$42 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 14, 2015

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

4 stars
View map of Av. Corona 243 - Historic Downtown, Guadalajara, 44100

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
222 reviews
Beautiful hotel. Great staff

Everyone was very courteous we will go back many more times See full review

  • Mono
  • Aug 27, 2015
Family Trip

Went for part business, part to visit family. The hotel was great, wonderful, and it was clean. The... See full review

  • GEORGE H.
  • Aug 20, 2015
Colonial and Historic Building, which was built in the 19th century. It is located three blocks away from the Metropolitan Cathedral. Under the management of Mr. Luis Morales Serrano became during several decades as the bullfighters' hotel, which for many people it still is.

This building is identified with a whole period of Guadalajara's history.

The Hotel offers the most modern and updated equipments and facilities combined with a classical colonial ambient and "climate". Everything focused for the comfort and enjoyment of all our distinguished guests, assuring and warranting that it will be a trip and a meeting back with the past of this great place.

It Might be mentioned as a curious aside that there are rumors and legends about tunnels that connect Hotel Morales to the Metropolitan Cathedral (about 1/2 mi. away). The date and reasons by which these underground passages were forgotten and cancelled remain unknown. Likewise, the use they were given is a mystery but their existence does give an enigmatic touch to Hotel Morales.

The Hotel Morales is classified as Artistic Heritage and Architectonical Jewel of the city of Guadalajara. It is also under protection of the INAH (National Anthropology and History Board of Mexico).

Amenities:

- Free in-room high-speed internet access
- Laptop size safety deposit box in rooms
- Meeting rooms for up to 100 people
- Restaurant
- Live show lobby-bar - Panoramic flat roof
- Camera surveillance for public areas
- Valet laundry
- Baby-sitting upon request
- 24 hrs. medical service
- Car rental service
- Taxi & limo service
- Photocopier & fax service
- Room service from 7:00am to 10:30pm
- Vending machines
- Exercise room
- Mini-store
- Business center
- Free luggage custody
- Money exchange - Newspapers
- Free parking
- Elevator

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$36
4.0 / 5 11 reviews
★★★
$44
4.1 / 5 48 reviews
★★★
$35
3.6 / 5 14 reviews
★★★★
$42
5.0 / 5 1 reviews
★★★
$35
3.2 / 5 13 reviews
★★★
$50
4.9 / 5 7 reviews
★★★
$29
4.0 / 5 36 reviews
★★★★★
$53
3.0 / 5 1 reviews

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core Rooms

Junior Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, hotel's widest suites, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, mini-refrigerator.
Imperial Suite with Jacuzzi
This room offers one king bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, alarm & radio clock, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wide wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, jacuzzi, music device, mini-refrigerator.
Double Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.
Single Suite
This room offers one queen bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Dining

El Ruedo
Restaurant "El Ruedo" International and Mexican Food. Open daily 07:00 - 22:30.
La verbena
Panoramic Flat Roof "La Verbena" International and Mexican Food. Open according to season

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
12:00 PM
Check-out:
1:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 222
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.5

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chikys
Family
Wilmington, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 13, 2011

Perfect Place in Guadalajara

The hotel was a wonderful place to stay in Guadalajara. The hotel was near many wonderful sights. The stay there was amazing. The workers there were very attentive and respectful. They would always go clean our room, have our car ready, among many other things. The hotel exceeded our expectations. We truly recommend this hotel. Next time we go to Guadalajara, we will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

catedral,hospicio cabanas,and many other places.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lonny Too
Family
Mazatlán, Sinaloa, Mexico
Mar 26, 2012

Very Nice Hotel

I return to this hotel always when I stay in Guadalajara. This Hotel is very Eligant!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Market San Juan Dios is a must see. It is a short walk but this Market is a must see.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Magobrillo
Family
Orange, CA
Apr 24, 2012

