$48 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 8, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

4 stars
Av. Corona 243 - Historic Downtown, Guadalajara, 44100
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
224 reviews
Exelent Hotel, near almost everything in downtown Guadalajara

Wirelss internet wasn't the best...signal went on and off when in room, at lobby not problem at all- See full review

  • SANDVL
  • Sep 8, 2014
Best location, more than what you pay for!

Super classy with historic charm, staff was attentive and efficient. When we checked in our room... See full review

  • IamRia
  • Aug 30, 2014
Colonial and Historic Building, which was built in the 19th century. It is located three blocks away from the Metropolitan Cathedral. Under the management of Mr. Luis Morales Serrano became during several decades as the bullfighters' hotel, which for many people it still is.

This building is identified with a whole period of Guadalajara's history.

The Hotel offers the most modern and updated equipments and facilities combined with a classical colonial ambient and "climate". Everything focused for the comfort and enjoyment of all our distinguished guests, assuring and warranting that it will be a trip and a meeting back with the past of this great place.

It Might be mentioned as a curious aside that there are rumors and legends about tunnels that connect Hotel Morales to the Metropolitan Cathedral (about 1/2 mi. away). The date and reasons by which these underground passages were forgotten and cancelled remain unknown. Likewise, the use they were given is a mystery but their existence does give an enigmatic touch to Hotel Morales.

The Hotel Morales is classified as Artistic Heritage and Architectonical Jewel of the city of Guadalajara. It is also under protection of the INAH (National Anthropology and History Board of Mexico).

Amenities:

- Free in-room high-speed internet access
- Laptop size safety deposit box in rooms
- Meeting rooms for up to 100 people
- Restaurant
- Live show lobby-bar - Panoramic flat roof
- Camera surveillance for public areas
- Valet laundry
- Baby-sitting upon request
- 24 hrs. medical service
- Car rental service
- Taxi & limo service
- Photocopier & fax service
- Room service from 7:00am to 10:30pm
- Vending machines
- Exercise room
- Mini-store
- Business center
- Free luggage custody
- Money exchange - Newspapers
- Free parking
- Elevator

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core Rooms

Junior Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, hotel's widest suites, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, mini-refrigerator.
Imperial Suite with Jacuzzi
This room offers one king bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, alarm & radio clock, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wide wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer, jacuzzi, music device, mini-refrigerator.
Double Suite
This room offers two double beds with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.
Single Suite
This room offers one queen bed with colonial architecture & decoration, free high-speed internet access, color & cable t.v. with remote control, air conditioner with remote control, electronic safe box, wood floor, lights master control, telephone, coffee maker, wardrobe, iron & ironing board, private bathroom with shower & hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

El Ruedo
Restaurant "El Ruedo" International and Mexican Food. Open daily 07:00 - 22:30.
La verbena
Panoramic Flat Roof "La Verbena" International and Mexican Food. Open according to season

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (224)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 224
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.6

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Mar 21, 2008

Clean and personel very friendly

What's there to say? I would recommend this hotel to all my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mariachi lover
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 15, 2010

Great hotel and great service!

Beautiful hotel with great history; famous Toreros and actors such as Maria Felix have stayed there. They've done an awesome job with its upkeep since its restoration. Staff is very friendly and helpful, specially the front desk. Hotel is in a great location, walking distance to Historical District. In Mexico, one should always start one's conversation with a "Buenos dias, tardes, o noches" and "how is your day going?" Remember, a "But I'm an American" mentality will not get you far when you are visiting their country. This will make the biggest difference in your entire experience in Guadalajara. Minor downfall was taxi cab they called for us charged us double his normal rate. On our way to the airport, cab driver kept asking where we lived and once we told him, he changed the price he would normally charge his passengers. More our fault because we never asked a price from the beginning; we assumed he had a meter running. This hotel rates a 5 star in our opinion and should try to watch out for its clientele; knowing that most are from out of town and may be clueless how much one should pay for a cab ride. Our entire experience with this hotel was amazing and we will stay there every time we go to GDL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There are double decker buses that provide tours around the city. One stop you can jump on is located in "Rotonda de los Jaliscienses" right next to the Catedral Metropolitana.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
phattyflowers
Business
Iowa
Sep 6, 2011

Hotel Morales

I stayed here last year also! Again- they are a great staff and wonderful place to stay. Everyone practically treats you like royalty! The restaurant/bar are great and pricing is more than fair. I would not stay anyplace else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maricosa
Business
Los Angeles
Aug 30, 2012

Great mini vacation

It was great, we went for a wedding and got an experience we will never forgot. It's located right in the middle. Restaurants, parks, museums are all walking distance. The staff was friendly and helpful. We will return here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You have to eat at "El Mexicano" great restaurant. It has great staff, food and drinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MarquezArchbald
Business
Ventura, California
Jan 26, 2013

Perfect location downtown historical Guadalajara

We loved the Hotel Morales! Its central location makes it a convenient base to explore the sights of the Centro Historico and experience some of the best hometown cooking in the city, such as Chata's just up the street. The exterior is stark but handsome with its volcanic stone texture. The interior spaces are revelations in old-Mexico style, including the recently refurbished section next-door. The main courtyard with its fountain and four-story atrium is a delight. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to experience something other than a corporate or chain lodging. I have family in Guadalajara and I recommended that they, too, consider visiting the hotel to see the interiors. We did experience an air-conditioning malfunction yet were promptly moved to another room. The service staff at the desk were generally helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Stroll the Plaza Tapatia in the late afternoon to observe the locals doing their socializing and shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
donmigueldelrio
Business
Salem OR
Feb 8, 2013

The best historic center Hotel.

I chose Hotel Morales based on internet research and location. Hotel Morales is an exceptional hotel: friendly and efficient staff, a welcome reception, an excellent restaurant, immaculate rooms and common areas, live piano music at breakfast, informed concierge,..the list goes on and on. I would return in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Make a point to taxi to restaurant El Bariachi for the Mariachi music. Performances at 3;30 pm and 9:30 pm. Don't miss it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Win123
Business
San Pancho, NAY
Feb 11, 2013

Elegant hotel at a good price

The location of this hotel is perfect for exploring the historical center. Because we were driving an oversized van and were unable to find parking, the hotel let us stay in their loading zone for 3 days. The staff was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
donmigueldelrio
Business
Salem OR
Feb 18, 2013

the best

This is the best choice for a downtown centrally located hotel. Very clean, safe, and friendly. Very good restaurant with nice, live piano music for breakfast. Great taco restaurant across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paul The Halibut King
Business
Salem, Oregon
Jul 19, 2013

Great getaway

The staff were very personable and the rooms were exceptionally clean. We felt very comfortable and would recommend Hotel Morales to anyone. This was our first trip to Mexico and will not be the last. We are looking forward to our next stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chata's restaurant has great food just 2 blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
demaws
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jan 6, 2014

Beautiful hotel in a great location

You get to stay in this nicely remodeled historical building - gorgeously architected and tastefully decorated. Location is perfect for tourists, central to all the sights and all the neighborhoods. Staff is very friendly and helpful - more geared towards providing great service than out to make a buck (hello Puerto Vallarta hotels). Stayed for 3 nights in Jan 2014.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Chata on the same street is definitely the best Mexocsn food I've had..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top