaurant "El Ruedo" International and Mexican Food. Open daily 07:00 - 22:30.
La verbena
Panoramic Flat Roof "La Verbena" International and Mexican Food. Open according to season

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (222)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 222
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio, Texas
Sep 13, 2010

Great place to stay!

Very nice rooms for the price! The hacienda-style atmosphere with its great colors and columns was more than expected. I'd definitely return for another stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great access to the downtown area catherdrals and other attractions!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Edgar Chavez
Los Angeles
Jan 17, 2013

Excellent Hotel

This is a great hotel. One of the best in Guadalajara. Location to the historic center is perfect. Great staff. Super big, and clean rooms. Great value! I would definitely stay in this hotel on my next trip to GDL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lucsab
Miami, FL, USA
Mar 27, 2012

I love this hotel

It's the second time that i stay at Hotel Morales, and i love staying there as i did the first time. The rooms are confortable and clean, my only complaint is that they are a little dark, the beds are soft, the bathrooms are new. The architecture of the building is amazing, the staff is very nice. I love the 24hr room service, if you get hungry at 2am there's food available. The location is great, you are close to everything, just 3 blocks away from the Cathedral and all the buses stop close to the hotel. I will stay there again if i go back to Gdl.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dancing tom
Guadalajara, JA Mexico
Jun 22, 2012

Old-World flavor with modern ammenities

Walking into the lobby of this hotel is like taking a trip back in time. The architecture and interior lighting is stunning. I stayed in one of the smaller rooms and it was completely adequate for me as well as a two day visit from my Mother. I can only imagine what the bigger rooms and suites are like. The staff were professional, friendly, and accessible. I had several special requests (information and services) and each of them were researched and attended to. If you want to really feel and live the history and culture of this magnificent town, a stay in this hotel will be the spice that brings it alive! PS. Had there were a choice of six stars,.. my rating might have been a bit higher

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Always carry a personal sized packet of tissues. Toilet paper can be hard to find in public places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lito96
Nevada, USA
Sep 28, 2013

Beautiful Hotel

I had a great experience. The room was clean, hotel was quiet and overall it's a beautiful hotel with attentive staff. There is an elevator which is great, a restaurant and bar in the beautiful lobby. The rooms seem to have been recently remodeled. The hotel is just a couple of blocks away from Degollado which was great. I just had a great experience and will definitelly return to this hotel on my next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Donald Huschle
Garland Texas
Feb 16, 2013

Excellent

I stay at the Morales whenever I overnight in Guadalajara. There is no reason to look anywhere else. You are made to feel at home the minute you walk in and feel you are truly their guest until you leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tritonavy
San Diego, CA
Nov 16, 2009

Great Hotel in Great Location

Great colonial hotel in great location. Noise echoes thru the hotel, but A/C in each room drowns out the noise. Staff superb and helpful. Good dining, but food locations in central GDL are lacking. Must travel to get a decent meal! Hotel will begin an expantion starting in November 2009 as they have acquired the colonial hotel next door. Will have 100 rooms, pool, meeting rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Great tortilla soup!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vacay Bud
Imperial Valley, CA
Aug 10, 2010

Great Location and Wonderful Get-a-way

The hotel was very clean and centrally located to many historical sights. It was clean and the staff was very helpful at all times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dago Ibarra
El Paso, Texas
Nov 19, 2013

Great Place to stay in Downtown Guadalajara

This is a great hotel if you want to visit downtown sites. You can walk anyway from here, convenient located near main avenues. Hotel is good, but avoid the rooms near the elevator. I stayed in room 202 close to it. It's too much nouse. You hear the mechanism all night long.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Cathedral, main square, Hospicio Cabanas, food everywhere !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Mar 3, 2010

Great Colonial Hotel

Beautiful colonial style hotel from 1880s, nicely rehabed with modern conveniences and old charm, located only a couple of blocks from the Cathedral and downtown activities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search