Third Stay at Hotel Morales

Very nice decor -- colonial style, columns, arches, antique style furniture. Free internet, and the speed was excellent -- better than my cable modem at home. Small pool and weight room on the roof. Larger than normal safe, and nothing disappeared during our stay. Ask for a window as not all rooms have a window. The advantage of not having a window is no street noise, so you need to decide what is more important to you. The main problem with no window in the room is no sense of the time of day, which may be perfect if you want to sleep in with no sound. Food is good but not the best. Go to La Chata down the street on the opposite side of the road for excellent, excellent, affordable food (but be prepared to wait in a long line). The taco shop across from the hotel is also good and inexpensive, but sit away from the sidewalk to avoid beggers. We typically ate breakfast at Hotel Morales for the convenience of their buffet, which again was decent (much better than what you would get at a typical US hotel). Lots of good stores and shops within walking distance as well as the Guadalajara downtown sites to see. On this trip, everything worked on our trip. It seems common in Mexico that at least something needs to be serviced in your room no matter what hotel it is -- not this time, but I think that was just good luck. We have stayed at other hotels in Guadalajara, but we always stay at Hotel Morales if there is space available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
K future mom
Family
Mexico
Nov 20, 2012

Wonderfull hotel!

Great location, close to centro. Very nice room and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Winter Escapees
Family
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Feb 24, 2013

Beautiful Hotel Morales

We stayed 4 nights at this great hotel. A truly beautifully restored & furbished historical building. The Hotel Morales is close to all the squares and tourist attractions in Guadalajara's historical centre and easy access to transportation to Tonala & Tlaquepaque. My daughter enjoyed the use of the gym.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chai Resturant's ( on Juarez# lunch salad bar #2 to 4 pm)

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Manuel Marquez
Family
Ventura, CA
Sep 27, 2009

Surprise quality in Downtown Guadalajara

The bellhop, receptionist, and all other staff members with whom we interacted were very personable and friendly. The location of the hotel is terrific and the restoration of the interior and rooms was impeccable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pam M.
Family
Seattle, WA
Jul 26, 2010

Great place to stay!

Great location and within walking distances to most historic attractions or short taxi ride, which were very available. The Hotel has been restored and upgraded beautifully. The lobby and sitting areas were amazing. Rooms were clean/staff very friendly and helpful. I had room in the back off the street, so very quiet and restful. Two computers in the business center were easily accessable. Went elsewhere to eat and for bar/lounge, as these two areas could use work. Food passable, but preferred La Goda or La Chata up the street. The one night we had drinks in the bar, it closed early. Mariachi entertainment only fair in the lounge. Appetisers were passable. Breakfast buffet passable, but again, would rather eat somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Open air market at Tonola was a gresat expierence. Biggest in world. Get there early, bring plenty of small denomination money. They often do not have change when they first open up. Bring a had, dress cool, and have a ball. Best market prices on items you will find, and plenty of them!

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MX traveler
Family
Seattle WA
Sep 25, 2011

Central hotel that's close to everything

Our trip was a quick 2 day excursion to the major histiorical sites and shopping in the San Juan de Dios Mercado. The hotel was within walking distance of everywhere we wanted to go and the staff was very helpful and accomodating. It's a great historical building and our room was clean and updated. We had a great stay and would definitely go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the San Juan de Dios Mercado (artesanias, food, etc) and neighboring jewelry markets for great shopping.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Burbank, CA
Sep 5, 2007

The experience was great ...

The experience was great from the staff, from the front desk to house keeping very friendly. The hotel was beautiful and it made you feel at home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurants are in walking distance, the church's and plaza are all in waking distance.

Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 29, 2008

great locatiion and rich history

The Hotel Morales turned out to be better than I expected for the price. The room was comfortable and was clean. The room had all the amenities such as hanging space, dryer, iron and other. the location was great since it was walking distance to downtown. The only thing i found wrong was that It was noisy even after midnight, it seemed like many of the guests were still up and making noises. Overall I would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There are theaters, shopping places, restaurants and clubs nearby.

Back to menu Return to top